Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tell us about your new improved government regulations compliant cycle part II

Options

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 784 ✭✭✭kirk buttercup

57 km with 610m elevation. Enjoyable ride ( after the first climb )
    a question to the experienced riders as I'm a newbie I have been struggling going up hill in the smaller ring, today I climbed in the bigger ring and found it much easier . Is this common?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,735 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

a question to the experienced riders as I'm a newbie I have been struggling going up hill in the smaller ring, today I climbed in the bigger ring and found it much easier . Is this common?

I'm a crap climber so possibly not the best person to answer, but for me it is about finding the right gear at the bottom of the hill and avoiding changing because you're in too high a gear. One thing I find helps my climbing is taking on a properly steep hill every now and again, as it has the effect of making moderately steep hills seem easier. e.g. the great thing about Cruagh is its not Kilmashogue ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 16,682 ✭✭✭✭dahat

57 km with 610m elevation. Enjoyable ride ( after the first climb )

Sometimes I found spinning to high a cadence a bit counter productive when climbing, try setting a steady cadence rather than rapid spinning in say 34 28.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Fian

Generally I find it is easier using the bigger ring,

....as long as you are talking about the bigger ring at the back of the bike.......

• Registered Users Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Mercian Pro