Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Compulsory Military Service

• 21-05-2016 3:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭

Are you in favour of compulsory military service for one year after leaving school in Ireland?

What are the benefits of doing this?

What are the drawbacks of doing this ?

Are you in favour of compulsory military service for one year, upon leaving school? 73 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    100% 73 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

Atari jaguar

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

No, everyone I know who did it in Austria said it was a waste of time with nothing to do after the first few weeks except play cards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭s4uv3

I'd be more in favour of compulsory retail work for a year.
    That'd scare any young person into pursuing a job that they're suited for :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,798 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

No, it should be Compulsory Retail Work though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

Nope. I'm not joining the army to give my life for people I've never met, and when I have children I won't be allowing them to join the military either. Politicians start and end arguments with their pens, if they want to scrap let them suit up and get into the trenches themselves.

The Irish military is the ultimate pointless career. No participation in wars of any sort, all they do is sit around refereeing in Muslim villages because Islamic countries can't be trusted to behave in a civilised manner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Is this a homework question?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭DontThankMe

No what good would it do when when Ireland is a "neutral country".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭love humanity

I see benefits in some ways... extreme physical fitness, learning to defend yourself and others should the need ever arise, survival skills, learning to think strategically, building strong character and confidence...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,810 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Generic, you managed to squeeze a lot of your prejudices into one post.
    some of the christians aren't very civilised either but then that would not suit your bias.

I can't see any use to compulsory service. Unless you come from a 'meet the fockers' mindset.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Lurkio

Mushy wrote: »
    No, it should be Compulsory Retail Work though

.....jaysus, its compulsory service, not suffering....

I see benefits in some ways... extreme physical fitness, learning to defend yourself and others should the need ever arise, survival skills, learning to think strategically, building strong character and confidence...

Home much of this actually happens when military service is compulsory though? When you bring in large numbers of people standards and funding drop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

Ya, but what about the Irish Army

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭BlondeMoment

I suppose there would be no harm in teaching some people discipline, teamwork, communication and responsibility, amongst an abundance of other skills , before they enter the big bad world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭love humanity

Home much of this actually happens when military service is compulsory though?
    Only if very very well organised and funded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,802 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Are you in favour of compulsory military service for one year after leaving school in Ireland?

Maybe not for school leavers but I think military academies for "troubled teens" or military type camps for repeat offenders would be a good start.

If they refuse to be productive members of society then drill dicipline into them until they learn. It should be an option though, jail or military.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

genericguy wrote: »
    The Irish military is the ultimate pointless career. No participation in wars of any sort, all they do is sit around refereeing in Muslim villages because Islamic countries can't be trusted to behave in a civilised manner.

Nail on the head!

But to answer the OP....1 year mandatory military service is of no benefit to the person or the State.

I suppose there would be no harm in teaching some people discipline, teamwork, communication and responsibility, amongst an abundance of other skills , before they enter the big bad world.

You'd be better off learning this spending some time with a civil service like the fire brigade or red cross (this is actually a possibility in Austria and previously Germany as an alternative to compulsory military service)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

Sounds like a lot of time and money wasted. Im sure there could be benefits for some people but there are probably better alternatives.

Only if very very well organised and funded

Which is unlikely to happen with a large number of people doing compulsory service. Israel would be the exception I guess, but they have very specific circumstances, look at Dedovshchina in the Russian army to see how badly it can go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Never seen Full Metal Jacket...?

I'd be in favour of some form of community service, but not military. Neither the military nor the individual ever benefits from people being forced to be there.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,965 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

I'd be in favour of 1 year national service if it wasn't necessarily military. Like a community service type thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

Maybe not for school leavers but I think military academies for "troubled teens" or military type camps for repeat offenders would be a good start.

If they refuse to be productive members of society then drill dicipline into them until they learn. It should be an option though, jail or military.

Have you been watching "Bad Lads Army"? :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

This thread reminded me of this great clip from Yes Prime Minister:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G0ZZJXw4MTA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭corner of hells

My friends son is due to be conscripted soon into Israeli army.
    I'm hoping he might get me some of those little stun grenades they use , they surely couldn't miss a box or two

That is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,154 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

I see benefits in some ways... extreme physical fitness, learning to defend yourself and others should the need ever arise,

If everyone has to complete the training then you won't be able to to defend yourself as everyone else will have the same knowledge.

Del2005 wrote: »
    If everyone has to complete the training then you won't be able to to defend yourself as everyone else will have the same knowledge.

Scrotes would be less likely to attack if they think you have the knowledge to defend yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

Nope. I'm not joining the army to give my life for people I've never met, and when I have children I won't be allowing them to join the military either. Politicians start and end arguments with their pens, if they want to scrap let them suit up and get into the trenches themselves.

Do you know that once your children are old enough to join the military, there'll be fuck all you can do to stop them if that's what they want to do?

As for "refereeing in Muslim villages because Islamic countries can't be trusted to behave in a civilised manner", if you don't have a clue about something, you'd be better off just saying nothing rather than spouting such tripe.

Scrotes would be less likely to attack if they think you have the knowledge to defend yourself

But as the service is compulsory, said scrotes will be as likely as you to have served in it, I'd imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

.....or alternatively the scrotes would be more capable of attacking you after a programme of intensive physical training and being thought hand to hand combat techniques.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

Not straight from school but any able bodied person that's either not working or in full-time education, regardless of their 'ethnicity', within 12 months of their 19th birthday then off with them. I'm sure the Army would be well capable of creating posts for those that can't do it for 'health reasons' etc. as well.

Beats the she ite out of paying them dole for life or the fantasy jobsbridge schemes that we have at the moment.

I'd even make it two years !!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

.....or alternatively the scrotes would be more capable of attacking you after a programme of intensive physical training and being thought hand to hand combat techniques.

Or maybe they mightn't be scrotes anymore !!

They'd be scroti?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,508 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Not straight from school but any able bodied person that's either not working or in full-time education, regardless of their 'ethnicity', within 12 months of their 19th birthday then off with them. I'm sure the Army would be well capable of creating posts for those that can't do it for 'health reasons' etc. as well.

Beats the she ite out of paying them dole for life or the fantasy jobsbridge schemes that we have at the moment.

I'd even make it two years !!!!!

What if the person wasn't claiming social welfare?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Del2005 wrote: »

Ya know you can learn that wihtout having to join a military?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,508 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Out of the few lads I know who joined the army be either here or in the UK. There all terribly rough and generally people I wouldn't want to be around. The only guy who'd be nice enough want a united Ireland and has an obsession with Sinn Fein.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

There have been plenty of studies that show that the effect of juvenile boot camps have on recidivism is minimal

Money spent on measures reducing inequality, well resourced prisons and education are proven to be a far more effective ways of dealing with crime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Absolutely but only if the fella in charge of the academy has a hook for an arm and a patch over one eye and the cadets get up to all sorts of stunts like shaving people bald on their birthdays and seeing how many marshmallow ducks someone can eat etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

I'm not joining the army to give my life
    No participation in wars of any sort

Ah here, make up your mind

Out of interest: how many people who are in favour of the idea, have NEVER actually been in the army themselves...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Vietnam says no.

Average age of fatalities 22.3 years old.

Wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭hytrogen

I had thought about it as a way to pay for college. But then I read up that the military prefer post grads so they've something else to fall back on when they retire at 35. As well as their qualifications don't stand for much once you step off the base apparently.
    Typical Irish backwardness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Unless you're posting from some wartorn African dictatorship, the use of child soldiers is generally not the done thing so by the time they are old enough to choose their career , you wont have much say.

Lurkio wrote: »
    But as the service is compulsory, said scrotes will be as likely as you to have served in it, I'd imagine.

Yes, they would have the same basic training and would know that anyone else who has served gas also had that training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Out of interest: how many people who are in favour of the idea, have NEVER actually been in the army themselves...?

Does that not work both ways ? Or is it ok to dismiss an idea you know nothing about but not to agree with it?

TBH Id be in favour of compulsory beatings for little scrotes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

How could we conceivably fund a national service programme, when we already struggle to adequately spend money effectively on our defence forces . We spend less than O.40% of our total GDP, Where countries like Norway spend 1.4% of their GDP on Defence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

My friends son is due to be conscripted soon into Israeli army.
    I'm hoping he might get me some of those little stun grenades they use , they surely couldn't miss a box or two

That is all.

Can I ask why you want Stun Grenades :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,602 ✭✭✭Stigura

This thread reminded me of this great clip from Yes Prime Minister:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G0ZZJXw4MTA

Simon Templar, you're a saint!

The moment I saw this thread I thought; " Ooh! Will anyone show us that brilliant sketch from Yes, Prime Minister ...? " :D

Can I ask why you want Stun Grenades :confused:

He might have been joking :)