Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

tail-gatres

• 05-07-2016 10:38pm
    Site Banned Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭

the next time someone tailgates me i'm gonna drop the anchors and retire on the compensation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

unless they have a dashcam :)

• Site Banned Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭XR3i

Steve wrote: »

touché

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Stick on your back fogs instead, watch them jam on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 219 ✭✭JinkyJackson

Steve wrote:
    unless they have a dashcam

Doesn't matter.. A cat or something may have run in front of the front driver which the tailgater's dashcam didn't see.

You crash into the the back of a vehicle, it's your fault, no question about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

I saw a child/dog on the side of the road.

Still a stupid idea to cause 2 vehicles to collide because both drivers are morons. Much better to feel superior to the moron behind.

Stick on your back fogs instead, watch them jam on.

i beg to differ,

i reckon there too busy on facebook to notice the brake-lights :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Just slow down gradually so they get fed up and overtake you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Doesn't matter.. A cat or something may have run in front of the front driver which the tailgater's dashcam didn't see.

You crash into the the back of a vehicle, it's your fault, no question about it.

if you jam on for an animal it's your fault.

no matter how cute or furry or whatever the thing is

NEVER EVER JAM ON FOR ANIMALS IF SOMEBODY IS BEHIND YOU.

bazz26 wrote: »
    Just slow down gradually so they get fed up and overtake you.

if only they were that intelligent :rolleyes:

You're wrong. If someone rear ends you it's their fault. ALWAYS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭OhHiMark

Tail-Gatres. Is he the new French scrum half?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Depends who has the better solicitor.

OhHiMark wrote: »
    Tail-Gatres. Is he the new French scrum half?

pour quoi me regardes?

not always , http://www.simpsonmillar.co.uk/news/is-it-ever-the-car-in-fronts-fault-for-a-crash-from-behind-3402 a UK example of a case, but its becoming more common as people do crash for cash , selling seats in cars to get injury claims etc...

Nope.

Plenty of convictions on record for 'brake testing' (classifies legally as road rage). Most of them verified by video footage.

Nope.

Plenty of convictions on record for 'brake testing' (classifies legally as road rage). Most of them verified by video footage.

If I ran into the back of somebody because they jammed on for a dog or a cat I know well there'd be a lot more than bumpers damaged. :pac:

Nope.

i have to agree with you there

a friend of mine told me recently how a family rear-ended his van,

and his insurance propmptly paid out a stunning compensation to the members of the family (of the rear-ender)

in simple english the passengers of the driver at fault got well compensated'

and thats a fact

believe it if you like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Don't do something stupid
    Braking for a crash will not only hurt you but also everyone else

If I ran into the back of somebody because they jammed on for a dog or a cat I know well there'd be a lot more than bumpers damaged.

You should be a far enough distance behind me to be able to stop before you hit the back of me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭FortySeven

I put my rear fogs on first and they think I'm braking if they come back for more I do it again and if that fails i always just slow down gradually but noticeably. And I keep going.

I had one behind me not long ago who was gesticulating and staying close. It was rush hour and there was nowhere to go, nowhere to overtake and he was inches off my bumper. I slowed slowly over about a km until I stopped. He sat there looking flummoxed for a while then started beeping. Then he got out and I went on my way with a queue of cars left behind him beeping and remonstrating at him.

You should be a far enough distance behind me to be able to stop before you hit the back of me.

I'm assuming you haven't recently driven on the M50 so. What you say is just not possible. Any safety gap you leave is immediately filled with about 6 weavers.

I'm not saying it's right, just how it is, no escaping it, doesn't matter what lane you are in.

Driving these days is all about keeping survival options open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

I was driving a tractor one day coming back from the bog with the last load . it was only a half load. the road I was on only has 3 places I could pull into with a tractor and large trailer. they are about a mile apart . there are other openings and gates but they are too small

I just passed one of the 3 when a small truck (furniture delivery) comes up behind me. he sits there for a while then starts flashing as I pass a tiny gate into a field. you could only barely fit through the gate to drive out it let alone pull in.
    I was going as fast as I could (probably 15 mph) . there wasn't enough room for the truck to pass and I had nowhere to go only forward

He starts blowing and flashing. then pulling back and closing the gap really quickly.

I got mad and started to slow down. every time he blew I droped a gear. low low first with no revs is painfully slow.

eventually I got to the next pull in and let him off.

he stoped up ahead about 40 yard . and got out. I floored it and went straight for him as if I was going to over take him again.
    he ran and drove off .

it felt great

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Whiplash can be hell. Anyone who has had it would find it inconceivable that this fabled €600 total cost in Germany is a anything but complete fib, unless doctors and physios work for free in Germany and the victim's time is also worthless.

Maybe you wouldn't get it bad if you were expecting the impact. Who knows. You don't want to find yourself weeks down the line unable to get a proper nights sleep, or wash your car without being in pain the next day etc etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

One of the great myths peddled by barstool lawyers.....

......fortunately or unfortunately (depending on your point of view), it's not true. And as others have suggested the OP's proposed retirement strategy is at risk from the greater prevalence of dashcams - if someone was going to do something as daft as that they should start by not having a dashcam themselves, then hope no one else does in the vicinity, not just the driver behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

FortySeven wrote: »
    I put my rear fogs on first and they think I'm braking if they come back for more I do it again and if that fails i always just slow down gradually but noticeably. And I keep going.

I had one behind me not long ago who was gesticulating and staying close. It was rush hour and there was nowhere to go, nowhere to overtake and he was inches off my bumper. I slowed slowly over about a km until I stopped. He sat there looking flummoxed for a while then started beeping. Then he got out and I went on my way with a queue of cars left behind him beeping and remonstrating at him.

I had something similar but the other way round in traffic recently. An elderly gentleman in front got upset because I pulled up too close behind him. (It was a normal distance and we we're stopped in traffic). Anyway, as the traffic inched forward so did I and every time I did it he got more and more irate.

I honestly have no idea what he expected me to do ??

So many nutters out there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

When I was a 17 year old learning to drive a friend of my sister took me out for a driving lesson on small country road and this car just drove right up the ars of us.

Anyway this went on for a short while until he said " stop here " he got out car and went up to person driving behind and tore strips of them . .. Gets back in " carry on "

Car stayed well back . I always learnt from that , I'd be mortified if someone did that to me .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

testicles wrote: »

I know this is internet land , keyboard warriors an all but do you understand what you just wrote there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Whiplash can be hell. Anyone who has had it would find it inconceivable that this fabled €600 total cost in Germany is a anything but complete fib, unless doctors and physios work for free in Germany and the victim's time is also worthless.

For countries with a free at the point of use healthcare system (like the uK's NHS), medical costs don't come into a whiplash claim as there is simply no unavoidable cost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭savagethegoat

don't brake, don't use your fog lights is my advice least it be construed as brake testing/road rage.
    I slow up to try and drop the hint and if that doesn't work, a quick flash of the hazards (after all, they are a hazard) works. I had a guy up my chuff all through the N20 road works south of Mallow the other day. I'd have let him past to get rid of the idiot if I could have, but he had no chance of passing me or the other 200 cars in front! Eventually he got the idea and dropped back a little, and guess what? he turned left at the Bottlehill turn immediately after the roadworks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭sebastianlieken

keep using your windscreen washer continuously for as long as it is safe to do so , the spray over will get them and make them think to back off a bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭purpleisafruit

Re the dashcam, would the footage not show that they'd been tailgating you and negate their claims anyway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Marcusm wrote: »
    For countries with a free at the point of use healthcare system (like the uK's NHS), medical costs don't come into a whiplash claim as there is simply no unavoidable cost.

Free.... "at the point of use" being the important bit of course :-) kudos for having the sense to include that.

Regardless of whether Herr Average is paying through tax or insurance for the poor driving of others... bad whiplash will quickly cancel out any smugness the OP might feel at having "taught a tail gatre a lesson".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭irish bloke

no matter how cute or furry or whatever the thing is

NEVER EVER JAM ON FOR ANIMALS IF SOMEBODY IS BEHIND YOU.

What if its a 170 stone Bull charging across your line?

it's general good advice but the person behind should be following at a distance which would allow them to avoid occurrences.

don't brake, don't use your fog lights is my advice least it be construed as brake testing/road rage.
    I slow up to try and drop the hint and if that doesn't work, a quick flash of the hazards (after all, they are a hazard) works. I had a guy up my chuff all through the N20 road works south of Mallow the other day. I'd have let him past to get rid of the idiot if I could have, but he had no chance of passing me or the other 200 cars in front! Eventually he got the idea and dropped back a little, and guess what? he turned left at the Bottlehill turn immediately after the roadworks!

I find the hazard lights work best (quick blast when they get too close). Sometimes the fogs are ineffective, especially in the day time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

I wonder how many people in here that have encountered such instances are the drivers that do 50km/hr in an 80km/hr zone.

I was stuck behind a guy this morning doing just that on the way to work and funnily enough it was his absolute lack of progress that caused me to get closer to him at certain points than was probably logical, but I was able to just lift off the accelerator and drop back a bit every time. It was however infuriating as his driving was illogically slow and for no good reason, other than I guess he didn't have anywhere to be at any certain time, unlike myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭almostover

dar83 wrote: »
    I wonder how many people in here that have encountered such instances are the drivers that do 50km/hr in an 80km/hr zone.

I was stuck behind a guy this morning doing just that on the way to work and funnily enough it was his absolute lack of progress that caused me to get closer to him at certain points than was probably logical, but I was able to just lift off the accelerator and drop back a bit every time. It was however infuriating as his driving was illogically slow and for no good reason, other than I guess he didn't have anywhere to be at any certain time, unlike myself.

Had this happen me last Friday. Was stuck behind an old dear on an 80 km/h road and she was doing 45-50 km/h. Fine, she is perfectly entitled to do so. I keep my distance until I know a stretch of the road with a broken white line to overtake. I come to this stretch known to me, see that no traffic is oncoming, indicate to overtake and immediately she begins beeping her horn furiously. I check again for oncoming traffic, and nothing. Sped up to about 80 km/h passed her out safely and she continues to blare her horn and shakes her fist at me as I pass her out. Utterly baffling! Never seen anyone of this age have road rage like this. Considering I did nothing wrong or dangerous I shouted some expletives and went on my journey. If the Traffic Corps spent 4-5 hours a day driving around the roads in an unmarked car the amount of dangerous driving and poor driver behaviour they would observe would be frightening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭almostover

almostover wrote: »

Had this happen me last Friday. Was stuck behind an old dear on an 80 km/h road and she was doing 45-50 km/h. Fine, she is perfectly entitled to do so. I keep my distance until I know a stretch of the road with a broken white line to overtake. I come to this stretch known to me, see that no traffic is oncoming, indicate to overtake and immediately she begins beeping her horn furiously. I check again for oncoming traffic, and nothing. Sped up to about 80 km/h passed her out safely and she continues to blare her horn and shakes her fist at me as I pass her out. Utterly baffling! Never seen anyone of this age have road rage like this. Considering I did nothing wrong or dangerous I shouted some expletives and went on my journey. If the Traffic Corps spent 4-5 hours a day driving around the roads in an unmarked car the amount of dangerous driving and poor driver behaviour they would observe would be frightening.
    Just to clarify I shouted the expletives to myself in the car, not out the window to that lady as I passed her!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Free.... "at the point of use" being the important bit of course :-) kudos for having the sense to include that.

Regardless of whether Herr Average is paying through tax or insurance for the poor driving of others... bad whiplash will quickly cancel out any smugness the OP might feel at having "taught a tail gatre a lesson".

My point is more that the expected payout for whiplash in Ireland is greater than it would be in other countries as it is effectively a one off payment which must necessarily cover future medical costs without any idea of whether there will be any long term medical need. In other words, they get a lump sum now to cover costs that may never arise. It's a pity the PIAB process doesn't invlve an indemnity for future costs rather than an upfront payment which errs on the high side.

almostover wrote: »
    Had this happen me last Friday. Was stuck behind an old dear on an 80 km/h road and she was doing 45-50 km/h. Fine, she is perfectly entitled to do so..

Is she really perfectly entitled to do so? - I dont know the legal stance on this but I would think she is not perfectly entitled to do so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Is she really perfectly entitled to do so? - I dont know the legal stance on this but I would think she is not perfectly entitled to do so

She absolutely is perfectly legally entitled to do 50. Just overtake people like that, don't take it personally and just treat them as any other hazard you would find on a road.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I hate the irish driving mentality of '80km/h all the time is absolutely grand'. Those are the people I hate getting stuck behind. They do 80 on a 100km/h road but god help you if you want to overtake them. And if you do ever get in front of one of them they'll be inches from your bumper as you drive through a town with a 60km/h limit.

These morons are the same ones who would ring the guards if someone was doing 120km/h in a 100 zone, or 140 on the motorway. But if they're in a 50 zone? They are seemingly only capable of doing 80km/h

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I'd agree..

On the M7 outbound last night and the usual slowdown around Naas-Carlow exit until the traffic loosens up and what do I encounter then.. dawdling asshat doing about 100 in the outside lane with a line of cars behind them.. either speed up to the limit and/or GTF out of the way!
    Steve wrote:
    I'm assuming you haven't recently driven on the M50 so. What you say is just not possible. Any safety gap you leave is immediately filled with about 6 weavers.

I'm not saying it's right, just how it is, no escaping it, doesn't matter what lane you are in.

Driving these days is all about keeping survival options open.

Spot on... the M50 is a daily exercise in defensive driving. Any gap you leave will be immediately filled by someone weaving in front of you (and generally while doing a slower speed as well) so it's best to not to give them the option.

To be honest I find the best approach in general is to be going somewhat faster then they are whenever possible/safe to do so as it tends to discourage the idiots from taking chances at the last minute and they stay put until you pass them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭FortySeven

She is unfortunately. I lose a large portion of my life to these fools.

once she isn't breaking any other Law, she is indeed entitled to do 50 km/h. Sundays are the worst and pension day can be fraught too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,831 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Maybe you wouldn't get it bad if you were expecting the impact. Who knows. You don't want to find yourself weeks down the line unable to get a proper nights sleep, or wash your car without being in pain the next day etc etc.

Then pay people for the expenses of whiplash (receipts for physio,therapy,equipment needed,damn it counseling if they're physiologically damaged...) not 15 grand for a nice holiday because you had a fright and a sore neck for a week...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

Markcheese wrote:
    Then pay people for the expenses of whiplash (receipts for physio,therapy,equipment needed,damn it counseling if they're physiologically damaged...) not 15 grand for a nice holiday because you had a fright and a sore neck for a week...

I hope you never suffer whiplash. A lot more than a sore neck for a week let me tell you!

Not disagreeing that some people do take the piss though.

Markcheese wrote: »
    a fright and a sore neck for a week...

If the insurance companies have succeeded at anything*, it's convincing Joe Average that physics, physiology and common sense just don't apply to the cervical spine, and that anyone looking for more than 2 aspirin and a cup of tea is a scummy fraudster. Much like all those scummers driving older cars, fraudsters every single one of them! And that it's those scummy fraudsters are driving most of the increase in insurance, and definitely not crap investments and tougher requirements on reserves etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭Stepping Stone

I wonder how many people in here that have encountered such instances are the drivers that do 50km/hr in an 80

I was rear ended by an idiot who was tailgating me in the overtaking lane. I was doing 100k/hr, actually overtaking but I was too slow for him. I remember glancing in the mirror seconds before impact, knowing that it was inevitable. He was speeding up, I was not. I wasn't the only car in that lane, so I would have hit the car in front if I had inceeased my speed.

He claimed that I was going slowly, slammed on the brakes, etc. I was very lucky that some people stopped and waited for the Gardai to corroborate my story. Asshole was threatening to claim off me too.

I claimed for the cost of the car. Nothing more.

I do get nervous around tailgaters now though. Hazards go on til they pull back. Some people are so thick.