Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Reporting an uninsured driver?

• 03-07-2016 7:15pm

I have just reported my neighbour for driving around the town with no tax or insurance.. The Gardai showed up, chatted to him for 5 mins and have drove off leaving this young fella in his Golf to do whatever?

What am I missing here? Why has (seemingly) no action been taken?:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

What were you expecting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,062 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Honda dude probably said; "car hasn't moved since the tax and insurance ran out".

And the Gardai said "well, we've reports that it has"

Honda dude; "it hasn't"

Gardai; "we'll be keeping an eye out for you"

Fair play to you. If he'd done damage or injury we'd be paying for it.

I thought driving an uninsured car was a crime? I thought they seize the vehicle?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭shietpilot

How do you know he's uninsured. Chances are he has third party extension and the car is registered in someone else's name.

He was bragging in the pub down the town that he has no insurance and there is no insurance disc on the car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

I thought driving an uninsured car was a crime? I thought they seize the vehicle?

How do you know he is not covered by insurance? What evidence apart from the word of a busy body do the Guards have that he was actually driving anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Bored_lad

If the guards don't see him driving it I can't see what they can really do.

that's a tad annoying, so we can all drive around without insurance as long as the gardai don't see us driving?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,974 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

that's a tad annoying, so we can all drive around without insurance as long as the gardai don't see us driving?

Well, yes.

Not getting caught applies to any crime really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭HanaleiJ5N

Typically when you post something like this on boards people will ask questions of you and give you a bit of stick. However as someone who is fed up of insurance companies screwing me over despite never having made a claim in my life I say fair play to you, the more people like this that get caught and dealt with the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,062 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

RustyNut wrote: »
    How do you know he is not covered by insurance? What evidence apart from the word of a busy body do the Guards have that he was actually driving anything?

So reporting criminality is the work of "busy bodies" now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

As above, unless they catch him red handed all they can do is make him aware that they suspect he has been driving the car. Hopefully that will make him cop on, assuming what the op says is true.

I wish more people would report this kind of thing. I have a good friend who was hit by an uninsured driver last year and he has been in limbo since. He had to go off and buy a new car in the hope that he will get some compensation from the uninsured drivers fund. The whole thing caused him huge stress as things are tight financially. It's still not sorted afaik

Just found this on google:

"You must have motor insurance to drive a car in your own name or as a named driver on someone else's policy.

Failure to have motor insurance or driving without insurance in Ireland is generally punishable by:

A fine of up to €5,000
    5 penalty points and
    At the discretion of the court, a term of imprisonment not exceeding six months.
    The court may decide that you be disqualified from driving instead of incurring penalty points. In that case, you will be disqualified for 2 years or more for a first offence and 4 years or more in the case of a second offence committed within 3 years of the first.

You should note that where a member of An Garda Síochána (Irish police force) believes that a vehicle registered in Ireland (or outside Ireland) is being used in a public place without insurance, the vehicle may be impounded."

..Surely the Gardai can't just "let him off" with a warning?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Well done OP.
    Now report them here also...
    http://www.insuranceconfidential.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭Usernemises

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/1961/act/24/section/69/enacted/en/html

If you made a report of this lad driving, surely that would give the Garda you reported it to reasonable grounds to demand his insurance certificate within the 10 days outlined. Maybe thats what the Garda was doing when he/she called to the house. Maybe one of the posters on this site who works as a Garda can put me right on this. I know I had a Garda call to my house one night looking for the Insurance for my car and I gave it to him there and then.

Well if this is the case I sure hope nobody burns his car out when uninsured otherwise he will be off the road sooner rather than later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,396 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

All the op has to do now ,every time he sees him drive out of the estate ,then ring the guards, they know who he is now, should be easily caught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

I have just reported my neighbour for driving around the town with no tax or insurance.. The Gardai showed up, chatted to him for 5 mins and have drove off leaving this young fella in his Civic to do whatever?What am I missing here? Why has (seemingly) no action been taken?:mad:

What are you missing? A lot between the ears by the sounds of it.

Jesus. wrote: »

...what's that supposed to mean?

I have just reported my neighbour

Good lad

But he still wasn't driving it. As far as I know, although it's a nice thing to have a car that's sitting in your drive insured incase anyone breaks in to it or burns it or such, you don't require it.

If he's got the car parked on his driveway then I don't see what the Gardai can do, really. When he's next off for a drive, ask the Gardai then.

Driving without insurance is something I don't agree with, but at the same time, for some people it's almost understandable.

I know a girl that works in a chipper, and has a young child. Needs the car for work. She has an old Focus and has been driving about 6 years. Her insurance last year was expensive she told me (I don't recall the exact figure).

(I mention the young child, not as a sympathy garnerer, but moreso because people realise how expensive a child is to have).

I seen her name in the paper there a couple of weeks ago in the court section. She was up for driving with no insurance. Apparently this year, the cheapest renewal she could get was €6,000 (according to the newspaper article).

High-horse-brigade aside, what do you expect a person to do? Jack in the job? Of course people will drive uninsured if you put them in that position.

Not saying that's the case with the OP, as he reckons his 'friend' was bragging and showing off about it, but I wouldn't be one to report someone for it, unless they were actually driving like a clown.

Your neighbour might have been showing off and bragging, but it could well be a front. It's entirely possible he's actually quite embarrassed about it and trying to laugh it off. People who can afford insurance generally won't mind paying for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,995 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

You took your time.

Good lad

great input mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea

op you've done your part now, sorry the garda didnt take his car so you could have an intense **** into the curtains. :rolleyes:

But he still wasn't driving it. As far as I know, although it's a nice thing to have a car that's sitting in your drive insured incase anyone breaks in to it or burns it or such, you don't require it.

If he's got the car parked on his driveway then I don't see what the Gardai can do, really. When he's next off for a drive, ask the Gardai then.

Driving without insurance is something I don't agree with, but at the same time, for some people it's almost understandable.

I know a girl that works in a chipper, and has a young child. Needs the car for work. She has an old Focus and has been driving about 6 years. Her insurance last year was expensive she told me (I don't recall the exact figure).

(I mention the young child, not as a sympathy garnerer, but moreso because people realise how expensive a child is to have).

I seen her name in the paper there a couple of weeks ago in the court section. She was up for driving with no insurance. Apparently this year, the cheapest renewal she could get was €6,000 (according to the newspaper article).

High-horse-brigade aside, what do you expect a person to do? Jack in the job? Of course people will drive uninsured if you put them in that position.

Not saying that's the case with the OP, as he reckons his 'friend' was bragging and showing off about it, but I wouldn't be one to report someone for it, unless they were actually driving like a clown.

Your neighbour might have been showing off and bragging, but it could well be a front. It's entirely possible he's actually quite embarrassed about it and trying to laugh it off. People who can afford insurance generally won't mind paying for it.

This lad drives like a madman, has no job and has a hole in the exhaust and drives noisily at all hours... no sympathy for him, he's a waster

Beautiful

op you've done your part now, sorry the garda didnt take his car so you could have an intense **** into the curtains. :rolleyes:

I won't lie, I was literally peering out my curtains with a stonking boner :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭Amanda.ie

I have just reported my neighbour for driving around the town with no tax or insurance.. The Gardai showed up, chatted to him for 5 mins and have drove off leaving this young fella in his Civic to do whatever?

You dont know he has no insurance, you have no proof??
    Perhaps he is waiting on his disc for insurance and tax?
    Gardai might have been shown this and asked him to produce in 10 days.
    Either way you are just making assumptions.

Amanda.ie wrote: »

I'm not making assumptions Amanda, I have had a close eye on his windscreen since february when his tax ran out...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

And you are making assumptions about the OP:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭SteM

Wait, nobody's posted 'snitches get stitches' yet have they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭Deagol

I have just reported my neighbour for driving around the town with no tax or insurance.. The Gardai showed up, chatted to him for 5 mins and have drove off leaving this young fella in his Civic to do whatever?

Would guess the guards can't do anything unless they have proof.

But, fair to play to you for reporting the crime. I'm sure the guardai in the town will be looking out for that car now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,396 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Take him off your Christmas card list as well op.

I have had a close eye on his windscreen since february

Are there any clubs locally you can join Drummer?

And you are making assumptions about the OP:rolleyes:

What assumptions would they be?

Can the OP provide evidence the car is not insured ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Well done OP.

Its unfortunate that he wasn't caught on the road but hopefully he will get his comeuppance sooner rather than later.

Unfortunately the laws in this country are so leniant when it comes to this kind of thing it probably won't make a difference.

I saw a case recently where someone was banned from driving for around 15 years.

The same fella was already banned and had numerous convictions for driving without licence and insurance.

For a certain element of people convictions are of no consequence.

Hopefully he does get caught on the road and has the car impounded.

Its about the best that can be hoped for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

What assumptions would they be?

Can the OP provide evidence the car is not insured ?

Can you provide evidence it is?

He has already stated why he believes it to be uninsured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Vic_08

A lot of people on this thread condoning driving without insurance, I can't help wonder how many of you don't have any either?

I have just had to pay far too much for a renewal myself, I find it hard to believe anyone else paying up every year can be OK with others that don't.

Vic_08 wrote: »
    A lot of people on this thread condoning driving without insurance

I don't think anyone has?

EDIT: My post is probably one that you're referencing? If so, i don't go around promoting it and telling everyone 'sure you'd be better off with no insurance it's cheaper', but I do understand why some people are forced into driving without insurance. Not everything is black and white.

Can you provide evidence it is?

He has already stated why he believes it to be uninsured.

I dont have to provide evidence as im not making the allegation. The OP does have to have the proof. An assumption is not proof.

Vic_08 wrote: »
    A lot of people on this thread condoning driving without insurance, I can't help wonder how many of you don't have any either?

I have just had to pay far too much for a renewal myself, I find it hard to believe anyone else paying up every year can be OK with others that don't.

who's condoning it? i pay my insurance but if i knew of an uninsured driver next door i wouldnt give a flying fcuk tbh. its their own stupidity, let them get caught themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

Well I'm grateful you reported it, and I wish others did too.

The Garda may have had to give him 10 days to produce insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,616 ✭✭✭grogi

A crime?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,522 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

It's illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,616 ✭✭✭grogi

colm_mcm wrote: »
    It's illegal.

Semantics...

It's illegal alright, but it is hardly a crime...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

who's condoning it? i pay my insurance but if i knew of an uninsured driver next door i wouldnt give a flying fcuk tbh. its their own stupidity, let them get caught themselves

And what if he smashes into you and it's his fault? I assure you you'll care then when you're left high and dry. Not trying to be a bollox btw, it's just uninsured drivers can and do cause accidents. Breaking the law by driving uninsured is just one side of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭endagibson

What other options had this girl explored?

mickeyk wrote: »
    And what if he smashes into you and it's his fault? I assure you you'll care then when you're left high and dry. Not trying to be a bollox btw, it's just uninsured drivers can and do cause accidents. Breaking the law by driving uninsured is just one side of it.

oh i get all that like, i just dont care. i know that sounds blunt but, i'm too lazy to report anyone, i dont care enough!

endagibson wrote: »
    What other options had this girl explored?

The only other realistic one: Jacking in the job and going on the dole.

You can start rambling about buses and cycling all day long, but it wouldn't have worked out for her. The car was/is a necessity.

As an aside, now that she's been done for the no insurance, i presume she's had the car seized? So probably on the dole now anyway.