Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TUF 23 Finale: Team Joanna v Team Claudia (Includes TUF 23 Spoilers)

• 06-07-2016 7:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭

c921302139e1567bc9c88588602a0994.png
    * Times in picture above are American. Irish times included below.

Date: Friday 8th July
    Times: Fight Pass Prelims (12am, Fight Pass), Prelims (1am, Fight Pass & BT Sport), Main Card (3am, Fight Pass & BT Sport)
    Venue: Las Vegas
    Odds: Jedrzejczyk (10/13) v Gadelha (5/4)

Notes: The women's strawweight TUF finale will be contested between Amanda Cooper and the winner of Tatiana Suarez v Kate Jackson, which will be shown live in the USA tonight and tomorrow in Ireland. This will be the 4th fight on the main card. The men's light heavyweight TUF finale will be contested between Andrew Sanchez and the winner of Khalil Rountree v Josh Stansbury. This will be shown live on the same episode as the aforementioned women's strawweight finale and will be the 5th fight on the main card, just before Jedrzejczyk v Gadelha.

Who Will Win The Main Event? 11 votes

Jedrzejczyk via KO/TKO
    0%
    Jedrzejczyk via Submission
    45%
    KJseiphilWrongway1985[Deleted User]lougal88 5 votes
    Jedrzejczyk via Decision
    0%
    Gadelha via KO/TKO
    9%
    xtal191 1 vote
    Gadelha via Submission
    9%
    Tinie 1 vote
    Gadelha via Decision
    36%
    gzoladzLuckycharms_74EagererBeaverJohn_D80 4 votes

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

The last 5 UFC events have been won by the challenger, will it continue tonight?
    RDZ v Alvarez
    MacDonald v Thompson
    Rockhold v Bisping
    Almedia v Garbrandt
    Werdum v Miocic

I think it might

Mod Edit: Considering the fight was only last night you should be using spoiler tags..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

Decent chance alright. This has the potential to be a dam good fight they are both certainly going to be eager to make a statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭valor

6 fights on main card, wont be over till 7am or so?

valor wrote: »
    6 fights on main card, wont be over till 7am or so?

7 am? ah bro :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,968 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

This is the biggest fight for me this weekend. Guaranteed fireworks!

Zero-Cool wrote: »
    This is the biggest fight for me this weekend. Guaranteed fireworks!

This fight tonight and Edgar/Aldo going to be amazing

Ah yeah, how could I forget, both fights are 50/50 for me. So hard to call a winner in each and all 4 fighters highly motivated.

Id love Claudia to win but 7/2 for Joanna by KO is tasty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭jmx009

I hope Claudia wins this one. I cant stand Joanna after watching this years TUF season.

Either way , it should be a war.

If Andrew can get it to the ground it will be over but Khalil could land a few bombs. I'd say Amanda will take Tatiana. I thought Cory was getting a shot on this card after being inured during the season, anyone know what's going on with that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭TimRiggins

Watched Joanna/Claudia last night. Fancy Joanna by KO this time. Just has far too much for her on the feet I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

If Andrew can get it to the ground it will be over but Khalil could land a few bombs. I'd say Amanda will take Tatiana. I thought Cory was getting a shot on this card after being inured during the season, anyone know what's going on with that?

Yeh was surprised to see the odds on that one. Amanda looks pretty good value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

He's fighting Josh on the prelims. UFC couldn't confirm it until after the semis however and thus it isn't on the picture in the OP. :)

Excellent Josh deserved another go, should be a cracking fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

cant remember wanting a woman to win so bad (claudia)...miesha (v ronda) being the exception

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,451 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

Right here we go! Won't make it all the way tonight however :rolleyes:

And we're off! :D

First bet in of the night :D I had 30 on jinglang by ko

Great stoppage

Haha he's a nutjob

Who you all fancy for the next fight?

He's off his rocker :pac:

haha I doubt he has any chance of getting a bonus

I'll have to go the Aussie here, good in his recent outings

Lads I missed the Joanna v Valerie fight, how was Joannas cardio in the later rounds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,532 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Didn't get in for the poll in time, Gadelha on points for me. I'll be back once the televised prelims start, still too cheap to subscribe to FightPass. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭jcd5971

martyos121 wrote:
    Didn't get in for the poll in time, Gadelha on points for me. I'll be back once the televised prelims start, still too cheap to subscribe to FightPass.

I like fightpass got the yearly package on discount late last year, I find it very good just wish it was available on ps4, would be so convenient :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,589 ✭✭✭The White Feather

Lads, I have just noticed Kevin Lee's belly button. :eek: It looks weird....!! :D

It may help him win!

Stoppage waaaay too early

Good stoppage for me. Matthews was done. I think he hit his head off the canvas on the takedown which may have rattled him?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Thought Matthews would offer more there his TD cost him there just couldnt grapple with Lee,bit early stoppage anyone?

Jaysus Matthews seemed to quit easy, Ref kept telling him to move and yet he didn't bother

I told you all! Lee's Belly button pinned Mathews down! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,923 ✭✭✭kearneybobs

jcd5971 wrote: »
    Stoppage waaaay too early
    Paully D wrote: »
    Good stoppage for me. Matthews was done. I think he hit his head off the canvas on the takedown which may have rattled him?
    Stoppage was a bit too early for my liking but Matthews also looked like he had given up once the hooks were in.

Ref shouting to move was terrible. He was protecting himself and wasn't giving up. He doesn't have to move at all. Just as long as he's protecting himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

good stoppage, would have come 10/15 seconds later anyway
    matthews was going nowhere so gave up

Mathews needed to move,roll or buck.

A fighter can't just cower with his hands around his head for a few minutes as he will end up taking a lot of damage. Ref was shouting at him to move and gave him time to do something but he wasn't trying to do anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Ref needs to shut up and let them work on the ground.

Fairly crap fight. Ferreira's setup for his takedowns were really nice all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,610 ✭✭✭shocksy

I have it 29-28 to Ferreira

Poor viewing 29-28 Ferriera

shocksy wrote: »
    I have it 29-28 to Ferreira

Judges agree with you. Not sure how you could give a round to Smith there but sure what do I know?

Struggling to stay awake already. FFS. I knew I should have taken today off work. :(

That_Guy wrote: »
    Judges agree with you. Not sure how you could give a round to Smith there but sure what do I know?

You'd have to give the 2nd to Smith IMO, cutting elbows and big shots were the main factors of having him shade that round surely

Didn't watch a single episode of TUF 23 so I have no idea who most of these fighters are.

You'd have to give the 2nd to Smith IMO, cutting elbows and big shots were the main factors of having him shade that round surely

I see where you're coming from. They came very late after Ferreira took Smith down with ease multiple times though.

Ah, who'd be a judge eh? ;)

Stansbury here for me.

That_Guy wrote: »
    Didn't watch a single episode of TUF 23 so I have no idea who most of these fighters are.

You missed the square root of feck all, believe me.

Khalil is fun to watch though, you'll see him later.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Just noticed these boys wearing non reebok shorts,nice to see colour.

martyos121 wrote:
    You missed the square root of feck all, believe me.

The only thing I got from the whole season is that Joanna has **** trash talk

jcd5971 wrote: »
    The only thing I got from the whole season is that Joanna has **** trash talk

And that Claudia is an absolute babe.