Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Ireland Senior Football Championship 2016

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Just wondering, would Kerry be better off this year maybe losing the Munster final and going into the last round of the qualifiers? Sure they'll likely meet someone like Tyrone, Donegal,Monaghan or the likes and they'd have to play an extra game but that could be worth the risk to avoid the Dubs in the semi-final. Sure the winner of the thing will either be Dublin or will have to beat them at some stage but if Kerry can avoid them to the final surely that would be better.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭corny

Jayop wrote: »
    Just wondering, would Kerry be better off this year maybe losing the Munster final and going into the last round of the qualifiers? Sure they'll likely meet someone like Tyrone, Donegal,Monaghan or the likes and they'd have to play an extra game but that could be worth the risk to avoid the Dubs in the semi-final. Sure the winner of the thing will either be Dublin or will have to beat them at some stage but if Kerry can avoid them to the final surely that would be better.

If it works out that way then maybe but there's no way they'd throw the Munster final just to avoid Dublin.

They wouldn't have All Ireland medals if they accepted being second best that easy. Its more likely they're eager to play Dublin in a semi.

corny wrote: »
    If it works out that way then maybe but there's no way they'd throw the Munster final just to avoid Dublin.

They wouldn't have All Ireland medals if they accepted being second best that easy. Its more likely they're eager to play Dublin in a semi.

Ah yeah, they'll not throw the Munster game that's for sure but they could be better off losing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

They might fancy their chances more of being able to beat Dublin in a semi-final when there's a chance they might be a wee bit undercooked than trying to beat them in final when they'll likely be more than ready.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,496 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

No
    That would be stupid.

Munster final loser goes to the A side of the draw, which means that if they win their 4th round qualifier then then play the Connacht champions, which will likely be Mayo.

And if they win that they play Ulster champ or B side qualifier in the SF, which may be Donegal, Tyrone or Monaghan.

Why on earth would they want to play two of Donegal, Mayo, Tyrone or Monaghan just to avoid Dublin ?

No
    That would be stupid.

Munster final loser goes to the A side of the draw, which means that if they win their 4th round qualifier then then play the Connacht champions, which will likely be Mayo.

And if they win that they play Ulster champ or B side qualifier in the SF, which may be Donegal, Tyrone or Monaghan.

Why on earth would they want to play two of Donegal, Mayo, Tyrone or Monaghan just to avoid Dublin ?

Just to be clear I'm not suggesting that Kerry would or should throw a game to avoid Dublin, but if I was a Kerry man I'd feel more confident of winning two games against Mayo and an Ulster team than I would Dublin. The problem is that even at that they'll still likely face them in the final and as Pressrun says they might fancy their chances of catching them out in the semi.

No, no ,no.

Only twice since 2010 has a provincial winner lost to a qualifier at the QF, and both times it was Monaghan losing to Tyrone.

That is not by accident.

Good teams want to win their province to avoid the other good teams as long as they can and be in charge of their own schedule.

The last thing they want is to be at the mercy of the qualifier draw and being forced to play a province champ in the QF.

The days of teams on a meandering run through the qualifiers to get their setup right is long over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

To be honest I'd rather lose to Dublin in the Semi's then in the Final again.

Time to let the other teams get hammered by Dublin in the final for once.

Would be good for football no? ;)

DDC1990 wrote: »
    To be honest I'd rather lose to Dublin in the Semi's then in the Final again.

Time to let the other teams get hammered by Dublin in the final for once.

Would be good for football no? ;)

I'd be OK with having a rattle at them in the final. Would be great for Tyrone to get to a final even if we did get beat. Would be nice to get some revenge for the outrageous misjustice of 1995. (not that I'm bitter) :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,216 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

No thanks, God only knows how that would work out at least you have some relative certainty if you win Munster. The team that beats Dublin will likely win Sam so it doesn't really matter to Kerry when they play them. Kerry with a full fit team could catch the dubs in a semi final btw, they'd need to play to their potential and probably get a bit of luck but it's doable. Hopefully they will have learned from the league final.

mickeyk wrote: »
    No thanks, God only knows how that would work out at least you have some relative certainty if you win Munster. The team that beats Dublin will likely win Sam so it doesn't really matter to Kerry when they play them. Kerry with a full fit team could catch the dubs in a semi final btw, they'd need to play to their potential and probably get a bit of luck but it's doable. Hopefully they will have learned from the league final.

Aye see I suppose the difference between my attitude and that of a Kerryman is that you don't see simply reaching the final as any sort of achievement and it's either win the thing or nothing, whereas most other counties outside of Kerry and Dublin would see reaching the final as an achievement in itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Kerry throwing a game, so that they can avoid Dublin. What kind of a parallel universe have I wandered into?

Kerry aren't going to back down to anyone, or deliberately lose a game against Cork (of all feckin' counties) just to have a supposedly easier road in the qualifiers. They go into every single game thinking that they can win it.

If and when they play Dublin, they will go into that game (regardless of when it is) 100% convinced they can win it. They won't go out of their way to avoid playing Dublin, or anyone else. That is not the Kerry way.

That is why Kerry are Kerry. Their innate self belief is a big factor in why they have won as many All Ireland's as they have. After the league final, a lot of people are questioning whether they have the legs to stick with Dublin for 70 minutes. Maybe they do. Maybe they don't. But Kerry don't care what "people" think & they are the ones playing the games at the end of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

I'd be OK with having a rattle at them in the final. Would be great for Tyrone to get to a final even if we did get beat. Would be nice to get some revenge for the outrageous misjustice of 1995. (not that I'm bitter) :)

Will you fkn shtop my good man ;)

It was first break we got in fkn 20 years. Anyway, you more than got you vengeance :o

Just on the other thing, Kerry throwing games.... right !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Bonniedog wrote:

Might be OK for them. Made us in 2010. Give some u21s a run since the never did in the league after the first couple of games

Bonniedog wrote: »

Bear in mind I specifically said that they wouldn't and shouldn't.

Stoner wrote: »
    Might be OK for them. Made us in 2010. Give some u21s a run since the never did in the league after the first couple of games

Will you sthop my good man..

On the Mayo thread I wondered why the likes of Jimmy McGuiness and Thomas O Se were suggesting that Mayo were the best equipped team to beat Dublin, if anyone is going to beat Dublin.

One poster suggested that Tyrone were the only ones that may beat Dublin.

So why are people suddenly so big on Tyrone ?, a good few in the Pool thread has picked them.as finalists thus far.

Personally I think there waltz through a very average Div 2 has clouded peoples opinions of them.

They are certainty an improving team but they are still far from the finished article IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

I think Tyrone look more cohesive than they've looked in a few years and they seem to have a couple more options up front now too to balance out their defensive strategy. They gave Kerry a good match in the semi-final last year as well, and on another day might have beaten them, which has probably instilled a good bit of belief within their camp. I would imagine Mickey Harte has his eye on an AI final too and, like I said in the other thread, would love to have a go at Dublin.

I think the fact that they are clearly a coming team, coupled with Mickey Harte's tactical know-how, probably makes people a bit nervous. I think they'll be tough opposition in the championship, but I agree that it's a bit premature to say they're the only team capable of beating Dublin. There's no real evidence to suggest they are, tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

On the Mayo thread I wondered why the likes of Jimmy McGuiness and Thomas O Se were suggesting that Mayo were the best equipped team to beat Dublin, if anyone is going to beat Dublin.

So why are people suddenly so big on Tyrone ?, a good few in the Pool thread has picked them.as finalists thus far.

Personally I think there waltz through a very average Div 2 has clouded peoples opinions of them.

They are certainty an improving team but they are still far from the finished article IMO.

Think it has more to do with an impressive championship last year. Everybody knows that division 2 was extremely average. But last years championship certainly suggested they had something to build on. Personally I think not playing in division 1 will weaken them overall this year though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,216 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

I think they may be of the view that Mayo and Tyrone are able to compete with Dublin physically in a way that say Kerry can't at the minute. The problem is that I don't think either of them have the forwards to beat the dubs. Kerry certainly have the forwards but get overrun around the middle any time they've played Dublin in recent years and can't get the ball to their key men.

In truth I don't think there is a lot between the three above and they'd need to catch Dublin on a bad day to beat them.

Think it has more to do with an impressive championship last year. Everybody knows that division 2 was extremely average. But last years championship certainly suggested they had something to build on. Personally I think not playing in division 1 will weaken them overall this year though

It was not that impressive now in fairness

They lost to Donegal early on then went through the qualifiers beating such lightweights as Limerick, Meath, Tipp and Sligo

And then had the good fortune to meet Monaghan in the QF, a team that are the only provincial champions to lose a QF since 2010, and that was v Tyrone also

I was at that game and in all honesty Monaghan did not have a clue.

Then they were well beaten v Kerry, they made a bit of a game of it mid way through the 2nd half but I don't recall Kerry ever being in real danger.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭corny

Its a good point.

The last time one of the top four lost (when it really mattered) to anyone outside of that bracket was in 2010. Since then Cork, Monaghan, Kildare, Armagh, even Laois have got close but have ultimately failed. Tyrone got close last year but getting over the line against these teams is a task for your head as much as anything else. Its not unreasonable to think of them as fifth best until they actually prove it. FWIW i think its a case of people questioning Donegal, Kerry and even Mayo as much as really fancying Tyrone. Would anyone really fancy them if Kerry were playing like they were 2 years ago? Probably not.

The same point is true for opinions on Mayo. People are questioning Donegals and Kerrys legs. Its logical to assume the age profile might leave them vulnerable against a team like Dublin. They might confound that of course but its a safer bet in going with Mayo's consistency and proven physicality imo.

With respect to beating Dublin, Mayo to me are the best equipped. They are the best team we've played over the past 5 years, or to put it another way, they've been Dublins best challenge over the the past 5 years, Donegal being the second.

Tyrone might have a better chance of beating Kerry than Mayo. They are well drilled, they have a manager that has 3 titles, more than any current manager, and they defend very well.

I don't really think anyone is that well equipped to beat Dublin if I'm honest. I suppose people may pick Tyrone over the others on the back of a few things.

1. Kerry getting well beat by them a few times in a row at Croker.
    2. Mayo not really showing that they are capable of winning a game in Croker against a better side for years.
    3. Donegal looking like a team going backwards.
    4. Tyrone have overcome superior teams a few times in big games at Croke Park in Mickeys time.

In a game against Mayo or Kerry I'd have them both as favorites to beat Tyrone however maybe Tyrone would have been more chance against Dublin than both of them?

People saying we could make it to the final are doing so purely on the basis that they think we should win Ulster and in doing so we should avoid Kerry/Dublin. I guess given Mayo looked less than impressive in the League has the same people thinking we would beat them in the subsequent semi final.

It's not that far fetched but the championship rarely pans out the way people assume it will on paper.

And to be fair, of those who picked both Tyrone and Mayo to win their provinces in the pools thread, the majority of them have Mayo to make the final so about 30% picking Tyrone shouldn't be that much of a surprise in a one off game between the two.

• Registered Users Posts: 33 kiddap

With respect to beating Dublin, Mayo to me are the best equipped. They are the best team we've played over the past 5 years, or to put it another way, they've been Dublins best challenge over the the past 5 years, Donegal being the second.

Tyrone might have a better chance of beating Kerry than Mayo. They are well drilled, they have a manager that has 3 titles, more than any current manager, and they defend very well.

Not sure about Mayo having been our hardest opponents, there's been nothing much between ourselves and Kerry, 2011 a last-minute point, 2013 the sides were level at 70 minutes, last year 3 points. Now last year could easily have been more but also 2013 against Mayo should have been more, that game was well won until we ended up with 3 walking wounded for the last 10 minutes and went completely into hatches down mode.

Donegal are right up there too. Don't know how you leave Kerry behind the other two. I think Kerry have Tyrone's number now, though Tyrone might have the legs on them but Kerry will be bringing in younger lads

kiddap wrote:
    Not sure about Mayo having been our hardest opponents, there's been nothing much between ourselves and Kerry, 2011
    In that period Mayo won in 2012 against Dublin
    In 2013 Dublin won àgainst Kerry by 7 points and Mayo by 1
    In 2015 Mayo drew with Dublin and took it to a draw, we were thankful to get a draw in the first game. The Kerry game last year was never really a worry.
    So they beat us once, and drew with us in the same time Kerry lost all their games to Dublin.
    Apart from 2011 IMO teams like Mayo and Donegal have IMO been far more worring contests for me as a surporter.

I see a Rossie is blaming hype for their poor performance in NY.

I though the likes of McStay and O'Donnell were brought in to curb this sort of stuff.

http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=254969

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

I though the likes of McStay and O'Donnell were brought in to curb this sort of stuff.

It's a low-key fixture with very little hype surrounding it so complacency was more likely to blame.

We're also not giving NY much credit in all of this. They were giving off confident vibes ahead of this game and it showed in their performance, they clearly believed they could put it up to Roscommon and that this was a better NY team than the previous couple of years. The way they played, I'd say that barring Mayo they could have given any of the other Connaught counties a tough test. I don't think they were ever going to be hammered out the gate even by a full strength and fully focused Roscommon team.

• Registered Users Posts: 33 kiddap

In that period Mayo won in 2012 against Dublin
    In 2013 Dublin won àgainst Kerry by 7 points and Mayo by 1
    In 2015 Mayo drew with Dublin and took it to a draw, we were thankful to get a draw in the first game. The Kerry game last year was never really a worry.
    So they beat us once, and drew with us in the same time Kerry lost all their games to Dublin.
    Apart from 2011 IMO teams like Mayo and Donegal have IMO been far more worring contests for me as a surporter.

Whatever about how worrying they were for you, that and scores can be misleading. We were very mediocre in 2012 so I wouldn't submit that as evidence. As I said, 2013 semi-final, scores level on 70 mins, Kerry narrowly missed a chance to take the lead, very open game.

The goal, which was a piece of solo brilliance, ended the game really. That game was actually closer than the Mayo replay last year, despite the similar margin etc.

The 2013 final, we had it in the bag and only that we had to go blanket the last 10 minutes, they never looked like catching us, time was always running out. The freakish circumstances of our injuries in that last 10-15 minutes were not a fair reflection on the relative abilities of the teams, a 4/5-point win would have been a fair reflection, minimum 3. Ref gave them every sympathy decision in that game, especially towards the end, 3-1 margin of frees if I recall it.

We weren't really thankful to get a draw the first day against Mayo last year, truth is we totally dominated that game til another set of freakish circumstances conspired to let them back into it, even then we looked the likely winners only that Cluxton was struggling and missed the kicks.

From about 60 minutes in that game, the following happened:

2 of our midfielders very harshly black-carded.
    At least one player walking wounded with all subs on.
    Ref gives them a ridiculous penalty for a bargeing dive.

Not to mention ROC went off injured early after an elbow that went unpunished. We outscored them from play by about 12 scores to 3 in the game. They were barely able to get the ball for 60 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,566 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Poor effort

kiddap wrote:
    Whatever about how worrying they were for you, that and scores can be misleading. We were very mediocre in 2012 so I wouldn't submit that as evidence. As I said, 2013 semi-final, scores level on 70 mins, Kerry narrowly missed a chance to take the lead, very open game.
    Mayo drew with Dublin last year. They beat them in 2012 nothing misleading there imo. It's more than an opinion I hold, it's backed up by fact and really whatever points are made to the contrary is supported by 3 losses during the same time between Dublin and Kerry . Ruling out Dublin's form in 2012 because it doesn't fit an argument wont work here as it's within the time period under review.
    You are correct how worried I was is not the measure of the contests, it's the results that count and I'm not submitting evidence I'm underlining facts.
    We all know how long a game lasts. Kerry start with their best team and fade towards the end of games consistently, Dublin in 2011 finished with their best team. Mayo have the juice and don't fade against Dublin to the degree Kerry have and clearly they have been more successful against Dublin than Kerry from 2011 until now.
    In this context how close Kerry were to Dublin in 2013 has to be reviewed against Mayo and Dublin in the same year. The gap between Kerry and Dublin was 7 points and the gap between Mayo and Dublin a few weeks later was 1.
    The final last year, the final result did not reflect the difference between the teams in may people's eyes , but it was what it was, it's the other side of the 2013 result, it was a win you have to take the collective results not just the elements that align with an opinion and disregard a win and a draw that Kerry could not match in that time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,363 ✭✭✭naughto

yabadabado wrote: »
    Poor effort

What do you mean poor effort they where sh1te but I sapose your on about fr Tod posted and not the game

naughto wrote: »
    What do you mean poor effort they where sh1te but I sapose your on about fr Tod posted and not the game

There is a certain reluctance from some Roscommon fans to analyse why they only beat NY by a point.

And anyone who brings up the topic is shot down.

I was just offering my opinion on a article I read.

It would be very bad for Roscommon if they were complacent or struggling with hype at this point, after all that event on last seadon

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

I'm a tad perplexed,in the All Ireland pools thread a few individuals have gone for Dublin to win the All Ireland and Kerry as runners up,after predicting both to win their respective provincial titles.I thought with such a scenario they would meet in the All Ireland semi final??

seligehgit wrote:
    I'm a tad perplexed,in the All Ireland pools thread a few individuals have gone for Dublin to win the All Ireland and Kerry as runners up,after predicting both to win their respective provincial titles.I thought with such a scenario they would meet in the All Ireland semi final??

I guess you can hedge your bets to a degree can't you, or do you have to get the order correct ?

seligehgit wrote: »

Yea but people don't necessarily cop on to that

Neither do they bother reading the op

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Laois : 2-14 Wicklow 0-18. 4 or 5 minutes left in the game.

The Laois Wicklow match sounds like it's been a good open competitive game.

Of course as usual opening round Leinster matches always tend to be quiet open but these games aren't worthy of being televised and instead we'll have to suffer through a load of matches we know won't be any good before the ball is even thrown in.

Laois : 3-15 Wicklow 0-18 after 68 minutes

FT

Laois 3-16 Wicklow 0-18

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Patww79 wrote: »

game should be in Portlaoise

Patww79 wrote: »

I don't have an issue with the game being in Nowlan Park and it's been chosen for financial reasons by the Leinster council members but really considering Dublin last played Laois in Croke Park (probably the last 6 or 7 times they've played it's been in Croke Park) and seeing as it is effectively Dublins home ground then as a gesture it should have been played in Portlaoise if Laois wanted that to happen.

This whining about Dublin playing in CP every year is tiresome. I'm quite certain that if it was decided to have the games played elsewhere Dublin wouldn't have any issue. I'm equally sure enough of the Dubs support would be happy for a day away.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,101 ✭✭✭klairondavis

This whining about Dublin playing in CP every year is tiresome. I'm quite certain that if it was decided to have the games played elsewhere Dublin wouldn't have any issue. I'm equally sure enough of the Dubs support would be happy for a day away.

I don't believe the Dubs would have any issue with it. The fault lies with the Leinster Council. Fixing the quarter final for Kilkenny is a bit farcical considering any difference in capacity between Nowlan Park and O'Moore Park is negligible. I've seen an argument put forward that it's to do with the number of seats and that all season ticket holders are entitled to a stand ticket and not a terrace ticket but the Connacht Council had no problem assigning season ticket holders to the terrace for last year's provincial final in Dr Hyde Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Absolutely agree, once the decision was taken that there'd be a road trip this year it should've been earmarked for o'moore or aughrim. I don't understand the thinking of nowlan outside of the financial motivation. If I remember correctly the Slattery report reduced Portlaoise to 18k with 6k seating but not so low as to not make it a viable venue.

From my perspective Laois have earned the right to have a 18k capacity game at home and would have appreciated the occasion and influx of people far more than Kilkenny

DoctaDee wrote:
    Absolutely agree, once the decision was taken that there'd be a road trip this year it should've been earmarked for o'moore or aughrim.
    O'Moore park is a fantastic ground, well kept, big pictures of Laois players on the side of the stand as you walk in. You'd imagine there are some very upset Laois people who go to the trouble of keeping it that way as they hoped for these types of games every now and then.

So what if it sells out. This venue holds no advantage for Laois, the big crowd etc is all part of conditions other teams want to change when they play Dublin.

O'Moore park is a fantastic ground, well kept, big pictures of Laois players on the side of the stand as you walk in. You'd imagine there are some very upset Laois people who go to the trouble of keeping it that way as they hoped for these types of games every now and then.

So what if it sells out. This venue holds no advantage for Laois, the big crowd etc is all part of conditions other teams want to change when they play Dublin.

Without a doubt Stoner - the people of Laois are being short changed - the dubs in town both players and supporters should've been a good trade for those involved in Laois GAA

Ah here on 2nd thought there's gonna be a jersey clash on the 4th..does that mean as the away team we have to change back to the old ones ?