Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"No blacks allowed"

• 07-06-2016 4:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭

The story appears HERE
    ‘I was told no black people allowed’ – South African students refused entry to Dublin pub

I'm actually lost for words, sickened.

Of course there's only one side of this story being told, and I'd love to hear the premises justify this policy or at least the policy of the security company supplying the door staff (if its contracted out).

"No black people allowed" ~ if I was witness to something like this I think I'd punch someone in the mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

Your answer to everything seems to be violence.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I'd like to think it was a bouncer being a prick rather than an actual policy of the premises.

If it's in Temple Bar you'd imagine they're heavily dependant on tourists.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

What's the problem with the Independent naming the establishment? They not completely confident in the story?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Your answer to everything seems to be violence.

No problem with a bit o'racisim though?

Have ye? Huh, huh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

What's the problem with the Independent naming the establishment? They not completely confident in the story?

Because it's bull****. If this had a shred of truth it would be plastered everywhere by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

The story appears HERE

Of course there's only one side of this story being told, and I'd love to hear the premises justify this policy or at least the policy of the security company supplying the door staff (if its contracted out).

"No black people allowed" ~ if I was witness to something like this I think I'd punch someone in the mouth.

So it's OK to be violent but not OK to be racist, I don't see much difference.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

a ridiculous article, every pub in temple bar allows black people in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

This the thing on the radio earlier?

If true, its pretty disgusting. But like you said, only one part of the story. Then again, there might not be another part. This could be it.

Id like to think the guy was a drunken asshole and refused entry, so played the race card. But some people are racist d*cks, so it may well have happened.

I would also say though, that incidents like this, do not make us a racist nation or people. A few bad apples in every group.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Ctrl Alt Delete

More than likely refused entry for an entirely different reason and these two gob****es tried to play the Ali G card "is it cos I is black"

While racism is alive and well in this country. No bouncer is going to be as dumb to say that to patrons while working a door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Bouncers tend to be arseholes of the highest order, but that being said I would be amazed if any doorman said that, in temple bar of all places. The place is teaming with tourists who the pubs are all perfectly happy to welcome in and rob.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

genericguy wrote: »
    Because it's bull****. If this had a shred of truth it would be plastered everywhere by now.

Here's where I'm conflicted.

I always go by 'Believe half of what you see and none of what you hear' ~ Bruce Lee.

But then why would the lady (she was on Joe Duffy earlier today) make up a story which could easily be disproved (I'd imagine).

My gut instinct is rage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

My gut instinct is rage.

Mine is doubt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Don't believe a word of it. Why would a city centre pub which relies almost completely on foreign tourists for income stop black tourists coming in? When it would be 100% certain to make national maybe international headlines? I think either publicity stunt if it did even happen or else I don't believe it did happen

Mine is doubt

Oh I've a bit of that too, and I wouldn't be surprised if the story was made up. I hope it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I'm skeptical. This is the kind of thing that you might expect to openly occur in South Africa, so you could make a story out of it.

But I would genuinely surprised that any bouncer in Ireland would be stupid enough to say it, even if it was informally pub policy.

It sounds to me like two lads who were refused entry and decided it was down to racism. Either that or the bouncer was black or south African and thought he could get away with being "honest" with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

Here's where I'm conflicted.

I always go by 'Believe half of what you see and none of what you hear' ~ Bruce Lee.

But then why would the lady (she was on Joe Duffy earlier today) make up a story which could easily be disproved (I'd imagine).

My gut instinct is rage.

Because she gets to be on joe duffy and hear her own voice and feel really important, knowing that nobody can call her out as they will be called a racist. Filling her day while wearing PC-armour.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

I'm a little skeptical, if I'm honest. I'd be shocked if this is true. We'll hear what the pub has to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

I assume there was already one black on the premises. John black, from Gort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

This the thing on the radio earlier?

If true, its pretty disgusting. But like you said, only one part of the story. Then again, there might not be another part. This could be it.

Id like to think the guy was a drunken asshole and refused entry, so played the race card. But some people are racist d*cks, so it may well have happened.

I would also say though, that incidents like this, do not make us a racist nation or people. A few bad apples in every group.

Yeah, this is the same one. The pub refused to come on and defend themselves, and alledgedly there were people around who heard them bouncer saying that was the reason that they couldn't get in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

a story which could easily be disproved
    How?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

In temple bar? No way, the whole area is built on tourism, no Dubliner would be stupid enough to pay what they charge for a pint.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Why do people assume no one would be stupid enough to say that? Who'd have thought a bouncer would be stupid enough to stand on someone's head in this age of camera phones recording everything? People say and do stupid things all the time

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

Must say with the information available i really doubt the story is as the student is giving it.

To say something like that on a door would outrage every non white person and a huge numberof the white people in the area,

It would in all likenesses provoke a violent reaction.

the majority of door men in temple bar are non irish and there is in fact a black door man working on the particular pub where this allegedly happened

The gardai would not tell him there is no criminal offence , there are a few under the pubic order and incitement to racial hatred act and in that part fo the city everything is on camera and easily provable or disprovable.

There are frequent problems in temple bar with a gang of African young lads assaulting people at random. i wonder is that anything to do with this ??

Bring me some proof and i may change my mind but making a allegation without proof is easy isnt it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭vg88

Hmmmm inside the busiest tourist area? If it is true I'm shocked, but I'm not convinced this happened. Garda not doing anything about racism they said? Much more to this story than to the article.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Shakey_jake

Clearly he misheard "No kaks allowed" obviously due to this warm spell were having

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

You can't go around naming and shaming a pub due solely to accusations. If it turns out to be a legitimate claim then it's utterly disgusting and then it should be named/shamed/boycotted what have you.
    I'm wondering if it was more a case that they weren't allowed entrance, the students got annoyed at being singled out and played the race card.
    Also, South Africa.... Racism. Sounds like some sort of strange agenda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭zurbfoundation

Heard Boucher Hayes dragging the arse out of this earlier - it's quite an unbelievable story - make of that what u will

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

To be honest I don't think it is true. Security are told not to give a reason for refusal. It leaves them open to being sued if they give a reason.

If it is actually true I'd love to see them brought to court where they are named & shamed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Much ado about nothing ,

Likely students from SA are using the race card because they were refused entry to a pub or club along with hundreds of others refused from pubs in the capital

The more I read here the more I realize I probably had a rush of anger at the thoughts of this actually happening.

I need to go training and blow off some steam :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Is this accusation verifiable in any way whatsoever?
    I'd say Joe was tearing the wire off himself over this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 982 ✭✭✭VincePP

I'd like to think it was a bouncer being a prick rather than an actual policy of the premises.

If it's in Temple Bar you'd imagine they're heavily dependant on tourists.

True, however the manager could have allowed them in when they spoke to him but he sided with the bouncer.

Also it wasn't exactly late night - it was 7pm.

Yes, bouncer being a prick, but manager being an utter assh0le

• Closed Accounts Posts: 982 ✭✭✭VincePP

moloner4 wrote: »
    Hmmmm inside the busiest tourist area? If it is true I'm shocked, but I'm not convinced this happened. Garda not doing anything about racism they said? Much more to this story than to the article.

Its not a criminal matter, so gardai cannot do anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

i reckon it was something akin to this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Looking to go to court for a payday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭kyogger

a ridiculous article, every pub in temple bar allows black people in.

Unfortunately

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Is this accusation verifiable in any way whatsoever?
    I'd say Joe was tearing the wire off himself over this.

No, that's the point.
    - No full names of people involved
    - No name of pub involved
    - No time at which incident is said to have happened
    - No images of people involved ("stock photo: alcohol" - really?! :D)

When there's that much information lacking you can be damn sure there's a reason for it, and that reason is that the story is bull****. Probably actors paid by RTE to call Liveline and generate a fuss (FM104 used to do it, not sure now) and the Indo were fooled by it.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

management go out of their way not to mention the reason why they don't want you on the the premises because they can be taken to the cleaners by law

No blacks as a reason??

yeah right

I'm sure we will see a quango starting some campaign or other over the next few days

Probably a coincidence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

This story happens all the time no matter what colour a person is. There I was a few years ago just about to walk into eddy rockets sober to have some food but I was stopped at the entrance by two black bouncers, big guys indeed, so I asked why and they just said no, you cannot come in here, so I just left and went to Mc Donalds and had no problem getting in there.

Do I think the bouncers in my case were racist ? maybe they were, who knows, but you didn't see me complaining to the news-papers about being refused entry by two black bouncers, because it just happens every-one now and again.

I also find it very hard to believe that a bouncer in temple bar would say this with tons of witnesses there. We're all missing a lot more detail in this case in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,942 ✭✭✭20Cent

This story happens all the time no matter what colour a person is. There I was a few years ago just about to walk into eddy rockets sober to have some food but I was stopped at the entrance by two black bouncers, big guys indeed, so I asked why and they just said no, you cannot come in here, so I just left and went to Mc Donalds and had no problem getting in there.

Do I think the bouncers in my case were racist ? maybe they were, who knows, but you didn't see me complaining to the news-papers about being refused entry by two black bouncers, because it just happens every-one now and again.

I also find it very hard to believe that a bouncer in temple bar would say this with tons of witnesses there. We're all missing a lot more detail in this case in my opinion.

What did you get in McDonalds?
    Quarter pounder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

The problem is you lower yourself to their level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Some bouncers have lots of power, but no brains.

Anyway, bouncers have to be vetted and accreditted now under some law or other.

And, there is no way anyone would stop someone going into a premises because of race/colour anymore. But they can be deprived admission for other things other than race etc.

There is more to this story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Looking to go to court for a payday?

That was the nub of the radio interview. Their solicitor was with them on the call and said I. SA they could sue for damages and was surprised they couldn't here given the trauma and emotional hurt they received.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

20Cent wrote: »
    What did you get in McDonalds?
    Quarter pounder?

No, a half pounder with cheese and fries, man I was starving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Michah

Put fake hate crimes into Google and read away. It's not that uncommon for people to make up stuff like this.

People are nuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

That was the nub of the radio interview. Their solicitor was with them on the call and said I. SA they could sue for damages and was surprised they couldn't here given the trauma and emotional hurt they received.

You can sue here one wonderful section of Irish society has that market all to themselves

That's why no manager would back up a bouncer after saying no blacks

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭scream

I call bull sh!t on this story. Somebody called Liveline claiming to be a black person who was refused entry to a bar in Dublin. Do we have any photos of these alleged victims of racism, or any evidence whatsoever that it even happened? There are a lot of black people in Ireland and if there were a racist policy at any bar or club in Dublin we'd have heard a lot more about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭stoplooklisten

is anyone baking a cake for the occasion?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭HensVassal

The story appears HERE

So you'd assault someone rather than go through legal channels?