If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Valentine's Day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,947 ✭✭✭✭Neyite

I cannot stand the idea of set menus, so avoid Valentines Day restaurants like the plague. I worked enough of them too so that fully put me off them if the set menus didnt.

Firstly, the restaurant supervisor tried to shoehorn in a few more tables, to maximise covers, then had two sittings - 7pm and 9pm, set menu. People practically had their food thrown at them and the plate whipped away the second the last forkful went in their mouth and the next course plonked in front of them. Then they were hustled out the door as fast as possible.

Not my idea of going out for dinner. I like gaps between courses, like the meal to be leisurely, and I like to be able to pick from more than 3 options on a menu. I also like a enough distance between our table and surrounding ones that I cant feel them breathing on me.

We do cards. I might get flowers. And I make a really nice dinner for us, open a bottle of wine, light a few candles that sort of thing. Himself is pretty thoughtful with little gestures the rest of the year, so don't need the grand gestures on a particular day.

The one ex that did make a massive fuss on Valentines day turned out to be a serial cheater. He did a massive bouquet of roses, a huge teddy, a watch, a card, a huge box of chocolates, out to dinner, champagne. He threw every possible cliché in there. Didn't change who he really was, or alter the lack of respect he had for relationships though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 17 ardsgave

phi3 wrote: »
    I want to book a meal but I have no idea how much in advance I need to book it.

I feel that on holidays and rituals you get a poor deal from restaurants. Why don't you cook at home and Spice up your Valentine’s, with aphrodisiacs by the rod ;) ?
    Cinnamon stimulates the production of pheromones. Used as a spice, cinnamon produces “heat” within the body and stimulates the sex glands in a gentle manner. The more adventurous rub cinnamon onto the genitals, producing a surprisingly powerful sexual stimulation.

Enjoy the day....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 17 ardsgave

Give him a good massage...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Wouldn't normally bother with it but he's been a fecking legend recently so I might this year. Just a card and a nice home cooked meal and maybe a couple of small presents. Probably do it on the Friday though so I can surprise him. And so we can get good and drunk :D sloppy sex ftw!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Am I the only one who actually likes Valentine's Day?

I know it's essentially the most commercial overhyped bullsh1t day of the year, but lord knows I spent enough of my life ignoring the day because I was single, now I actually quite like being able to spend some quality time with himself and enjoy and celebrate each other just for the hell of it.

My fella is a bit of a softie (though he'll never let his mates know) and usually he'll either book a table for us or cook me something tasty and we'll have some prosecco and maybe curl up on the couch with a movie. Sometimes a card and a little gift, sometimes not.

He's a romantic aul fecker most of the time and it's the kind of thing he'd do any day of the week just because - I guess it's just nice to have an excuse to spend the day/night together and not worry about anything or anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I love Valentine's Day. I'm like hallmark, everyday is a holiday. I'll celebrate anything.

Even when I was single I would give cards to friends and family. I really love cards!

We have both birthdays and Christmas and anniversary and all that soon before Valentine's so we usually just do cards and cook a nice dinner in the house, will do something fun during the day this year as it's Sunday. We do that throughout the year too a lot, but sure may as well make on effort the 14th anyway.

We're very sappy :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭mollybird

im with ye on loving valentines Peach and Becks. we are doing a double date hopefully with our next door neighbours. I got him some funny penguin socks and tickets to see christy moore. always like an effort made for vday. sometimes we may stay at home if it's during the week but this year and last year was out for dinner.

the hubbie kinda moaned about getting cards etc but sure he has been going all out for the first few years we were together why stop now (9 years later) hahaha!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Me and Mr March always do Valentines. Not always a card, mind: last year we went to That Movie and dinner afterwards.
    It's by way of being a significant anniversary for us. ;-)

I'm amused to read so many mentions of steak-and-a-nice-red-wine, though.
    Because, er, have yez all heard of SBJ Day?
    It is exactly one month after Valentines; the theory being that since Hearts and Chocolate Day is for the ladies, the gentlemen deserve a day for their own special brand of lovin' one month later: hence, March the 14th is Steak-n-etcetera day.

(There's more, but I don't know how much is allowed in these polite forums)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

katemarch wrote: »
    Me and Mr March always do Valentines. Not always a card, mind: last year we went to That Movie and dinner afterwards.
    It's by way of being a significant anniversary for us. ;-)

I'm amused to read so many mentions of steak-and-a-nice-red-wine, though.
    Because, er, have yez all heard of SBJ Day?
    It is exactly one month after Valentines; the theory being that since Hearts and Chocolate Day is for the ladies, the gentlemen deserve a day for their own special brand of lovin' one month later: hence, March the 14th is Steak-n-etcetera day.

(There's more, but I don't know how much is allowed in these polite forums)

Oh I've heard of it. I just feel sorry for the guys who only get SBJ one day a year :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Don't mind the blow job, I would much prefer decent steak to some rubbish from Cadbury (most of it isn't edible). If it's chocolate it has to be dark and bitter like me. :D

Anyway it's terrible that, if Valentine's is the day for women, we are not even supposed to get decent food out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

meeeeh wrote: »
    Anyway it's terrible that, if Valentine's is the day for women, we are not even supposed to get decent food out of it.

This steak tastes like card!
    It is a card.
    Oh. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

meeeeh wrote: »

Chocolate is indecent food ;-)