Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do Females Watch Porn

• 25-02-2016 2:15am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭colossus-x

Okay, I'm male and homosexual.

But I've always been curious about one thing. Is it only men who are dirty bastards. Is it something about our male make-up that has us having a 'one track mind'.

I'm extremely curious not only about straight males but about straight females.

Do women lust after the male form. If they do , then do they buy porn mags of muscular studs? If not , why not ?

Are women less superficial than men ? And I mean superficial in the physical sense. Does a woman look at a big chested muscular guy and completely disregarded his physical form and just look to see if he's a nice guy.

And I have to ask, do heterosexual women masturbate? Do they masturbate over pics or videos of men.

If they don't that's fine. But why not? Why do men do it and woman don't ( if that's the case).

I have this sneaking suspicion that women are just the same sexual animals as men are in their thoughts but they keep it to themselves to show that they are somehow superior in some sense.

I could be totally wrong, but it does amuse me to think about women who wear sexy boots down the high street walking in threesomes looking sexy. I'd go for some of them myself If I was straight.

They might see it on a screen while they're recording it I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Canadel

Asking if females watch porn is like asking if humans watch porn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭brandnewaward

my current squeeze described herself on tinder as carefully written fact checked essay on the streets , unmoderated comments between the sheets. she suggested last week we watch some , for a little inspiration , pretty sure she had the site open when she opened the laptop

Canadel wrote: »
    Asking if females watch porn is like asking if humans watch porn.

That's pushing it a bit now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

OP - You do realize that "women" is not just one person, right?

There are (approx) 2.9 billion of them on the planet. Are you planning on asking each and every one of them?

Or do you think that every single "women" is identical in thought, word and deed? From your post, you seem to. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Ice Maiden

Yes, women watch porn and masturbate. Crikey, why do you think this may not be the case?! :D

I don't watch porn myself but I do enjoy sex scenes in mainstream films and TV, the more softcore stuff... and I also like the written "erotica" (or whatever it's called) but plenty of other women watch porn.

And we do indeed check out men we find physically attractive too.

I think perhaps the way women and men express their desires can be different (generally speaking) or they are manifested differently (e.g. women at a male strip show tend to be there for the laugh, whereas men generally get very turned on by female strippers) but we are mostly all sexual beings so of course we are interested in the sexy stuff. :)

I don't think women hide anything to look superior, it's just different (broadly speaking) for us - not a conscious thing. I wouldn't buy magazines/view websites of muscly men - I don't think there is much of a market for same among women, but this still doesn't change that we have libido.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭8 Bit Girl

Some do, some dont.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭colossus-x

ProudDUB wrote: »
    OP - You do realize that "women" is not just one person, right?

There are (approx) 2.9 billion of them on the planet. Are you planning on asking each and every one of them?

Or do you think that every single "women" is identical in thought, word and deed? From your post, you seem to. :rolleyes:

Yeah, but do women watch porn , is the question , in the same way men do?

Edit: Of course everyone is different. I'm not that ignorant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I know you are gay OP but you are not that clueless about women surely. Of course women watch porn and masturbate. Of course women can be superficial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,879 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

My girlfriend watches porn and she definitely masturbates. I don't think it's unusual. There's a myth out there that only men are the porn-crazed sex lunatics: that's not the case, no way. Sure, look at the amount of female orientated porn that exists.

I do think a lot of men still have a naive attitude when it comes to this - The idea of the fairer sex firing up the laptop and flicking the bean.

Don't fear the future lads: Just embrace today.

eviltwin wrote: »
    I know you are gay OP but you are not that clueless about women surely. Of course women watch porn and masturbate. Of course women can be superficial.

How do you know that? Did we have an encounter?

But do you not think in public discourse men are being made out to be sexual deviants and woman are made out to be angles of the earth?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭Tipperary Fairy

:D I am fairly angular!

colossus-x wrote: »
    But do you not think in public discourse men are being made out to be sexual deviants and woman are made out to be angles of the earth?
    Not anything as blatant/extreme as that, but there is an element of it. It stems from traditional notions I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I know for an absolute fact that women watch porn on their own and purely for their own pleasure, just like guys. I know this because on more than one occasion I've used the laptops or phones of female friends who aren't nearly as careful as you might expect when it comes to clearing auto-complete entries in internet history. You'd be amazed at the kind of thing that can pop up just from typing in the beginnings of common URLs... For instance, I got as far as "face" in "facebook" before discovering hundreds of history hits for one friend's particular kink ;)

Absolutely, yet another example of misandry which the feminist lobby claims is something which doesn't exist. I reckon that'll change in a generation or two - this generation was raised with porn and sexuality as a very open and normal thing, and with any luck we'll pass that on and all the repressive bullsh!t around it will disappear, along with it discrepancies such as you describe and double standards with regard to promiscuity as well. Hopefully.

I'm really looking forward to an answer like: "Yeah I'm a woman and I watch male pornography all the time, I love watching all those male studs stroking their C****, and I'm hoping to meet a man who looks just like him".

Anyway don't get me wrong people, this was a genuine question about whether women get off on watching male porn. It wasn't meant as a dig at feminists and I wouldn't what this thread to descend into that argument.

Ice Maiden wrote: »
    Not anything as blatant/extreme as that, but there is an element of it. It stems from traditional notions I suppose.
    Sexual repression. It's very popular in Ireland, probably even more popular than porn.
    For instance, I got as far as "face" in "facebook" before discovering hundreds of history hits for one friend's particular kink ;)
    mash?

Canadel wrote: »
    Sexual repression. It's very popular in Ireland, probably even more popular than porn.
    I don't think it is anymore. It's more taboo today to be non sexual than sexual. And I think what I described is more about perceived gender roles/tendencies than sexual repression (although I know the two can be related).

I'd bet there are more sex toys marketed to women than to men. I don't get these claims about us being deemed angels and deliberately hiding our sexual desires.

What about women in porn, call-girls, strippers?

Y'all need to get your minds out of the 50s and into the 2010s! ;)

I don't think it is anymore. It's more taboo today to be non sexual than sexual. And I think what I described is more about perceived gender roles/tendencies than sexual repression (although I know the two can be related).
    Among the young generation and on social media yeah it's not an issue. But the established media and a lot of society is still quite a bit behind. The two are related.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,879 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Absolutely, yet another example of misandry which the feminist lobby claims is something which doesn't exist. I reckon that'll change in a generation or two - this generation was raised with porn and sexuality as a very open and normal thing, and with any luck we'll pass that on and all the repressive bullsh!t around it will disappear, along with it discrepancies such as you describe and double standards with regard to promiscuity as well. Hopefully.

I don't think misandry is to blame for this. How many jiggling boobies have you seen on magazine covers, or in countless movies - They're everywhere sure! Seen many pictures of throbbing errect cocks? When the ratio is 60-40 in favour of mickeys, I then might say... Yes, we do live in a misandric society.

I think it's got more to do with men being conditioned by society into being uncomfortable thinking about female sexuality. The ability to want and to get sex is still seen by society as a key-part of male identity.

I work with a lot of guys in their early twenties and they have a great old time "bantering" each other about their porno habits. But if you ever throw them a curve-ball, about womens porn watching habits they'll get weirdly uncomfortable about it.

I'd bet there are more sex toys marketed to women than to men. I don't get these claims about us being deemed angels and deliberately hiding our sexual desires.

What about women in porn, call-girls, strippers?

Y'all need to get your minds out of the 50s and into the 2010s! ;)

Ah, but this is why I declared my homosexuality in the OP. I have been to gay sex stores where they have dildos bigger than the Eiffel tower.

I have never seen a sex store dedicated to hetro women? Why is that ? And I am genuinely curious about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Ah, but this is why I declared my homosexuality in the OP. I have been to gay sex stores where they have dildos bigger than the Eiffel tower.

I have never seen a sex store dedicated to hetro women? Why is that ? And I am genuinely curious about this.

We don't need them. No vibrator will ever do a better job than my hand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭Lisacatlover

Ann Summers is primarily marketed towards women, ditto BlueBella. There are also lots and lots of online sex stores who's main customer base is women. Almost all (non-gay male focused) sex stores also sell products marketed towards women.

I accept I should have said Women instead of Female in the title of the thread. Maybe the mod would change that for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭nervous_twitch

While it seems 'of the now' to state otherwise, women do not consume pornography in the same way men do. Male and female sexuality are two very different things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭Tipperary Fairy

eviltwin wrote: »
    We don't need them. No vibrator will ever do a better job than my hand.

You've not tried one so?

Less of the 'we' business

While it seems 'of the now' to state otherwise, women do not consume pornography in the same way men do. Male and female sexuality are two very different things.

Well what exactly does that mean? Do explain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭nervous_twitch

Well what exactly does that mean? Do explain.

Some women watch pornography, certainly, and enjoy it as much as men do. The majority, though, don't. It's not that women are any less sexual than men - the stimuli are just different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭HughWotMVIII

Most women read their porn which is why romance and erotica are consistently on the best-selling lists. Of course some women watch porn but I'd wager that the majority of us prefer the sexy studs in between the pages of a book where we can imagine we are the women with whom they are madly in love.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

Yup I watch porn, probably 3-4 times a week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

no,they dont fart,poop or masturbate either...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭Kev W

no,they dont fart,poop or masturbate either...

Certainly not all at once, think of the mess.

No wait, don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Kev W wrote: »
    Certainly not all at once, think of the mess.

No wait, don't.

There are clips of that online if are into that type of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

Yes they do.

I know this because I am a woman and therefore qualified to answer this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

I'm really looking forward to an answer like: "Yeah I'm a woman and I watch male pornography all the time, I love watching all those male studs stroking their C****, and I'm hoping to meet a man who looks just like him".

I took this screenshot yesterday, I didn't think I'd have a chance to use it. I actually snorted laughing when I read it. NSFW

http://m.imgur.com/HxtizNV

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,210 ✭✭✭Calypso27

Well I can't speak for all women but I imagine that plenty of women watch porn, myself included.

Society has changed a lot but even so, I'm in my late twenties and I remember being in my teens and early twenties and having discussions with other girls about masturbating and some were horrified by the idea, though maybe they were just too embarrassed to say otherwise.

I absolutely check men out if I find them physically attractive. Women can be as sexually deviant as men are portrayed to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

To quote David Brent

"Women are as filthy as men! Women. Are. Dirty."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

Interestingly enough my wife doesn't like MW p0rn, she likes WW stuff ... which is grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Isn't there porn made by women for women? Remember a thread on that a few years ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Females? Dogs? Cats? People? What?

Why couldn't you just say women in the thread title?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

Isn't there porn made by women for women? Remember a thread on that a few years ago

There is actually, but I was talking about lesbian stuff ... There is some really high quality stuff out there, nubile films comes to mind, maybe I can't mention that here so apologies in advance .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭ejabrod

I really don't think there is a question around if women watch porn.... more like what kind of porn they watch/like ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

There is, it's **** and all romantic. Not all women want that type of stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,210 ✭✭✭Calypso27

Tilly wrote: »
    There is, it's **** and all romantic. Not all women want that type of stuff.

Yeah, fair enough if some women like more romantic stuff but it wouldn't be for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭Lisacatlover

There is actually, but I was talking about lesbian stuff ... There is some really high quality stuff out there, nubile films comes to mind, maybe I can't mention that here so apologies in advance .

You can mention everything under the sun, you just can't link to it. That's the rule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,779 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Absolutamente, women watch porn and of course they masturbate.

Its impossible of course to make a sweeping generalisation about all the women in the whole world: but I do think the trend is for a different style so to speak...possibly less focussed on physical appearance, for one thing:

-- women often watch faces, while men are watching torsos. See a recent thread right here about willy-pix.

In fact, a face tells you a good deal more about a person than any old snapshot of a willy!

You see, everyone - everyone - has a different little something that turns them on: this might be uniforms, rubber, tits or arses, legs or high heels, lads with ponytails, spanking or handcuffs, or just plain old vanilla bonking. All depends. Many women that I know of like to have their fantasies fed by the relational aspects of an encounter, not merely viewing one body part entering another. If you catch my drift!

-- So we look for something that gets us into that happy place. Reading...movies...can be commercial porn too. Or just good old fingers and imagination!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Females? Dogs? Cats? People? What?

Why couldn't you just say women in the thread title?

Humans, I'd imagine. Women and girls. Is it really not a given from the context?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

katemarch wrote: »
    You see, everyone - everyone - has a different little something that turns them on: this might be uniforms, rubber, tits or arses, legs or high heels, lads with ponytails, spanking or handcuffs, or just plain old vanilla bonking. All depends. Many women that I know of like to have their fantasies fed by the relational aspects of an encounter, not merely viewing one body part entering another. If you catch my drift!

When I read that first I didn't see the comma and read it as 'rubber tits' :pac:

I was like, "WTF kinda fetish is that??" :eek:

Also, I'd like to see your porn collection, PM incoming.... :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

I lived with a girl who stole(borrowed without asking) my old porn mags.