Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Reversing into parking space accident

• 07-06-2016 9:43am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭Vamp369

Earlier this morning I drove in to a carpark for a Centra store. It has spaces lining both sides with a main thoroughfare.
    I had turned to the right with the intention to reverse in to a space on the left. As I reversed another car attempted to drive in to the space I was reversing in to. A collision occurred. The other driver argued I should have seen them but I said I was reversing and they pulled in behind me.
    Only very minor damage was done. Who is at fault here? Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

Vamp369 wrote: »
    Earlier this morning I drove in to a carpark for a Centra store. It has spaces lining both sides with a main thoroughfare.
    I had turned to the right with the intention to reverse in to a space on the left. As I reversed another car attempted to drive in to the space I was reversing in to. A collision occurred. The other driver argued I should have seen them but I said I was reversing and they pulled in behind me.

Did you indicate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭ct5amr2ig1nfhp

Did he hit you, or did you hit him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

This happened to my OH recently enough. We took the blame and paid for the damage done to their car, thankfully it was only £150.
    Idiot behind drove right up but the OH never checked the reverse cam before going back either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭Vamp369

Did you indicate?

No, but how do you indicate for that apart from left side?

I reversed in to the other car as itbdrove in front of (the rear) of my car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Story Bud?

You should be indicating toward the spot. If the spot was on your left, then your left indicator should have been on.

Unfortunately, as you were the one reversing, you will be the one liable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,898 ✭✭✭✭ted1

No, but how do you indicate for that?

Well you indicate left if reversing in to the left and right if going right.
    Was the other driver being cheeky by robbing the spot, or was your intention to reverse clear , did you check your mirrors while reversing ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Both to blame IMO.

You should have reversed with due care and checking all around.
    He should have kept his distance and observed you in front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭BGozIE

I was preforming a U-turn on a road where an accident had occured ahead, as a few cars had done infront of me. I was performing the reversing portion of the U-turn and as I did, the car that was behind me in traffic pulled up into the space my car left, we clipped just at the arch of my back wheel and the corner of his front bumper...hard to explain, but to cut a long story short - I contested this over insurance (which ended up costina lot more then the repair would have alone, as it was a small scratch to both cars). We both had the same insurance company (dont know if this helped me really) and they ruled against me as I was reversing.

ted1 wrote: »
    Well you indicate left if reversing in to the left and right if going right.
    Was the other driver being cheeky by robbing the spot, or was your intention to reverse clear , did you check your mirrors while reversing ?

I get the indication bit (hence the edit) but if I'm indicating left, and I've already turned to the right to straighten up for the reverse the other driver won't see my indicator as they approached from my offside/driver side. I had checked all mirrors, all clear, looking in rear view as I reversed.

I wouldn't say cheeky, didn't seem to realize I had choosen that space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭dev100

Vamp369 wrote:

If it's the case of you hitting the other car rather than other car hitting you I would say you are technically at fault . Is there much damage to their car??? .... if it were me I would argue I was reversing into the space and they were blind . So tell them they should look after their own costs and you will look after your own. It ll cost more money in long run disputing it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭check_six

I think you have to give way to everything when you are reversing, although you are not supposed to ram the car in front of you either. I'd guess the reversing rule takes precedence even if the other driver was chancing his arm trying to swipe your space. Sorry, OP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

A reversing vehicle must give way at all times. If you reversed into them, then it's your fault unfortunately. Sounds like the other party was being very cheeky, but it doesn't take away from the above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

If someone stops just past a parking spot and their reversing light goes on. Its most likely they are going to reverse into that space. This diving into a spot behind some doing this is typical of the bullying aggressive driving that you see everywhere. I would ask and see is there CCTV covering the car park, either on the car park or near by shops.

That said you shouldn't reverse into anything regardless. Though you could argue you shouldn't drive into someone reversing either. It would depend the specific situation.

The problem is the insurance company don't care who is at fault. They will settle which ever is the least cost to them. Unless you have a clear cut case. Which you don't.

dev100 wrote: »
    ...So tell them they should look after their own costs and you will look after your own. It ll cost more money in long run disputing it

This is true.

People are rarely reasonable. I had one case where a guy refused this logic for 2yrs, costs more in increased premiums than the repair. In the end was settled each pay their own. and the increased premium while there was an outstanding claim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I think it is as Alan says - the reversing car is responsible to look out for anything (even an eejit trying to take your space).

But I don't know the legislation around this.
    Will you let your insurer sort it out?

This is why people block the space until the cars behind go past them, then reverse into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

As above there is a requirement to give way to everything when reversing. Circumstances may vary and it can be possible to argue that the other person did something outrageous. But in general if you're reversing and you hit another vehicle you will be found at fault unless you have a mountain of evidence that shows how the other person was in the wrong.

biko wrote: »
    But I don't know the legislation around this.
    Will you let your insurer sort it out?

Damage was very minor, paint scratches. Other driver said if the mechanic says it's ok as is that that will be the end of it.

I always try to reverse in because I find it's a lot safer when departing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭The YOPPA

I would take your side on this OP, especially as it happened in a supermarket carpark.

All drivers have to be aware of cars pulling into & out of spaces. It sounds like you were performing a perfectly legal manoeuvre and the other driver was either being cheeky or wasn't driving with due care & attention....how do you not notice reversing lights again on a car right in front of you??

The YOPPA wrote: »
    do you not notice reversing lights again on a car right in front of you??

I drive a Ford Focus, reverse light is on nearside/left side. I had turned to the right to reverse straight back. That would make seeing the light hard. Never understood why reverse lights aren't on both sides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

If you are unsure which direction you should indicate when reversing into a space it would be best to stick the hazards on while reversing.
    I sometimes do this if for e.g the spot is tight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Agreed, it's much better to reverse into the space.
    In all my time it has never happened that someone else tried to take my spot, thankfully.

So the other driver got back to me there. They had some someone look at the car. To get the paint repaired €300 all in. A lot cheaper than the insurance route so I'll go with it.

In future any cars coming behind I'll just wait until they have gone past before moving.

So the other driver got back to me there. They had some someone look at the car. To get the paint repaired €300 all in. A lot cheaper than the insurance route so I'll go with it.

In future any cars coming behind I'll just wait until they have gone past before moving.

Now, you get them to sign a document stating that all repairs have been carried out and no further costs will be received. Something along those lines.
    Also would it be advisable to inform your insurance company in case they come back with sudden "pains"?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Damage was very minor, paint scratches. Other driver said if the mechanic says it's ok as is that that will be the end of it.

So now you know the fallacy of that approach. :P
    If people see you reverse into a space they will say "quick, get in there before that cnut does!" bang!
    If they see you reverse out of a space they will say "OK, I want that space, I'll block everyone else and let him reverse"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭ikeano29

beauf wrote: »
    This is why people block the space until the cars behind go past them, then reverse into it.

Always block the space because there are usually some chancers will just try bully there way in front ways knowing full what what they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

I always reverse into parking spaces.
    Have had a car cut behind me in an aldi carpark not because they wanted the space but because they didnt seem willing to wait the couple of seconds it takes for me to park.
    Could have ended up with me hitting them but ive been reversing into spots for too long and never assume anything.

Check and recheck and assume the worse from other drivers would be a motto of mine:)

Its funny how every single person here who says they always reverse in "because its safer" has a story where someone almost or actually hit them. :D
    And I have seen it myself so many times. In some cases you have no choice, because the street is narrow in some cases you have to reverse in. 9 times out of 10 the baxtard behind you will see the reverse lights come on and they will actually floor it to prevent you from getting into that space. Not because they want the space, but because they want to block you from having it. A previous poster also pointed out how people will move in behind you when you're doing a three point turn. Incompetence, pigheadedness, stupidity, impatience and sometimes just sheer malice from other road users actually makes it more risky to reverse into a spot. So, safer? Rubbish. And this thread proves it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 982 ✭✭✭VincePP

bear1 wrote: »
    Also would it be advisable to inform your insurance company in case they come back with sudden "pains"?

Don't say anything to insurance company - it will be put on your records and it will be seen as a potential claim and they'll increase premium somehow.

VincePP wrote: »
    Don't say anything to insurance company - it will be put on your records and it will be seen as a potential claim and they'll increase premium somehow.

I'm sure there's no such thing as a 'potential' claim. There's either a claim, or there's not.

I was thinking that as well. Generally every single policy would be a potential claim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭9935452

If people see you reverse into a space they will say "quick, get in there before that cnut does!" bang!
    If they see you reverse out of a space they will say "OK, I want that space, I'll block everyone else and let him reverse"

What i find in a of of smaller supermarkets is if you drive in, the car park is tight, lads seems to abandon cars at the end of the buildings too in your way for reversing out, You can have times that you just wont have enough space to reverse out and have to wait until the other car owner comes back
    so it makes a lot more sense to me to be driving out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

Its funny how every single person here who says they always reverse in "because its safer" has a story where someone almost or actually hit them. :D
    And I have seen it myself so many times. In some cases you have no choice, because the street is narrow in some cases you have to reverse in. 9 times out of 10 the baxtard behind you will see the reverse lights come on and they will actually floor it to prevent you from getting into that space. Not because they want the space, but because they want to block you from having it. A previous poster also pointed out how people will move in behind you when you're doing a three point turn. Incompetence, pigheadedness, stupidity, impatience and sometimes just sheer malice from other road users actually makes it more risky to reverse into a spot. So, safer? Rubbish. And this thread proves it.

Seen and experienced it myself. When reversing someone almost always will drive right up to the car reversing. It as if they view a car reversing had no rights and dispite everyone knowing a reversing car has limited visibility they expect to be noticed instantly.

Exact same thing happened to me, the insurance company paid them despite the driver absolutely flying into the car park and into the space I was clearly reversing into.

I didn't use the indicator because it was an empty car park when I was doing it. Dont know if that affected their reasoning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

Exact same thing happened to me, the insurance company paid them despite the driver absolutely flying into the car park and into the space I was clearly reversing into.

I didn't use the indicator because it was an empty car park when I was doing it. Dont know if that affected their reasoning.

Indicators going froward or reverse into parking place arent required. Recommended maybe but not requirement. The person who pulled in would have either just jumped into space presumably because they thought they get in there before you and you notice them and stop in time. Or they are a dim and shouldn't be driving.

Phone your insurance company it might be 50/50 claim

visual wrote: »
    Indicators going froward or reverse into parking place arent required. Recommended maybe but not requirement. The person who pulled in would have either just jumped into space presumably because they thought they get in there before you and you notice them and stop in time. Or they are a dim and shouldn't be driving.

Phone your insurance company it might be 50/50 claim

It wasn't a 50/50 claim, they paid out not a bother despite my protesting my innocence , this happened 8 years ago man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I see drivers reversing out of parking spaces every day without looking behind :mad: I was going into an ALDI carpark one day and my former bank assistant was reversing out of his parking space as I was driving in, I had the right of way but he seemed to think he had judging by my lip reading skills :)

Also why do drivers think the rules of the road don't apply in carparks even though I know plenty drivers think the same about the road?

Sam Kade wrote: »
    I see drivers reversing out of parking spaces every day without looking behind :mad: I was going into an ALDI carpark one day and my former bank assistant was reversing out of his parking space as I was driving in, I had the right of way but he seemed to think he had judging by my lip reading skills :)

Also why do drivers think the rules of the road don't apply in carparks even though I know plenty drivers think the same about the road?

Well you could have been courteous and as you saw him reversing allowed him to complete the maneuver as you have a better field of vision than he does reversing his car.

But no plough ahead you have the right of way.
    I dont think its even possible to reverse out of a space without looking, in 10 years of driving ive never seen someone do it.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,229 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Surely the best approach is to spend an hour driving around looking for a space where there is nobody near you to ding your doors.
    Or is that just me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,101 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

It's safer to drive out of a space then reverse out, some companies have a policy where all vehicles have to reverse park on site.

And it'd be more risky to reverse out of the spot with the same drivers around.

Well you could have been courteous and as you saw him reversing allowed him to complete the maneuver as you have a better field of vision than he does reversing his car.

But no plough ahead you have the right of way.
    I dont think its even possible to reverse out of a space without looking, in 10 years of driving ive never seen someone do it.
    Jaysus, someone has a chip on their shoulder:rolleyes:

First of all it was at the beginning of the car park and I was gone too far before he started reversing to let him out and there was a car behind me but don't let that stop you from jumping to conclusions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Balls is it rubbish. I've never had an issue reversing into a space however I had some cnuts try set me up before while reversing out of a space. I find I've a much clearer view of whats around me if I reverse in and a clearer view when driving out.

The scam in question was to drive up hard behind a reversing car and let them clip you. As Alan points out the reversing car is at fault. To be honest it makes litter difference which way you enter the space as the scam can be done but it's harder to cut in behind a car reversing in IMHO.

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Balls is it rubbish. I've never had an issue reversing into a space however I had some cnuts try set me up before while reversing out of a space. I find I've a much clearer view of whats around me if I reverse in and a clearer view when driving out.

The scam in question was to drive up hard behind a reversing car and let them clip you. As Alan points out the reversing car is at fault. To be honest it makes litter difference which way you enter the space as the scam can be done but it's harder to cut in behind a car reversing in IMHO.
    Who's wrong if there are two cars reversing out of opposite spaces and they both hit?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,229 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Who's wrong if there are two cars reversing out of opposite spaces and they both hit?
    Presumably it would be settled as 50:50 - each sorts themselves out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭cruizer101

Rules of the roads states:
    You must not reverse from a minor road onto a major road as it is unsafe
    to do so.

So it is actually against the rules of the road to reverse out of a spot as parking spot can be considered as minor compared to road. Not I know rules of road aren't law and sometimes is better to be parked arse out (e.g. large load going into boot) but in general people should reverse into parking spots and if everyone did it world would be a better place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

cruizer101 wrote: »
    Rules of the roads states:
    You must not reverse from a minor road onto a major road as it is unsafe
    to do so.

So it is actually against the rules of the road to reverse out of a spot as parking spot can be considered as minor compared to road. Not I know rules of road aren't law and sometimes is better to be parked arse out (e.g. large load going into boot) but in general people should reverse into parking spots and if everyone did it world would be a better place.

That doesn't cover car parks where presumably most of this happens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭xabi

Both, neither of them checking their surroundings.

razorblunt wrote: »
    This happened to my OH recently enough. We took the blame and paid for the damage done to their car, thankfully it was only £150.
    Idiot behind drove right up but the OH never checked the reverse cam before going back either.
    I always reverse into parking spaces.
    Have had a car cut behind me in an aldi carpark not because they wanted the space but because they didnt seem willing to wait the couple of seconds it takes for me to park.
    Could have ended up with me hitting them but ive been reversing into spots for too long and never assume anything.

Check and recheck and assume the worse from other drivers would be a motto of mine:)
    visual wrote: »
    Seen and experienced it myself. When reversing someone almost always will drive right up to the car reversing. It as if they view a car reversing had no rights and dispite everyone knowing a reversing car has limited visibility they expect to be noticed instantly.

And finally
    ba_barabus wrote: »

Is it rubbish? It never happens? No problem ever when reversing into a space? No one on this thread ever having this problem? The whole reason this thread exists? I must have dreamt those posts I quoted then...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,523 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

I found reversing in, particularly in tight car parks, far better as you can leave more room on the driver side door as undobetedly the other two have drove straight in. I give the driver beside me as much room as I had to get in, and the car beside me, if due to sh1tty line painting is too close can pullout to let their passengers in (although I do try and leave enough room if possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Canadel

Mirrors Mirrors Mirrors.

Apart from not indicating, it seems to me the Op wasn't checking their mirrors enough. If I'm reverse parking, I will double and treble check my mirrors as well as a few looks over the shoulder. The Op should just be grateful it wasn't a child or a toddler that moved forward into their space. It's a lesson.

Oh and parallel parking is probaly the best method of parking too so screw your no reversing policy!