Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best low fat snacks for a healthy diet.

• 22-05-2016 6:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭

Hi

Just want some suggestions for low fat snacks.
    The nakd bars are meant to be decent and stuff like banana pancakes as well.

Anything else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,713 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Why low fat?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭Silverman.

Looking to lose weight

Silverman. wrote: »
    Looking to lose weight

You can eat fat and lose weight.

A low calorie snack is more in order...anything in mind?

Hartley's sugar free jelly is 36 kcals for a pint of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭Big Wex fan

My 'slimming world' type diet.
    Tesco's cereal with berries -(don't know exact name)
    Artificial sweatener.
    Aldi cereal bars 65 cal a bar.
    Soup with added chicken breast - low cal & filling.
    Aldi low fat ham - 40 odd cals for 2 slices.
    Aldi low fat yogurts - make sure its the ones with added artificial sweetener not the added sugar ones.
    Loads of fruit. Zero cal drinks.
    Only low fat meats for dinners. No sauces/gravies.
    No beer/wine except for rear occasions.

2 stone lighter so working so far.

Fair play to ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭The Raptor

Came across whitworths snack shots in Tesco today. There's a few of them available that has nuts, fruit, raisins, chocolate in the packs. All less than 100 calories. Only got one and sorry i didn't get more of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Irish_rat

Artificial sweatener.
    Aldi low fat yogurts - make sure its the ones with added artificial sweetener not the added sugar ones.

While you're doing an excellent job on the weight loss and I commend you for it, some of the food listed is toxic to the human body. I wouldn't recommend a low fat product to my worst enemy. Artificial sweetener?

Sweeteners are poison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭Blacktie.

Irish_rat wrote:
    While you're doing an excellent job on the weight loss and I commend you for it, some of the food listed is toxic to the human body. I wouldn't recommend a low fat product to my worst enemy. Artificial sweetener?

What toxins are in the foods listed?

The Raptor wrote:
    Sweeteners are poison.

No they're not

Blacktie. wrote: »
    What toxins are in the foods listed?

Some of the ingredients included to enhance the low fat youghurt, ham, cereal and cereal bars. probably using soup stock cubes too. Zero cal drinks don't sound too good either unless it's water

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Keane2baMused

Artificial sweatener.

This is not what I would consider a healthy diet.Sweeteners are incredibly bad for you.

If you take the fat out of food you have to actually add something back in to make it not taste like crap.

Low fat ham?? It's pumped with water so that makes sense.

Cereal bars are marketed as healthy but aren't!

I'm not saying this isn't a route to weight loss as it has obviously worked, but overall health and maintaining it is the important thing.

As non-processed a diet as possible is much more preferable.

Porridge oats, Fruit, Veg, grilled chicken, wholegrain bread/rice/pasta,hummus,natural yoghurt with stewed fruit, and fresh vegetable soup(for eg)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

stewed fruit
    Why stew it... get rid of the sugars?

What works for me, works for me. What works for you, works for you.
    Modern living is toxic but what the hell- you have to eat something & I'm not going to start living like episodes of the goodlife.

Blacktie. wrote: »
    No they're not

They are for me. I get sick with them but some people are fine with them.

For a dessert some may like to stew some fruit.

Irish_rat wrote: »
    Some of the ingredients included to enhance the low fat youghurt, ham, cereal and cereal bars. probably using soup stock cubes too. Zero cal drinks don't sound too good either unless it's water

This doesn't make them toxic it just means they're not great for nutrition. I'm not saying there's not a lot of room for improvement there but saying it's toxic is going way overboard IMO.
    They are for me. I get sick with them but some people are fine with them.

For you doesn't mean for everyone. A lot of people are absolutely fine with sweeteners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Irish_rat wrote: »

This forum is so exhaustingly choked with misinformation, scaremongering, and old-wives tales it's a wonder ye haven't all starved to death by now. Every day there's someone spouting credulous rubbish.

What I like to do is do a dance in the garden to Hecate at the witching hour every new moon and it means I can eat anything I want and stay ripped. Also make sure to do weekly sage cleanses of all the rooms in your house to keep out bad energy and E numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭NiallBoo

That would increase the sugar content.

NiallBoo wrote: »
    That would increase the sugar content.

It would be some stewed fruit to add to natural yoghurt on an odd occasion is certainly not going to cause any issue.

Zillah wrote: »
    This forum is so exhaustingly choked with misinformation, scaremongering, and old-wives tales it's a wonder ye haven't all starved to death by now. Every day there's someone spouting credulous rubbish.

What I like to do is do a dance in the garden to Hecate at the witching hour every new moon and it means I can eat anything I want and stay ripped. Also make sure to do weekly sage cleanses of all the rooms in your house to keep out bad energy and E numbers.

You seem to be on the defensive side and reject the notion that eating natural foods is hippyish or some crap.

I'm certainly no angel and have been known to eat junk on occasion, regardless, unprocessed foods are better for your overall health, fact.

Sweeteners are not good for you, sugar in general is not good for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭Tipperary Fairy

Sweeteners are not good for you

Can you provide some sort of explanation as to why you think sweeteners are bad?

That's not even the right question, a person should be asking "are they less bad for me than the sugar I would otherwise be eating?".
    For most the answer is yes.

Why did you leave out the second part of the post?

Sweeteners and sugar in general are not good for you. We don't need added sugar in our diet when there are naturally occurring sugars.

Sweeteners may not damage your health but they have potential to contribute to obesity which can, and also are addictive.

That's not even the right question, a person should be asking "are they less bad for me than the sugar I would otherwise be eating?".
    For most the answer is yes.

Or just don't add sugar to your diet??

If the amount if sugar you would eat is zero then the amount of artificial sweetener used to replace that is zero...

Obviously cold-turkey is the preferable option but isn't always realistic. Having an alternative is helpful to some and will lead to better health overall. It's a crutch, but if it helps, it helps.

If the amount if sugar you would eat is zero then the amount of artificial sweetener used to replace that is zero...

Ha good luck with that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭livedadream

Hi

Just want some suggestions for low fat snacks.
    The nakd bars are meant to be decent and stuff like banana pancakes as well.

Anything else?

im going to ignore the stupid arguing over sweeteners.

the snacks i use that i reckon are pretty balanced (imo)
    nuts (i love smoked almonds and cashews)
    popcorn, the stuff you pop in a saucepan yourself i cover it with paprika or curry powder for an extra kick
    bourneville if im craving something sweet and chocolatey
    another poster mentioned those whitworths shots, i find them really handy for keeping my calories in check and are good for a nice treat during the day if you need one.
    if im hungry eggs are good too...
    turkey pieces
    cool beans

hope this helps...

A lot of comments have dragged my thread off topic.

Zillah wrote: »

Off your meds again?

Sweeteners and sugar in general are not good for you. We don't need added sugar in our diet when there are naturally occurring sugars.

Sweeteners may not damage your health but they have potential to contribute to obesity which can, and also are addictive.

Whats more additive is the full Irish & loads of ketchup & white bread toast on the side. (My mouth is salivating thinking about it) But it doesn't salivate with what I will eat which is low cal cereal with sweatener.

I left it out because it has no relevance to the question I asked.

So you think they have the potential to contribute to obesity? How? Is it what you're quoting that Dr Ludwig says in the article you have linked? Because not only does it say may, it is one persons opinion, and even if it were proven it would be great to explain why rather than leading people to believe artificial sweeteners cause obesity, as they don't. And instead explain that the 'theory' is people will think oh I've had no calories in that coke so i'm going to stuff this cake down my throat. That's not artificial sweeteners making people fat, that's people's stupidity making them fat.

But don't let reality get in the way of blind uninformed scaremongering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭ChampagnePop

Those Whitworth shots are full of added sugar, check the ingredient list

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭livedadream

i like to run and eat real food. i also occasionally lift heavy things before running... its fun.

before (when i was as wide as i was tall) i used to like watching TV and eating sweets and burgers and drinking beer in copious amounts.

find what works for you and stick with it.

I left it out because it has no relevance to the question I asked.

So you think they have the potential to contribute to obesity? How? Is it what you're quoting that Dr Ludwig says in the article you have linked? Because not only does it say may, it is one persons opinion, and even if it were proven it would be great to explain why rather than leading people to believe artificial sweeteners cause obesity, as they don't. And instead explain that the 'theory' is people will think oh I've had no calories in that coke so i'm going to stuff this cake down my throat. That's not artificial sweeteners making people fat, that's people's stupidity making them fat.

But don't let reality get in the way of blind uninformed scaremongering.

Are you an expert in nutrition? Or do you get all your information from the Internet?

A lot of comments have dragged my thread off topic.

I hope you haven't checked back in...

Are you an expert in nutrition? Or do you get all your information from the Internet?

No and no. I'm not seeing the relevance of either question though. Are you an expert in nutrition? Or is your defensiveness really about me not agreeing that this one guy knows more about artificial sweeteners than all the hundreds of people who have been involved in the actual studies into them?

As a starting point, you should read the entire Wikipedia article about Aspartame. It might get some of that nonsense out of your head.

No and no. I'm not seeing the relevance of either question though. Are you an expert in nutrition? Or is your defensiveness really about me not agreeing that this one guy knows more about artificial sweeteners than all the hundreds of people who have been involved in the actual studies into them?

As a starting point, you should read the entire Wikipedia article about Aspartame. It might get some of that nonsense out of your head.

Wikipedia? I'll say no more.

Don't say any more then, best if you don't if you're just going to peddle bollix anyway.

Re Wikipedia, everything is cited from studies etc. But I guess you just don't want to accept that you may be wrong, so it doesn't suit you to open your mind a little.

Everything is cited from studies etc. But I guess you just don't want to accept that you may be wrong, so it doesn't suit you to open your mind a little.

Wikipedia is not a credible source, sorry.

Anyway, continually dragging the OP's post off topic is not helpful.

OP stick to whole foods, protein, fruit and veg and you won't go far wrong.

Wikipedia is not a credible source, sorry.

Wikipedia isn't a source, it cites sources. Sources such as the fda, efsa, fsanz, the American journal of clinical nutrition and many more.

But fine you don't want to believe you're wrong just give up peddling sh1te that has no basis in scientific fact.

Those Whitworth shots are full of added sugar, check the ingredient list

Sweeteners, sugar, there's no winning.

The Raptor wrote:
    Sweeteners, sugar, there's no winning.

Full keto ftw!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

Scaremongering has become the leading cause of obesity, having surpassed both fat and sugar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭danslevent

I wish that people would reply with snack ideas instead of bickering about sweeteners, I would love some new ideas...

Anyway, my healthy snacks are:
    Carrots and cucumber with reduced fat hummus.
    Muesli with natural yoghurt and tinned fruit (like peaches) in their own juice rather than syrup.
    If I am craving chocolate then I have one of those instant, under 40 calories hot chocolate.
    Goji berries are good in yoghurt or porridge. They add lots of sweetness but are actually very low in both calories and sugars.
    Pomegranate seeds are lovely too. A vit pricey from Tesco in those individual pots but delicious. Also great to stir into porridge after it is cooked, it makes porridge more refreshing during summer.
    Lots of different fruit cut up. Grapes and pineapple go great together with yoghurt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭tommyboy2222

Eat meals . Don't snack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Moo Moo Land

The Raptor wrote: »
    Sweeteners are poison.

Absolute poison. I don't think people know the half of it and I used to work for a manufacturer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Moo Moo Land

The Raptor wrote: »
    Sweeteners are poison.

Absolute poison. I don't think people know the half of it and I used to work for a manufacturer (in Marketing!).