Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First Dates Ireland *read first post*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭treascon

Re the girl that was on the date with Jose, her outfit was extremely unflattering. Like does she not have a mirror. And it looked way more suited for a trip to the beach/pool then it did for a date in a restaurant. No idea what she was thinking there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,792 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Can I propose a new rule that all of those who take nasty potshots at the appearance of people on the show must post a few of their own recent full length photos, along with photos of their most embarrassing outfits from their teens and twenties, just to add a little context to their personal attacks?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,770 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Yes, this. I was surprised the thread hadn't been cleaned up, but I never actually reported anything either.Maybe nobody else did too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,406 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

I've never reported anything either.

However there is a part of me that thinks if you go on the show in completely "out there" clothes, hair, boobs hanging out etc you know what you are up to! You're looking for a reaction. So meh 😂

That said I don't like people being slated when they've clearly tried but missed the mark completely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,026 ✭✭✭YellowLead

Yeah I think it’s not fair to judge people’s looks - but their dress sense is fair game as they’ve chosen the outfit for tv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,194 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Jesus I commented last week about hating on here but my god it's so bad this week!

To think a few of them defended themselves too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

It's a television show people voluntarily go on.

It's also a dating show so very much about the individuals' personalities. Posters are going to have opinions on dress sense, personalities etc. I think criticism is mild, definitely not 'hating'. If you want to see hating visit an unmoderated site like X.

This site, boards.ie, is built on opinion. Look at threads like 'Someone I inexplicably can't stand' and you'll find much worse said about people. Try the political threads.

Personally I haven't hated on anyone or said anything excessively harsh, and I challenge you to find a post of mine here.

All I have said is there are too many pierced/tattooed people on the show, and in my opinion the show isn't representative of the majority of relationships. That's not hating, I said I wished no one ill will.

You on the other hand labelled couples, 'straight, white, bores'. That's hating and you're full of hypocrisy.

'Where have you gone Joe DiMaggio? A nation turns It's lonely eyes to you.'

Oh yeh no hate at all

And girls, why are ye all so fat. 23 year old looks 36 and no doubt thinks she's gorge. Love you're engorged.

Post edited by Iseedeadpixels on

That's NOT my quote. I'm reporting you for making stuff up. I challenged you to find a post of MINE and you made up a post.

I don't, nor never use words like gorge or engorged.

Just seeing this now and reporting, the lowest of the low.

Post edited by Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire on

Went back and edited your quote to embellish after. That's really really sad. As said reported.

Editing a post made at 1:03 am at 12:42 pm, half an hour ago. It'll be very easy have the history of this tracked.

I never said it's not your quote it's a posters quote in terms of the hate in the thread, please feel free to tag any mod you feel like.

Do not pm me without consent

You've quoted it under my name and my PM merely expressed disgust at your disingenuous behaviour.

That is posted as one post from me. I've reported in the strongest possible terms.

'23 year old looks 36 and no doubt thinks she's gorge' are bits of quotes added together and bits added in. I'm not wasting any time on you, just following up on reporting you. Calling people 'single white bores' is so demeaning.

Hahahahahaha bore off, get a life, I gave an example of hate on this thread and never said it was you, any boardsie with half a brain would see that.

Toodle-oo I'm done dealing with you, I'll let the mods have a look.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,992 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Mod: Knock it off with the bickering, please.

Demeaning comments about personal appearance are not on, per the charter. I'll be going back through previous posts when I get to a computer.

Laochra Gael is opposite this and has had 2 great opening programmes with Paudie Maher and Marc O'Sé.

Luckily the TG4 player is way better than RTE, with less ads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭Who Ate The Cat

I watch First Dates occasionally and often wonder would I have the courage to go on it.

Realistically no, I'm overweight with a pronounced belly. And it does hit the confidence. I'm very aware of it. And I know it's my own fault, I hardly exercise and watch too much tv. I have to change my sedentary lifestyle. Even then it takes guts to go on a show like that.

Being from Kilkenny and not knowing where Laois is, that's like being from Wexford and never hearing of Carlow before!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,782 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Nice girl with cute high heels but they are about 2inches too big for her. Becky that is needs to downsize on the heels size.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

34 year old fella really sussing out the other fella since he mentioned his family.

Jesus that was hard going, coming out with kids etc. Fair play, true to himself.

Bar the fella who ordered for the girl, I don't think there has been any really unlikeable person this season so far.

She has a nice smile!

Very different girl this time round for Kevin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

I adore dogs but people need to calm down a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,782 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

A year has passed since he was here last. Love it lol.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

These are a strange match. He seems very dubby dub and she’s very culchie.

I didn't think he suffered with anxiety until he said it. He seems a grand chap.

Younger fella in the gay couple doesn't seem too interested.

Waterford girl is really stunning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,406 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

I agree, my biggest fancy of the season. Nice girl too.