Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NARGC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,250 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

(h) outside of normal opening hours the time-lock shall be engaged;
    TBH how, outside of a ridiculous cost and now over paranoia on security and CCTV and with a monitored alarm is this a very bad thing for a dealer?

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

(k) the CCTV system shall, as a minimum, be capable of covering all of
    the entry and exit points to the premises, the interior of the premises
    (including the sales area) and the interior of the strong room. Such a
    system shall be capable of recording images in all light conditions;

Emphasis mine. "All light conditions" obviously includes "no light because the power's out" and now you're into night vision/weird infrared tech areas.

If they're okay with illumination, that's almost standard on some webcams, but it's not clear those would be accepted.

To be honest, half this reads like it was written after someone spent too much time watching Mission: Impossible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 DUTCH MAC

The establishment dont want it.

They tried to keep it quiet and were selective with their notifications so your hearing it here now, an EGM of the Cork Federation of gun clubs will take place in the Oriel House Hotel on Thursday 15th February at 8.30 pm.

Get the message out to all.

Your in sport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭Perfectstorm

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    (h) outside of normal opening hours the time-lock shall be engaged;
    TBH how, outside of a ridiculous cost and now over paranoia on security and CCTV and with a monitored alarm is this a very bad thing for a dealer?

I don't believe that decent alarm systems are mad money anymore. I think it will depend how modern the premises are for some dealers in terms of staying in business. I can think of 1 dealer who may need to spend a good bit on his premises to meet wall thickness and fire standards.

DUTCH MAC wrote: »
    The establishment dont want it.

They tried to keep it quiet and were selective with their notifications so your hearing it here now, an EGM of the Cork Federation of gun clubs will take place in the Oriel House Hotel on Thursday 15th February at 8.30 pm.

Get the message out to all.

Your in sport

That egm has been a while coming. Is it to vote in a new chairman?

NARGC is a failed organisation, its come full circle now. From where there were no organisations and chaos, but everyone got on with each other. To where there is now the NARGC and a few smaller organisations and now nobody gets on with each other.

FFS for someone to travel halfway accross the country to try and **** up a charity clay shoot for a sick child..... the sport is rotten and everyone participating in it would want to have a good long look at themselves.

People are like that when they have righteous indignation in their head...

The nargc is paralysed with in fighting that the majority don't accept is happening...the main event is yet to come

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 678 ✭✭✭wirehairmax

People are like that when they have righteous indignation in their head...

The nargc is paralysed with in fighting that the majority don't accept is happening...the main event is yet to come
    What do you mean by righteous indignation? That trip was made out of pure malice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

There we are the world is ending again, hellfire and brimstone is about to rain down on us, wow betide anyone who is on the wrong side. Lads we have moved on....what is the main event that's coming when is this rapture meant to be coming I really can't help thinking that people just can't move on. We have enough to be getting on with when you consider that :
    1. The ECHA are attacking lead,
    2. Woodcock shooting is under pressure
    3. There is a step g rumour that DOJ is looking to cull Firearm ownership by introducing new security measures.
    4. New requirements on Firearm dealers will put smaller lads out of business.
    5. Night time shooting under pressure
    6. HCAP pressure.

And we now have to worry about the horsemen of the apocylapse riding out of the West to Smite us down. I know we're my priorities are..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭blackpearl

Have to agree scare mongering just get on with your sport and enjoy it there people out their fighting our coner in all these issues dont worry about it ,3/4s of wont happen .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

Quiet enough meeting today EGM scrapped on legal advice. Good work being done to fight the lead ammo issues. Lots of good work and no shouting matches.
    Does anyone know what the Kildare delegates issue with boards.ie was?

grassroot1 wrote: »
    Quiet enough meeting today EGM scrapped on legal advice. Good work being done to fight the lead ammo issues. Lots of good work and no shouting matches.
    Could it be we say it as it is there is a shoot on tomorrow and I'll see if any of our lads has information about it

Right two of our delegates were shooting today at a club open shoot one of them said something was mentioned by the Kildare delegate but he thought it was Boars he was on about.......I explained what Boards was about, he gets the feeling lads feel our comments are hurtful and unfair or as i said too close to the bone, he said it was more a grumbling under breath kind of comments not directed at anyone specifically.......I take it therefore we are doing a good job. Some smart arse comments made about if any strangers turn up that they were to be ran.

They scrapped the egm! How can we hope to make progress on real issues when the association is run like that

Why was it scrapped?

I thought at the AGM clubs wanted to give the existing Chairman another year??

I also hear that S42 for Pine Martin and Buzzards was discussed. I fear that this wlli be a waste of time. I hear the argument that we need to be applying and I understand the strategy but to be honest the last couple of times I applied for them for the Martin I was refused. Actually refused is a bit strong......theoreticly I am still waiting for the response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭Backbarrel

Did you want it to go ahead? Would a fourth year for the Chairman be a good idea.

I heard something about him dealing with some issues for the association and one more year would wrap it up..

A bold move but we were in strange times..

I also hear that S42 for Pine Martin and Buzzards was discussed. I fear that this wlli be a waste of time. I hear the argument that we need to be applying and I understand the strategy but to be honest the last couple of times I applied for them for the Martin I was refused. Actually refused is a bit strong......theoreticly I am still waiting for the response.

We need to apply more. glad it was discussed.. buzzards every where...

Why was it scrapped?

I thought at the AGM clubs wanted to give the existing Chairman another year??

Legal advise.

Am sure it would have been passed had it been voted on.

Whether you agree or disagree with the current chairman he does seem to put a lot of effort in.

Agreed. Very little chance of getting the permit. The bar is set so high in terms of identifying the exact animal how could anyone get the permit.

I wonder if there complaints section is similar to carlsbergs?

I hear it was a good meeting and that there was no fighting. Some good information and all asked to look at using the following to record sightings of animals wanted and unwanted.

http://www.biodiversityireland.ie/

I had a go on the app which I downloaded and recorded a buzzard which I share an area with.

It's very user friendly and would be a great benefit for all hunting men. I've said it before we are the future for conservation.

I am however annoyed with an over emphasis on game crop. Cavan struggles to grow anything other than rushes.

What upsets me furthermore is we seem to accept game crop as a substitute to the wanton clearance of the best habitat some Sallie corners and winze that are 100 yrs old being cleared most farmers I know of a similar generation aren't happy with it but need there land to be 100% workable to get the subsidy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Possibly of interest to those following this thread.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057844104

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭berettaman

I see on the Association website that Pat Donlon Roscommon RGC, has passed away. A very decent man that loved his fox shooting. No airs just sound. He will be sadly missed by all that knew him through club of the year etc. RIP Pat.

Heard that a few minutes ago. Shooting clays this morning and lads were saying he passed. I didn't know the man but was a true gent by all accounts.

NARGC Meeting in Tullamore tomorrow wonder what the scuttlebutt will be.?

The meeting is in the MULLINGAR PARK Hotel at 11 AM.

This will be the mid season report before the Game Development Day(s) and the National Clay Shoot.

Heard from one if our delegates that the complaints sent to the gardai by sports coalitions chairmen were now investigated and thrown out. Also apparently there's another "Anonomous" complaint doing the rounds. Lads on the floor pissed off...executive told to go on the offensive and nip it in the bud.

Well thats good news. Met my delegate in the pub for the match..

Heard that a harder line is going to be taken against the likes of that type of blackguarding from a variety of gurriers . enough is enough for FFS.:mad:

Two feckin bull****e investigations from the same source and the same boyo allegedly tried to take down a charity shoot in East Cork? C,mon to feck lads..people like this have no place in our sport.

Are there rules about wasting garda time? Just wondering?

National Fund administrator has been playing a blinder in delaing with the complaints against the association. huge work put in.

Youth development officer and helpers had a stormer of a day in Carlow introducing transition years to shooting. Much needed to grow the sport. A firearm shouldn't be a dirty word.

30th June /1 July Game Development open day in Bloomfield House hotel. I am going to that.Sure Feck it, no Birr this year.

Lots going on and most of it positive I was told.

my delegate: The drink kicked in and he was happy, the goals went in and he was sad. That's life.:)

Backbarrel wrote: »
    Well thats good news. Met my delegate in the pub for the match..

Heard that a harder line is going to be taken against the likes of that type of blackguarding from a variety of gurriers . enough is enough for FFS.:mad:

Two feckin bull****e investigations from the same source and the same boyo allegedly tried to take down a charity shoot in East Cork? C,mon to feck lads..people like this have no place in our sport.

Are there rules about wasting garda time? Just wondering?

National Fund administrator has been playing a blinder in delaing with the complaints against the association. huge work put in.

Youth development officer and helpers had a stormer of a day in Carlow introducing transition years to shooting. Much needed to grow the sport. A firearm shouldn't be a dirty word.

30th June /1 July Game Development open day in Bloomfield House hotel. I am going to that.Sure Feck it, no Birr this year.

Lots going on and most of it positive I was told.

my delegate: The drink kicked in and he was happy, the goals went in and he was sad. That's life.:)

It was a good meeting overall.

Fund Admin and J Butler -Youth Development- the standouts.

The targeting by rogues will have to be made stop.

A lot of that comes from insecurity. They know they do not have the membership or support so they try to make mischief where they can.

Some people have moved on to better things but they obviously still think about us a lot. Crazy Exes eh?:D

If the NARGC gave their members sandwiches they would report us to Bord Bia at this stage.:rolleyes:

Crazy exes:D

Look at it this way. There has been a change at the top of both Employees and Officers.
    The genie will never be put back in the bottle. Some people have a hard time moving on.

So what do you have:

1. Association on very sound financial basis. Money is being managed well but clean ups have a cost.
    2. Expansion of services is happening and members are taking on more tasks and some of them are growing into their role very well.
    3. The Association is seeking to grow and the fear factor is gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭richiedel123

Is anybody going to the open days that the nargc are having? Seen the ad for it on Facebook and am thinking of tipping along. Looks like it could be good!!!