Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tralee thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,266 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

He probably went from being a completely deluded dreamer to being a realist within a few minutes of being arrested.

I'd have sympathy for someone desperately trying to save their business, but not for someone who still wanted to live the high life while trying to save it. I bet the unpaid suppliers are ecstatic that he got locked up.

Had he been a realist he would have gone through the motions of winding up the businesses as people do and he wouldn't have ended up in the slammer. The money that he was supposed to get for the "machine" deal wouldn't even have put a dent in the monies owed by the businesses, so it wasn't worth the effort

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,532 ✭✭✭Ciarrai76

I said the very same thing about the amount of money he owed versus what he was due to get. It wouldn't have helped much and he would have needed to do a lot more of those 'jobs' to get near paying off his many debts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,641 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

"The money that he was supposed to get for the "machine" deal wouldn't even have put a dent in the monies owed by the businesses, so it wasn't worth the effort"

Which is why it's my belief that this wasn't his first rodeo, he'd gotten up to who knows what. Probably at least had more commitments to the Sinaloans down the road, perhaps this might have been a 'proving run,' which McDonnell failed utterly.

Best thing that could've happened to his family was for him to be arrested imo. Much worse to be in deeper with cartels.

I think he was less a 'deluded dreamer' and far more an arrogant elitist p*ick with his lux lifestyle, all the braggadocio and arrogance, that thought he could just wave his hands in the direction of Mexico and it'd all have been made right because it was him. Reality, however, is unforgiving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭kerrykartel

The Spanish had the ecrochat from way before between Leen and the Kerry Mexican even tho they the guards haven't said anything about it.

Remember the "Kerry cash bank" that "the family" Dublin gang had to kerry! Where was that money going, and how much was laundered threw legit Kerry businesses before it was raided?

It shows that hands were certainly been greased if cab wouldn't let local guards know anything about the investigations as many legit Kerry businesses were raided.

In the very top of that game, one arm of the illegal operation has nothing to do with the others, mules, transport, money laundry, professional services etc etc.

Nathan wasn't under duress, he owed money as that was his part before they needed storage and transport.

It's a pity the PR machine of a wealthy( most didn't know but some younger sib 💯 did) can be used to set him out to be some caught in the moment of madness, bad financial state, he was just a greedy person, as the only thing that now matters is MONEY!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭kn

I suspect he was more concerned with funding his own lifestyle and not a jot about the business debts. There was mention in Court of significant personal debts in addition to the business debts. I wonder if down the line it emerges that there was transfers from the business to personal accounts. They unceremoniously put the catering companies into receivership leaving a trail of creditors very quickly while still retaining the Garden Centre restaurant which no doubt was being supplied by many of the same creditors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭eusap

A quick search on Core shows at least 10 companies with Ballyseedy in the name and only 1 is in liquidation, which assumes the other 9 are still active. I am sure CAB are currently going through the accounts of the other 9 and seeing what payments receipts were made, so time may tell.

But its dishonest reporting when they say but "BALLYSEEDY RESTAURANT LIMITED" is in liquidation and has debts etc….. with out putting up the accounts of the other 9 to get the whole picture

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lordleitrim

I'm surprised his disgraceful treatment of suppliers and those who carried out work for him wasn't made public when he had the audacity to become president of Tralee Chamber. The hypocrisy of being in a role that is supposed to nurture, look out for and encourage small businesses, fair practices, good work ethics etc etc.

How was everyone who runs the show at Tralee Chamber completely oblivious to this? Tralee is not a very big town so it surely was known that he was up to his neck in debt and was not paying his creditors. I'm almost more annoyed at the way he treated local suppliers/businesses and rubbed their noses in it by using his debts to them to live like a millionaire than I am in his role in the drugs crime!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭Danny healy ray

Nathan's and the lads horse won the cross country over at Cheltenham be a might weekend in the blasket !

Nathan hasn't been involved with that syndicate since this all kicked off last year! They quickly distanced themselves and he was removed from it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭Danny healy ray

sorry my mistake grand horse in fairness to them could be one for the grand national the lads were saying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭cap.in.hand.

The syndicate members were all Nathans very close friends /successful business friends....wonder have they deserted him on a personal level as well as he being part of that horse/s syndicate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭xxyyzz

Is there anyone in Tralee who does car bodywork? I need to get a bonnet resprayed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,641 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

Kingdom auto body? Near the NCT and I think Tyrestop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭DayInTheBog

Theres a guy in dromtaker were the fabric place was that I believe is good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lordleitrim

The Market restaurant is now open where Yummys was. Haven't tried it to eat in yet but menu looks great. They also have a small shop section selling food and ingredients and a wine shop will open soon too.

Also, I see Pepco has been renamed back to Dealz. I think most people kept calling it Dealz anyway....

I was very impressed with it. A nice interesting diverse menu. The Italian sandwich is fantastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Good to hear. I hope the prices are still similar to Yummy (which I always thought was v reasonable) and that service is as punctual.

They are pretty much in line with every other lunch spot in town. It's strange they don't have any socials with their menus up. Service was good, you order at the counter and get a number, same as Ballyseedy. We weren't waiting long.

They have a Facebook page with the menu on it

https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=61573165534023

7.50 for a bowl of soup. Id need a mortgage to eat there😂

I don't think many places are cheaper anymore. Its almost €4 for a coffee in a lot of places now! Prices are gone crazy

Dunnes represents the best value in town. €9.95 for a carvery lunch & €5.50 for a breakfast with tea/coffee.

PS I haven't been down to try it yet but I'm told Lana do a fine lunch for a tenner.

Not been to Lana in years. Food quality went downhill

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/rose-of-tralee-firm-repays-100000-loan-after-being-sued-by-disgruntled-us-shareholder-in-high-court/a1207795090.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 jkljkljkl

Hi is edward street multi storey car park tralee still open please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭Quaderno

No, it has been closed for years and I don't see it ever reopening. The building is currently for sale.

The only multi storey now open is the one over in Maine St, by Radio Kerry.

The money must have been found down the back of a sofa.

I suppose the next stage with Henggeler trying to get his hands on the shares willl drag out for a month of Sundays and the sordid mess will plod on and not be doing the reputation of the ROT much good.

The Horan Centre filling station will be the most boring filling station on the planet with the owners just selling fuel and operating a car wash.

Of course, KCC might stick the boot in. It's not as if there's a shortage of filling stations in the town.😛

Permission sought to complete works to revamp vacant Tralee filling station | RadioKerry.ie