Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Reversing into parking space accident

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I'm sure there's no such thing as a 'potential' claim. There's either a claim, or there's not.

I was thinking that as well. Generally every single policy would be a potential claim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,885 ✭✭✭9935452

So now you know the fallacy of that approach. :P
    If people see you reverse into a space they will say "quick, get in there before that cnut does!" bang!
    If they see you reverse out of a space they will say "OK, I want that space, I'll block everyone else and let him reverse"

What i find in a of of smaller supermarkets is if you drive in, the car park is tight, lads seems to abandon cars at the end of the buildings too in your way for reversing out, You can have times that you just wont have enough space to reverse out and have to wait until the other car owner comes back
    so it makes a lot more sense to me to be driving out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

Its funny how every single person here who says they always reverse in "because its safer" has a story where someone almost or actually hit them. :D
    And I have seen it myself so many times. In some cases you have no choice, because the street is narrow in some cases you have to reverse in. 9 times out of 10 the baxtard behind you will see the reverse lights come on and they will actually floor it to prevent you from getting into that space. Not because they want the space, but because they want to block you from having it. A previous poster also pointed out how people will move in behind you when you're doing a three point turn. Incompetence, pigheadedness, stupidity, impatience and sometimes just sheer malice from other road users actually makes it more risky to reverse into a spot. So, safer? Rubbish. And this thread proves it.

Seen and experienced it myself. When reversing someone almost always will drive right up to the car reversing. It as if they view a car reversing had no rights and dispite everyone knowing a reversing car has limited visibility they expect to be noticed instantly.

Vamp369 wrote: »
    Earlier this morning I drove in to a carpark for a Centra store. It has spaces lining both sides with a main thoroughfare.
    I had turned to the right with the intention to reverse in to a space on the left. As I reversed another car attempted to drive in to the space I was reversing in to. A collision occurred. The other driver argued I should have seen them but I said I was reversing and they pulled in behind me.
    Only very minor damage was done. Who is at fault here? Thanks

Exact same thing happened to me, the insurance company paid them despite the driver absolutely flying into the car park and into the space I was clearly reversing into.

I didn't use the indicator because it was an empty car park when I was doing it. Dont know if that affected their reasoning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

Exact same thing happened to me, the insurance company paid them despite the driver absolutely flying into the car park and into the space I was clearly reversing into.

I didn't use the indicator because it was an empty car park when I was doing it. Dont know if that affected their reasoning.

Indicators going froward or reverse into parking place arent required. Recommended maybe but not requirement. The person who pulled in would have either just jumped into space presumably because they thought they get in there before you and you notice them and stop in time. Or they are a dim and shouldn't be driving.

Phone your insurance company it might be 50/50 claim

visual wrote: »
    Indicators going froward or reverse into parking place arent required. Recommended maybe but not requirement. The person who pulled in would have either just jumped into space presumably because they thought they get in there before you and you notice them and stop in time. Or they are a dim and shouldn't be driving.

Phone your insurance company it might be 50/50 claim

It wasn't a 50/50 claim, they paid out not a bother despite my protesting my innocence , this happened 8 years ago man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I see drivers reversing out of parking spaces every day without looking behind :mad: I was going into an ALDI carpark one day and my former bank assistant was reversing out of his parking space as I was driving in, I had the right of way but he seemed to think he had judging by my lip reading skills :)

Also why do drivers think the rules of the road don't apply in carparks even though I know plenty drivers think the same about the road?

Sam Kade wrote: »
    I see drivers reversing out of parking spaces every day without looking behind :mad: I was going into an ALDI carpark one day and my former bank assistant was reversing out of his parking space as I was driving in, I had the right of way but he seemed to think he had judging by my lip reading skills :)

Also why do drivers think the rules of the road don't apply in carparks even though I know plenty drivers think the same about the road?

Well you could have been courteous and as you saw him reversing allowed him to complete the maneuver as you have a better field of vision than he does reversing his car.

But no plough ahead you have the right of way.
    I dont think its even possible to reverse out of a space without looking, in 10 years of driving ive never seen someone do it.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,855 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

So now you know the fallacy of that approach. :P
    If people see you reverse into a space they will say "quick, get in there before that cnut does!" bang!
    If they see you reverse out of a space they will say "OK, I want that space, I'll block everyone else and let him reverse"
    Surely the best approach is to spend an hour driving around looking for a space where there is nobody near you to ding your doors.
    Or is that just me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,182 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Its funny how every single person here who says they always reverse in "because its safer" has a story where someone almost or actually hit them. :D

It's safer to drive out of a space then reverse out, some companies have a policy where all vehicles have to reverse park on site.
    And I have seen it myself so many times. In some cases you have no choice, because the street is narrow in some cases you have to reverse in. 9 times out of 10 the baxtard behind you will see the reverse lights come on and they will actually floor it to prevent you from getting into that space. Not because they want the space, but because they want to block you from having it. A previous poster also pointed out how people will move in behind you when you're doing a three point turn. Incompetence, pigheadedness, stupidity, impatience and sometimes just sheer malice from other road users actually makes it more risky to reverse into a spot. So, safer? Rubbish. And this thread proves it.

And it'd be more risky to reverse out of the spot with the same drivers around.

Well you could have been courteous and as you saw him reversing allowed him to complete the maneuver as you have a better field of vision than he does reversing his car.

But no plough ahead you have the right of way.
    I dont think its even possible to reverse out of a space without looking, in 10 years of driving ive never seen someone do it.
    Jaysus, someone has a chip on their shoulder:rolleyes:

First of all it was at the beginning of the car park and I was gone too far before he started reversing to let him out and there was a car behind me but don't let that stop you from jumping to conclusions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Balls is it rubbish. I've never had an issue reversing into a space however I had some cnuts try set me up before while reversing out of a space. I find I've a much clearer view of whats around me if I reverse in and a clearer view when driving out.

The scam in question was to drive up hard behind a reversing car and let them clip you. As Alan points out the reversing car is at fault. To be honest it makes litter difference which way you enter the space as the scam can be done but it's harder to cut in behind a car reversing in IMHO.

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Balls is it rubbish. I've never had an issue reversing into a space however I had some cnuts try set me up before while reversing out of a space. I find I've a much clearer view of whats around me if I reverse in and a clearer view when driving out.

The scam in question was to drive up hard behind a reversing car and let them clip you. As Alan points out the reversing car is at fault. To be honest it makes litter difference which way you enter the space as the scam can be done but it's harder to cut in behind a car reversing in IMHO.
    Who's wrong if there are two cars reversing out of opposite spaces and they both hit?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,855 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Who's wrong if there are two cars reversing out of opposite spaces and they both hit?
    Presumably it would be settled as 50:50 - each sorts themselves out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭cruizer101

Rules of the roads states:
    You must not reverse from a minor road onto a major road as it is unsafe
    to do so.

So it is actually against the rules of the road to reverse out of a spot as parking spot can be considered as minor compared to road. Not I know rules of road aren't law and sometimes is better to be parked arse out (e.g. large load going into boot) but in general people should reverse into parking spots and if everyone did it world would be a better place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

cruizer101 wrote: »
    Rules of the roads states:
    You must not reverse from a minor road onto a major road as it is unsafe
    to do so.

So it is actually against the rules of the road to reverse out of a spot as parking spot can be considered as minor compared to road. Not I know rules of road aren't law and sometimes is better to be parked arse out (e.g. large load going into boot) but in general people should reverse into parking spots and if everyone did it world would be a better place.

That doesn't cover car parks where presumably most of this happens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭xabi

Both, neither of them checking their surroundings.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Vamp369 wrote: »
    Earlier this morning I drove in to a carpark for a Centra store. It has spaces lining both sides with a main thoroughfare.
    I had turned to the right with the intention to reverse in to a space on the left. As I reversed another car attempted to drive in to the space I was reversing in to. A collision occurred. The other driver argued I should have seen them but I said I was reversing and they pulled in behind me.
    Only very minor damage was done. Who is at fault here? Thanks
    razorblunt wrote: »
    This happened to my OH recently enough. We took the blame and paid for the damage done to their car, thankfully it was only £150.
    Idiot behind drove right up but the OH never checked the reverse cam before going back either.
    I always reverse into parking spaces.
    Have had a car cut behind me in an aldi carpark not because they wanted the space but because they didnt seem willing to wait the couple of seconds it takes for me to park.
    Could have ended up with me hitting them but ive been reversing into spots for too long and never assume anything.

Check and recheck and assume the worse from other drivers would be a motto of mine:)
    visual wrote: »
    Seen and experienced it myself. When reversing someone almost always will drive right up to the car reversing. It as if they view a car reversing had no rights and dispite everyone knowing a reversing car has limited visibility they expect to be noticed instantly.

And finally
    ba_barabus wrote: »

Is it rubbish? It never happens? No problem ever when reversing into a space? No one on this thread ever having this problem? The whole reason this thread exists? I must have dreamt those posts I quoted then...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,995 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

I found reversing in, particularly in tight car parks, far better as you can leave more room on the driver side door as undobetedly the other two have drove straight in. I give the driver beside me as much room as I had to get in, and the car beside me, if due to sh1tty line painting is too close can pullout to let their passengers in (although I do try and leave enough room if possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Canadel

Mirrors Mirrors Mirrors.

Apart from not indicating, it seems to me the Op wasn't checking their mirrors enough. If I'm reverse parking, I will double and treble check my mirrors as well as a few looks over the shoulder. The Op should just be grateful it wasn't a child or a toddler that moved forward into their space. It's a lesson.

Oh and parallel parking is probaly the best method of parking too so screw your no reversing policy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

kbannon wrote: »
    Surely the best approach is to spend an hour driving around looking for a space where there is nobody near you to ding your doors.
    Or is that just me?

That's grand but 9 times out of 10 you will have company on both sides when you return..:mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Canadel wrote: »
    Mirrors Mirrors Mirrors.

Apart from not indicating, it seems to me the Op wasn't checking their mirrors enough. If I'm reverse parking, I will double and treble check my mirrors as well as a few looks over the shoulder. The Op should just be grateful it wasn't a child or a toddler that moved forward into their space. It's a lesson.

Oh and parallel parking is probaly the best method of parking too so screw your no reversing policy!

Of course you have to reverse for parallel parking, Doi! If you read my posts, you will see me talk about it. In fact it's in the very post you quoted! :D
    Also, what do you do in a supermarket? If you reverse in, you're now scratching up your own and the car beside you as you squeeze your trolley through to load in your goods with a 3rd car or a wall behind you, so for shopping it's right out, as it's unsafe, provokes accidents and puts up to 3 cars in danger of being scratched up.
    I actually do reverse park at work, because there is very little traffic when I arrive around 8, but anywhere with a lot of traffic and impatient and incompetent drivers (3 point turn crash anyone? That alone proves my point) you're just asking for trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭cruizer101

Also, what do you do in a supermarket? If you reverse in, you're now scratching up your own and the car beside you as you squeeze your trolley through to load in your goods with a 3rd car or a wall behind you, so for shopping it's right out, as it's unsafe, provokes accidents and puts up to 3 cars in danger of being scratched up.

I see this actually as an issue with car park layouts. They should be laid out with pedestrian access behind cars, as below.

|road|parking|path|parking|road|parking|path|parking

This separates pedestrians from the cars which is safer and gives access to rear of car for loading shopping. Some would argue it takes more space, but no more than |road|path|parking|parking|road|path|parking| which is common enough.