Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Bullocks wrote: »
    Did they do that a few months ago aswell ?
    Think the farmers journal did, not long after we had a poll on it here :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

At what age do you wean your calves? Also I have an end of March bull calf with his mother who I want to sell empty, she is a tall cow, when should I worry about him with her?
    An 8 month old bull calf got into a billing heifer today- thought they were safe. He has her bulled. They are 1/2 bro and sister so I'll have to inject her.

At what age do you separate bull from heifer calves?

Thanks in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

At what age do you wean your calves? Also I have an end of March bull calf with his mother who I want to sell empty, she is a tall cow, when should I worry about him with her?
    An 8 month old bull calf got into a billing heifer today- thought they were safe. He has her bulled. They are 1/2 bro and sister so I'll have to inject her.

At what age do you separate bull from heifer calves?

Thanks in advance.

Anything down to six months weaned here, depends more on the calf weight than age really, along with when the cow is calving the following year. Pretty much once they hit 350kg for bull/300kg for heifer that'll do for us if they're to be sold. If we're holding them for breeding we tend to leave them on longer.

Never seen anything 8 months old successfully bull an animal, they make a great go of t though but no babies have come into fruition here at least :D I wouldn't go injecting her unless she misses her next heat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

CHOPS01 wrote: »
    Spent a few hours there. More so with my work hat on.
    Interesting stuff. The biomass boiler on site is a serious set up.
    A few biomass growers that spoke from the crowd weren't too happy.
    Government need to get the finger out and get an RHI scheme up and running.

Have they still got the old boiler that takes the round bales? Load up six every morning and she works away herself. Rape straw went a lot quicker, IIRC.

Anything down to six months weaned here, depends more on the calf weight than age really, along with when the cow is calving the following year. Pretty much once they hit 350kg for bull/300kg for heifer that'll do for us if they're to be sold. If we're holding them for breeding we tend to leave them on longer.

Never seen anything 8 months old successfully bull an animal, they make a great go of t though but no babies have come into fruition here at least :D I wouldn't go injecting her unless she misses her next heat.

AI man said no point inseminating and to wait the 3 weeks also. End of June is a late calf. If she comes bulling she might go. Thanks for advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,409 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

gonna be on the local farm radio show next week abdolutly sh**ting it at the thoughts of it now what do I get myself into 😂

Better living everyone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

davidk1394 wrote: »
    You know you've made it when the farmers journal share your photo

The debs one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Nekarsulm that's a fair good looking Percheron horse, you posted in the photo competition section.

Was that at the Virginia show today?

Nope! At a "Comice Agricole" in Normandy yesterday.

N1QET6T.jpg

whelan2 wrote: »
    Think the farmers journal did, not long after we had a poll on it here :rolleyes:

Trendsetters.
    We lead they follow.:D

Nekarsulm wrote: »

I got half of it right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Originally Percherons were a dual purpose breed - draught and meat.
    Beautiful animals and remind me of early BB's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭davidk1394

whelan2 wrote: »

You'd be surprised who's watching

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,633 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Yeah, was at Gurteen yesterday. Good show, interesting talks, sadly you are correct in Gov needing to move. Minister now says prices for RE to come in 2017.
    We are shocking at how we have left this drag out. No focus on local generation of electricity. Can see it taking years to connect PV, utter shambles.

Base price wrote: »
    Originally Percherons were a dual purpose breed - draught and meat.
    Beautiful animals and remind me of early BB's.

And now they're just meat.:D

The Percheron breed is in france a good while now though and the French only started eating horse starting with the soldiers in the revolution and then it became more acceptable during the siege of paris to the general population when it was either eat or die and then they acquired a taste for it.

That's what I understood anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

2nd cut knocked today need a dry week the ground is just dry enough to travel fcuk all this rain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Water John wrote: »
    Yeah, was at Gurteen yesterday. Good show, interesting talks, sadly you are correct in Gov needing to move. Minister now says prices for RE to come in 2017.
    We are shocking at how we have left this drag out. No focus on local generation of electricity. Can see it taking years to connect PV, utter shambles.

Im in the Biogas business but i have given up any hope of the government gettin it's act together. By 2020 well start getting fined every year, its only then they'll think about RHI or proper feed in tarrifs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Never seen anything 8 months old successfully bull an animal.

You never met my stock bull last year then.. had 100% of his targets calved under 60 days..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

kowtow wrote: »
    You never met my stock bull last year then.. had 100% of his targets calved under 60 days..

I'm sure it was a tight calving interval he was thinking of at the time alright !
    I reckon an 8 months old bull has done damage here before and definitely the odd heifer has caught on at that age aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Bullocks wrote: »
    I'm sure it was a tight calving interval he was thinking of at the time alright !

Once he had access to the step ladder it was all about efficiency, targets, etc.

Good boy that one, should have kept him in retrospect.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,971 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Have they still got the old boiler that takes the round bales? Load up six every morning and she works away herself. Rape straw went a lot quicker, IIRC.

No, gone a long time now Neks. They have about 70 acres of willow up on the hill behind the main buildings. Cut 1/3 each yr. Sure you'll have to come down some wknd:)

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

Back to school today.

Oh god, two days of meetings.

Studied all RE about 15 years ago. SFA progress since except in the large scale wind.
    Word is that they may go back to the route of the old AER with a bid in price. That was a disaster when they brought it in for wind.
    Those pioneers of Biomass and ethanol were hung out to dry. As one key player said 'they have lost the goodwill of a generation'.
    One looks across the border to NI and one looks to Germany and Denmark and weeps.

I'd say Knight, the children are the easy part.

blue5000 wrote: »
    No, gone a long time now Neks. They have about 70 acres of willow up on the hill behind the main buildings. Cut 1/3 each yr. Sure you'll have to come down some wknd:)

that the hill they cut the silage off?
    How are lads from flat counties gonna learn the fine art of "not rolling the silage trailer" if all the hilly bits are planted??? :D:D

Will head down some weekend surely !

Shur they would'nt know what hills are in Tipp.
    Side trail the trailer on a Major to the double chop. Face down the hill and hope everyone ends up in the right place at the bottom. And for goodness sake don't touch the brakes. Kamikazee job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Water John wrote: »
    Shur they would'nt know what hills are in Tipp.
    Side trail the trailer on a Major to the double chop. Face down the hill and hope everyone ends up in the right place at the bottom. And for goodness sake don't touch the brakes. Kamikazee job.

It's not good when the trailer is coming sideways behind you and maybe even going to pass out the tractor alright !

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,971 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

that the hill they cut the silage off?
    How are lads from flat counties gonna learn the fine art of "not rolling the silage trailer" if all the hilly bits are planted??? :D:D

Will head down some weekend surely !

That's it, bit more towards the main rd than immediately behind the buildings though. Seems WP is retiring this yr too.

Bid advantage with the major on the double chop is that as the trailer fills, it pushes the tractor faster down the hill, increases the engine revs and makes everything even more exciting:eek:

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Spent the last few days tryingto get the shock going in the electric fencer, cut a load of weeds under the wires and nothing, found a fecker of a barbed wire wrapped around the fence wire, wouldnt think it was touching at all. Now 2 bars on the tester :)

blue5000 wrote: »
    That's it, bit more towards the main rd than immediately behind the buildings though. Seems WP is retiring this yr too.

Bid advantage with the major on the double chop is that as the trailer fills, it pushes the tractor faster down the hill, increases the engine revs and makes everything even more exciting:eek:

You haven't lived till you get a full (on the lower side)trailer jack-knifed around a 3 phase ESB pole, all on the side of a hill :D

Best thing about a double-chop, pulling out of the grass 12 inches gives you about 15 horsepower....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭davidk1394

I remember someone talking about their new business venture earlier but I can't remember who.. but congratulations :-D I saw the article just a while ago

http://www.thatsfarming.com/news/quietwean-interview