Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gangland Shootings in Dublin MOD Warning in Post #1 (updated 29/05/16)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

spotlight bbc 1 tomorrow night

Special report on the Kinehan gang and how big their operation has become

I went looking for this and could only find bbc2 on Wednesday? Am I missing something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,593 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Tilly wrote: »
    I went looking for this and could only find bbc2 on Wednesday? Am I missing something?
    It's listed on the BBC1 non-HD channel for 10.45pm tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

Old Bill wrote: »
    They should send out the gardas and the army to take these scumbags out.

Ah yes, like in mexico, that's working out great , War on drugs is a long lost war.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Old Bill wrote: »
    The Gardas know who all the Gangsters and the Dissident Republicans are but they can't touch them because the law is on the side of the Scumbags.

The drug problem could be easily solved if they sent out a few hundred armed Gardas/Soldiers and took out these scumbags.

But of course then you would have the human rights and civil liabilities brigade up in arms defending the "rights" of these scumbags.

We have become so politically correct in Ireland that we don't what we're doing.

The only way to beat these scumbags is to fight fire with fire.

The dissident republicans can't sneeze without been arrested.

The gard's have them finished down south.

I don't know why they can't put the same effort into the drug gangs.

Something isn't right behind it all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

JustTheOne wrote: »

Maybe the Guards used the drug dealers to finish the dissidents i.e. informants and the like.

The Irish Gardai appear to be "unusual" in the way that they "deal" with Gangsters and even dissident republicans.

Its very rare than any Gardai are found on the "take" !

Have the Gardai come up with the holy Grail against Police Corruption ? !

I doubt it............so.........;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

Have you ever seen an Oglaigh na hEireann march or them handing out leaflets at the GPO etc? You wouldn't exactly mistake them for a Mensa convention. There are of course plenty of thick scummers involved in the drug business but, as has been mentioned several times in the thread, the bosses and decision makers are usually very intelligent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

sabat wrote: »
    Have you ever seen an Oglaigh na hEireann march or them handing out leaflets at the GPO etc? You wouldn't exactly mistake them for a Mensa convention. There are of course plenty of thick scummers involved in the drug business but, as has been mentioned several times in the thread, the bosses and decision makers are usually very intelligent.

Do you really think the members of these organisations do be handing out leaflets at the gpo?

First thing Alan shatter did when he came into office was set about bringing these groups down.

It was done through constant surveillance and huge funding.

The shootings of eamon Kelly and Peter butterly for example.

Within seconds gards caught the perpetrators because they were following them.

Whey have we ever heard of that in a gangland shooting let alone any of the murders ever been solved.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

Do you really think the members of these organisations do be handing out leaflets at the gpo?

First thing Alan shatter did when he came into office was set about bringing these groups down.

It was done through constant surveillance and huge funding.

The shootings of eamon Kelly and Peter butterly for example.

Within seconds gards caught the perpetrators because they were following them.

Whey have we ever heard of that in a gangland shooting let alone any of the murders ever been solved.

Here's a picture of them holding a paramilitary style rally outside the GPO; you can see them there minus scarves and sunglasses any Saturday:

https://rsfnational.files.wordpress.com/2013/08/14.jpg

You really just proved my point talking about those shootings-the drugs gangs are smart enough to realise when they're under surveillance but the terrorists are just a bit thick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭Larsso30

your man on twitter @saorsean has sent out his email :lol:

anyone get it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Rakish Paddy

Larsso30 wrote: »

anyone get it?

Did you get it? Is it worth a read?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭stoplooklisten

ooh pm me if anyone has it

No i wasnt sending a random bloke on twitter my email lads no chance hahah

Especially when you have to say, "hey follow me so they can direct mail"

Hello!! I'm over HERE!!!! :pac:

Especially when you have to say, "hey follow me so they can direct mail"

Hello!! I'm over HERE!!!! :pac:

yup :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

anyone get it?

A friend of mine received it and sent it on to me.
    Its only part 1 of 3 and nothing that wasn't in the Sunday World over the years. Maybe it will get more juicy in parts 2 and 3.

It's all on his twitter page now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Rakish Paddy

Dancor wrote: »
    A friend of mine received it and sent it on to me.
    Its only part 1 of 3 and nothing that wasn't in the Sunday World over the years. Maybe it will get more juicy in parts 2 and 3.

I got my hands on a copy of it myself. It's an interesting enough read, despite being in bad need of editing / proofing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭Coat22

LOL that "article" on twitter is priceless! It reads like it was written by some 16 year old Dutch lad with a penchant for exclamation marks!!

Great read to amuse one during the last hour of the day but not sure any of it ads up.

!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭bajer101

arayess wrote: »
    The affair story is a red herring ..
    Cunningham escaped from jail in 1996 September

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/officers-defend-running-of-open-prison-system-1.88559

and guerin was shot - june 1996

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Veronica_Guerin

the blog was a good read nonetheless

I have my doubts about that Dutch story now. I initially jumped on the Cunningham/Guerin thing as being potentially huge, but as you have pointed out it was impossible due to the dates. A very strange piece of misinformation and a horrible slur on a very fine journalist. I apologise for giving it any credence. There are also a couple of other obvious mistakes in that piece. He says that Gary was Gerry's cousin, when he was his nephew. And he says that Christy K. Snr lives in a mansion in Spain, when it is being reported elsewhere that he has now retired to Dubai.

That article and the twitter feed do contain some correct information which hasn't been reported in the mainstream media, so there is something going on there. Who knows who is feeding what to whom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,396 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

spotlight bbc 1 tomorrow night

Special report on the Kinehan gang and how big their operation has become

Bump, this starts in about 20 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭refusetolose

Bump, this starts in about 20 minutes.

BBC1 NI ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

They have a statement from the Kinehans

And they also own their own container ship for importation

They have a statement from the Kinehans

And they also own their own container ship for importation

I'd say this statement goes along the lines of saying they are honest hard working people!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

bajer101 wrote: »
    I have my doubts about that Dutch story now. I initially jumped on the Cunningham/Guerin thing as being potentially huge, but as you have pointed out it was impossible due to the dates. A very strange piece of misinformation and a horrible slur on a very fine journalist. I apologise for giving it any credence. There are also a couple of other obvious mistakes in that piece. He says that Gary was Gerry's cousin, when he was his nephew. And he says that Christy K. Snr lives in a mansion in Spain, when it is being reported elsewhere that he has now retired to Dubai.

That article and the twitter feed do contain some correct information which hasn't been reported in the mainstream media, so there is something going on there. Who knows who is feeding what to whom.

The rumour back in the day was to do with John Traynor, not Cunningham if my memory is right.

Tilly wrote: »
    I'd say this statement goes along the lines of saying they are honest hard working people!

"It's not our container"

Sure you need your own port if you have your own container ship

This is premier league trafficking

A container SHIP, I missed the ship bit

Sounds like a threat to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,757 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

This is all old hat, for a NI audience who may not be up to speed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick