Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First Dates Ireland *read first post*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,688 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

I'd have feigned an urgent medical emergency the second he said his name was Biff 😆

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭thereiver

I'm not anti LGBT I have zero interest in watching 2 men go on a date .it's good that they are treated the same as the other people in the restaurant no discrimination at all .Next week's episode looks more interesting than this week's episode .

I think his name is Brendan he calls himself Biff wtf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭Eibhir

Just watching on +1. To think that fella will be teaching children!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,785 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Well he will never get to date another Woman on the whole island now anyway because they will all have seen or heard about that so he has 3 choices if he ever wants to get a date again. He can leave Ireland and search for a date elsewhere or 2 change his sexual preferences from female to male or 3 change his gender.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,022 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

The hippie was very cold about saying no, and after her paying for his dinner. 😫

no idea why she was so keen after he let her pay, she needs to have higher standards.

its a wonder he didn't say yes, then become her boyfriend and let her pay for everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,021 ✭✭✭✭cgcsb

So why are you watching a dating show? Sounds like you have a problem with gay people existing and living their lives publicly and being treated the same as everyone.

Good luck to them I have no problem with gay people and they should be on any tv shows they want to be on including dating shows and they should have equal rights I'm just not interested in watching the dates featuring gay men it's great they can appear on tv and be treated the same as anyone else on first dates

I also don't watch the dates that feature older people eg 60 years old plus on first dates I'm in favor of equal rights and LGBT rights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,021 ✭✭✭✭cgcsb

What an odd thing to mention then, obviously looking to antagonise. You can always change the channel

He is clearly a Back to the Future (Biff) buff....

😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,016 ✭✭✭tylercheribini

Standard "hit the wall" fare and now looking to "settle down" at almost 40 with kid in tow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭kyote00

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,249 ✭✭✭joeguevara

You could see the exact moment in the date that John Lennon decided he was going to say ‘No’. It was when his date said she went back to her ex 3 times and she didn’t ’give a fcuck’. Now, if I remember correctly Lennon had such a bad break up that he needed to spend 2 years building himself back up with Buddhism etc, this obviously was a shot to the stomach.

He also mentioned that his ego was the main issue in his previous relationships. It’s obviously still an issue if he thought it was reasonable to have his meal paid for when he knew he was saying no. He probably rationalised it with his date saying she was ‘non-conformist’ but in no way that means paying for meals for people going to exit stage left.

It was truly bizarre. Maybe back to the drawing board and have a word with Buddha.

Post edited by joeguevara on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,963 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Nah, definitely from Biff from Death of a Salesman. You could tell by the head on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,574 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Nobody on this week promoting their Instagram/YouTube/Dance Act. Made for a refreshing change. Thought the guests on it this week were very normal in many ways.

Biff? Who calls themselves that as an adult, even if it was your childhood nickname. Thought she was a bit into him, but living in the spare room at 41 is a no-no for many.

Gay couple were nice, but as yer man said, he's a bit too intense. Think the red haired lad was happy when he said No.

Bus Driver man and his lady... surprised she didn't meet him again. But living at home and a small kid in tow and some personal issues he has were too many red flags for her. She's probably scarred a bit from working in Pieta House.

Hozier and Pink? As many have said, she dodged a bullet. He still has ego issues. It's about him and probably always will be. But he came off very, very badly after refusing to pay his share, knowing he was going to turn her down. She's lucky, attractive and will find someone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,113 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

I think they did the red long haired cork guy dirty with editing. Made him look like an absolute weirdo of a fella

Haha I was actually gonna write at the end of my post that it could actually just be the case that he is indeed strange and they in fact didn’t do him dirty.

I suppose I just copped it from the very start when they guy at the bar was chatting to him that the editing was a bit strange, so from the get-go they were doing him dirty!

Post edited by callaway92 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,407 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Well they would have already known that he let her pay and then said no.

It's a pretty crap move. If that's how you act when cameras are rolling and that a sizeable proportion of Ireland is watching, heaven knows what you're like in private.

When he came on , my reaction was he'll be extremes , either very interesting or an absolute dose. Turned out he was a dose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,249 ✭✭✭joeguevara

Toni had no notion of meeting Biff again. She squirmed when he pulled her in for a hug and she mumbled awkward reasons why she'd see him again, each sounding hallow.

She should have put him out of his misery there and then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,574 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Nice to see Paul and Caoimhe found someone. Seemed to be nice people.

Haha that was my reaction too but again I was slightly skeptical that they edited it that way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,152 ✭✭✭Passenger

Well Biff is back and he's on the Late Late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,158 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

If I had a penny every time a date doesn't work out cos of "distance", I'd have a lot of pennies; obviously the main intent of the show is sparks and viral worthy moments, but it's always frustrating they pair off these people who are unlikely to see much of each other when they're from, I dunno, Leitrim and Wexford or somesuch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,026 ✭✭✭YellowLead

I think it’s ridiculous to pair somebody from cork and Dublin! That was bound to fail regardless.

Serial killer (watch this space) hippy dude is a total arse for not splitting when he didn’t want to see her again - I agree they weren’t in the same place though, blue hair seemed very airy fairy and not very considered though an absolutely lovely person and fair play to her saying she would have said yes after he’d said no, a lot of people would have been tempted to say that they also would have said no.

The bus driver and charity lady were both lovely and I hope they find happiness, albeit it’s not with each other.

Make up lady seemed nice but rather full on and even though she said she only USED to go for looks and muscles and now goes for nice, it’s probably hard for her to change that esp as she lost all the weight - her facial fillers and Botox make her look much older than her years though unfortunately. Her date seemed fairly affable, I’m sure there’s ladies out there for him on the same level.

Maybe they are running out of daters from Dublin alot of the people on the show are from rural areas from different countys most people don't want to get into a serious relationship with someone who lives over 30 miles away Most people would not want to go on a date thats shown on television

I don't believe someone actually named their son Biff. That's a name for a cartoon character I thought it was funny when the man said my name is biff and the host was slightly confused by it

There seems to be a formula one older couple one gay couple one couple that's younger eg in their twenty's or one couple that's average in terms of looks

They have to pick out people who will be interesting to the TV audience so they probably have a limited no of daters they can choose from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,963 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I don't believe someone actually named their son Biff. That's a name for a cartoon character

He said that his actual name was Brendan.