Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Logical thinking about County Boundaries

• 03-05-2016 1:52pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭

It is time for some logical thinking about County boundaries.
    Gaway -- should end at the Eastern Border of Galway City all to the west of Galway airport should be moved into Mayo.
    Leitrim -- needs to be split between Roscommon and Longford and abolished
    Meath and Westmeath -- should be reintegrated into one county of Meath capital at Mullingar.

Should Leitrim be abolished 39 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    100% 39 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Any reason for this?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

kidneyfan wrote: »
    Gaway -- should end at the Eastern Border of Galway City all to the west of Galway airport should be moved into Mayo.

Well this makes no sense for a start. Galway airport is to the east of the city, so you've eliminated all of Galway? Unless you mean that only East Galway remains Galway, and everything else, including the city, gets moved into Mayo - which seems like a very strange idea.

And that's not to say your other ideas aren't strange :)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,812 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Meath and Westmeath -- should be reintegrated into one county of Meath capital at Mullingar.

So you are suggesting the most populous county in Connacht and largest city also by completely shrunk down and most of it given to Mayo?
    You do realise Galway airport is located to the East of Galway right?
    Cause the way you phrased it makes no sense at all, to the East of Galway Airport should be Mayo and Galway county should end at the east of Galway..
    HUH??? :confused:

I think you need to logically re-think your opening post.

Abolish Mayo - give it to Galway and Sligo.

Is there a prize for most ironic thread title? 'Cause this should win :D

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

Extend Louth down to the Liffey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mahoganygas

Fun fact: You can't drive from North Leitrim to South Leitrim without driving through another county.

biko wrote: »
    Extend Louth down to the Liffey

{Shudder}

• Registered Users Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Sure they only have 1 set of traffic lights in the entire county, thats how pointless they are

• Registered Users Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Why would you want to keep Longford?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Well that was an unexpected poll. A welcomed one all the same!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

We in Meath are happy to leave Westmeath well alone, ye can keep it.

If nothing else it serves to make Cork people jealous that we have a county Westmeath but they have no county Westcork.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭kidneyfan

As regards the Airport in Galway -- this is an opening gambit. I will later compromise by agreeing that Galway city should remain in County Galway.
    Any reason for this?
    Logic and reorganising the county boundaries. Occurred to me yesterday when driving through Leitrim, Roscommon, Sligo and then Leitrim again WTF? Then it turns out that there's only 30,000 people in Leitrim.

We need some logic here!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Dublin should be abolished and given to Northern Ireland along with Louth.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

All of Munster should be given over to Cork as a peace offering

• Registered Users Posts: 7,817 ✭✭✭stimpson

Galway should be seceded back to the Indians.

And Snickers should be changed back to Marathon.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭NiallBoo

I like the idea of different boundaries but Not as you describe.

It would make a lot more sense to redefine boundaries around cities/large towns and other areas.

Eg. Athlone should be one county, extending throughout the region to include most of roscommon, west westmeath and south Longford.

Cavan/north longford/east leitrim/northwest meath another.

Say 10 regions in all

NiallBoo wrote: »
    I like the idea of different boundaries but Not as you describe.

It would make a lot more sense to redefine boundaries around cities/large towns and other areas.

Eg. Athlone should be one county, extending throughout the region to include most of roscommon, west westmeath and south Longford.

Cavan/north longford/east leitrim/northwest meath another.

Say 10-15 regions in all

For the craic, can we name it Westwestmeath? And Northwestmeath could be the other one.

Kanye West would want to move there...actually maybe it's a bad idea.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,341 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Have the county boundaries ever been changed (since say independence) or are they effectively regarded as being fixed forever?
    Kind of ironic seeing as they were a British idea and the British don't have a big problem changing their county boundaries every so often.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,419 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Make them all square.

The real problem is lakes and rivers. Could we do something about them?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,598 ✭✭✭✭klose

somefeen wrote: »
    All of Munster should be given over to Cork as a peace offering

Feck off.

I for one would like to see north and south tipp separated, pretty much cause that shower voted Lowry back in is all. Odd bunch them northerners.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭stoplooklisten

I bags the lucrative job of printing all the newly required headed notepaper

klose wrote: »
    Feck off.

I for one would like to see north and south tipp separated, pretty much cause that shower voted Lowry back in is all. Odd bunch them northerners.

Could Cork be moved to England? We'd all be happier.
    (Irish , English and Corkish)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

Have the county boundaries ever been changed (since say independence) or are they effectively regarded as being fixed forever?
    Kind of ironic seeing as they were a British idea and the British don't have a big problem changing their county boundaries every so often.

Bar splitting Dublin and merging Tipp, no major changes no. A few boundaries near towns changed but that's it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,956 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

Did you not get the score in Carrick on Shannon at the weekend?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭NiallBoo

The real problem is lakes and rivers. Could we do something about them?

You just want to get rid of Cavan then?

Cool_CM wrote: »
    Did you not get the score in Carrick on Shannon at the weekend?
    Carrick is lovely and would even nicer in Roscommon!

NiallBoo wrote: »
    You just want to get rid of Cavan then?
    They mess up county boundaries.

Carrick is lovely and would even nicer in Roscommon!

Controversial.