Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 3.0

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

awec wrote: »
    Any time I ask my wife does she not have enough handbags she always brings up me buying xbox games.

Wife: "But you bought FIFA last year and this year!"

awec: "Yea, cause it's a new game"

wife: "And this is this years bag!"

Ah right, bit of a fashionista is she?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

As one who crosses the channel quite frequently, I know that whenever the seas rise above 3.0m, Irish Ferries don't sail the Jonathan Swift catamaran ferry. This happened to me as recently as last Wednesday morning, sailing to Holyhead; they texted me the night before to tell me that I'd need to take the Ulysses instead. Which I did. And it was grand.

Same situation will play out on Friday when storm Barbara hits, yet today the Indo lead with: "Travel chaos: storm Barbara causes cancellation of multiple ferry crossings"

And yet the Irish Ferries Epsilon and Ulysses are still on schedule, as are all Stena vessels.

The Indo truly are a f**king disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,878 ✭✭✭b.gud

Anyone know how to convert an Amazon tracking number to an An post one?

Apparently my package is in Ireland with An Post and amazon gave me a tracking number that looks like AZ000000000IE but the an post website doesn't recognise it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

Anyone going Racing in Leopardstown/Limerick next week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Well it was eventful.

Lads who don't talk all year just waffling steady. Lads who didn't seem to be drinking yet seemed to be on another planet. Lads who say they very rarely drink absolutely hammering pints into them.

I left karma nightclub at 2.15 this morning to a lovely downpour!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,878 ✭✭✭b.gud

mfceiling wrote: »
    Well it was eventful.

Lads who don't talk all year just waffling steady. Lads who didn't seem to be drinking yet seemed to be on another planet. Lads who say they very rarely drink absolutely hammering pints into them.

I left karma nightclub at 2.15 this morning to a lovely downpour!!

If you didn't make the short hop across to Supermacs after leaving Karma then you haven't had a proper night out in Galway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

Saw Star Wars earlier. Really enjoyed it. Far more than The Force Awakens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭Scythica

Synode wrote: »
    Saw Star Wars earlier. Really enjoyed it. Far more than The Force Awakens

One of the best films ive seen in a long time. Loved it.

Feels like a solid war movie and the part at the end made me nearly made me give a standing ovation!

Amazon Prime: Saving my relationship ever since I got it 2 years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭DGRulz

Scythica wrote: »
    One of the best films ive seen in a long time. Loved it.

Feels like a solid war movie and the part at the end made me nearly made me give a standing ovation!

Saw it with a group of lads from work last Friday, at the end loads of people started clapping, was so weird.

Scythica wrote: »
    DGRulz wrote: »
    Saw it with a group of lads from work last Friday, at the end loads of people started clapping, was so weird.

Almost had a tear in my eye when
    they push the Star Destroyer into the shield generator
    . Myself and my 6 year old high fived. Very enjoyable.

Movies @ Dundrum broke out into applause at the end too. Star Wars as a whole means so much to so many people. Can't wait for the next movie.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

awec wrote: »
    Any time I ask my wife does she not have enough handbags she always brings up me buying xbox games.

Wife: "But you bought FIFA last year and this year!"

awec: "Yea, cause it's a new game"

wife: "And this is this years bag!"

awec: giphy.gif

When FIFA costs the same as a Michael Kors bag, she can come back to you with that one, but for now there is NO comparing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭swiwi_

12032216_900982103312235_517202362213460899_n.jpg

No. 2 and 4 in our household...

swiwi_ wrote: »
    12032216_900982103312235_517202362213460899_n.jpg

No. 2 and 4 in our household...

Add in...

5. Throw everything on the floor, clean and dirty.

6. If it's washed and ironed just fire it into the bottom of the wardrobe with everything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

mfceiling wrote:
    6. If it's washed and ironed just fire it into the bottom of the wardrobe with everything else.

mfceiling wrote:

Forget the kids, that's me.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Buer wrote: »
    Forget the kids, that's me.

We have a trouser press which i use a lot.

My oh treats it like the floor

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,815 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

mfceiling wrote: »

Add in...

Every civilized person knows you put definitely dirty stuff in the wash. The floor is for stuff you might use again.

floordrobe.jpg

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,118 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Then there's the chair. For clothes that aren't clean enough to wear not dirty enough to wash

How do they get dirty enough?

Stheno wrote: »
    How do they get dirty enough?

Time, and/or the addition of a few more layers.

Ah that means the trouser press is my ohs version of the chair.

I have stricter criteria

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

We had a chair in the bedroom in the last house. I've forgotten what the chair actually looks like, as it's been covered with about 20 layers of clothes for at least 5 years...

Zzippy wrote: »
    We had a chair in the bedroom in the last house. I've forgotten what the chair actually looks like, as it's been covered with about 20 layers of clothes for at least 5 years...

We have a chair in our room and I think it was specifically bought just to throw clothes on.

Oh Jaysis gift wrapping!
    I was doing sort of Ok until I got to the giant stuffed tiger...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

So anyone???
    Anyone going Racing in Leopardstown/Limerick next week?

Will be working in Leopardstown for a few days any way. Should be bit of craic!!!

Done Leopardstown at Christmas a few times over the years. Not really my bag. Horse Racing in general is a bit mad. Too hard to win consistently unless you invest a serious amount of time in it

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,815 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

On the way hooooooome. Latest I've ever flown back. I've never managed to relax about this since snowmageddon in 2010 nearly left me stuck in the U.K.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,469 ✭✭✭kuang1

Podge_irl wrote: »
    On the way hooooooome. Latest I've ever flown back. I've never managed to relax about this since snowmageddon in 2010 nearly left me stuck in the U.K.

Welcome back!

You should still be in time to get some of the Munster-6 at your local bookies.

Podge_irl wrote: »

I fly home ages in advance now because of that. I got the only flight that left exeter on xmas eve that year. Was cancelled so many times!