Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

British Labour MP shot near Leeds (mod warning in first post)

• 16-06-2016 1:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭

Labour MP Jo Cox is in a critical condition after being shot while doing constituency work.
    A 52 year old man has been arrested.

MOD WARNING:
    This thread is not the place to discuss global conspiracies. If you wish to discuss these theories, I recommend posting in the Conspiracy Theories forum. Read their charter before posting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭Irish Halo

Jo Cox was shot after she had one of her regular surgeries and is on the remain side of the debate, the attacker is reported to have been a Britain First supporter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2016/jun/16/labour-mp-jo-cox-shot-in-west-yorkshire

Jo Cox was shot twice and stabbed.

A passer by came to her aid.

Yesterday she had been on the flotilla on the Thames, from a bit of fun yesterday to absolute tragedy today.

I hope she's alright.

That's the end of Brexit.

Seems she is in a bad way fighting for her life :(
    In a critical condition with serious injuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

I seriously doubt that, but hope that you're right.

Absolutely mental stuff.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

RobertKK wrote: »
    Seems she is in a bad way fighting for her life :(
    In a critical condition with serious injuries.

That's awful. God love her family trying to cope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Christ that's horrific. I know we can only speculate at this stage, but why would a Britain First supporter attack her? She's white and English....not their usual type of target.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭Irish Halo

This will be framed by the Brexit campaign but feel that it won't be the root cause*.

I hope she recovers and the person responsible faces justice.

* God I hope not, I mean the Brexit is serious business but not kick, stab and shoot a politician big deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

Christ that's horrific. I know we can only speculate at this stage, but why would a Britain First supporter attack her? She's white and English....not their usual type of target.

Because she wants to stay in the EU and let all the brown people in to steal our jobs, social welfare and women, innit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

They see remain campaigners as an enemy whoa re enabling an 'occupation'

They're fcuked in the head. They've also threatened the London mayor, in case anyone is under the illusion that this was just some random act by a lone nutter. The group openly encourages and has threatened violence

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/people/sadiq-khan-britain-first-london-mayor-threaten-direct-action-a7047991.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,515 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Cus they are clueless idiots?

She has two young children.

All this gun crime would make one angry, it is everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

Same reason that Brevik attacked a left wing youth organization, in that terrorists of that political persuasion hate Liberals just as much if not more.

Of course, we should be cautious as we don't have the whole story yet, and as we have seen in the past, more details may come out later, giving use a different picture.

Either way this is an awful attack, and I hope the MP will pull through.

As well as being stabbed and shot twice, she was also dragged along the street by her hair.
    It would make one feel sick.

As well as being stabbed and shot twice, she was also dragged along the street by her hair.
    It would make one feel sick.

Eyewitness accounts I read haven't said that, where'd you see it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2016/jun/16/labour-mp-jo-cox-shot-in-west-yorkshire

She was seen on the ground on the street and being kicked, then a passer by saw it happening, came to her aid, he then produced a gun and shot the politician, two shots were fired.
    It also believed she was stabbed.

I think you may have to rephrase the bolded bit. You give the impression that it was the passerby who shot her:confused:.

Eyewitness accounts I read haven't said that, where'd you see it?

It was said on Sky News

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

I take it we'll have all the same lads in here up in arms and calling for heads to roll, extreme measures etc in this thread, as we do whenever a Muslim does something similar.

Any moment now...

Billy86 wrote: »
    I take it we'll have all the same lads in here up in arms and calling for heads to roll, extreme measures etc in this thread, as we do whenever a Muslim does something similar.

Any moment now...

It will be gun control being the problem...

The weapon was a home made gun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭nhunter100

You think the actions of one individual will sink a campaign such as Brexit? Tbh highly doubtful.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭HensVassal

VinLieger wrote: »
    Cus they are clueless idiots?

In what way?

EDIT: I looked them up, I didn't realise they were a neo-nazi party. I thought BF was a mainstream movement that supported leaving the EU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭stoplooklisten

Is there anyway we can pin this on the Muslims I wonder?

Any moment now...

The victim is the lady and her family.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

Saying now she was shot around the head area, and she was shot three times.

Also she has three young children and herself, the husband and children were on the flotilla as a family yesterday.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

From yesterday

Members of Britain First have been in the Welsh mountains holding what they described as an “activist training camp”.

A dozen people took part in the camp in the mountains of Snowdonia, where they said they learned things including self-defence, martial arts, knife defence, survival techniques, rough camping and mountain climbing.

Describing their “knife defence” class, they wrote: “Knife defence and self defence is crucial to keeping our activists safe. Knives are prevalent in our society. We never want trouble but we refuse to leave our activists exposed.”

A picture alongside the post showed a man holding what appeared to be a wooden ruler.

Photos of the event were uploaded to Facebook which showed the group eating sausages, Pringles, tinned spaghetti and drinking Lucozade around the campfire.

They even had time to enjoy a visit to Dolbadarn Castle to round off a weekend described as full of “camaraderie”.

Britain First describes itself as a “loyalist” movement, with members who are “loyal to Queen and country” welcome to join.

It regularly posts Islamophobic sentiments to its Facebook page.

http://www.walesonline.co.uk/news/wales-news/britain-first-been-holding-activist-11474970

If this guy turns out to be a member should they be listed as a terrorist organisation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭Coat22

A local cafe owner Clarke Rothwell saw what happened. He said she thought Jo Cox had been shot and stabbed.
    "I could hear a loud popping noise that sounded like a balloon burst - a loud balloon - and when I looked round there's a man stood there in his 50s with a white baseball cap on and a jacket with a gun, an old fashioned looking gun in his hand, and he shot this lady once and then he shot her again, she fell to the floor, lent over shot her once more in the face area."

That is horrific stuff

If this guy turns out to be a member should they be listed as a terrorist organisation?

Will this be considered an act of terrorism either way?

I mean (assuming) it was a targeted attack based on a political ideology. That's pretty much the definition of terrorism isn't it?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

I mean (assuming) it was a targeted attack based on a political ideology. That's pretty much the definition of terrorism isn't it?
    If she was the intended target then I think it has to go down as terrorism, similar to the murder of political activists back in Northern Ireland. For the group of course it depends on how deep his connections to them go if there are any, it could be he has nothing to do with them no more than shouting allahu akbar makes you a member of ISIS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Any moment now...

Can you not discuss the topic at hand instead this wind up shîte. What does this add to the discussion!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,816 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

It was said on Sky News

And you trust them??

K.O.Kiki wrote: »
    And you trust them??

I was posting 'don't shoot the messenger' but then decided it was inappropriate given the circumstances.
    I am just posting what is being reported.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

They see remain campaigners as an enemy whoa re enabling an 'occupation'

They're fcuked in the head. They've also threatened the London mayor, in case anyone is under the illusion that this was just some random act by a lone nutter. The group openly encourages and has threatened violence

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/people/sadiq-khan-britain-first-london-mayor-threaten-direct-action-a7047991.html
    Could that not be treated as incitement to hatred, therefore under the remit of the ministry of justice to take action?

If they've been running "activist" camps, then it could potentially be classed as internal terrorism.

Also: don't trust whatever you see on Sky News, or any one single news source.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

Well does it matter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭Coat22

From BBC:

"We've just had this eyewitness account of the attack on Batley and Spen Labour MP Jo Cox in Birstall this afternoon from Hichem Ben Abdallah:
    Ben told us he saw a "river of people running down the road, screaming and running towards the scene".
    He saw a white man of medium height, wearing a baseball cap and grey clothes who was hitting Mrs Cox.
    He then saw a man trying to restrain the man who was hitting the MP. Then the man wearing a baseball cap pulled a gun out of his bag and pointed it at Jo and fired two shots"

Jesus H Christ

Well does it matter?

When you have a hate group openly encouraging and threatening violence, holding training days in the mountains, and an alleged member of that group actually carrying out an attack; then yes it does matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

This reminds me of the attempted assasination of Gabrielle Giffords in Tucson a few years back- in that case the perpetrator was a young man who was mentally ill (schizophrenic), I really hope that's the case here. It would be a lot easier to get my head around than the organised, reasonably thought-out violence behind BF and ultra right-wingers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

It will be gun control being the problem...

The weapon was a home made gun.

UK doesn't have anywhere near the same level of mass shootings as the US, so gun control in the UK can be seen as being largely successful.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

When you have a hate group openly encouraging and threatening violence, holding training days in the mountains, and an alleged member of that group actually carrying out an attack; then yes it does matter.

Fair enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Well does it matter?
    Of course it does. If they are deemed a threat against the laws and ideals of England, it's sovereignty and it's people, action should be taken against them from causing further unrest, or potentially something more dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elfy4eva

Jesus that's terrifying, thoughts go out to her, really hope she'll pull through.

Utter scum who could do something like that.

One report says the knife used to stab her was up to 1 foot long.

Her poor family and friends.

This is going to be a shock to both sides. Neither pushing force wants this sort of violence or vitriol.

One report says the knife used to stab her was up to 1 foot long.

Her poor family and friends.

A 1 inch blade is "up to 1 foot long"...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ClovenHoof

I hope the lady recovers.

However, I am still putting on my conspiracy hat for this one...shades of Dr Kelly and Mi5 under orders from the pro EU British establishment to generate a spectacular to swing undecided voters to the pro EU side.

From Britain First' point of view doing this would make no sense. If BF were a patsy operation run by Mi5 (like the IRA were during the Shankill Bombing), it makes loads of sense.

After all, we are talking about the same establishment bunch who murder 14 year old boys during S&M sex parties, protect Jimmy Savile for 40 years and then lock up Rolf Harris instead.

Of course I know this is boards and boardies see people in positions of great power as infallible paragons of virtue incapable of 'conspiracies'...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭makingmecrazy

Why do people think this will affect the Brexit and how so?

ClovenHoof wrote: »
    protect Jimmy Savile for 40 years and then lock up Rolf Harris instead.
    Not sure I follow the end of that.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

ClovenHoof wrote: »

However, I am still putting on my conspiracy hat for this one...shades of Dr Kelly and Mi5 under orders from the pro EU British establishment to generate a spectacular. From Britain First' point of view doing this would make no sense. If BF were a patsy operation it makes loads of sense.

Ah here ffs. Some people are just unhinged. They don't need to be explicitly following orders even though they are following a particular cause. It's a bit mad to be claiming this is some sort of inside MI5 job before we even know more about the attacker. I suspect he will be affiliated to Britain First, whose leaders have a lot to answer for when it comes to incitement of hatred and how their hate speech can be picked up and acted on by someone who is unhinged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,764 ✭✭✭my3cents

Why do people think this will affect the Brexit and how so?

The vote for many will be on the bases of emotions rather than any firm knowledge of what either outcome will bring so something like this might have an effect on voting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

An attack on democracy.