Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So im popping the question....but where?

• 20-04-2016 4:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20

Hi Guys,

So here's the backstory,

My girlfriend & I have been together 5 years and have a 1yr old daughter, marriage has always been on the cards but we are in the process of saving for a mortgage so this was put on the long finger, then a few months ago a massive bombshell strikes & we find out her mam is diagnosed with stage 4 cancer :( and may only have 12-18 months.

I know it would mean the world for her mam to be there so without sounding morbid i've decided to move things along , i bought the ring 2 weeks ago and am doing it soon , babysitter arranged and a day out in Dublin organised, i've booked afternoon tea in the Shelbourne, she's getting her nails done & a facial , so she'll think im just spoiling her but unknown to her i'll be about to pop the question...... but where? im a shy guy so dont want an audience (well a massive one!!)

Can anyone recommend a romantic spot in the city centre? i was thinking the Iveagh gardens although im not familiar with them, or maybe a rooftop terrace or garden?Or even an accommodating restaurant or bar ? I had always planned on doing this abroad so never really put any thought into Dublin's fair city!!

Thanks a mil for reading guys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,033 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Would you not get a champagne afternoon tea in the Shelbourne and do it there? I bet they'd know how to make a (discreet) fuss if you let them know beforehand!

Iveagh gardens are gorgeous, but what if it's hammering rain and freezing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,663 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

Stephen's Green

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭ectoraige

Stephen's green, if the weather is nice. Drop in to the Shelbourne and ask them for suggestions, they may have a few better ideas, might be able to get them to put the ring on top of one of the sweet treats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭ChampagnePop

Are you staying over night in Dublin?

You could ask the staff in the Shelbourne is there a quiet corner for popping the question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Jeremy007

Are you staying over night in Dublin?

You could ask the staff in the Shelbourne is there a quiet corner for popping the question?

Well were from Dublin so technically yes , but not in a hotel in town or anthing

ectoraige wrote: »
    Stephen's green, if the weather is nice. Drop in to the Shelbourne and ask them for suggestions, they may have a few better ideas, might be able to get them to put the ring on top of one of the sweet treats.

Could be a good shout , thanks a mil

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Would you not get a champagne afternoon tea in the Shelbourne and do it there? I bet they'd know how to make a (discreet) fuss if you let them know beforehand!

Iveagh gardens are gorgeous, but what if it's hammering rain and freezing?

Well its in the next 3 weeks so I'm hoping the weather is as good as this week so far :) , although this is Ireland!! Im sure the hotel have experience in this department so I'll make contact and see what they say , the main thing for me is discretion , i can think of nothing worse than getting down on one knee in front of a load of people haha

Jeremy007 wrote: »
    Well its in the next 3 weeks so I'm hoping the weather is as good as this week so far :) , although this is Ireland!! Im sure the hotel have experience in this department so I'll make contact and see what they say , the main thing for me is discretion , i can think of nothing worse than getting down on one knee in front of a load of people haha
    Good luck with that :D

If it's quiet you're after, then if it's a sunny day Iveagh Gardens is your man.... apart from lunchtime it's usually borderline deserted.

I'm often down there walking a dog - if I see a man on bended knee I'll give you a wink and a nod!

I'm sure the Shelbourne will be more than helpful.

Best of luck with it all :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭bbbaldy

Jaysus. You are going to marry this girl. Think of something special In your past together that you can link to your proposal.
    Don't be asking us idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭annoyedgal

Park in merrion square not as busy as stephens green and lovely !

bbbaldy wrote: »
    Jaysus. You are going to marry this girl. Think of something special In your past together that you can link to your proposal.
    Don't be asking us idiots.

Im not a total moron, im just looking for suggestions/recommendations of Dublin city that I may not have discovered!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭traprunner

Im not a total moron, im just looking for suggestions/recommendations of Dublin city that I may not have discovered!!

Belssington Basin is very nice and many people don't even know it exists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

I used the glass tower at the church pub, lovely spot but I chose it because it was where we first met. Never asked her if that meant much to her but she bawled so mission accomplished :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Hey,

fair play to you. Not exactly the nice predicament you would have wished, but I hope everything goes great.

I'd do it after the facial etc... when she's all nice and relaxed anyway.
    If you fancied doing it during afternoon tea, perhaps ask the staff if you could have a quiet area / corner table so you can do it there and then.
    Or go for a quick stroll before tea and do it in a quiet part of St Stephens Green - that way you can always go back to the place (without having to pay in! :D).

Merrion Sq isn't far around the corner either if you fancy there. It's usually a lot quieter should the day be good.

Without jumping the gun too much, you may need to prepare for a quick wedding - perhaps have some options open for discussion after the time your propose.
    If you are saving for a mortgage, you may want to only have a small wedding with just close family there to ensure it can happen soon and her mother can attend.
    It's also important to keep stress down as much as possible.
    Certain things take time - like registration for marriage (3 months) etc... so you may want to have forms and all ready to go.
    Best of luck to you both... and be sure to report back here and let us know how it goes :)

Thanks Whiskeyman!!

Yea not the ideal situation and the last couple of months have been a blur to be honest, plan is to spoil her rotten then head for the afternoon tea and pop the question after that , if the weather is crap i'll prob do it there(at the tea) but if its nice we'll head for a walk somewhere!

Not jumping the gun at all, i've thought about all this already, will be a short engagement for sure!! we have even spoken about the whole dont tell the bride route in the past lol.

I'll be sure to report back when the job is done!

Thanks for the input!

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Hey,

fair play to you. Not exactly the nice predicament you would have wished, but I hope everything goes great.

I'd do it after the facial etc... when she's all nice and relaxed anyway.
    If you fancied doing it during afternoon tea, perhaps ask the staff if you could have a quiet area / corner table so you can do it there and then.
    Or go for a quick stroll before tea and do it in a quiet part of St Stephens Green - that way you can always go back to the place (without having to pay in! :D).

Can i just suggest the opposite and do it before the facial (Sorry WhiskeyMan!)

When you get a facial, they take off whatever make up you have on and use creams and oils so you are usually kind of red faced, blotchy and shiny and possibly your hair near the hairline is greasy.

This is grand but if you go for lunch somewhere posh after it and then have people around you looking at ye while you propose, she might feel a bit self- concious if she's the type that would usually wear make up on an outing. And if there were happy photos afterwards she may not want her picture taken if she looks a bit greasy and red.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

I agree with Neyite, sometimes you can look a bit 'rough' after a facial. Would another option be to get a pedicure instead of a facial? Then you could do it afterwards as you'd planned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Toots wrote: »
    I agree with Neyite, sometimes you can look a bit 'rough' after a facial. Would another option be to get a pedicure instead of a facial? Then you could do it afterwards as you'd planned.

Actually, be sure to get her nails / hands done ... there could be lots of hand / ring photos later that evening flying around teh friends and family and she'd be happy her nails etc... were all in top order! :D

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Actually, be sure to get her nails / hands done ... there could be lots of hand / ring photos later that evening flying around teh friends and family and she'd be happy her nails etc... were all in top order! :D

We can agree about the nails all right :)

haha .... well i have her booked in for the nails and nothing else at the moment so maybe i'll just leave it at that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Aww sounds lovely!!!!!!

I'd suggest not walking too far. Stephens green or Merrion square.

But I'd also talk to the hotel. They might let you use the constitution room or something!!!!!

Or what about after the nails in the horse shoe bar - admire her nails and say do you know what does lovely nails/hands needs...and whip out the ring!

Good luck and let us know how it goes!

Agree stick with nails. No facial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,301 ✭✭✭Gatica

Play it by ear on the day. You may find that the opportunity presents itself as you're having your afternoon tea, and you really want to go with it. However, do ask the hotel for some suggestions, they may be prepared to make it special for you if they see you've popped the question, she said yes, and bring out some champers, that sort of thing...

Enjoy the day and personally I think leave the wedding out of it. You may need to have a quick wedding so won't get to enjoy the engaged time as much, so just take it in and enjoy each other's company. It's an exciting time and it all flies quick as it is. You've a babysitter sorted, so have a special evening/night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Gatica wrote: »
    Play it by ear on the day. You may find that the opportunity presents itself as you're having your afternoon tea, and you really want to go with it.
    Yep. Be prepared to be flexible about it. The more you try to plan it and make a grand gesture out of it, the more things can not go to plan and you bottle it. Don't say that you're going to do it in X place at Y time. Just plan a nice day with the two of you with the aim that you'll pick a moment on the day.

Yes, I had a plan. And my wife ballsed it up. In hindsight I would have done it the same way but with less panicking about sticking to the plan that she messed up :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Keane2baMused

My hubbie to be proposed over afternoon tea in the Merrion. It was perfect and I was completely floored.

Burst into tears and the waitress came over in concern asking was everything ok :D

They then brought us champagne and it was all very lovely :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,843 ✭✭✭SarahMollie

OK not to throw a spanner in the works, but I'm not sure I'd mix a proposal and a facial on the same day.

Although they're very nice and relaxing, it basically means having your face scrubbed and massaged, with loads of fancy products so the net result is a red shiny face afterwards, and you couldnt put make up on, as you're really supposed to let the products stay on your face for the rest of the day.

Does your GF typically wear make up? If so, I'd say she'd like to be looking her best on the day, especially if you're going to take a picture etc.

Could you alter her plans so that she gets a body massage instead and that way she can still be dressed up nicely for afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,779 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

The Iveagh Gardens really are lovely, quiet and romantic, pigeons cooing in tall old trees etc. Do some homework beforehand to check out which entrance to use. Then walk across the Green for tea...aaah!

OK not to throw a spanner in the works, but I'm not sure I'd mix a proposal and a facial on the same day.

Although they're very nice and relaxing, it basically means having your face scrubbed and massaged, with loads of fancy products so the net result is a red shiny face afterwards, and you couldnt put make up on, as you're really supposed to let the products stay on your face for the rest of the day.

Does your GF typically wear make up? If so, I'd say she'd like to be looking her best on the day, especially if you're going to take a picture etc.

Could you alter her plans so that she gets a body massage instead and that way she can still be dressed up nicely for afterwards.

Yea I've taken the advice from a few posters on board regarding the facial so that idea has been scrapped!

katemarch wrote: »
    The Iveagh Gardens really are lovely, quiet and romantic, pigeons cooing in tall old trees etc. Do some homework beforehand to check out which entrance to use. Then walk across the Green for tea...aaah!

Yep weather permitting the Iveagh gardens it is! work not too far away so will check it out

Best of luck, she will be thrilled :)

So today's the day , picked up the ring last night and all ready to go, shame about the weather but wont let that spoil anything , very excited this morning !!!!!! Wish me luck :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭RentDayBlues

So today's the day , picked up the ring last night and all ready to go, shame about the weather but wont let that spoil anything , very excited this morning !!!!!! Wish me luck :)

Good, good luck!!!

Best of luck :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭cbb1982

Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭jennyhayes123

Lucky girl. She hasn't a clue what kind of day she is in for. Enjoy.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Good luck!!! Hope everything goes well :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭gumgum1

Best of luck.... hope ye both have a fantastic day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭StripedBoxers

Oooh good luck, hope you are having an amazing day :D

Job done :) by the fountain in the iveagh gardens about 20 mins ago to the sound of the park warden ringing his bell lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Muppet Man

Presume the answer was yes?

Muppet Man wrote: »
    Presume the answer was yes?

Sure was :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭Epicbutterfly

Congratulations to Ye both! Let the celebration begin

Congratulations to you both :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭StripedBoxers

Congratulations, have fun with the planning :)

Congratulations!!

Woohoo!!! Congratulations!

Yayy! Congratulations!!!

Not tonight, obviously - you'll have other things on your mind, I'm assuming - but some time I'd love to hear a brief rundown of the day and how it all went - it sounded like such a lovely romantic plan - well done you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,772 ✭✭✭Jwacqui

I read this and was thinking this sounds very familiar but a few bits of information didn't match!
    Haha just seen a post on Facebook about a certain person getting engaged! Congrats to ya both!! I had a sneaky feeling when I seen her manicure post earlier today, my fiancé did the same!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

Congratulations:D

Huge Congrats :)