Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Botox for men

• 14-07-2016 2:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭

A girl in work just told me loads of men get botox these days
    Now she wasn't talking celeb's or gay guys but straight lads,
    Surely this can not be true, have we become that vain ?
    Anyone know of any men with botox ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Your wan in the office apparently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭howamidifferent

Where are they getting it put in? Their willy? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭markc1184

My best mate gets it done every so often because it helps with his excessive sweating.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

No, never heard of this. Was she dropping you a hint? :P

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Brotox?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

No, never heard of this. Was she dropping you a hint? :P

Ye she actually said I need it haha

Where are they getting it put in? Their willy? :confused:

There faces I would hope

markc1184 wrote: »
    My best mate gets it done every so often because it helps with his excessive sweating.
    wait what ? how ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭FortySeven

Never had botox but been trying out various anti wrinkle creams on my scrotum.

They're not working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭markc1184

wait what ? how ?

It gets injected into his armpits. He says it works and is happy with the results.

Surely this can not be true
    Surely this was included in the Treaty on Gay-Straight Relations?

I cannot believe straight people are encroaching on gay territory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Don't knock it lads, they are a great way to stop the h'roids from moving around and escaping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

jester77 wrote: »
    Don't knock it lads, they are a great way to stop the h'roids from moving around and escaping
    That sounds like an aggressive form of hemorrhoids. :eek:

Surely this can not be true
    Surely this was included in the Treaty on Gay-Straight Relations?

I cannot believe straight people are encroaching on gay territory.

There always one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭failinis

wait what ? how ?

Yeah its great to stop excess sweating and can also improve circulation for things like raynuard syndrome.
    Does something to sweat glands and calms them down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,906 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

That fella from Dead or Alive was the worst case of it I ever saw, he looked like a fish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

My scrotum looks like Duncan Goodhew.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Ye she actually said I need it haha

Tell her to f*ck off, the auld wench.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

failinis wrote: »
    Does something to sweat glands and calms them down.
    Paralyses them IIRC? Really beneficial for the excessive of sweat. I knew a woman who had the treatment for sweaty palms(which must have hurt like feck).

Botox for men? Sod that. It's silly enough with women as it is. Usually makes them look daft. Oh no doubt some have it so well done you can't notice, but like spray tan 9 times outa 10 it looks obvious.

Look at yer wan Kate Beckinsale. Looks great for a 42 year old? Sure she does, only she looks like a photograph. Or a robot. No movement in her face outside her augmented lips. If she was beside you in bed, you might struggle whether to wax and buff her or bonk her. Real Stepford wives shizzle going on. Then look at Christie Turlington. The woman has lines and wrinkles, but looks like a bloody human being. Damned handsome woman too.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Wibbs wrote: »
    Paralyses them IIRC? Really beneficial for the excessive of sweat. I knew a woman who had the treatment for sweaty palms(which must have hurt like feck).

Botox for men? Sod that. It's silly enough with women as it is. Usually makes them look daft. Oh no doubt some have it so well done you can't notice, but like spray tan 9 times outa 10 it looks obvious.

Look at yer wan Kate Beckinsale. Looks great for a 42 year old? Sure she does, only she looks like a photograph. Or a robot. No movement in her face outside her augmented lips. If she was beside you in bed, you might struggle whether to wax and buff her or bonk her. Real Stepford wives shizzle going on. Then look at Christie Turlington. The woman has lines and wrinkles, but looks like a bloody human being. Damned handsome woman too.

Don't think that's a look woman are going for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Blue Whale

I use anti Aging cream I think it helps. But eventually it won't make a,difference.

Apparently Simon Cowell uses botox and he looks young for his age. We aren't all millionaires who can afford the best treatment though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Emme

Blue Whale wrote: »
    I use anti Asian cream I think it helps. But eventually it won't make a,difference.

Apparently Simon Cowell uses botox and he looks young for his age. We aren't all millionaires who can afford the best treatment though

anti Asian??? :confused: Asians age better than Caucasians so that's not going to help you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

I use anti Asian cream I think it helps. But eventually it won't make a,difference.

Yep, keep those Chinese feckers away from ya!

But there are too many of them.

Emme wrote: »
    anti Asian??? :confused: Asians age better than Caucasians so that's not going to help you.
    It's anti lynx for Asians.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Don't think that's a look woman are going for.
    *explanation*

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Ragnar Lothbrok

FortySeven wrote: »
    Never had botox but been trying out various anti wrinkle creams on my scrotum.

They're not working.

Did you try using an iron? I suspect that would work. Let me know how you get on.

Didn't do anything. Might try the putter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

My scrotum looks like Duncan Goodhew.

No eyebrows?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Obviously if you start using botox at intervals from a fairly young age, you look better as you get older. I think the real problem is people who are in their 40's or 50's and suddenly decide they want to look 15-20+ years younger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,906 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

What are the men's official line on this?

Only I'm on the farm during the day and I like a cup of tea in the evening...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

It's no surprise men have work done or take care of themselves. I wouldn't be at all surprised at men having Botox done. Fair play to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭jackwigan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

jester77 wrote: »

Maybe if you treated them with a bit of respect and dignity they would want to stick around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

ScumLord wrote: »
    It's anti lynx for Asians.

Just reminded me of the Asian movie Dumplings, the main character has a much better way of staying young than botox!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭LunarSea

I use anti Aging cream I think it helps. But eventually it won't make a,difference.

Since when did injecting the most powerful toxin known to exist into one's face for cosmetic purposes become "the best treatemt"?

World's gone mad (not that it wasn't beforehand)

It's no surprise men have work done or take care of themselves. I wouldn't be at all surprised at men having Botox done. Fair play to them

See my post directly above.

Jesus Christ :mad: :eek: :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

Botox is too mainstream. Hyaluronic Acid and egg white masks are the real gems.

LunarSea wrote: »
    See my post directly above.

Jesus Christ :mad: :eek: :(

What?
    There's nothing wrong with Botox being done when it's done correctly, in moderation and kept natural as possible. It can be used as treatment for different things. It's very important to take care of your skin too. Otherwise your muscle may be frozen to keep you looking young but your skin is aging still and letting you down. In fact, a little bit of botox early prevents the need for a lot of fillers later on as the person ages even more and it's more noticeable

What?
    There's nothing wrong with Botox being done when it's done correctly, in moderation and kept natural as possible. It can be used as treatment for different things. It's very important to take care of your skin too. Otherwise your muscle may be frozen to keep you looking young but your skin is aging still and letting you down. In fact, a little bit of botox early prevents the need for a lot of fillers later on as the person ages even more and it's more noticeable

No, no, no, no , no.

Take your poison back to beauty Lexie.

Let men age gracefully.

Meh each to their own, they shouldn't be any less of a man for using it

Their balls should shrivel, their Adams Apple's should wither and their dicks should retract to a clitoris.

Just my opinion of course. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Surely this can not be true, have we become that vain ?

Dutch football twins Frank and Ronald de Boer were proper twins in the way that it was rather hard to tell who is who.
    Were.... was....

Ronald went the botox and hair implant way, Frank didnt.

Old
    New

What?

It is very import to take care of your skin (and the rest of your body). Injecting the most powerful toxin in the world for cosmetic purposes is not taking care of one's self. Your also trying to send out the message "ageing is bad".

The line I've bolded makes my head spin. It prevents needing lots of fillers later on? Err, news flash, you cannot stop the hands of time and you are fooling nobody. As you say, each to their own but for me the irony here is if someone is unwilling to accept the fact that they will age and goes to these absurd extremes to try to look younger, well that is far less attractive than someone who is comfortable in their own skin.

You can be comfortable in your own skin and be pro soft asthetics

Women can. Contradictions come naturally to the fairer sex. :)

If that is true then why bother injecting a toxin that paralyses muscles in order to look "better" (I put "better" in quotation marks as it looks ridiculous to my eyes).

LunarSea wrote: »
    If that is true then why bother injecting a toxin that paralyses muscles in order to look "better" (I put "better" in quotation marks as it looks ridiculous to my eyes).

Who do fat men with beer bellies wear sports jerseys?

Support?

FortySeven wrote: »
    Support?
    But they don't look good, they look ridiculous. They'd hardly be wearing it because they liked it? Hardly. That's a mental notion isn't it. They'd have to wear it because obviously they think it looks good. It's such a contradiction, fat man in sports wear.

What?
    There's no need for fillers really though is there? Botox may have some medical uses, which I'm fine with. But injecting botox (which is some nasty stuff) into your face because of wrinkles, I'm always going to think it's vanity.

I've had this argument before but I don't accept there's such a thing as a "natural look" when it comes to makeup or surgery. People who have cosmetic surgery look odd for the most part.

If women stopped all their cosmetic adjustments it's not like men would just give up riding women and the human race would come to an end. If women didn't shave hairy women would become sexy.