Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Joe Duffy and the buke

• 10-01-2016 11:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭

Simple question, would anyone have difficulty with Duffy hauling his book around schools with the permission of the Dept. of Education. Is that not indoctrination, maybe biased.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Simple question, would anyone have difficulty with Duffy hauling his book around schools with the permission of the Dept. of Education. Is that not indoctrination, maybe biased.

I'd have difficulty with Joe Duffy, full stop. A whinging crying patronising pain in the @rse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Joe Duffy MUST be related to someone in RTE. He is shocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Joe Duffy MUST be related to someone in RTE. He is shocking.

Reackon half of them share a house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

Ally Dick wrote: »
    I'd have difficulty with Joe Duffy, full stop. A whinging crying patronising pain in the @rse

Has he a right to enter schools to put forward his views. Teachers teach what qualifications does he have to interfere with students education.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Joe Duffy is testament to how somone of zero talents can become a millionaire by nepotism and sheer luck. Joe Duffy is the personified antithesis of meritocracy.

The problem is the Dept. have given him free access to our schools to sell his Buke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Firefox11

The problem is the Dept. have given him free access to our schools to sell his Buke.

It was not enough to get all that free publicity to flog his book on his radio show?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Has he a right to enter schools to put forward his views. Teachers teach what qualifications does he have to interfere with students education.

Teachers also have to not bring any personal agendas into the classrooms.

I;d have to say no - on the basis that whats to stop every other nonfiction author from bringing their books in?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Has he been Garda vetted?

What's the book and what educational value does it have? And can I bring mine in too?

Joe Duffy my life and times in 1916, and other short stories.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

No, just sad, pathetic and a condemnation of whoever let him.

I;d have to say no - on the basis that whats to stop every other nonfiction author from bringing their books in?

It about the children of 1916 so I suppose they could class it as a 'history' book.

Firefox11 wrote: »
    It about the children of 1916 so I suppose they could class it as a 'history' book.

Bullocks what qualifications has he got as regarding history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Firefox11 wrote: »
    Joe Duffy my life and times in 1916, and other short stories.

Again - what;s to stop me* or any other writer from bringing in their books to schools? Why Joe's?

*apart from the fact I've never written one....

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

How can the department give someone free access to their schools to sell a book that he is the only person benefitting financially from? The book is actually published by a UK company and is printed in Germany.

I think there's confusion out there with some people thinking the money is going to charity when it is not.

Bullocks what qualifications has he got as regarding history.

Joes just trying to make a few bob out of exploiting our history that all. Those poor childers of 1916.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

How can the department give someone free access to their schools to sell a book that he is the only person benefitting financially from? The book is actually published by a UK company and is printed in Germany.
    Sure there's been a Belgian at it for decades.

Now come to think it, I remember RTE doing a hatchet job on him a few years ago. Coincidence or not? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

I can't wait till 2016 is over, and all the talk of 1916 is over too

I think there's confusion out there with some people thinking the money is going to charity when it is not.

How can someone involved in shady dealings stand up beside the leader of our country and be welcomed into his circle, how can an ex-minister who has been found to have dodgy dealings still is welcome into government circles. These are the questions people will have to take into account in the GE

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,537 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I thought Joe Duffy was some sort of comic creation like the Rubberbandits, Keith Lemon, Donald Trump or Alan Partridge.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

I also say 'buke'.

It's a weird one. I mean Luke is pronounced 'Luke'

Oh.

Right.

Art out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

I thought Joe Duffy was some sort of comic creation like the Rubberbandits, Keith Lemon, Donald Trump or Alan Partridge.
    He used to be a character in The Savage Eye, but he put on weight and well, that was that.

AFAIK he's been unemployed these years since.

He is but unfortunately he is taken seriously by the poor unfortunate people in this country that think they have a voice. He plays them for his ratings.

ArtSmart wrote: »
    He used to be a character in The Savage Eye, but he put on weight and well, that was that.

AFAIK he's been unemployed these years since.

He got annoyed over the nipple clamps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,085 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

So what bukes have you lot managed to write?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,537 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

He is but unfortunately he is taken seriously by the poor unfortunate people in this country that think they have a voice. He plays them for his ratings.

I emigrated so I've barely heard of him. Odd that people squeezed by cuts would think that a portly RTÉ presenter who makes hundreds of thousands annually for 7 hours of work a week would give a crap.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I emigrated so I've barely heard of him. Odd that people squeezed by cuts would think that a portly RTÉ presenter who makes hundreds of thousands annually for 7 hours of work a week would give a crap.

And tells people to shop local, support your local small business etc and then he goes off and gets the book published in the UK and printed in Germany.

But of course. I'm sure he's all paid up with the taxman as well.

It is sad but that is what sad people follow.

People in this country grovel after such people who evade their responsibilities as regards finance and preach to then about their duty to pay their taxes to support the same parasites that preach name a band a telecoms billionaire etc etc. Enda says "it is a great country to be corrupt", I may not be a 100% on that quote but I am open to correction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Is this a hypothetical question or is it actually happening?

I'd have great difficulty with it. He's had three months free advertising on RTE already and I'm sure there'll be blanket coverage from now till Easter. If he comes to my children's school I'll organise a picket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Sure...sure..sure

CLONTAAAAAAAAARF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Selling it in schools?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Colleagues , learned and otherwise , I am related to Joe Duffy

distantly

However , I am at peace with myself , for I am also distantly related to Phil Lynnot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,535 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

So what bukes have you lot managed to write?

Hi, Joe. :P
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

The question is about his book, every time any media personality is mentioned there is a raft of replies with nepotism rabble talentless rabbel. When its Joe you also get a few sly digs about where he lives and his money as if that has to do with anything.

I do not particularity like Joe Duffy's style nor do I listen to his show that often, however his life is interesting how he went to Trinity as a mature student and became a social worker that sort of thing so maybe his book is biased but Children do like to read about the lives of other children.

He can write all the books he wants to, and fair play to him. But he should pay for his advertising like every other author. When he's sitting in his studio he's getting paid a fee while dropping his book into every conversation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,692 ✭✭✭A Shaved Duck?

mariaalice wrote: »
    The question is about his book, every time any media personality is mentioned there is a raft of replies with nepotism rabble talentless rabbel. When its Joe you also get a few sly digs about where he lives and his money as if that has to do with anything.

I do not particularity like Joe Duffy's style nor do I listen to his show that often, however his life is interesting how he went to Trinity as a mature student and became a social worker that sort of thing so maybe his book is biased but Children do like to read about the lives of other children.

Dont see any sly digs myself just people calling it like they see it, the guy is a hypocrite that champions the little people and local business while having his buke printed in germany to avail of cheaper printing.

Also there is an assumption that some proceeds of the buke are going to charity which isnt that case at all.

All the while he is working as a contractor for rte and availing of the tax breaks associated and getting free advertising five days a week on his show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

The main issue I, as well as a lot of other people have is how two faced he is. He permanently uses the programme as a personal pulpit and soap box to have his populist, man-of-the-people digs at politicians etc whilst at the height of the recession he was taking €400,000+ per annum in wages off the taxpayer. He admits that his working hours are 10.30-15.30, 5 days a week for about 40 weeks per annum.

He has taken Liveline, a programme for the people and uses it to promote his own interests, stories, friends and views. It has not been driven by the people for years, but instead by his opinions. Je cuts people off and shouts those down who disagree with his or express a view that it different to his and essentially wipes his arse with any rules regarding impartiality in state broadcasting.

The TV show is something he has been pushing for years in RTE, which is a questionable use of state resources. He again pushes his own agenda and is twisting stories on it to suit his agenda and not reality. E.g. he stated that the guy who was shot dead for phoning him from Portlaoise prison wasn't shot because of the phone call. The whole country knows he was shot as a result of the clampdown that ensued after that, but Joe denies it as it doesn't suit his narrative.

The book has been done to death at this stage. It's a hardback reference type book that costs €25, it's not childrens reading. He ahs used state resources like his radio programme and other RTE programmes to push and promote his book, something that I personally found distasteful.

The fact that he was a mature student is irrelevant, I'm paying for a part time Masters at the moment, all mature students, almost of us are working. It's not a big deal, there's thousands of us around the country.

If he is going to be pushing for the book to be sold in schools (Brendan O'Carroll is the opinion that every library should stock it) then that is a bit sick tbh. At the very least do a cheaper paperback version, HAVE IT PRINTED IN IRELAND please, and sell that.

But I doubt the millionaire Mr Duffy will do that as it means a few cents less per book will end out in his pocket.

Dont see any sly digs myself just people calling it like they see it, the guy is a hypocrite that champions the little people and local business while having his buke printed in germany to avail of cheaper printing.

Also there is an assumption that some proceeds of the buke are going to charity which isnt that case at all.

All the while he is working as a contractor for rte and availing of the tax breaks associated and getting free advertising five days a week on his show.

I do not know anything about his book did he publish it himself? It says it was published by Hachett books would he have any say in where it was printed? why would anyone assume some of the money was going to charity did he say that?. I do not listen to the show often enough to say how many time he mentioned it.

My point is more about the sly nastiness you get on boards about media people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

I would have serious questions re. the accuracy of the facts in Joe's buke given how shall I say his interpretation of facts on his show and his insistence on believing every single word his callers say - often regardless of conflicting evidence from other quarters. I'd imagine accuracy is not a word in his lexicon....

The reason I do not listen to his show is because of the milking of callers and his sometime faux concern for the callers, but the show is very popular, thats called having an opinion on the show.

I listen to Sean Moncrieff in the afternoons because I like his style of presenting and his self awareness.

I do not know anything about his book did he publish it himself? It says it was published by Hachett books would he have any say in where it was printed? why would anyone assume some of the money was going to charity did he say that?. I do not listen to the show often enough to say how many time he mentioned it.

As the writer, he could insist on it being printed here, esp. given his particularly outspoken views on political parties printing paraphernalia outside of the state.

He never said the proceeds were going to charity, no. That much is correct. But he constantly said the idea for the buke came about when he was asked by Jack and Jill Foundation to do something a few years ago. It was implied. There was no need to mention jack and Jill other than attempting to mislead that the proceeds were going to charity. Put it this way - he has never stated that they are not. And yes, it has been confirmed by the publishers that the profits go to one Joe Duffy only.

He never stopped mentioning it on his show. It was ridiculous. He broke the world records for plugging and self promotion many times between launch and Christmas often using the most ridiculous segues to get w mention of the buke in. You're making out like he mentioned it once or twice - he never stopped. It was as I posted elsewhere both shameful and shameless and yet another a use of power by the hypocrite that he is.

It's not sly nastiness as you describe it. It's the calling out of an obnoxious, opinionated, biased, self-promoting hypocritical egoist for what he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

"And then james conolly shot the poor little orphaned childer in the face"

"but how does that make you feeel?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

He deserves all the criticism he gets for that deeply depressing piss take that he calls a radio show.Listened to it once to see what it was like,lasted about thirty seconds.
    Thank God for Newstalk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Book is published by Hachette Ireland, a subsidiary of the French company. It is printed in Germany. Yes, he has full control over who publishes and prints it, getting it printed in Germany is cheaper.

He alluded that no company here can print it. A Season of Sundays is one of Irelands biggest selling books, its printed in Dublin, and bound in Belfast, so that would be one more local possibility.

FWIW Ciaran Mullooley of RTE news had his book printed in Longford. It's a small paperback, je could have had it done cheaper abroad no doubt.

The charity angle is that he has said numerous times that the inspiration for the books came when the Jack & Jill Foundation asked him to paint an Easter egg. He did one with the names of all the kids who were killed in the rising on it.

He has never said that money goes to charity, but he has left a fair few people with the impression that the Jack and Jill crowd would get something out of kt. After all the free publicity garnered through his personal use of RTE resources you'd think he might have given something. But no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Bambi wrote: »
    "And then james conolly shot the poor little orphaned childer in the face"

"but how does that make you feeel?"

Classic joe

Classic joe

Classic joke would actually be more like this:

And what colour were the bullets?

Selling it in schools?

I didn't mention sales, promoting is what he is at. The sales will follow.