Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

NARGC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭J.R.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭berettaman

Gameshot Magazine out today.

Well done to all concerned, nice job!!

Also for twitter users @nargc11 official NARGC twitter page.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭tudderone

berettaman wrote: »

Is that the first of those magazines ? I have only been with the NARGC a year so don't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭Vizzy

tudderone wrote: »
    Is that the first of those magazines ? I have only been with the NARGC a year so don't know.

No, there is one issued every year for the last few years

Glanced through it today and read some of it -

Looks to be a lot of good, interesting articles in this issue.

Plenty of reading in it.

A lot of work & research gone into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Willow2009

I agree, a great booklet, “ BUT” wouldn’t it be better in an envelope so it isn’t seen by the postal services, indicating the possibility of firearms at a certain address ??, Just thinking out loud.
    M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Max H

I emailed NARGC re the magazine being in clear plastic yesterday. Got a reply back today, will try to cut and paste it

Hi and thank you for your email.

The NARGC has been distributing its annual magazine, GameShot, in this packaging format for more than

10 years and so we would, by now, have distributed more than 250,000 of our magazines. To date, nobody

bar yourself, has offered complaint about this aspect. We will take your comments on board and assess the

situation.

Of course if you wish to discontinue receiving GameShot, do let us know.

Kind regards,

Chris Gavican

MAGAZINE EDITOR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Willow2009 wrote: »
    I agree, a great booklet, “ BUT” wouldn’t it be better in an envelope so it isn’t seen by the postal services, indicating the possibility of firearms at a certain address ??, Just thinking out loud.
    M

When I renew my licence I tell the guy in the post office to close his eyes so he doesn't see my address and I wear my tinfoil hat.
    Works a treat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭smmember20

Max H wrote: »
    Hi and thank you for your email.

The NARGC has been distributing its annual magazine, GameShot, in this packaging format for more than

10 years and so we would, by now, have distributed more than 250,000 of our magazines. To date, nobody

bar yourself, has offered complaint about this aspect. We will take your comments on board and assess the

situation.

Of course if you wish to discontinue receiving GameShot, do let us know.

Kind regards,

Chris Gavican

MAGAZINE EDITOR.

Not an unreasonable observation in the current climate, after all all you need is to have a dog in your house to be a target of criminals, when now that you can easily be identifed as a gun owner by way of the mail sent by a national organisation always talking about protecting their members............well maybe a change in the 10 years of doing the same thing needs a little more investigation than fob of with we will assess the situation, a blind man can tell that there is increased security risk from such, even the Gardai recomend not putting stickers on your car that would ientify you as a firearms owner!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭tudderone

smmember20 wrote: »
    Not an unreasonable observation in the current climate, after all all you need is to have a dog in your house to be a target of criminals, when now that you can easily be identifed as a gun owner by way of the mail sent by a national organisation always talking about protecting their members............well maybe a change in the 10 years of doing the same thing needs a little more investigation than fob of with we will assess the situation, a blind man can tell that there is increased security risk from such, even the Gardai recomend not putting stickers on your car that would ientify you as a firearms owner!!!

So i should take the "Insured by Smith and Wesson" and "I shot J.R" stickers off the bumper of the Cortina ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Willow2009

garv123 wrote: »
    When I renew my licence I tell the guy in the post office to close his eyes so he doesn't see my address and I wear my tinfoil hat.
    Works a treat!

Brilliant !!! What ever works for you ðŸ‘

A further email from Chris at NARGC, they are actively looking at an opaque cover for the magazine next year

I was very surprised that the UK numbers were lower than Ireland...considering the country size.

Engagement overall is very poor.

548215.JPG
    548216.JPG

Survey Link http://www.face.eu/survey

NARGC BAG RETURN COMPETITION

NARGC BAG RETURNS.

I won €200 prize in the NARGC bag returns competition.

Absolutely delighted!!

548301.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭slipperyox

Anyone do that lead survey?

omg, the worst constructed survey EVER

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 681 ✭✭✭ace86

J.R. wrote: »

NARGC BAG RETURNS.

Absolutely delighted!!

548301.jpg
    Well done on that do you mind me asking what kind of returns you made?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,994 ✭✭✭Eddie B

Thats brilliant J.R. , congrats!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭tikkamark

slipperyox wrote: »
    Anyone do that lead survey?

omg, the worst constructed survey EVER
    I gave up about 10 questions in it’s worse than pulling teeth!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭GooseB

There were only 13 questions - you were almost there!

J.R. wrote: »

NARGC BAG RETURNS.

Absolutely delighted!!

548301.jpg

Well Done!

The bag returns are a brilliant part of the new website.
    They also let you count buzzards and the species in the off season.

I heard they will do another draw later this year.
    Bag returns will be crucial in the future. We have numpties saying x species is declining and our bag returns are proof that we are harvesting a sustainable surplus.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭no_4

yea Q 11 is a doozy!! but i persevered ans odne it
    tikkamark wrote: »

NARGC WAtch:

EGM on the 24th July (Pandemic measures permitting) to do elections and resolutions left over from last AGM that was held via zoom.

Regular Governing Body meeting afterwards.

Social distance measures in place and only 2 delegates per RGC as far as I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭Backbarrel

Fair play to the the Chairman and the lads for keeping things going during the last 12 months.
    I know there are plenty of lads with new ideas that are trying to get involved so this could be an interesting election.
    Anyone elected now will they be in position for a year or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Not bothered normally

Backbarrel wrote: »
    Fair play to the the Chairman and the lads for keeping things going during the last 12 months.
    I know there are plenty of lads with new ideas that are trying to get involved so this could be an interesting election.
    Anyone elected now will they be in position for a year or what?

the chairman is doing a good job in a tough year.

one long standing member of the executive resigned in recent days

not sure there will be any new faces with the big voting block that exits which keeps electing the same faces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭richiedel123

the chairman is doing a good job in a tough year.

one long standing member of the executive resigned in recent days

not sure there will be any new faces with the big voting block that exits which keeps electing the same faces.
    Like all organisations things can get stale after time. A bit of change is no harm. Brings in new ideas etc....
    In fairness though it has been a tough year or so and the crowd involved now did a great job. My hat is off to them

Like all organisations things can get stale after time. A bit of change is no harm. Brings in new ideas etc....
    In fairness though it has been a tough year or so and the crowd involved now did a great job. My hat is off to them

A bit of change is no harm.

Plenty of challenges ahead and plenty of work to be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭richiedel123

A bit of change is no harm.

Plenty of challenges ahead and plenty of work to be done.

Well if the last 2 years is anything to go anything could crop up at any time
    I think a solid executive with hard workers is needed more than anything.I'll be onto my county reps to make sure they vote the best way possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭garrettod

I can't believe that they still have that stupid rule about having to be a member of an affiliated club, to be a member of the NARGC Compensation Scheme.

They are restricting their ability to grow massively, not to mention retain members who leave affiliated clubs etc.

Thanks,

G.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

Its the Constitution, membership of the fund is through a Club affiliated to a Region, which is in turn affiliated to the NARGC. The process of joining is quite simple its like any Club. Your proposed, seconded and voted in, some Clubs have a probation period others don't.