Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Australia just dodged a bullet

• 14-05-2016 11:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,047 ✭✭✭

We almost won Eurovision.

Thankfully Ukraine took the heat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭CarFan100

How bad were the winners?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,387 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Erm Australia in the euro vision? Was there some kind of massive polical upheaval that completely passed me by?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Would have been hosted in Europe with no cost to Australia but with great exposure,

so you missed out big time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Hosted in London's O2 arena by Paul Hogan & a kangaroo in a ballgown.

That level of global exposure is priceless.

Australia missed out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

I'm sayin nothin. :mad:

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,339 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I think it would have been great if Australia had won!:D

Kylie could have presented it from Sydney.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,079 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Jayop wrote: »
    Erm Australia in the euro vision? Was there some kind of massive polical upheaval that completely passed me by?

Political? You mean massive geographical movement that left Australia just south of the Netherlands. Honest. You should watch the news man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

CarFan100 wrote: »
    How bad were the winners?

Absolutely woeful:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,708 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

CabanSail wrote: »
    We almost won Eurovision.

Thankfully Ukraine took the heat.

What bullet would that be?
    What harm would there be in winning it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Ugh, Australians... so uncouth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

Ugh, Australians... so uncouth.
    They gave the world BBQ(when I think BBQ, I think aussies. Maybe wrong) I'm OK with that. But but how the **** can they be in euro vision?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

Absolutely woeful:cool:

Not true.

A woman, sad song about oppressed minority, not awful song, good voice, good performance and visuals, even by Eurovision standards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,770 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

I'm sayin nothin. :mad:

You flamin' galah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,153 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Political? You mean massive geographical movement that left Australia just south of the Netherlands. Honest. You should watch the news man!

It's a competition for TV companies, there's plenty of other countries completing who aren't on the European continent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    You flamin' galah.

Strewth!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Oz only did so well cos of block voting from their neighbors

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,263 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Tigger wrote: »

Everybody needs good neighbours

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭CarFan100

Oz only did so well cos of block voting from neighbors

Good show that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,348 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

I wonder if they will have a torch light procession in Kiev. Or maybe they save those for celebrating the ''achievements'' of genocidal war criminals and SS divisions.

Well, that didn't take long......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

I wonder if they will have a torch light procession in Kiev. Or maybe they save those for celebrating the ''achievements'' of genocidal war criminals and SS divisions.

Yep, Ukraine winning the Eurovision was a CIA black op designed to humiliate Russia.

Oh ffs, crimea river.

pc7 wrote: »
    Everybody needs good neighbours

I made the joke why does he get the thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

deco nate wrote: »
    They gave the world BBQ(when I think BBQ, I think aussies. Maybe wrong) I'm OK with that. But but how the **** can they be in euro vision?

It was actually the Austrians. Some eejit just mixed it up along the way somewhere and it stuck. It was the real cause of WWII .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,348 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

Oh ffs, crimea river.

Is it trendy these days to support countries that incorporate neo-nazi units into their armed forces, allow the open celebration of SS divisions, genocidal maniacs like Stepan Bandera, and nazi militias that ethnically cleansed hundreds of thousands of Jews and Poles? Is that what all the hipster kids are into these days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,770 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

*hug*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Your one is about as Australian as a red Fox. Meaning she's a non native species .

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    *hug*

Lol
    I'm just wondering

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Your one is about as Australian as a red Fox. Meaning she's a non native species .

She wasn't aboriginal that's true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Is it trendy these days to support countries that incorporate neo-nazi units into their armed forces, allow the open celebration of SS divisions, genocidal maniacs like Stepan Bandera, and nazi militias that ethnically cleansed hundreds of thousands of Jews and Poles? Is that what all the hipster kids are into these days?

My enemy's enemy etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

I guess its trendy, for some people to ignore the ethnic cleansing of the Tartars from the Crimea in 1944, and more recent repeat, when the Russians invaded the Crimea again.

Oh and Putin has plenty of Neo-Nazi buddies of his own:

Russia Hosting Europe’s Neo-Nazis, Nationalists and Anti-Semites, Putin Supporters All

Yes, didn't you notice all the Hitler youth type haircuts all the youngfellas are sporting these days?

Mods.. Time to move this to politics cafe...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,047 ✭✭✭CabanSail

Whoa! From a naff song contest to ethnic cleansing and Nazis in less than two pages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The most racist people I ever experienced in all my travels.

Even worse than the Italians.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

It was a choice for the audience to have it at home or away!.

Maybe we'd be better off with Oz in the EU and Britain leaving. Our unemployment issue sorted by a song.

I didn't think Britain was in the EU, well not really. They sort of gave it a bit of a trial but never committed. So we could take their place as long as we don't get their weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭rafatoni

Thank God Oz didnt win it, couldnt bare looking looking at their 70s clobber hosting the next one.

Flamin gallahs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭exaisle

Let's be honest...that Ukraine song was a dire dirge....utter sh1te.....

Feckin ex-commies all voted for Ukraine as a dig against Putin.....I'm devastated....disgusted....dismayed

How did the irish jury not give Australia any points at all? Heads should roll.....San Marino and Czech Republic were the only countries who didnt give Australia any jury points.....who are these people on the Irish jury??????

Oh....did I mention that I had a tenner on Oz? ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭exaisle

Let's be honest...that Ukraine song was a dire dirge....utter sh1te.....

Feckin ex-commies all voted for Ukraine as a dig against Putin.....I'm devastated....disgusted....dismayed

How did the irish jury not give Australia any points at all? Heads should roll.....San Marino and Czech Republic were the only countries who didnt give Australia any jury points.....who are these people on the Irish jury??????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Jaysus the putinbots were on this one early!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

I really thought Russia had it sown up. catchy tune and spectacular visuals. The political message won it for Ukraine, although the entry was not bad either.

Next year we should sing about the water charges

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭Popeleo

With a little understanding....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭Starscream25

It's ironic what has happened to democracy here, the jury, made up of a few individuals in each country have a 50% impact on the overall result.
    The public had Russia as their winner yet the jury favoured Australia and the worst out of the top 3 won.
    Who are on these juries? Who came up with this idea? The public should decide the outcome end of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,804 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Maybe we'd be better off with Oz in the EU and Britain leaving. Our unemployment issue sorted by a song.

Oh wait for the bang! I see trouble ahead for oz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,840 ✭✭✭Calibos

FFS! Some customer told me Australia won last night and I've been making jokes with the rest of my customers about next years Australasian Song Contest and how there's no direct flights between Belarus and OZ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,899 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Who are on these juries? Who came up with this idea? The public should decide the outcome end of.

The voting on these things is always ridiculous for a significant amount of voting, it isn't for the song or performance, it's just for the country. Since you can't vote for your own country, it's handy if you live in a different country if you want to support your own.

Who did 'Irish' phones votes go to? 12 to Lithuania, 10 to Poland, 8 to Russia, and 7 to Latvia. I think there might be significant number of people from these countries living in Ireland, and they may have voted for their own country. Seriously! ;) Actually there's nothing wrong in that but it just shows that voting system is flawed, especially since the phone voting is so different from jury voting. I'm sure a third group, phone voting from Irish-born people would also give very different results.
    exaisle wrote: »

I didn't see it last night but on the second semi-final, that Australian song was terrible by a technically good singer. Australia probably did well because of the novelty factor (and because people in general have awful taste in music. :pac: ) The only 1/4 decent song I heard was by Georgia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭Ronald Wilson Reagan

Maybe read a history book Jim, you seem to be confusing uncle Joe with super Mario.

exaisle wrote: »

Was that a tenner or a tenor?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,272 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

CabanSail wrote: »
    Whoa! From a naff song contest to ethnic cleansing
    So Oz should have done a song about the Indigenous Australians ?