Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

It's for Women insurance.

• 07-04-2016 10:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭political analyst

Why was It's for Women online insurance launched?

Is there any evidence that women are not being served well by established insurance companies?

Honestly, I'm fed up of those It's for Women ads. After all, there'd be uproar if there was an insurance business called "It's for Men".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

Why was It's for Women online insurance launched?

Is there any evidence that women are not being served well by established insurance companies?

Honestly, I'm fed up of those It's for Women ads. After all, there'd be uproar if there was an insurance business called "It's for Men".

I agree fully,

If we had a "its for men" it would be sexist, if we had a "its for Irish only" it would be racist, if we had a "its for people between 30-50" it would be ageist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

It's only sexism when it benefits men, silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭GreatDefector

allibastor wrote: »
    I agree fully,

If we had a "its for men" it would be sexist, if we had a "its for Irish only" it would be racist, if we had a "its for people between 30-50" it would be ageist

It's for women also own 25plus btw!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

It's for women also own 25plus btw!
    Which is actually AIG.

They can't refuse men, they just tell them "We're actually AIG so go over here for a quote."

They insure men too. They can't even make their minds up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

http://www.platform505.com/wp-content/uploads/Image-credit-to-Ann-Larie-Valentine_edited-1.jpg

(Not that I don't think the It's For Women insurance is a bit odd, but hey, these guys got away with it for years)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

How 'bout that Just For Men hair dye, Joe. I'm outraged by branding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭MacauDragon

They insure men too. They can't even make their minds up.

If only they had someone strong with worldly knowledge to guide them through all the confusion and to make their decisions for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

It's kinda genius though. They can't discriminate based on gender anymore, but they can start a company called "its for women" in the hopes that men might be less likely to look for quotes from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Remember that extremely patronising advert for Irish women insurance that came out about 2 years ago?

Was always part of the cinema adverts and it used to royally piss herself off :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Mod-Post removed. User banned

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Just got a quote. Wasn't that bad actually. Testicles weren't covered under personal injury, so I'm going to have to pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭lol5605

• Closed Accounts Posts: 891 ✭✭✭Falcon L

When you drop that beat and the crowd go wild... :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Kev_2012

I'm a guy, and I'm insured with them :p:p

They were the cheapest by far! even cheaper than 25plus and they are the same company :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭political analyst

How 'bout that Just For Men hair dye, Joe. I'm outraged by branding.

There is a difference: generally, baldness is not a problem that women have.

Kev_2012 wrote: »
    I'm a guy, and I'm insured with them :p:p
    Seriously?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Grey hair is though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Just for men is hair dye. Nowt to do with baldness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Hair dye won't do much for baldness tbh. You could... paint your scalp with it I suppose? That might look a bit weird though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I thought premiums were to be equalised after that European ruling last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

The ad for it was the most annoying one I've ever seen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

lol5605 wrote: »

So...there's also an insurance brand that targets 'The Lads'?

So am I annoyed at sexist male targeted insurance or sexist female targeted insurance, or can I safely ignore the existence of either/both?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I always like it when the 'can you imagine the outrage if there was the men-only equivalent' line comes up and then it turns out that it already exists.

Candie wrote: »
    So...there's also an insurance brand that targets 'The Lads'?

So am I annoyed at sexist male targeted insurance or sexist female targeted insurance, or can I safely ignore the existence of either/both?

You have to be a full time mad bastard to get insurance with them!

osarusan wrote: »
    I always like it when the 'can you imagine the outrage if there was the men-only equivalent' line comes up and then it turns out that it already exists.

It's only sexist if it benefits men!

4thelads.ie

Oops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I don't believe you're a man OP because anyone that's bothered shít like this must have a vagina

It's only sexist if it benefits men!

4thlads.ie

Oops.
    Scarleh

Cienciano wrote: »
    I don't believe you're a man OP because anyone that's bothered shít like this must have a vagina

And be on their period!

Yea, nothing like a bit of casual sexism huh...

smash wrote: »
    You have to be a full time mad bastard to get insurance with them!

It's good for the bants.

I always feel it should be capitalised.

The Bants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

And be on their period!

Yea, nothing like a bit of casual sexism huh...

It's a joke, don't get your panties in a twist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

lol5605 wrote: »

I presume there is a 20% loading on the premium simply because you were drawn to the name and rang them

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Grey hair is though.
    KungPao wrote: »
    Just for men is hair dye. Nowt to do with baldness.
    Hair dye won't do much for baldness tbh. You could... paint your scalp with it I suppose? That might look a bit weird though.

Apologies.

I remember the Just for Men ad. I just didn't remember correctly what Just for Men is.

In fairness, unlike the ad for It's for Women, the Just for Men ads weren't "in your face".

now what really annoys me is that gob****e that runs the quote devil ads!!!

some eejit smashes his car blind drunk into a woman and child and gets banned for 3 years. Then this dickhead comes along and says, ah here' I'll insure ya!!

Hey knobhead, the others wont insure him for a reason!!

and there's cases where this has happened the these lads have reoffended!!!
    all while Mr selling houses in the Boom for 300% profit is telling you he'll get you into your sports car!!

It's good for the bants.

I always feel it should be capitalised.

The Bants.
    You get a free can of lynx and a disc holder with a girl in a bikini printed on it when you get your disc.

'4thelads.ie' clearly aren't fooling anyone with their marketing effort since no one seems to know who they are, unlike 'its4women' since they're supposedly based on the similar criteria and premiums. Its4women must have done something right since you can't help falling over their ads everywhere. That, or they're just throwing their money away on advertising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭rsh118

Those damn feminists! They'll be protesting Just for Men hair colouring next.

On a side note, studied English Lit at uni, one of the 'I'm for equal rights for men' brigade emailed (brave lad) the department demanding to know why there was a women's lit course but not a men's lit.

Long story short, the head of department read the email to the entire assembled year before pointing out that there was a men's lit course available at the uni, and it was called English Lit.

He wasn't quite so loud from then on.

rsh118 wrote: »
    Those damn feminists! They'll be protesting Just for Men hair colouring next.

On a side note, studied English Lit at uni, one of the 'I'm for equal rights for men' brigade emailed (brave lad) the department demanding to know why there was a women's lit course but not a men's lit.

Long story short, the head of department read the email to the entire assembled year before pointing out that there was a men's lit course available at the uni, and it was called English Lit.

He wasn't quite so loud from then on.
    So what's the difference between women's lit and English lit?

It's similar to the relationship between equality and feminism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭rsh118

The difference is that you can study men's lit by taking any course you want. If you have a special interest in women's lit you'd either need to take 9 courses covering one woman each, or just take the handy pre-packaged one.

English Literature is by nature largely the study of dead white men and their writings.

The difference is that you can study men's lit by taking any course you want. If you have a special interest in women's lit you'd either need to take 9 courses covering one woman each, or just take the handy pre-packaged one.

English Literature is by nature largely the study of dead white men and their writings.
    Aw man, to be honest both courses seem like a waste of time to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

In a world of gender fluidity, I don't even believe in women.

You have to say that with mr movie narrator's voice

IN A WORRRRRLD

How's your ladyboy working out for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

How's your ladyboy working out for you?

"There are no chicks with dicks, only guys with tits"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Kev_2012

Seriously?!

Yeah! It was like 70 euro something cheaper than 25plus.

"There are no chicks with dicks, only guys with tits"
    I only said that on another thread a few weeks ago :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The gender of the author means nothing to me. Completely irrelevant. It's an insult to female authors to segregate them like this. Universities giving such courses should hang their heads in shame.