Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork Mechanic

1235»

• Registered Users Posts: 2,735 ✭✭✭Diabhalta

Milly33 wrote: »
    I was kinda on your side Diabhalta but your beginning to sound a bit like a record player...

doesn't matter.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 5,065 Mod ✭✭✭✭kadman

Still no running car,

And like I , and others said all those posts ago, its a fuel issue.

I used the force by the way.

And all we know is the cars peddle is fekked along with part of a floor pan,

same as most beetles out there on the road.

I,m starting to listen to the tune Diabhalta is singing...

Could be the right one:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,638 ✭✭✭Milly33

Well in fairness now it wasnt too hard to figure out it was a fuel problem!!

Speaking of the force just incase ye are fans the trucks are back in Dingle..

There are lots of small probblems with it which can make it a little less than safe to drive so thats the sca

Classic car ownership in all fairness requires a bit more forethought than modern day car ownership,
    and may not be for all.

And without a decent mechanic to call on , in times of trouble, which will be more than modern cars.

Maybe you should consider moving it on.

yeah its not too hard to figure out it was fuel, if you know how things work, obviously your

choice of early intervention mechanics did n,t.

Is it running yet???

Well he was going to work on it all day saturday to see what he could do, so hopefully Monday ill know a bit more..

The ethenol seems to be causing a lot of trouble.. Have any of ye come across it burning the pipes? Seems well dogegy...

If you dont trust your mechanics diagnosis, why would you trust anyone elses views here???

Is this at me Kadman??

Still baffled so I am..This mechanic chap is so relaxed.. Got back onto him yesterday as tis going on a bit now. And asked him in a nice way like can he get her going or not saying look I need to just collect her so, and he all he said was ring him tomorrow..Which I did and no reply..So I am none the wiser as to WTF is happening with my car..

Was going to actually buy another car this weekend tis falling through now tis grand but im like whats the storey

• Registered Users Posts: 20,176 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Milly33 wrote: »
    Well he was going to work on it all day saturday to see what he could do, so hopefully Monday ill know a bit more..

The ethenol seems to be causing a lot of trouble.. Have any of ye come across it burning the pipes? Seems well dogegy...

Ethanol is acidic, and often disagrees with hoses and seals in cars built before it became prevalent in fuel. There are ways of counteracting it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭mb1725

Are you sure these guys don't have your car?:

17803-series-header.jpg

Sounds like Diabhalta's tune ringing in me ears.

Its a joke, thats what it is. I,d be well pissed.

But thats me and I,m a grumpy old ****e

Hello hello well we have an update.. Finally met the elusive man today.. Was a little pied off waiting for him even himself was like right cool down, but the minute i meet him i cannot fault him. A little quirky but a very honest man running a good business..

So down to grit, the car is even driving him mad, he was like right shell sure this will get her going but nope.. She will kick in and die..His baffled with it, but determained not to give up.. I said i would leave it there with him until Monday and well see if she starts if not ill get her towed away as tis taken up space for him...

She has always been a nightmare with problems nothing is ever simple with her.. He said he was working on one a good few years older than her and it was grand....

A decision either way will have to be made, i am going to try and get onto some of the restoration fellas and see how much she will be to fully restore as i am not going back to getting drips and drabs done to her, and then if it happens i might have to let her go to someone who wants to take her on.. I hate to think she would be scrapped or left to rot in a ditch someplace so we shall see..

I am quite happy in knowing that it wasnt just a simple problem, as many people have said sure their easy to fix.. If a man who is an engine specialist cannot fix it in a month then theres something seriouls messed up with her.. The wagen saga continues

If a chap cant diagnose whats wrong with it in a month...........he must be looking at the wrong car.

Its a flat four ICE, not a warp drive.

Come back Diabhalta, all is forgiven, there is no flat four specialist in Cork, now proved official.

Really no need to be such asses lads...

Diabhalta your a winge bag and kadman your begining to sound a little to cocky..

Why dont i give ye all his number and ye can all go down to him and say that to him.. yer all perfect online and full of pep... If he doesnt get the car started on Monday i tell ye what, I can arrange next Saturday to all call to see teh wagen and see which one of ye can get her going....Ill give a beer to the winner...

I wont be apologising for knowing what I know.

I can talk the talk, and walk the walk when it comes to vw engines, and
    I,ve posted links of engines I,ve restarted after many years in limbo.

I also offered to look at your car , and travel a long journey for a small
    amount that wouldn,t really cover my day and petrol.

Lazzarrus had less hands laid on him than your beetle, and he came back from the dead.
    Your beetle should be doing the Paris Dakar rally now at this stage. And
    its not, and not even an inkling of whats wrong with it.

SOooooo........ you have clearly had no knowledgeable person looking at it
    to this present date.

Diabhalta......come back, all is forgiven. There is no sighting of an eircooled
    mechanic in Cork at the moment. Seems you have your finger on the pulse on that one.

And up to now, you wouldn,t take any direction over the phone, and now you will for a beer. How things have changed.

I do hope you get it sorted for yourself, as its a painful episode to date.

I,m cocky, because I know what I,m talking about. I,m sorry of that offends you, it's not meant to.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

kadman wrote: »
    I wont be apologising for knowing what I know.

I can talk the talk, and walk the walk when it comes to vw engines, and
    I,ve posted links of engines I,ve restarted after many years in limbo.

I also offered to look at your car , and travel a long journey for a small
    amount that wouldn,t really cover my day and petrol.

Lazzarrus had less hands laid on him than your beetle, and he came back from the dead.
    Your beetle should be doing the Paris Dakar rally now at this stage. And
    its not, and not even an inkling of whats wrong with it.

SOooooo........ you have clearly had no knowledgeable person looking at it
    to this present date.

Diabhalta......come back, all is forgiven. There is no sighting of an eircooled
    mechanic in Cork at the moment. Seems you have your finger on the pulse on that one.

And up to now, you wouldn,t take any direction over the phone, and now you will for a beer. How things have changed.

I do hope you get it sorted for yourself, as its a painful episode to date.

I,m cocky, because I know what I,m talking about. I,m sorry of that offends you, it's not meant to.

I think you should walk the walk, Tim. Let us know how you get on.

Or maybe you, you're in Cork, and know eircooleds.

Twould be a shorter walk, keep us posted.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

kadman wrote: »
    Or maybe you, you're in Cork, and know eircooleds.

Twould be a shorter walk, keep us posted.

I know just enough to get by with my own cars. Somebody else's car is a different kettle altogether, particularly when it has passed through so many hands and the issues are still unresolved.

You're too modest.

I did offer earlier as you know, and unfortunately a pending shoulder
    operation leaves me incapacitated at the moment . But in 3 months I,m available:)

Yer painfull.

Well the mechanic finally got her going..could not hear him properly so heading down tomorrow to get her.. Typical just managed to pick up a new little jeep as I thought she was dead.. mind she will still need big work done to her so well see what to do

Well she is back and while she is looking good tisnt good.. The engine is lifeless there were even doubts would she make it up the hill.

As things are all a bit mad at the moment I am going to look into getting her stored for a bit..Dont suppose anyone would recommend a storage spot in Cork.

After that then I will have to call it and see what to do with her

• Registered Users Posts: 2 rubules

Looking for a mechanic that deals with Jaguar cars in Cork
    Having a few problems
    No main dealers as can't afford them
    Thank you in advance

Not sure about Jags but in the search of mechanics i found the lads down on the marina (used to be Joe 90;s) the most honest mechanics I have come across.. They do all sorts of cars will tell you yes or no, or they might be able to recommened one..