Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Season 6 Episode 10 "The Winds of Winter" - "Book readers"

• 26-06-2016 7:25pm
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,375 CMod ✭✭✭✭

Pre empting the upcoming episode post by including some highlights from the charter. I'll try to set up each episode in advance each week; thread will be unlocked on Sunday evening.

This is ONLY about the specific episode! No information from any interviews etc. are allowed to be posted but book related information is allowed as well as the lore from the DVDs. Anything relating to interviews can be posted with a spoiler tag.

In addition anyone picking up 3 yellow cards will be banned from the forum for the current season; in case of serious enough transgressions the ban may come earlier than 3 cards

Thread will be unlocked on Sunday evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

Holy Jaysus that was incredible!!!

Looks like
    they've tied up the last of stuff from the ending of the most recent book in this episode

The ending scene was a thing of beauty too.

Think this was probably one of the best episodes of the entire show so far :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Brilliant episode
    Brilliant musical score

Miguel Sapochnik should direct every episode

The kill list in that episode is ridiculous haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,270 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

If you had told me that a 10 year old little girl would be giving the "North Remembers" speech before this season started, I would have laughed at you.

But take a bow, Lady Mormont.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

The King in the North!

Fúck yeah!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

Good to see Varys racking up the air miles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

Best episode of the show so far IMO.... Absolutely LOVED it.

One small gripe is that on 2 continents assumed to be larger than Europe, both Jaime Lannister and Varys seem to have teleportation devices going by how quickly the get from one place to another...

Small gripe.... Amazing final 2 episodes... Praying to the Seven Gods, The old Gods and the Lord of Light (not getting involved with that Many Faced God lad) that we get the next book before the next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

FREY PIE. That is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,283 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

I need to see that several more times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

That long, drawn out opening scene in KL was just beautiful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

Best episode of the show so far IMO.... Absolutely LOVED it.

One small gripe is that on 2 continents assumed to be larger than Europe, both Jaime Lannister and Varys seem to have teleportation devices going by how quickly the get from one place to another...

Small gripe.... Amazing final 2 episodes... Praying to the Seven Gods, The old Gods and the Lord of Light (not getting involved with that Many Faced God lad) that we get the next book before the next season.

Looks like Arya has one of those teleporters too :)

I burst out laughing when Cersei said "shame, shame, shame", wonder if the Mountain will turn yer wan in to a bride of Frankenstein or just banjax her in general?

The more I'm thinking about the episode the more I enjoy it, will watch it again for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

I'm hoping well see Nymeria again next season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Zemuppet

Going by the look of those in the crowd for Cersei's coronation, civil war is most likely, making it easy pickings for Dany next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭jebidiah

Cersei.

Amazing.

Wow.

Jaime on the hill outside King's Landing...

HVvZdiu.gif

Watched it twice now Varys rather than Greyworm on the ship wtf...

Cersei was epic, best evil queen ever.

Toj still has me thinking.

Very confused by lord to old to sit a horse shoehorned in at the end ****ers at HBO with epic character development on so many this season then ballsing up others like this drives me bonkers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,564 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Very good episode, some very dodgy CGI aside. Didn't think Cersei would get rid of quite so many and there was something poetic about her, for once, executing her plan to perfection and still losing. Tommen played an absolute blinder. I don't like how they keep retrofitting book events onto other characters - little birds killing Pycelle instead of Kevan.

Minas Tirith, sorry, Oldtown was suitably impressive, although I can't say I'm looking forward to scenes of Sam studying away. Maybe we'll get a college comedy type thing going on. Sam, a few other trainees, few kegs and some hookers.

Think the Dornish angle might be interesting. With the Queen of Thorns should hopefully counteract the awfulness of the Sand Snakes and rescue the good bits of the Dorne plot from the books. Don't think they needed to take this bizarre route and kill Doran, but it is what it is. Given Varys' words of "fire and blood", I wonder if a Dorne/Dany alliance will be a fact in the books as well.

Turned out not to be Red Wedding 2.0 but a jolly good feast altogether. Arya's coldness was thoroughly enjoyable. I think Cersei and the Mountain are the only two left on her list (Hound too I guess but I can't see that happening) so hopefully she makes her way to KL rather than head north.

Surprised to see Littlefinger actually voice his ambition. Ruler of the ages indeed.

I was surprised how unfulfilling the Tower of Joy scene was given that we've known it for so long. I was half expecting a "his name is Jon" line from Lyanna to really spell it out to anyone who still refuses to get it. Nowy Tends.

None of the matters though, because this is all Lyanna Mormont's show now. Boss.

Wasn't expecting a coronation of Jon at all. That'll prove a very interesting dynamic between him and Littlefinger.

Not quite sure where Qyburn's authority to enthrone Cersei comes from, what army she has to keep her there or why the people who have been exposed to everything she's done would simply accept it. A bit daft really.

Nice armada scene. About ****ing time. However. How and and why the **** was Varys back on that boat. *gets accused of nitpicking*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,270 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Varys being on the boat was weird but I'll just assume that he returned and assured Dany that she has the backing of Dorne and Highgarden and then they set off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭DM addict

J. Marston wrote: »
    Varys being on the boat was weird but I'll just assume that he returned and assured Dany that she has the backing of Dorne and Highgarden and then they set off.

Some of the ships in the final scene were from Dorne and Highgarden. Go back and check the sails.

J. Marston wrote: »

Of course that's what happened but it was still daft as hell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭Daith

Not quite sure where Qyburn's authority to enthrone Cersei comes from, what army she has to keep her there or why the people who have been exposed to everything she's done would simply accept it. A bit daft really.

That's the thing. There is no authority! There's no vague council of Westeros to decide if someone can become King or Queen. Cersei and her family have been in power for a long time. She filled the void and seized power. How long she'll keep it is another thing.

Anyone betting that the dragons will now destroy Kings Landing with help of dragon and wild fire?

Daith wrote: »
    That's the thing. There is no authority! There's no vague council of Westeros to decide if someone can become King or Queen.

Cersei and her family have been in power for a long time. She filled the void and seized power. How long she'll keep it is another thing.

Anyone betting that the dragons will now destroy Kings Landing with help of dragon and wild fire?

Yes, there is an enormous vacuum in the centre, but in order to seize power, you need either force or popularity. She has one disgraced former trainee maester and one frankenmountain, after being rejected and humiliated in front of the people. Her reign will be mercifully short I imagine, but that doesn't stop her newfound ability to seize power silly.

Slightly disappointed we didn't get to see her go completely insane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭amos13

Got up at 5:30 to watch it before work and so glad I did. Absolutely brilliant episode. No cliffhanger, just tying up loose ends and setting the scene for the final battle. I love a show that can leave me dying for the next season without using the cheap laziness of a cliffhanger (hang your head in shame TWD) Few things
    1. Can Jon now legitimise himself? Will whoever has Robb's damn will come out of the woodwork and show he's already been legitimised? If he is the future of house Stark he needs to have the name. Sansa can't carry the name forward. Being declared king in the North was wholly unexpected but looking back now his election as lord commander was serious foreshadowing that we all missed.
    2. Varys. Let's put this to bed before it gets out of hand....I don't take it that he sailed all the way back to mereen only to sail back to westeros straight away. He had tyrell and dornish ships, he sailed out to meet them halfway maybe. Is dorne closer to essos than the rest of westeros? Doesn't matter. The scene was awesome, just accept it for what it is and join the dots yourself.
    3. The king killed himself and it was a minor factor in the episode, that shows how awesome it was. By the way, hats off to that actor, he played the scenes quite well and I believed the suicide, the weight of the crown was too much for him.
    4. Valonqar! I think we all know who it will be now.
    5. Is that all the wildfire gone now?
    6. F*cking tower of joy. Seriously there was only one other person in the room the whispering was unnecessary. We all know it's rhaegars kid FFS. At least it put the twin theory to bed.
    7. ARYA!
    8. ARYA!
    9. ARYA!
    10. Why did the sparrow dude chase after the kid exactly when he had orders to get the queen? The kid hadn't done anything as far as I could tell.

Something I hadn't considered and if the show is as smart as it thinks it is, it should get covered off. As well as Howland Reed, Lyanna's handmaidens/midwives know about Jon. Who and where are they now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭Falthyron

In order to keep up some mystery over Jon Snow, I reckon Lyanna told Ned Jon's real name. He was possibly given a Targaryen name and discovering that will be the next big reveal.

Falthyron wrote: »
    In order to keep up some mystery over Jon Snow, I reckon Lyanna told Ned Jon's real name. He was possibly given a Targaryen name and discovering that will be the next big reveal.

Aegon?

I liked how Arya called Frey "My Lord". He's not as ****ing clever as Tywin is he? Also http://i.imgur.com/aCXMi9H.jpg

Was nice to see Margaery still have some cop on. If their stories had continued I think she would have outplayed the Sparrow. Ah if only....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭Ben Gadot

Zemuppet wrote: »
    Going by the look of those in the crowd for Cersei's coronation, civil war is most likely, making it easy pickings for Dany next season.

Certainly the most subdued coronation to date.

Though I don't think it will be literally plain sailing for Dany, and she's not going to reach land with her full army. Can't forget about Euron and his 1,000 ships. :pac:

Yes, the Varys angle is easily explained by time difference. It's obviously months later as there were Dorne and Reach ships in the fleet, but that doesn't stop it being just the tiniest not daft on a TV. One second Varys is in Dorne and the next he's standing on a ship as a counsellor to a Queen he has previously never met. It just looked stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭SB_Part2

The music in that episode was utterly amazing. Best episode of the season.

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Well that was bloody brilliant.

The music during the opening scenes in the sept was class.

So much savings to be made in salaries after that episode. :D

My only complaint is that the tower of joy was an anti-climax in terms of keeping his parentage secret still, but I think if you weren't a book reader you'd find what was actually revealed much more satisfying.

awec wrote: »
    My only complaint is that the tower of joy was an anti-climax in terms of keeping his parentage secret still, but I think if you weren't a book reader you'd find what was actually revealed much more satisfying.

Yes but nice to have confirmation anyway I guess. Also nice to have Lyanna Mormont proclaim Jon the King :)

I've a feeling that Manderley had possibly a bigger role but when they realized that Lyanna's actress was so good she got the King in the North speech.

Margaery Tyrell was not the forewarned younger Queen for Cerse. Daenerys is now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

Tommen living up to the name in Kings Landing

For those who have issues with Varys being on the deck with Dany: Tyrion is Hand of the Queen and whoever he deems important/necessary is all that matters and Dany trusts in that fact. If he put Podrick on the deck, it would be the very same scenario. Except the show has highlighted how close Tyrion and Varys have become, they clearly intended to show this with episode 9 and therefore made it more acceptable that he would have a key role to play in Dany's move to Westeros.

And of course, the ships from the Tyrells and Dorne. :P

TheDoctor wrote: »
    Tommen living up to the name in Kings Landing

Tommen Baratheon, King of the Asphalt and the First Tester of Gravity, Lord of the Seven Floors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Son0vagun

Shouldn't the wildfire have not spread through KL like... Wildfire? If that was the Mad Kings plan to kill everyone in KL then it wouldn't have worked. I'd have thought KL would burn for months. But it had burnt out in a matter of days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Wow, spectacular stuff. 10/10

The music shined through this episode from the beginning of the trial to Sam walking into the Library. Spectacular upward shots of the righteous high sparrow before he's consumed by the fire below him. A simple shot behind of Tommen making the only decision of his life and making it confidently and without hesitation. The redoing of Drogon flying around ships over Dany only this time he's 10 times the size and their are 100 times the ships.

Loved the almost Sith like coronation of Cersei, the dark metalic garb she wears, the flickering torches and their long shadows, the silent scared onlookers, the monster on her left and the mad maester on his right.

Some great performances this week too. Liam Cunningham was powerful in his scene with Mel and Jon, so angry yet hurt. You can see Jaime's stomach turn as he talks to lord Frey then returns to his love and to find she is becoming the person that he once killed.

The Queen of Thorns echoing the fans of the show by telling the Sand Snakes to shut the fúck up.

Can't believe we have to wait another 42 weeks for it to return. What a show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

The music in Kingslanding is called "Light of the Seven"- 9mins of bliss

Son0vagun wrote: »
    Shouldn't the wildfire have not spread through KL like... Wildfire? If that was the Mad Kings plan to kill everyone in KL then it wouldn't have worked. I'd have thought KL would burn for months. But it had burnt out in a matter of days.

The wildfire was placed in multiple different areas around the city. Tyrion found and used some for the Blackwater, Cersei used some more from under the sept. Who knows if there's any more but if they were to use it again a third time, it would be a pretty tired plot device, especially as they have three dragons who are more than capable of burning absolutely everything in sight.

I loved the scene of Lancel desperately trying to reach the candles. It was very well set-up. Am disappointed to see Margaery go - she was a great player of the game. Much smarter and a better reader of things that Cersei.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,337 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

spectacular stuff

Very sad to say goodbye to Natalie Dormer but delighted with the rest.

Frey pie !!

The king in the North

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

Be interesting to see how much of Season 6 is directly from the next book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭Ben Gadot

SB_Part2 wrote: »
    The music in that episode was utterly amazing. Best episode of the season.

I purchased the soundtrack on Friday and it blew me away. For anyone who wants to find certain parts of it:

Light of the Seven - played during Loras trial/wild fire inferno/Cersei coronation.

Maester - played during Sam in the Citadel

Winds of Winter - believe it or not given name of song, but played during the final scene of Dany and her fleet.

The Tower (bonus track) - played during Jon parentage reveal.

Also, the Vale charge from previous episode is from a track called Trust Each Other, while battle itself is mainly comprises of Let's Play a Game/Bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,986 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

Delicious irony that Jamie and Cersei's son met his death by falling from a window

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Son0vagun

TheDoctor wrote: »
    Be interesting to see how much of Season 6 is directly from the next book.

GRRM has stated that TWoW starts with two massive battles, Battle of Ice(Stannis V Boltons) and battle of Fire(Mereen). So considering the TV has just ended with those two battles, I reckon very little has been spoilt. Can't see the book following some of the major plots that were in the Show.

Manderly is one of my fav characters but I had no problem with Arya and Lyanna taking his place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

amos13 wrote: »
    6. F*cking tower of joy. Seriously there was only one other person in the room the whispering was unnecessary. We all know it's rhaegars kid FFS. At least it put the twin theory to bed.
    Something I hadn't considered and if the show is as smart as it thinks it is, it should get covered off. As well as Howland Reed, Lyanna's handmaidens/midwives know about Jon. Who and where are they now?

I was wondering this too, if it's going to be such a secret that Ned would lie to his own wife and not confide, then I'd presume she'd have to be killed. But Ned wouldn't do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,086 ✭✭✭duffman13

I thought the music and the visuals were amazing at times, like lord of the Rings or something. Credit to the last two episodes, its amazing that this was produced for tv!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭SB_Part2

Maybe one of them is the wet nurse that was mentioned to Arya (I think) while she was on her way to the Eyrie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭amos13

SB_Part2 wrote:
    Maybe one of them is the wet nurse that was mentioned to Arya (I think) while she was on her way to the Eyrie.

Wylla, wasn't it? I'd have to re-watch but I only remember seeing one handmaiden, so maybe it is her. It's possible she's knocking about somewhere too, maybe as part of HRs household.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭WoolyJumper

Brilliant episode but genuinely upset by Margaery Tyrell. She was one of my favourite characters and was sure she was scheming up something against the high sparrow. But it's been awhile since i was shocked and upset my a GOT death so I guess it was only a matter of time.

Also really loved the soundtrack they used in the opening scenes