Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First Dates Ireland *read first post*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,026 ✭✭✭YellowLead

All very young on this one (bar the colourful two)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭Bocadilloo

When you arrive to a first dates with your guitar, the goal is clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

It has been like it for a while now. I really miss normal people on show.

It’s nearly as bad as old school big brother now in terms of “those seeking exposure and fame”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 775 ✭✭✭WildWater

Well holy god! 😂

Haven't been as shocked since Miley and Fidelma. 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭hawaii501

Some no by your one that was.

those two are a good match - she seems lovely and hope he’s not a player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

The 2 young straight dates were all pretty normal people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,782 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Well that was a good episode with good results anyway. Delighted for them.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,129 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Kinda reminds me Orla and Erin of Derry Girls mixed

Louis and Doyle would want to get a room

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,421 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Not a great first episode tbh...it felt like a lot of people were looking for publicity...

A singer with her guitar..., a DJ/artist?!, a comedian, a writer a mate of the barman what a coincidence...

More pairings like Hugh and Aisling hopefully to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,201 ✭✭✭dee_mc

It wasn't a great episode unfortunately.

I think in previous years they've put the dater update on the rte2 instagram the day after the show aired - no sign of it this year though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,402 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

Those post show updates are generally useless

"After the show Johnny walked across the road and got the Luas home. He said he'd send Mary a text the following morning. The End"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,402 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

I think the show has run its course unfortunately. Majority of those on it are either trying to advertise their craft (see musician & comedian) or wannabe celebs/actors/reality stars (lads from Brazil and Nigeria). I wouldn't be surprised if a significant number of them are invited on by the show's producers.

It's a shame as I like seeing the normal folk on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,185 ✭✭✭furiousox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,194 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

A wannabe tv presenter/Musician

A Wannabe comedian

A wannabe Artist

A Wannabe writer

A Wannabe actor

Was only the young couple at the end who were genuine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

The Nigerian lad was a bit full-on. Way too eager. Maybe it was nerves, I dunno. I'd consider it a HUGE red flag to be talking about marriage and kids on a first date. Like, steady on there fella, we just met 30 minutes ago and you're describing how you want our wedding ceremony to go! But the Brazilian guy didn't seem to mind and they hit it off regardless. He seemed more down to earth and reasonable in the pre-date interview.

The young couple that were on last were absolutely sound. Down to earth, reasonable young couple, no BS about them. I wish them well. Your wan seemed pretty broken up about her ex leaving her for Japan, poor girl.

Looking at the promos for next week there are a number of daters back for round two. Again, I feel this takes away from the genuineness of it all.

Without a doubt the producers sought out participants this series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,961 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Apparently the whole series was recorded over 5 days, from a Friday to a Tuesday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭RoTelly

I think similar to most years, saw them filming one year around the point, I was like a bag man, so one of the PA kindly asked me to move on, following by "Your filth, and smell" a bit harsh I thought.

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,421 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

I think for want of a better term some of the others were "hand picked" to a degree...my other half spotted a couple that he said were big on tiktok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

Can see how she wouldn't be a Trump woman.

'Where have you gone Joe DiMaggio? A nation turns It's lonely eyes to you.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,782 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

I'm warming to her.

Me tits are coming out. Classy.

Aidan 70, is down to earth. Think the lady might be a notch up in intellect.

Then it all gets dumbed down with the foursome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,406 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

The devastation in your wans face when she realized jade was her date

It’s awfully sad but I always feel happy for widows and widowers back out dating.

In primary school he had to declare undying love…jaysus