Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 2). **Read warning in 1st post**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Gamebred wrote: »
    Jesus christ p4p worst video ive ever seen I couldnt stomach more than 30 seconds.

Currently the most upvoted video on /r/mma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Well I got a laugh out of it, even if it is pretty terrible. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

Just a tiny correction here - Nate got $2 million disclosed for 202 (not 1m). It was Conor $3m and Nate $2m (so even better!). Both got PPV points.

Being a champion isn't necessary for PPV points - it only guarantees it under the Champions contract. Managers are free to negotiate PPV points with the UFC for non-title fights and Chad Mendes, CM Punk and Nate Diaz are examples of fighters who successfully got PPV points without belts. That's why Conor says he makes people millionaires - it's borderline impossible to sign to fight Conor and not get paid over $2 million total including PPV.

I stand corrected so. I didn't think you could negotiate on a fight by fight basis on the fly. I just assumed if you signed say 5 fight deal and Conor was fight 3 of 5 that your pay would have already been set out in advance depending prior results.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

kwestfan08 wrote: »
    I stand corrected so. I didn't think you could negotiate on a fight by fight basis on the fly. I just assumed if you signed say 5 fight deal and Conor was fight 3 of 5 that your pay would have already been set out in advance depending prior results.

There's an over-arching contract (Like a 5-fight deal) and then there's a Bout Agreement (the specific contract that ties you to a specific fight).

The purse amounts and PPV structure can change fight to fight.

Basically in plain English the "red panty night" thing is real for everyone who fights Conor. They all get PPV points and a huge purse. Eddie (according to Conor) signed the bout agreement on his previous contract terms. So that's $500,000 disclosed purse and $1 PPV points for 1st defence. So he will clear $2.5 million before tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

Thats if they sell 2m ppvs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

ardinn wrote: »

Very good chance they will.....

ardinn wrote: »

My prediction is they will smash through that ceiling and do roughly 2.25 million buys.

It's a bold prediction but it's within the realms of possibility. Google analytics usually have a strong correlation with PPV buys and searches relating to 205 are far higher than they were for 200 and 202 with 8 days to go.

Conor said in the conference call they have broken the Lewis-Holyfield gate record for MSG and attendance record as well.

I really believe it'll surge past 2 million buys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭mrkiscool2

My prediction is they will smash through that ceiling and do roughly 2.25 million buys.

It's a bold prediction but it's within the realms of possibility. Google analytics usually have a strong correlation with PPV buys and searches relating to 205 are far higher than they were for 200 and 202 with 8 days to go.

Conor said in the conference call they have broken the Lewis-Holyfield gate record for MSG and attendance record as well.

I really believe it'll surge past 2 million buys.
    I don't think it will be that massive. I think it can reach 2 mil buys, but I don't think it will go much above that. It will be the most bought PPV in UFC history but that is about it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭MichaelScarn

Where does Conor go from here if he loses? 2 high profile loses in the calendar year would be a big hit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Where does Conor go from here if he loses? 2 high profile loses in the calendar year would be a big hit.

Yeah career over alright ffs :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭gallag

Bit defensive there lol, being beaten two of his last three would not be ideal.

He'd go home to Straffan, have a cup of coffee, play with Hugo, catch up on Narcos episodes, get a whopping big Xmas tree for the sitting room and have his family over to destroy a turkey.

Going 2-2 with Aldo, Diaz and Alvarez in the space of 11 months hardly warrants sitting down to some Radiohead with a bottle of pills.

He'll be grand.

Anyway he's gonna be going home with 2 belts :)

Jaysus, that's an overreaction.

listening to the conference call there and having the facts about frankie given so many shots, so many minutes, so many rounds to do what conor did in 13 seconds, the best comeback eddie has is.....its thirteen not turnteen..remember that when you come to america..you could tell it sickened him, facts are facts..

ha ha ha NUMEROOOW EWNNNOOOO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭mrkiscool2

He does what he was planning to do with his announcement. It's going to be a great fight, I don't think Alaverz's chin will hold up against Conor's left hand and I think JK and co will have the game plan to deal with him. As another poster said, going 2-2 in his last 4 fights against 3 great fighters is not something that will affect Conor, he has been brave enough to leave his comfort zone.

is it just me or does he look very big in the first two minutes here, pre fight . If he fought like this he'd have it wrapped up in 30 seconds.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=juLb354l85U

His best reply was when Eddie claimed Conor was ducking Frankie. "He had 50 minutes to do what i did in 13 seconds and he couldn't do it. He's not good enough".

I don't know where they get this narrative from. Perplexing. Conor went from Mendes to Aldo to RDA. That's up a level every time. When RDA pulled out he picked the best of the bunch PPV wise to step in on short notice. That detour earned him a fortune and improved his training routines.

rusty cole wrote: »
    is it just me or does he look very big in the first two minutes here, pre fight . If he fought like this he'd have it wrapped up in 30 seconds.

When i went into the gym to get my book signed last week i had my arm around Conor for the photo i was discussing in my essay - he looked super healthy, shredded and in great form. I would guess he was weighing in the late 11 stone something region but that's a pure guess. I'm same height as him etc just hard to guess a weight because he's all muscle and i'm a fat guy hiding in Mr Burns body.

He'd go home to Straffan, have a cup of coffee, play with Hugo, catch up on Narcos episodes, get a whopping big Xmas tree for the sitting room and have his family over to destroy a turkey.

Going 2-2 with Aldo, Diaz and Alvarez in the space of 11 months hardly warrants sitting down to some Radiohead with a bottle of pills.

He'll be grand.

Anyway he's gonna be going home with 2 belts :)

Again I wasn't suggesting that and I wasn't suggesting his career was over as Gamerbred facetiously said.

I think it is clear as day that McGregor does not want to fight at featherweight again. He has his millions so why bother with the weight cut?

I just wanted to hear people's thoughts on what happens if he loses.

Anyway never mind it doesn't matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭CurryFlavoured

Back to featherweight. If he loses again the aura will lower that bit more (depends how he loses), but he's still a champ and a super exciting fighter.

I think it is clear as day that McGregor does not want to fight at featherweight again. He has his millions so why bother with the weight cut?

None of us know for sure what he wants to do and maybe, at times, Conor doesn't know himself.

If you want my best guess:

If he wins he'll go after the Welterweight strap before the end of 2017. He wants to leave a legacy in MMA and go down as a legend of the game. In many ways he's already a legend for his record-breaking numbers. I can definitely see him wanting to be the first man, and likely ONLY man, to ever hold belts in 3 divisions of the UFC.

Whether he can achieve it is anyones guess but i certainly don't see him shying away from challenging Wonderboy or Woodley, regardless of how badly people think it would go for him.

If he loses to Eddie:

Take some time off, recharge the batteries mentally. Swap the titles with Aldo. Give Aldo the "real" belt, take the "fake" belt while on a break and come back next summer for a title fight at 145. The 'fake' belt is just there for promotional purposes really.

Or just switch focus and look to co-promote the Mayweather fight with the UFC.

The most important thing is not whether he wins or loses. In my opinion, losses don't mean too much in MMA. It's the manner of the defeat and how you respond to it that matters.

If he loses an absolute war to Eddie, his stock will go UP not down. He'll have yet again shown his heart and delivered a fight-for-the-ages. Whereas if he goes in and falls with the first overhand Eddie connects with, it'll 100% damage his standing in the game and his legacy.

I honestly don't see that happening, i think it'll be a victory and onwards to 2017 to fight Nate/Cowboy and eventually for the 170 strap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭newbbieb

Again I wasn't suggesting that and I wasn't suggesting his career was over as Gamerbred facetiously said.

I hear this online everywhere all the time about the fact he is done at FW can't make the cut,cut is too much etc etc,but never from Conors mouth i don't see why he is done at FW or why it is so clear he doesn't wanna fight there again.

He never missed weight once,Oliviera missed weight today by 9 pounds,Conor had maybe 2 weight cuts where he looked terrible,though never missed weight.

He was 167 fight night versus Nate and he will pretty much be late 60s for this fight too,based on that FW is definitely in his range,he could easily have been overloaded on media work and didn't make the cuts correctly and had to force it,with the right preparation 45 is still in his range.

It also speaks to his professionalism that he made the 145 championship weight in a non-title fight to show how serious he was about it. Could easily have been forgiven for not bothering cutting that last pound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭TimRiggins

It also speaks to his professionalism that he made the 145 championship weight in a non-title fight to show how serious he was about it. Could easily have been forgiven for not bothering cutting that last pound.

He made it for that line at the weigh in, and it was brilliant. That Siver fight on FS1 after the Conference finals in the NFL did alot for his stardom in the US.

Latest Instagram post:

(pictured with Dillon)

"it's so fresh out here i'm going to break Edwards nose and cheekbone" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

rusty cole wrote: »

anyone think we'll ever see buchinger in the ufc? hasnt he gone undefeated since the conor loss?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,764 ✭✭✭ASOT

Depp wrote: »
    anyone think we'll ever see buchinger in the ufc? hasnt he gone undefeated since the conor loss?

Yep and also Has a win over stevie ray aswell in that run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭TimRiggins

Depp wrote: »

Think he's getting bigish money at M1. He's the face of the promotion too. One fighter that actually has done well since his McGregor fight, albeit it on a much smaller level.

Apparently Buchinger earns more in his current contract than he would with the UFC.

Although I got this from a mma forum so pinch of salt. He is also 30, so if he were to make the move it should be quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Apparently Buchinger earns more in his current contract than he would with the UFC.

Although I got this from a mma forum so pinch of salt. He is also 30, so if he were to make the move it should be quickly.

He'd make less initially with the opportunity to make more. It's actually the same in lots of promotions. Guys will earn more being the big fish in the little pond.

He's something like 10-0 since losing to McGregor, albeit he moved down to FW. I think his main reason for not jumping ship is because he doesn't have great English and that is key to promoting yourself there. Fair play to him though, he's made a good living from it.