Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Ray Darcy Show February 20th 2016 9.55pm

• 20-02-2016 1:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭

Hello peeps! Ray Darcy is back with his usual mix of misery and self indulgence.

He gets a week off next week because of the Election (He's probably leaving the country, like he promised last time. But he'll be coming back)

It's a "quite decent line up in fairness but it'll probably all go pear shaped as usual" sort of week, IMO. Let's have a look ...

Reeva Steenkamp's Mother June talks about the tragic loss of her Daughter who was killed by her Partner Oscar Pistorius on St. Valentine's Day 2013, and the foundation she has launched in Reeva's memory.

Aidan Quinn is in town for the Dublin Film Festival. He will talk about it being 20 years since the Michael Collins was released. Where does the time go, musha? He's in Elementary on TV now among other things.

Director Lenny Abrahamson and Producer Ed Guiney drop in to talk about their Oscar hopes for Room next week. It's an honour just to be nominated. But wouldn't it be amazing to win! Fingers crossed for them. Their earlier film Garage is on RTE2 at 9.30pm

Ken Doherty Former World Snooker Champ, Radio Personality and all round nice guy talks about something or other. Possibly Snooker Related. Or maybe Poker, he does that too.

Emma Hannigan Popular Bestselling Author ... who has beaten Cancer Nine times. Guess what she will be asked about? At least she's well at the moment.

So there you are, maybe there'll be some music too. Perhaps Ray might reprise this performance with Jenny and Mairéad on backing vocals?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,699 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

How did you feel when you heard she died... yeah? Right... sigh... do you think he did it?
    Do you realise how much damage the bullets did? Right yeah right. Ok we have a free hamper for everyone in the audience..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

No, apparently it won't be Ray doing Lip Sync tonight (and I really shouldn't be giving him ideas like that) - Dublin Acoustic Indie Urban Singer 'Sample Answer' will be doing a turn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭Final Approach

How is it that after such a horrendous interview with Dean Stang a few weeks ago, which was very publicly critisised, and which was nothing short of a national embarrassment, could RTE possibly ignore such criticism, not see for themselves how shockingly bad it truly was, and how deplorable Ray Darcys interviewing skills are, and still go ahead and invite an even MORE sensitive interviewee to unknowingly take a seat on Ray Darcys show?

I already feel sorry for June Steenkamp, and embarrassed of the impression she will no doubt have of her interview on 'an Irish TV chat show'.

I feel that is highly insensitive by RTE to have her interviewed by Darcy, them knowing how terrible he clearly is at dealing with topics such as this. Not a huge fan of Ryan Tubridy, but just like the interview with Dean Stang, it is a big mistake to allow Ray instead of Ryan interview June Steenkamp, and how this doesn't occur to RTE at any stage to any degree is just simply mindbogling.

Rant over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭PeterTheEighth

The Ray D'Arcy Show starts tonight at 9.55pm. Or if you want something a bit more uplifting, Garage (a movie about a mentally challenged yet optimistic man, who is charge with sexual abuse, and then kills himself) is on RTE TWO at 9.30pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,283 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

giphy.gif

tumblr_nbbkdlmGQ01siilpjo1_500.gif

Skid X wrote: »
    Acoustic Indie Urban Singer

Four words to make you shudder :D

Things that make you go :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Garage (a movie about a mentally challenged yet optimistic man, who is charge with sexual abuse, and then kills himself) is on RTE TWO at 9.30pm

Garage was dire. So was What Richard Did. I wonder what Room is like. One of my friends says it's boring. Wouldn't surprise me....

There's a boardsie I know of who was in 'Michael Collins' - when will Ray interview him and/or his lookylikey ;):)

Aidan is still going on about Michael, I think he wants to do a prequel.

They were great days but Liam has moved on, Julia's moved on, I've moved on, - time to move on Aidan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

They were great days but Liam has moved on, Julia's moved on, I've moved on, - time to move on Aidan.

Everyone has moved on apart from Jason McAteer "I remember in the hotel at the time of Italia 90 when Aldo left the dump under me bed". Yawn. Heard it all before Jason

How is it that after such a horrendous interview with Dean Stang a few weeks ago, which was very publicly critisised, and which was nothing short of a national embarrassment, could RTE possibly ignore such criticism, not see for themselves how shockingly bad it truly was, and how deplorable Ray Darcys interviewing skills are, and still go ahead and invite an even MORE sensitive interviewee to unknowingly take a seat on Ray Darcys show?

I already feel sorry for June Steenkamp, and embarrassed of the impression she will no doubt have of her interview on 'an Irish TV chat show'.

I feel that is highly insensitive by RTE to have her interviewed by Darcy, them knowing how terrible he clearly is at dealing with topics such as this. Not a huge fan of Ryan Tubridy, but just like the interview with Dean Stang, it is a big mistake to allow Ray instead of Ryan interview June Steenkamp, and how this doesn't occur to RTE at any stage to any degree is just simply mindbogling.

Rant over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭DareGod

Rant over.

My thoughts exactly, when I heard that she was going to be on. This is going to be a disaster and RTE are taking a completely unnecessary and potentially very upsetting risk by letting Ray subject this poor woman to his horrendous inability to hold even a normal conversation never mind one as difficult and as sensitive as this. It's going to be car crash tv and he's really opening himself up to a world of criticism tonight. It may be the final nail in the coffin for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,518 ✭✭✭tinpib

That's a very good line up TBF.

I fully expect the interview with Reeva Steenkamp's mam to be utterly toe curlingly horrificly awkward.

Looking forward to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Excellent line up alright. Even though we have the depressing corner with June Steenkamp which I will watch with embarrassment behind my fingers.

Lenny Abrahamson and Ken Doherty are easy to interview, so it will be interesting to see if Ray makes a balls up out of them.
    Ally Dick wrote: »
    Garage was dire. So was What Richard Did. I wonder what Room is like. One of my friends says it's boring. Wouldn't surprise me....

Looks like a poll is needed. I thought Garage was excellent, a bit depressing but brilliantly done IMO.

Any odd illnesses with him recently ? Personal loss ? Anything depressing at all ?

Maybe "Michael Collins II - The Enda Years". A sort of tragic comedy with Jorry Adams as a Darth Vader/Macbeth type of character.

Ally Dick wrote: »

Funny you should mention that Ally. I just got a copy of Room... eh.. from Xtravision. I have to watch it at some stage. Doesnt sound great, I only downloaded it cos the ma wants to see it.

I thought Garage was good though.

That's some amount of cheering, he must have told them Jack Nicholson was coming out again did he.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭sudzs

He's dressed like an undertaker!

Come on Ray.. "But there's no black people there is there?"

Is that Shirley Eaton in the middle? :pac:

I auditioned for Ed once. Didn't get the part.

Just one of my many failed auditions/interviews anecdotes there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Ray didn't know The Weeknd.

I will be 40 soon, I stay young, I know these things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

These two look like the intellectual equivalent of Jedward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Ray's crap interviewing style "eh and who's that......eh"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,830 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

This is terrible the music the audience even sound bored and the clapping forced. Jeez Ray is so boring. The sooner RTE get rid of him and get Brenden O Conner back the better.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

"the weekend... that's a very silly name".

A howler already, I've a feeling it's going to be a long night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,181 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

I wonder will Ray say he promise if Enda becomes Toiseach

Jaysus it's like a meeting of the chess club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Michael Weston

DJ on the national radio station and hasn't a breeze who the weekend is . He only had one of the biggest singles of last year Ray but how would that be relevant to your job

"the weekend... that's a very silly name".

A howler already, I've a feeling it's going to be a long night.

Darcy can get arsey about things.

sudzs wrote: »
    He's dressed like an undertaker!

He is, but it's the closest he'll ever get to being one as he doesn't even have the personality to be an undertaker if you ask me!

I would love it if Sylvester Stallone wins the Oscar for playing Rocky in Creed.

You could poke lots of holes in his performance, but there was something about it that I enjoyed a lot.

Ray has a nine year old???

He kept that quiet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭sudzs

You have a 9 year old Ray??? What's his name?!! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

AMKC wrote: »
    This is terrible the music the audience even sound bored and the clapping forced. Jeez Ray is so boring. The sooner RTE get rid of him and get Brenden O Conner back the better.

Won't happen till 2018 at the earliest. Jenny got Ray has a 3 year contract for this in his back pocket.

Kids get a mention just over 4 minutes in. Ray's losing it, noormally they get a mention in the first 180 seconds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭swine

Reference to his children and running all before 10PM. 2 to tick off the bingo card.

How does Ray manage to sound so uninterested in what other people say? Right. Ok.

Ray has a child?!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

abrahamson has come across as an arrogant so and so in a lot of interviews I've seen so far , will he continue in the same vein tonight ?

I would love it if Sylvester Stallone wins the Oscar for playing Rocky in Creed.

You could poke lots of holes in his performance, but there was something about it that I enjoyed a lot.

I thought he was great in it! Best he's been for a long long lonnnnnnng time.

DJ on the national radio station and hasn't a breeze who the weekend is . He only had one of the biggest singles of last year Ray but how would that be relevant to your job

Love ' Can't feel my face'.

Maybe The Weeknd were in Ireland and listened to Ray and felt numb after it.

"Are you small or is she tall".

says the giant himself.

Britain's own Saoirse Ronan looking good for an Oscar.

*dives for cover*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Vorenus400

Really hope Stallone wins. Loved that film, was a great continuation from Rocky Balboa. Michael B. Jordan should have been nominated as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭caviardreams

.....and there's the height reference #fullhouse

*dives for cover*

Didn't the Irish film win best British film at the BAFTAS?

*dives for cover*

No bother. I've heard one or two media people claiming that an Oscar win for Brie Larson will be classed as an Irish win ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Vorenus400

Oops69 wrote: »
    abrahamson has come across as an arrogant so and so in a lot of interviews I've seen so far , will he continue in the same vein tonight ?

I really cant imagine a down to earth director. They have to pretend or know they know best for better or worse

If I was going to the Oscars I would want an Armani suit made from Alpacas.

"Quick Fire Questions - Smash Hits Style"

Eh, feck off Ray.

Smash Hits asked genuinely clever offbeat questions which got the interviewees to inadvertently reveal more of themselves than they had intended.

Miles ahead of your level :mad:

I hope Ray's career goes down the dumper soon.