Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Food stolen from counter in a takeaway

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Notavirus.exe

What are you wittering on about now?

Your constructive posts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

What are you wittering on about now?

What revelation did you just discover that was not in the Original Post???

All the information is there ........ page one, post one. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

MadDog76 wrote: »
    Huh? :confused:

His friend knows exactly what happened to his food and change because he was told exactly what happened by the one person who had the food and change, the same person who handed the food and change over to the scumbags, ie. the cashier.

I know you thought you made a clever point there ......... but you didn't.
    What do you not understand? He saw the scumbags walking in and coming out with food, he went in soon after looking for his food and he was told by the counter guy that those guys took it.

cashier 1st person
    guy who took the call ie thhe mate 2nd person

Op is the 3rd person

The point being made is that the OP is relying on third hand information, not even second hand. Even the mate who lost the cash didnt actually see what happened, for all we know the change was never actually given by the staff and the scumbags took their own food

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,768 ✭✭✭degsie

I have have never EVER had to hand over money in a takeaway before the food was ready. Was this some southside posh establishment?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 91 ✭✭stefan.kuntz

degsie wrote: »
    I have have never EVER had to hand over money in a takeaway before the food was ready. Was this some southside posh establishment?

Another hole in the OPs 'friends' story.

The guy at the counter had to take the money and calculate the total bill and the change. Why wait until the food is cooked to do that when you can save the customer's time and do it while their food is cooking?

Remember, this was a large order of food.

esforum wrote: »
    cashier 1st person
    guy who took the call ie thhe mate 2nd person

Op is the 3rd person

The point being made is that the OP is relying on third hand information, not even second hand. Even the mate who lost the cash didnt actually see what happened, for all we know the change was never actually given by the staff and the scumbags took their own food

Yes I know, I read the Original Post and no secret was made of the fact that the Op was posting on behalf of his friend who told him his version of what happened ........ we all knew that from Post One so the "point being made" is a mute one.

As for us (the readers) not knowing for sure what actually did happen ......... isn't that true of every single story posted on Boards?
    We can either accept the story as is and discuss it or just say "I don't know if that story is even true" and just not bother discussing it ......... those are our choices.

Another hole is that these ragamuffins were 'well known' scumbags. Well known to whom, the 'friend' and/or the 'counter guy'? Assuming there was a group of these alleged scumbags, why would the 'counter guy' assume the OP's friend was known to them? Did they not order food also? All seems made up imho.

Yes degsie, it was a posh takeaway located on the Southside. :rolleyes:

Remember, this was a large order of food.
    Is your 'friend' a big fat git who rudely takes calls during a cash transaction?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,588 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Never been in a takeaway where the just leave orders on the counter when the customer isn't around.

I mean, it's fairly common to drop into a takeaway and order and come back a couple of moments later.

It seems to me the takeaway would not have left food on a counter for anyone to take if it hadn't been paid for yet.

Perhaps they were negligent I'm the sense that they don't care where the food goes once it's paid for.

I mean, what takeaway doesn't call out the order when it's ready if the customer isn't at the counter? Seems to me the takeaway is to blame.

Another hole is that these ragamuffins were 'well known' scumbags. Well known to whom, the 'friend' and/or the 'counter guy'? Assuming there was a group of these alleged scumbags, why would the 'counter guy' assume the OP's friend was known to them? Did they not order food also? All seems made up imho.

My friend obviously knew them. The 'counter guy' is an immigrant from some far away part of Europe and (NO OFFENCE) he wouldn't really know anyone from around town.

It is not made up. The purpose of this thread is that I am curious as to the liability of the takeaway guy for letting this happen. Whether you believe the story or not, accept it as the truth and discuss whose at fault here. This is not the conspiracy theory forum, you are achieving nothing by telling me what happened to my friend is false.

Jaysus, some posters now think we're discussing the Kennedy assassination ffs!! :D

"It's all a big conspiracy, there's too many holes in his testimony story!" :D:D

The cashier took an order and payment from a customer and handed the food and change over to somebody else who claimed he was with the original customer ........ who's at fault is the question ........ some say the customer and some say the takeaway.

If no money had changed hands then the takeaway would have lost out ........ as it is, the customer lost out.
    In either case, the Guards should have been called as a theft had occurred.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭selous

Or a total conspiracy theory.
    The food was ready, he handed over the money answered his phone, stepped outside, but it was the "scumbag" who rang him at the arranged time, got the food and the change, walked out with it, the friend walks back in is "shocked" but really hopes to get reimbursed by the fast food place, in both food and money!!

selous wrote: »
    The food was ready, he handed over the money answered his phone, stepped outside, but it was the "scumbag" who rang him at the arranged time, got the food and the change, walked out with it, the friend walks back in is "shocked" but really hopes to get reimbursed by the fast food place, in both food and money!!

Which just goes to show that the takeaway staff member was negligent because scams like that could happen.

It is NOT normal for someone to place an order, walk away, some other guy coming up out of nowhere and saying "That's mine, thank you" and the guy at the counter believing them. The counter guy was negligent.

But they didn't count on the cashier's past experience as a member of the KGB ......... he had spotters watching the whole scenario play out and was ready for these "amateurs"! ;)

Here's how I see the events. A tipsy customer orders food in a takeaway, the food is readied and handed to the customer. The customer hands over the money and while the merchant is counting the change and in the process of handing it to the customer, the customer's phone rings. Instead of pocketing the change and lifting the food before taking the call, the customer turns his back on the merchant and walks out the door to take the call. The merchant thinking this very rude decides 'f^^& you' and leaves the change beside the food on the counter. Meanwhile, a group of enterprising young males spotted this and decide to take advantage of the situation. The merchant goes along with it as he gives jack sh|t about the customer who rudely turned his back on him. Customer finishes his call and cries foul because his food and change are now in the hands of the now delighted miscreants. Did I miss anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,521 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

Here's how I see the events. A tipsy customer orders food in a takeaway, the food is readied and handed to the customer. The customer hands over the money and while the merchant is counting the change and in the process of handing it to the customer, the customer's phone rings. Instead of pocketing the change and lifting the food before taking the call, the customer turns his back on the merchant and walks out the door to take the call. The merchant thinking this very rude decides 'f^^& you' and leaves the change beside the food on the counter. Meanwhile, a group of enterprising young males spotted this and decide to take advantage of the situation. The merchant goes along with it as he gives jack sh|t about the customer who rudely turned his back on him. Customer finishes his call and cries foul because his food and change are now in the hands of the now delighted miscreants. Did I miss anything?

Yeah, the truth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,588 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Yeah, the truth.

Right.. So the counter guy's fault!

Why would you assume that the customer was tipsy at 4pm in the afternoon?

And when the OP said he wasn't. And also posted up the actual sequence of events.

No, the customer never gets nor even sees the food. He leaves while it's still cooking.

The food was nearly ready when my friend's phone rang. The guy at the counter told him how long it would take. He gave the money when his phone rang. He presumably wanted privacy like any normal person would when talking on the phone.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 91 ✭✭stefan.kuntz

Makes more sense than the OP. Case closed.

And when the OP said he wasn't. And also posted up the actual sequence of events.

OP wasn't there!

Nor were you. Interestingly for the purposes of discussion we assume the OP is largely correct and don't just fabricate fantasy sequences of events.

No, the customer never gets nor even sees the food. He leaves while it's still cooking.

The food was nearly ready when my friend's phone rang. The guy at the counter told him how long it would take. He gave the money when his phone rang. He presumably wanted privacy like any normal person would when talking on the phone.

Wait, he couldn't say 'hang on a second' to the caller and wait for his change?

OP wasn't there!

But his friend was and his friend told him what happened which must be a more reliable version than something you just made up, surely?

Or, if we can all just make up our own version of the story, I'd say that there never was any food or change prepared, the counter lad saw an opportunity to pocket 50 euros for himself and took it ......... oh wait, that's just me making sh1t up, isn't it! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

we all knew that from Post One so the "point being made" is a mute one.

Moot not mute, the point doesnt have a disability preventing it from speaking :p:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

I gott agree with some of the other posters. It sounds very odd that they would take the money and not give over the change til the order was ready. I've never seen it done that way anywhere. It sounds like the ops friend handed over the cash as the cashier was totting up the bill and walked off to take a call instead of waiting for his change so the cashier placed it on the counter for him. How long was he expected to hang on to the change for? Until the customer decided he was finished his call? Surely he had other people to serve.

Anyway, as I've said before, it seems a pointless argument. The injured party for the purpose of the crime is the ops friend either way. And I can't see a civil case happening for €50.

esforum wrote: »
    Moot not mute, the point doesnt have a disability preventing it from speaking :p:p

That's the best you can do? I'll turn off my predictive text now and you can accept you've lost the argument ......... deal? :p :P