Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you Related to Celebs or Famous Lads?

• 11-06-2016 9:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭

I'm told I'm distantly related to superstars John McEnroe and Mike Denver(who?).

Oh,and cabaret superstar Sonny Knowles asked me for directions once.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

I'm related to a famous lass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭s4uv3

Ian Paisley is my grand uncle :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭groucho marx

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

I married into Padraig Pearce's family,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

My wife is related to Phil Lynnot.

I'm related by marriage, therefore to Phil Lynnot.

You may bask in my reflected glory.

My wife is related to Billy Idol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭groucho marx

My wife is related to Billy Idol.

It's a nice day for a white wedding

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Thelma Mansfield is a (distant) cousin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

I'm related to Satan by marriage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

Ye know " Ballyregan Bob " ....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

s4uv3 wrote: »
    Ian Paisley is my grand uncle :/

He's my decent uncle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

mansize wrote: »
    Thelma Mansfield is a (distant) cousin

She was my first crush, back in the mid-80s when she presented children's programmes on RTE1.

Apparently I might be very distantly related to the architect who designed the White House (he was from the same village/townland as my mum's great-grandparents and had the same surname). I should probably do some research on that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,499 ✭✭✭Yester

Descendant of William Wallace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Yes, we're all related to God the father who loves us all, and our half brother Jesus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭Fluffy Cat 88

No.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 736 ✭✭✭chillin117

A few years ago I was in RTE canteen toilet and who was having a piss beside me but Paul from Fair City. As our piss merged that makes us piss brothers. Does that qualify ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Wonzy

I'm enda kennys nephew

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭Candy_Girl

Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Speedwell

Yes, we're all related to God the father who loves us all, and our half brother Jesus.

I'm Jewish, so I'm closer related to him than you are.

Seriously though. Supposedly the writer Ayn Rand is supposed to be a close-ish cousin of my grandmother. And there are several songwriters who were the same grandmother's brothers and wrote things you might recognize, such as https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/I_Want_You,_I_Need_You,_I_Love_You. On my father's side we are supposed to be related to some semi-famous classical composer and a handful of poets from his home country.

That and a fiver will buy you a cup of coffee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

A distant cousin of Len Cariou, who played a major role in the Oscar winning Spotlight.
    He plays Tom Selleck's father in Blue Bloods and has been in programs like The West Wing, Star Trek, Murder She Wrote and many other programs films.
    He had some famous girlfriends like Glenn Close and Lauren Bacall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

My cousin is a local celebrity Chef in France somewhere, I know thats a bit useless but it's all I have

21/25

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 652 ✭✭✭DanielODonnell

Any famous yank with a Gaelic Irish surname probably has 5th cousins here.

I wonder if Typhoid Mary could be a relative as my great great great grandmother was Mallon from a 15 minute drive from Marys hometown.

We are all a bit inbred in rural communities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

I'm related to yer man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Any famous yank with a Gaelic Irish surname probably has 5th cousins here.

I wonder if Typhoid Mary could be a relative as my great great great grandmother was Mallon from a 15 minute drive from Marys hometown.

We are all a bit inbred in rural communities.

Finally someone admitted it

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Distant relation of Adam and Eve

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Distant relation to Richard Nixon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Direct decedent of the last High King of Ireland Rory O'Connor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Decendent of a Yankee General in the American Civil War.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

My mother dated Jody Scheckter for some. I seem to have missed out on the Ferrari party though :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

One of the presenters of Bosco, although I doubt anyone even remembers who any of them were.

Marion? As in 'Uafasach Marion'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Marion? As in 'Uafasach Marion'?
    I'd knock in her magic door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

uch wrote: »
    Finally someone admitted it
    The inbreds are in the cities ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I'm a cousin of Jerry O Connell, the fat kid in stand by me as they call him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭shar01

Helena Bonham Carter is... deep breath... 2nd great-niece of husband of 2nd cousin 1x removed of wife of 1st cousin 1x removed of husband of sister-in-law of my 2nd cousin 3x removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,061 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Mena wrote: »
    My mother dated Jody Scheckter for some. I seem to have missed out on the Ferrari party though :-(

You're ma's a legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Junglewoman

Margaret Beaufort.... Henry 8th's grandmother.

When I said my wife is related to Billy Idol, I should have added that about half the parish here is. It's all some 3rd or 4th cousin thing, his father was from Ireland.

She is also some distant relation of Gene Kelly. But that's like generations out.

Edit - she's just told me it's actually Billy Idol's mum is the connection. I've been labouring under a misunderstanding all these years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭spud82

I am related to this guy called Jesus? Apparently his dad is God and me and the entire world are his children??..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

When I said my wife is related to Billy Idol, I should have added that about half the parish here is. It's all some 3rd or 4th cousin thing, his father was from Ireland.
    Which branch of the Idols?

Where I'm from every cun.ts an Idol.

Is it the Idols of Hackballscross or Ballycuntybollocks Idols?

spud82 wrote: »
    I am related to this guy called Jesus? Apparently his dad is God and me and the entire world are his children??..

*slow clap*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭spud82

Big Nasty wrote: »
    *slow clap*

Sorry terrible joke. I am in weird form was at 3 funerals since last Wednesday, and my friend is over in Orlando where the shooting happened, heads all over the shop

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Cousin of mine was on the show Vikings, he appears on screen for at least a second, so I guess i'd class him as a celebrity :pac:

Direct decedent of the last High King of Ireland Rory_O'Connor.
    A few years ago, a (respected) historian wrote to us, claiming we were the great-grandchildren of Rory O'Connor, based on accounts in the Irish Military Archive.

Our Granny had hosted O'Connor & republican comerades in her home when he was on the run, at a time when our grandmother was married to a philandering, violent British soldier. She named her son Rory Conor _____ as a tribute to the man, hence the gossip.

Is it true? I doubt it. I believe Rory O'Connor was a homosexual. It makes for interesting gossip, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

Giant Reed from Father Ted is my first cousin.

Fúcking 'ell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Ken Doherty is my uncle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

Related to Princess Grace of Monaco. Here she is visiting her Kelly relatives in Co.Mayo where I'm from.

http://www.dailyedge.ie/grace-kelly-and-ireland-543199-Sep2012/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Easy Rod

I'm a distant relative of Ireland's most famous set of Eurovision singing twins, Donna and Joe McCaul. An honour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

My uncle directed the Godfather trilogy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭CFlat

Easy Rod wrote: »
    I'm a distant relative of Ireland's most famous set of Eurovision singing twins, Donna and Joe McCaul. An honour.

That's an awful thing to say about your relatives..oh 'twins' I thought you said something else.

Nope nobody famous in my family. My mum was in a taxi once in Dublin and it turned out the taxi driver was Robbie Keanes brother. I suppose that doesn't qualify, no probably not.