Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

plane for quirky glamping village is now on route

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭dingding

http://www.marinetraffic.com/en/ais/details/ships/shipid:697319/mmsi:375767000/imo:9510670/vessel:MTS_STATUM

Looks like it's this one, it is docked near the airport.

Left Southampton on the 28th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭red sean

dingding wrote: »
    http://www.marinetraffic.com/en/ais/details/ships/shipid:697319/mmsi:375767000/imo:9510670/vessel:MTS_STATUM

Looks like it's this one, it is docked near the airport.

Left Southampton on the 28th.
    High tides next weekend so I'd say the move is finally on. He had to pay an extra €25k for that tug as the original one is not now available. Fair play to him!

Fair play, anyone know when would be good to see it landed in Enniscrone.

I think he's got a facebook page. Also Today fm are going to be there apparently, so I'm sure they'll advertise it. He was interviewed on one of their programmes a couple of weeks ago. It was hilarious!
    I'll try and get a link.

http://www.todayfm.com/David-McGowan-Update

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Rackstar

Thread discussing this in A&A with lots of info

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057567460

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Rackstar wrote: »
    Thread discussing this in A&A with lots of info

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057567460
    For a second, I was wondering why there was a thread in Atheism & Agnosticism.

El Weirdo wrote: »
    For a second, I was wondering why there was a thread in Atheism & Agnosticism.
    Thats exactly what I thought at first too!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Sat morning its due to arrive, I read somewhere. Might be worth a trip down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭corsav6

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Sat morning its due to arrive, I read somewhere. Might be worth a trip down.

They said a 30 hour trip at 5am, that would put it at 11am tomorrow. I'll be keeping a close eye on this and we'll pop down with the kids for an hour whenever it does arrive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭Bebo stunnah

I remember hearing about this months ago when it was just a novel idea, then heard about it on the Anton Savage show about 2 months ago about the plans. Just heard it mentioned on the radio today and had a good laugh. Trust Sligo to be mentioned alongside a news headline of "A 767 jet airliner setting sail" :pac:

http://www.marinetraffic.com/en/ais/home/shipid:697319/zoom:10

Just heading for open sea now, its on the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

dingding wrote: »
    http://www.marinetraffic.com/en/ais/home/shipid:697319/zoom:10

Just heading for open sea now, its on the way.

It's quite a story

Defo up for a night in that if it doesn't sink on the way

Eta is tomorrow at 7pm into Kilalla Bay so are they moving it onto land then?
    I'd love to bring the kids down, we'll that's what the wife thinks ;) but 7pm is a bit late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,040 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Don't know how long it'll take to get there, but they need to land it on a high tide, and those are at 6.41pm Friday evening, 7.01am Saturday morning and 7.23pm Saturday evening.

Absolutely gutted that I won't make it down to see its arrival :mad:

I won't make any of those times either, its a 50 mile journey just down for me so I'm afraid I'll miss out too. Genuinely gutted, the young lad would have loved it.

It's quite a story

Defo up for a night in that if it doesn't sink on the way
    That's a brilliant shot.

Is it yours, and is it permissible to share it? (assuming I can figure out how to, which is by no means a given!)

corsav6 wrote: »
    I won't make any of those times either, its a 50 mile journey just down for me so I'm afraid I'll miss out too. Genuinely gutted, the young lad would have loved it.
    How old is he? If he's old enough to remember it in years to come, might be worth making an exception - you'll never (I'm betting) get a chance to see the likes of this again!

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    How old is he? If he's old enough to remember it in years to come, might be worth making an exception - you'll never (I'm betting) get a chance to see the likes of this again!

He's 3 so I'm sure he'd remember bits of it, and it's far easier to get pics now than when I was child so ya it might be worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

If u go to one of the vessel trackers you'll see the progress of the tug

Mts statum is the name of the tug boat

Great little video of it on the move!

https://vimeo.com/165497511?ref=fb-share&1

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    That's a brilliant shot.

Is it yours, and is it permissible to share it? (assuming I can figure out how to, which is by no means a given!)

No just look up #PlaneSailing on the Twitter.
    There's some absolutely hilarious and great shots from locals all along the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

Eta is tomorrow at 7pm into Kilalla Bay so are they moving it onto land then?
    I'd love to bring the kids down, we'll that's what the wife thinks ;) but 7pm is a bit late.

Its landing in Eniscrone Pier, not Kilala. Bit silly landing in Kilala, seen as how he needs to get it the far side of the bay

I seen on one of those tracking sites that it's destination was Kilalla Bay. I just assumed he was parking up for a while waiting for high tide.
    So dies anybody know when it will be moved onto land?

I seen on one of those tracking sites that it's destination was Kilalla Bay. I just assumed he was parking up for a while waiting for high tide.
    So dies anybody know when it will be moved onto land?

High tides in Enniscrone are at 6.40pm this evening, 7am tomorrow morning and 7.25pm tomorrow evening.

Presume it depends on conditions and the shore end of things being ready.

@quirkyglamping on Twitter for anyone interested too

Brilliant drone footage: https://twitter.com/osheaj0517/status/728364083678982144

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,782 ✭✭✭Damien360

Music is cat. Watch footage in mute !

Damien360 wrote: »
    Music is cat. Watch footage in mute !

Yeah I was expecting a bit of Westlife

The Big Yoke is still sitting in the bay, lift on to land rescheduled for evening, but if this weather continues, can see it being postponed again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

The Big Yoke is still sitting in the bay, lift on to land rescheduled for evening, but if this weather continues, can see it being postponed again.
    It's on its way in now.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ljbS_xxQWW4

Live footage. The barge is grounded on the beach and the tide has turned.

Crane on standby.

Check Twitter #PlaneSailing for updates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Ch7B4BNWwAAXeFv.jpg:large

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Coffee Fulled Runner

I really don't get all the hype and attention from the media this story is getting all week. Good luck to him all the same, it's great advertising for him.

Its a nice, you can do anything if you really want it story, plus its a distraction from hearing about Enda Kenny and others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

Its a nice, you can do anything if you really want it story, plus its a distraction from hearing about Enda Kenny and others.

Not being thick but how does buying a disused plane off Shannon and floating it up the coast prove you can do anything?
    Disused/in service planes and rockets are regularly transported on roads and sea in places like America & China.
    It's imminently doable and the fella that's doing this knew that or he wouldn't have spent 20k on a plane +transportation.

Not being thick but how does buying a disused plane off Shannon and floating it up the coast prove you can do anything?
    Disused/in service planes and rockets are regularly transported on roads and sea in places like America & China.
    It's imminently doable and the fella that's doing this knew that or he wouldn't have spent 20k on a plane +transportation.

Well its not something we see in Ireland very often. Its a good and positive news story, rather than the doom and gloom we are usally subjected to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

I really don't get all the hype and attention from the media this story is getting all week.

Well you appear to be in the minority then. Its the best bit of news this side of the country has seen in many years, and the man deserves all the publicity and success he gets as a result of it.

There's always afew begrudgers.
    Most publicity for Enniscrone since "Primetime Investigates"! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Coffee Fulled Runner

red sean wrote: »
    There's always afew begrudgers.
    Most publicity for Enniscrone since "Primetime Investigates"! :D

No begrudging on my behalf I wish him and his business all the best. I just find the hype bizarre. Different strokes for different folks :D