Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PLEASE be vigilant

• 06-03-2016 10:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭

Hey folks

This post is incredibly difficult to write, as I know I will come in from some abuse from some people but I think that the issue needs to be spoken about.

I went out on Friday with a group of friends, and my drink was spiked. I had two drinks before heading out and one in the bar, following that drink I have no memory of the night, can't remember how I got home and it is so scary. I went to the doc and am awaiting blood test results, and I also went to the guards too.

Being spiked can happen so easily and can result in disaster. I got separated from my friend, but luckily they found me and we got a cab home. It could have been so much worse. I am just warning everyone to be careful and NOT to leave your drinks unattended, as this happens way to often. Please be careful and look after your drinks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

spud82 wrote: »
    Hey folks

This post is incredibly difficult to write, as I know I will come in from some abuse from some people but I think that the issue needs to be spoken about.

I went out on Friday with a group of friends, and my drink was spiked. I had two drinks before heading out and one in the bar, following that drink I have no memory of the night, can't remember how I got home and it is so scary. I went to the doc and am awaiting blood test results, and I also went to the guards too.

Being spiked can happen so easily and can result in disaster. I got separated from my friend, but luckily they found me and we got a cab home. It could have been so much worse. I am just warning everyone to be careful and NOT to leave your drinks unattended, as this happens way to often. Please be careful and look after your drinks
    This +1,000

Always take your drink with you wherever you go or have a friend look after it. This happened to a friend of mine and she ended up in hospital after a bouncer found her passed out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭stoplooklisten

instructions unclear, became a vigilante :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Is it wrong of me to assume you're female?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

This has happened to two of my friends (seperate incidents), luckily we were in a group and they got taken home in a taxi.

Always keep your drink in front of you. A second is all it takes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭spud82

Yup. I am. I just want to remind people to be safe. I am mortified by what happened. I feel like it's my fault. I was 100% out of it and on my own. I was just so lucky my friends found me when they did. There was a group of us and half of us went to the bathroom the rest of the stayed at the bar, with drinks. My drink had been moved slightly but i took no notice and drank it. After than BAM 0 memory. It's a terrfying experience and id wish it on noone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

Am I alone in thinking these incidents must be very rare? Who goes to the bother of doing this in the highly unlikely event that the end result is sex with the victim? Surely a cheesy chat-up line has a greater chance of success with much lower risk. Maybe I'm naive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Superhorse

Happened to my daughter's friend about a month ago. Don't know if it's rampant but she told me it a frequent occurrence on the college scene. Not good seems like there is a lot of wackos out there.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

spud82 wrote: »
    Yup. I am. I just want to remind people to be safe. I am mortified by what happened. I feel like it's my fault.

Rest assured that it's not your fault in any way. The blame lies entirely with the sordid person who spiked your drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,499 ✭✭✭✭Caoimhgh1n

Their drinks should be spiked, with sulphuric acid. What kind of idiots are out there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

do they do it for the craic?? watching from a far seeing how you react to it??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Am I alone in thinking these incidents must be very rare? Who goes to the bother of doing this in the highly unlikely event that the end result is sex with the victim? Surely a cheesy chat-up line has a greater chance of success with much lower risk. Maybe I'm naive.
    It does happen alright, but it is very rare. There can be many reasons for people believing their drink was spiked when it wasn't, from not having enough sleep to a glass with detergent not rinsed out of it causing an adverse reaction.

Purely anecdotal from my own experience, in the vast majority of cases where a drink was spiked, it was done by a member of the victim's own circle of friends, or at the very least someone that was well known to them, either for a 'laugh' or revenge for some grievance or other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭newacc2015

It can happen to men too. I have seen women getting men absolutely ****ed up at a bar to bring them home. If you arent so drunk you cant function. That isnt consentual sex. Alcohol is the most commonly used date rape drug.

I have learnt from house parties since a teenager, never leave your drink unattended. You can trust your friends, but you cant trust everyone who they brought. My friends will sometimes laugh if they see me bring my drink to the toilet at a house party. But it is habit I have.

My friend once had his drink spiked by his friend, as he "thought he was being a **** buzz". Needless to say that friendship didnt last much longer.

It really is very rare for someone to be spiked.
    Really rare.
    Having said that, it's sensible to always keep your drink with you.

Just an aside, women having their period have very different reactions to alcohol then the do at other times of the month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Doctor on the radio quite a while ago talking about it . Apparently it's very rare for anything to be found in the blood apart from a shoitload of alcohol.
    Obviously not in your case but many claims of spiked drinks are a case of several too many.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

fryup wrote: »
    do they do it for the craic?? watching from a far seeing how you react to it??
    I've heard some do but I don't know for sure. Both of my friends that got spiked were guys so it could be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭caille

I would have thought the same but unfortunately, it happened to one of my friends on a night out, I was part of the group and it was the most scariest thing I have witnessed and had to deal it (as in trying to find her, get her conscious and get her home safely). I am now almost paranoid when I go out, about drinking and where my drinks are, because of that one night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭Lisacatlover

caille wrote: »
    I would have thought the same but unfortunately, it happened to one of my friends on a night out, I was part of the group and it was the most scariest thing I have witnessed and had to deal it (as in trying to find her, get her conscious and get her home safely). I am now almost paranoid when I go out, about drinking and where my drinks are, because of that one night.

Did she go to the hospital and get a blood test? What did they find?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

What sort of sick ****s do it. Can't get my head round it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

I doubt people do it thinking it'll result in them getting sex. Id say its more to see people falling all over the club or getting kicked out etc, just causing misery for the sake of it, like people who make internet viruses or something along those lines.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

This is not new, The only person who will look out for you properly is “YOU”.

they must waste a lot putting it in drinks that people never come back too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Did she go to the hospital and get a blood test? What did they find?

Dr. Kerr did though, and they upheld the charges ffs :
    Dr Kerr, of Marlborough Park South in Belfast, woke up in a police cell and upon release she went to hospital to get blood tests - an examination that found traces of date rape drug GHB.

The district judge who convicted her at Londonderry Magistrates' Court said he had no doubt her drink had been spiked, but explained involuntary intoxication was not a defence in law.

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/drink-spike-case-doctor-drops-assault-sentence-appeal-31482380.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

wakka12 wrote: »
    I doubt people do it thinking it'll result in them getting sex. Id say its more to see people falling all over the club or getting kicked out etc, just causing misery for the sake of it, like people who make internet viruses or something along those lines.

People buy these pills, go to a nightclub, administer the drug to sit and watch this happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Tunage

Had my drink spiked years ago. Not hard to guess who it was. Small rural town, 3 of us girls in the bar and 3 visitors shall we say.

We had two drinks in the bar then I called my mum to take me home which was already pre-arranged I would do. Got home and woke up in my mothers bed stark naked. To say I was shocked is an understatement.

She then asked me if I remembered what I'd said/done the night before and I had no idea.

She told me that I went up to her room, took off my top and said 'the men killed in the rallies are down in my room so I'm sleeping here' and then took off my bottoms and got in beside her. I was so frightened thinking of all the 'what if's'.

'Spikey's' are a new thing that are designed to fit in to the neck of a bottle (long neck) with space for a straw to prevent spiking drinks. The ad actually popped up on my Facebook feed the other day shared by a young female friend. They're available free of charge in a number of bars in England... such a great idea for bottles and they should be EVERYWHERE!

kneemos wrote: »
    Doctor on the radio quite a while ago talking about it . Apparently it's very rare for anything to be found in the blood apart from a shoitload of alcohol.
    Obviously not in your case but many claims of spiked drinks are a case of several too many.

The most common drug to spike a drink with is alcohol. Buying doubles or triples instead of a single with the intention of getting people very drunk, or putting an extra shot in a glass surreptitiously is more common than something like GBH, but it's still spiking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

I got drugged in 2010 by what is long suspected to be a head-shop high.
    3 terrifying days of hallucinating that bats were flying around and seeing a huge, hulking 3-eyed dog stalking me ensued before my mother, originally thinking I was just giddy from festivities (t'was around the time of Pride/Zombie Walk), dragged me to the doctor who gave me a pill to kill the hallucinations.
    Whilst I thankfully was not physically assaulted, my mental state was so fragile that the "bad trip" caused me to experience a severe mental breakdown. I ended up spending 6 weeks in a psychiatric unit trying to reclaim my sanity. It was hell.
    Never did find out who drugged me but believe me, if I had him alone in a room, so help me, I'd make Jigsaw look like a cuddly uncle.
    My mental health is now a shaky slope. I'm on several strong anti-psychotic medications and the incident brought previously undiagnosed bipolar disorder to the surface. Hypomania- particularly drug induced- is ****ing terrifying and nowadays when I'm out having drinks, I'm like a dog with a bone when it comes to guarding it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

McChubbin wrote: »
    I got drugged in 2010 by what is long suspected to be a head-shop high.
    3 terrifying days of hallucinating that bats were flying around and seeing a huge, hulking 3-eyed dog stalking me ensued before my mother, originally thinking I was just giddy from festivities (t'was around the time of Pride/Zombie Walk), dragged me to the doctor who gave me a pill to kill the hallucinations.
    Whilst I thankfully was not physically assaulted, my mental state was so fragile that the "bad trip" caused me to experience a severe mental breakdown. I ended up spending 6 weeks in a psychiatric unit trying to reclaim my sanity. It was hell.
    Never did find out who drugged me but believe me, if I had him alone in a room, so help me, I'd make Jigsaw look like a cuddly uncle.
    My mental health is now a shaky slope. I'm on several strong anti-psychotic medications and the incident brought previously undiagnosed bipolar disorder to the surface. Hypomania- particularly drug induced- is ****ing terrifying and nowadays when I'm out having drinks, I'm like a dog with a bone when it comes to guarding it.

That sounds like a very bad trip. Now a bad trip after you take something yourself is horrific (and I have had the misfortune of that experience when much younger) But having a bad trip as a result of being spiked without your knowledge is truely terrifying. I don't think a lot of people realise just how bad drugs like acid etc can be unless you experience it yourself.

You had bats. I had spiders. Sounds funny but as we know it most certainly is not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

It's true that it's usually alcohol but sometimes people spike other people's drinks with stronger alcohol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

Years ago, A guy I knew spiked several of his friends with acid. He claimed he thought they'd all want to trip. He was lucky he wasn't killed. It's the sh1ttest thing to do. Even if someone were to take drugs recreationally it is always up to the individual to choose what they take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Talula123

Happened to a friend of mine when she was on holidays, she woke up in an apartment with two men, one of them cutting her dress open with a knife, she freaked out and ran out of the apartment, she was so lucky. I also saw a guy putting something in a drink he had bought for me at the bar after pestering me to let him buy me a drink, I didn't drink it of course, but you can't be too careful, theres a lot of scumbags out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Talula123

People don't just spike drinks to rape the victim although its a pretty common reason, some people are just scumbags and do it for kicks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Drugs are, for the most part;
    a) hard to get
    b) expensive
    c) most of the more easily obtained powder/crystalline drugs that would dissolve in a drink would make you more hyper and alert rather than making you plain black out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

OP, I know you've contacted the Guards, but have you also contacted the bar / pub?
    They may have CCTV and you may not be the only one this fecker tried to spike that night... or he could be there frequently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Purely anecdotal from my own experience, in the vast majority of cases where a drink was spiked, it was done by a member of the victim's own circle of friends, or at the very least someone that was well known to them, either for a 'laugh' or revenge for some grievance or other.
    Even just from knowing who people are and what they do, it's most likely someone that the victim knows doing it for kicks, or even just some idiot out to be an asshole, rather than someone watching from the shadows and waiting to strike.

I remember years back out sailing in Cobh as a kid and one of the guys running the boat discussing the Pfizer plant, talking about how a friend got a job there when they started making Viagra and came home with a baggie of the pills in his pocket. So they crushed 4 up, put them into one of their friend's drinks and then didn't hear from him for 3 days afterwards.

Of course he was laughing about it, in hindsight it's a scumbag thing to do. But the kind of people who do this stuff don't think of it like that. "It's just a prank, bro".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

seamus wrote: »
    Even just from knowing who people are and what they do, it's most likely someone that the victim knows doing it for kicks, or even just some idiot out to be an asshole, rather than someone watching from the shadows and waiting to strike.

I remember years back out sailing in Cobh as a kid and one of the guys running the boat discussing the Pfizer plant, talking about how a friend got a job there when they started making Viagra and came home with a baggie of the pills in his pocket. So they crushed 4 up, put them into one of their friend's drinks and then didn't hear from him for 3 days afterwards.

Of course he was laughing about it, in hindsight it's a scumbag thing to do. But the kind of people who do this stuff don't think of it like that. "It's just a prank, bro".
    That's ****ty, the victim could have died if he had a heart condition.
    What a scumbag.
    (I knew someone in college who admitted he had been regularly putting the female contraceptive pill in a male "friend"s drink, "for the fun" and to "see what would happen')

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 621 ✭✭✭Under_Graduate

I agree.

You gotta be super vigilant

The last thing some poor gal needs is to end up getting Cosby'd

Mod-User banned. Discussion of ruffies/date rape is not allowed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

When I was working in clubs it was every other week I was approached to be told that someone had their drink spiked and unfortunately the vast majority of times it just turned out they were langers. (I'm not trying to cast aspersions on the OP here either by the way, they could well have been spiked.)

I think the change in drink culture amongst young people is a big part of it. People tend to drink at home more and in the case of women they often drink wine and spirits. However, instead of pub measures they are pouring their own, for example vodka and lemonade in a pint glass (75-100mls a pop) or massive glasses of white wine. Often this is done while getting ready, perhaps after not having eaten much or sometimes anything at all. After a an hour or two they've drank a large amount of alcohol in a short space of time and it starts to hit them once they've got in the club (often after ordering a rake of shots upon arrival.)

Next thing you know the story is: "we were only here for half an hour and had a couple of drinks and now xyz is passing out."

Similarly alcohol is a drug that can have different effects at different times. Sometimes a person can drink three pints and be battered after it while other times the same amount will be negligible. Unfortunately in Ireland many people take no responsibility for their alcohol consumption or the effects of drinking a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

A friend of mine was spiked a few years ago. She's not a big drinker, so whoever spiked her spiked her 2nd drink of the night. She was like a rag doll. It was terrifying to watch. She was completely non responsive. All we could do was bring her home to her mother and get her to help us (us having a lot more drink than her). It'd a despicable thing to do for anyone. She wasn't right for days.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 621 ✭✭✭Under_Graduate

Take care about guys that make you laugh whilst buying you a drink.

Be especially careful of them dudes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

I went to the Gaeltacht when I was 14 and the Fear an Tí was a bit of a **** to us so we spiked his tea with laxatives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Candie wrote: »
    The most common drug to spike a drink with is alcohol. Buying doubles or triples instead of a single with the intention of getting people very drunk, or putting an extra shot in a glass surreptitiously is more common than something like GBH, but it's still spiking.

This is true. And people are then dismissed by folk saying "ah they just had to much to drink and are making excuses."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

Yep, it's a terrible thing and it does happen, but a lot of the time it's just people getting hammered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

wakka12 wrote: »

I agree. I think my drink must have been spiked a few years ago on a stag night with some friends (and a few lads I didn't know). I'm a sturdy 6'5" so it'd be hilarious to spike my drink, wouldn't it?

The night was going along as normal, having the usual type and amount of drink I normally would, but as the night went on, I got really paranoid. I met a lad I went to school with, and talked for a bit before going back to the lads I came with. But then, I became convinced that the school-friend was going to kill (literally!) the friend whose stag it was. This feeling got more intense until I became convinced that he was going to kill ME!

The next thing I know, I'm freezing, walking down a little street and not knowing where I was. Then I copped on which town I was in and headed back towards the nightclub that I had been in. The bouncer wouldn't let me in, but it turns out they had kicked me out for hitting one of the lads in the stag party. I had only met him that night for the first time, but had gotten on well with him.

I'm not a violent person, and was never in a fight before or since, and because of my size, I've never needed to. Because of the paranoia and the violence, I reckon my drink must have been spiked, because it was so out of character, and because I was almost sober when my friends came out so I don't think it could have been the alcohol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Re the Dr Kerr that was prosecuted for assaults, GBH which the article called the rape drug it's actually a recreational drug that a doctor would have access to.
    Without proof that someone else administered it to her I'd have my suspicions

http://m.derryjournal.com/news/courts/doctor-convicted-of-assaulting-police-officers-1-6703925

I just read this she was a trainee anesthesologist which would be the correct department to access GBH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Tigger wrote: »
    Re the Dr Kerr that was prosecuted for assaults, GBH which the article called the rape drug it's actually a recreational drug that a doctor would have access to.
    Without proof that someone else administered it to her
    make it sound like it involves a lot of effort or something

"social experiment" yokie but anyway in broad daylight :

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    This is true. And people are then dismissed by folk saying "ah they just had to much to drink and are making excuses."

They don't know when they're drunk and keep drinking?
    Smacks of an excuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I remember on one of my birthdays in my mid 20s, we had just moved into a new apartment and decided to have people over as a housewarming / birthday bash instead of going out. I had three bottles of beer, opened them all myself and they wouldn't have ever left my hand, and then I passed out on the couch at about 10:30. Completely comatose, party going on around me, people were trying to wake me up, but couldn't. I have vague recollections of my girlfriend and one of my friends dragging me into bed, draped over their shoulders, and then nothing until I woke up in bed, fully dressed, in the morning.

Alcohol can do really weird things to you sometimes for no apparent reason.

Tigger wrote: »

http://m.derryjournal.com/news/courts/doctor-convicted-of-assaulting-police-officers-1-6703925

I just read this she was a trainee anesthesologist which would be the correct department to access GBH

She dropped her appeal as far as I can gather

I remember on one of my birthdays in my mid 20s, we had just moved into a new apartment and decided to have people over as a housewarming / birthday bash instead of going out. I had three bottles of beer, opened them all myself and they wouldn't have ever left my hand, and then I passed out on the couch at about 10:30. Completely comatose, party going on around me, people were trying to wake me up, but couldn't. I have vague recollections of my girlfriend and one of my friends dragging me into bed, draped over their shoulders, and then nothing until I woke up in bed, fully dressed, in the morning.

Alcohol can do really weird things to you sometimes for no apparent reason.

Similar has happened me a couple of times,incredibly tired and just want to sleep after a couple of drinks.Would have sworn on oath there was something in the drinks but there couldn't have been.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

She dropped her appeal as far as I can gather
    If I'd been spiked with something and then been prosecuted for my inoxicatated behaviour I'd not back down
    i sure she realised that if someone put 2+2 together that she'd be in trouble
    Calling GBH a rape drug is like calling bicardi a rape drug