Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the story with Saoirse Ronan's accent?

• 15-01-2016 2:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭

According to Wikipedia she was born in New York, 'raised briefly' in Carlow, and then moved to Howth. But she's ended up with a particularly unpleasant and grating Dublin accent. Where did she get it? She sounds like a mixture of Joan Burton's monotone drone, and Mary Lou McDonald's fake working-class Dub accent............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭McCrack

Who cares

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

She was laying on fairly thick for American audience on Colbert.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Red King

Whenever I hear her being interviewed I just have to switch off. Comes across as terribly false.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,950 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Why's everyone hating on Saoirse?

Let her off FFS, she's a youngster with the world in her hands.

Fair fucks to her I say!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭SouthernBelle

Red King wrote: »
    Whenever I hear her being interviewed I just have to switch off. Comes across as terribly false.

Same here. Heard her recently and she sounded like she was from inner city Dublin... which is fine, if you are from inner city Dublin, which she's not! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭Ninap

McCrack wrote: »
    Who cares

I care enough to create a thread on a leading Irish internet forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭CageWager

Mesrine65 wrote: »

Because it's Ireland and I think with the Oscar nod people are just realising that they haven't gotten her up to the minimum begrudgery threshold, a few threads here, a few articles there and we'll be sorted. Then back to Conor McGregor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I was only discussing this with someone this morning. It sounds lime she ks putting on a raw Dublin accent. Why? We have no idea, but it is hard to listen to.

Doesn't take from her acting success but it does seem very odd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭Figbiscuithead

Same here. Heard her recently and she sounded like she was from inner city Dublin... which is fine, if you are from inner city Dublin, which she's not! :rolleyes:

It's not only inner city Dubs that have that kind of Dublin accent, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭duchalla

She's just making sure nobody thinks shes english...

Ya know wha I meann, bud??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

Ninap wrote: »

Link?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

Fair fucks to her I say!

Shut up! You know she must be lambasted on here. Nothing less than a good dressing down for existing. How dare she!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Young Irish woman is a resounding success story on the international stage and promoting her country at every turn. She's obviously getting notions - time to cut her down to size internet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭McCrack

I know. It's a bit pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

I heard she bought her accent on e-bay.

Can anyone confirm?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 739 ✭✭✭Dev84

What's the story with her accent in Brooklyn? It's a movie about a young one from Enniscorthy I believe.
    They didn't speak with D4 accents in Enniscorthy back then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

It's fairly dull and limiting when any kind topic about an Irish celebrity is immediately seen as begrudging or hate-filled.

It's just a thread asking about the accents she's using in interviews :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,072 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

OP could have just added this to the "trivial things that annoy you" thread..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

location is only a part of it

where are her parents from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

I think she sounds lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

Agree OP,she sounds terrible.

A thing I noticed with a few Irish women who work on TV abroad,Liz Bonin,Amanda Byram,Dr Pixie McKenna,Sharon Horgan is that they are all putting on stupid English accents.Whats that all about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Magico Gonzalez

Once one tries to escapes from the tank the other crabs are quick to drag it back in...

I'd rather listen to her talking than some miserable begrudger with nothing more interesting to offer up than giving out about someone else's accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

Does she hang out with Imelda May?:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

I'd imagine actors pick up accents easier than the rest of us and have an ear for them. Its kind of their job. She also had a strong Dublin accent in Brooklyn I thought. The Wexford accent is a bit flatter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭The Sun King

Mock someone else's accent, from a celebrity doing a bad Irish impression to the awful cork accent = bit of fun.

Mock an Irish celebrity over something = begrudgery.

-.-"

Yeah, wind your necks in lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

Can she really win?

If she went around with a Carlow accent, people would say "I hate that Carlow accent". If she has a Dublin accent (lived in Dublin for a while now) what's with Dublin accent? If she spoke with an English accent, why the English accent, also American accent.

No matter what bloody accent she had, someone would find fault. I guess it comes with the territory of being successful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭megabantz

Ruu wrote: »
    She was laying on fairly thick for American audience on Colbert.

I watched this and she kept going in and out of 3 variations of accent, a little bit of Howth coming out then it was north Dublin then a semi Irish - American twang and back around for a repeat of the above!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭bullvine

Its horrendous, sounds like Imelda May's lovechild with one of the lads from Adam and Paul.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

She probably hasn't lived in Ireland full time for five or six years and she's still fairly young, makes sense to me that her accent would shift a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭The Sun King

megabantz wrote: »
    I watched this and she kept going in and out of 3 variations of accent, a little bit of Howth coming out then it was north Dublin then a semi Irish - American twang and back around for a repeat of the above!

I regularly watch shows with the missus, helping her pick out accents and vocab to help with learning English. We watched the clip last night and when she asked "what accent?" I replied "Fake."

Not for an American to know, I'm sure. I'd imagine it's good practice for her to maintain conversations in a specific put on accent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Fair fucks to her I say!

Such a horrible expression that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

bullvine wrote: »
    Its horrendous, sounds like Imelda May's lovechild with one of the lads from Adam and Paul.

Nothing wrong with Imelda's accent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭greenttc

I think i remember her saying that both of her parents are proper dubs and so despite living in carlow she picked up their strong dublin accents.

anyway, so what, I am very proud of her and her accent and delighted for the accent to be showcased on an international stage, just shows that we dont talk like leprechauns and that we have a rich mixture of accents and vocabulary, a great country altogether! and Saoirse (with her accent) is a great representative for us!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

Fair fucks to her I say!
    You're nobody till somebody hates you. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I met her a few months back at a lock in at my buddy's pub. I didn't think there was anything amiss in her accent and she sounded perfectly normal to me. While I was after around 11 pints, she also came across as a pleasant and grounded person who was actually good craic.

There are plenty more annoying accents in Ireland than hers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Vinculus

Isn't great the begrudgers have someone to begrudge now .
    Possibly the same people who were horrified that she was called British the other day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,871 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

she's great

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Nothing worse than a limerick west brit accent, thats something to whinge about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,018 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

There's a lot of begrudging of begrudging on here.

I wish her the best and it is great to see someone who seems so relatively down to earth doing so well.

BUT...

Her accent is grating. It's hard to listen to. I don't think I'm begrudging her any success by saying that: it's not a reflection on her career; she's obviously very talented. I just really honestly find her voice hard to take and the fact that she's everywhere at the moment makes it hard to get away from. She seems to lay on the DUB real thick. It just seems improbable to me that she would sound like that. She's probably spent as much time in the States over the last few years as she has in Ireland, so, if anything, her straight from the Liberties sound should be less pronounced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

According to Wikipedia she was born in New York, 'raised briefly' in Carlow, and then moved to Howth. But she's ended up with a particularly unpleasant and grating Dublin accent. Where did she get it? She sounds like a mixture of Joan Burton's monotone drone, and Mary Lou McDonald's fake working-class Dub accent............

say it ain't so!!!!!!!!!!!
    http://i.imgur.com/32eaxCQ.jpg

Yamanoto wrote: »
    Such a horrible expression that.

...you'd wish unfair fucks on the poor woman?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

Is it any wonder she's thought of as British when she speaks like a Dub? Same thing.

You ever gone fishing with hand grenades?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Nodin wrote: »
    ...you'd wish unfair fucks on the poor woman?

No, whatever takes her fancy - either gentle & loving or vigorous & sweaty.

I'd also say fair play to the girl on her success.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,290 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

FTA69 wrote: »
    There are plenty more annoying accents in Ireland than hers.
    That annoyingly fake "American with severe sinusitis" one for a start, or the Culshie with elocution lessons(again with added Yank twang) beloved of TV3 female continuity types, current and former.

As for her "Dub" accent, it's a bit of an odd one, mainly because it's an older type of one you don't tend to hear so much these days(it wasn't just inner city either, it was the Dublin accent). You certainly hear it very little on the national airwaves which outside of Joe Duffy are generally the above Culshie/Murcan twang. If you listen to Luke Kelly in old interviews it's within that sorta range, with more of the modern softening to it. The explanation that she picked it up from her parents makes some sense in that case.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 ohmplate

She sounds like her Da. I also find it comical that I can safely assume large amounts of people here probably entered 2nd level and third level education sounding completely different to how they sound now. A bit of college does wonders for an American accent in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,708 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Duggy747 wrote: »
    It's fairly dull and limiting when any kind topic about an Irish celebrity is immediately seen as begrudging or hate-filled.

It's just a thread asking about the accents she's using in interviews :pac:

Why is this a question? In films she's acting with different accents.

In interviews she's speaking with her normal voice. If you look up interviews from her time in Atonement you'll hear that her accent is the exact same as now. Nothing false about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭Orangebrigade

Ordinary actress who is only famous because she is Irish.

.....that makes no sense whatsoever.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,950 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

The farce in this one is strong :rolleyes: