Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

...and Airplane is on RTE2.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭Trond

• Closed Accounts Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Vandango

Jaysus lads, it's a fairly decent show alright but yous are starting to lose the run of yourselves here. :)

Get out.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,994 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

Vandango wrote: »
    Get out.

It's a classic on many levels, almost all of the jokes hit home and it was the first time many of them were performed. It was the weak imitation of other movies that kind of took from it. Leslie Nielsen is at his best in this also. The bit with the public phones at the start when the pilot was looking at porno mags always cracks me up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Vandango

Leslie Nielsen is at his best in this also.

The late Leslie Nielsen was one of my all time favourites, a comic genius.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭Trond

What an opening scene. Utterly ageless

• Closed Accounts Posts: 673 ✭✭✭GekkePrutser

Roger Murdock: Flight 2-0-9'er, you are cleared for take-off.

Captain Oveur: Roger!

Roger Murdock: Huh?

Tower voice: L.A. departure frequency, 123 point 9'er.

Captain Oveur: Roger!

Victor Basta: Request vector, over.

Captain Oveur: What?

Tower voice: Flight 2-0-9'er cleared for vector 324.

Roger Murdock: We have clearance, Clarence.

Captain Oveur: Roger, Roger. What's our vector, Victor?

Tower voice: Tower's radio clearance, over!

Captain Oveur: That's Clarence Oveur. Over.

Tower voice: Over.

Captain Oveur: Roger.

Tower voice: Roger, over!

Roger Murdock: What?

Captain Oveur: Huh?

Classic :)

Though I won't watch it on RTE, I hate commercial breaks on a station I already have to pay so much for. But I have the DVD. A movie like this is worth watching in one go.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,546 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Anyone have a transcript of the jive? You'll get a thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,187 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

• Registered Users Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Truckermal

Looks like I picked the wrong week to give up sniffing glue...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Palbear

My favourite quote:

"Mostly, I remember the nights when we were together. I remember how you used to hold me and... how I used to sit on your face and wriggle." Julie Hagerty

• Registered Users Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭Melodeon

Best dance sequence in a movie ever:
    "I had to ask the guy next to me to pinch me to make sure I wasn't dreaming."

• Registered Users Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭Melodeon

Anyone have a transcript of the jive? You'll get a thanks.
    Here you go, as robbed from here:
    http://movies.stackexchange.com/questions/11208/translating-the-jive-dialogue

scene one
    First Jive Dude: Shiiiiit, maaaaan. That honky muf' be messin' mah old lady... got to be runnin' cold upside down his head, you know?

Second Jive Dude: Hey home', I can dig it. Know ain't gonna lay no mo' big rap up on you, man!

First Jive Dude: I say hey, sky... subba say I wan' see...

Second Jive Dude: Uh-huh.

First Jive Dude: ...pray to J I did the same-ol', same-ol'!

Second Jive Dude: Hey... knock a self a pro, Slick! That gray matter backlot perform us DOWN, I take TCB-in', man!

First Jive Dude: Hey, you know what they say: see a broad to get dat booty yak 'em...

First Jive Dude, Second Jive Dude: ...leg 'er down a smack 'em yak 'em!

First Jive Dude: COL' got to be! Y'know? Shiiiiit.

scene two
    Randy: Can I get you something?

Second Jive Dude: 'S'mofo butter layin' me to da' BONE! Jackin' me up... tight me!

Randy: I'm sorry, I don't understand.

First Jive Dude: Cutty say 'e can't HANG!

Jive Lady: Oh, stewardess! I speak jive.

Randy: Oh, good.

Jive Lady: He said that he's in great pain and he wants to know if you can help him.

Randy: All right. Would you tell him to just relax and I'll be back as soon as I can with some medicine?

Jive Lady: [to the Second Jive Dude] Jus' hang loose, blood. She gonna catch ya up on da rebound on da med side.

Second Jive Dude: What it is, big mama? My mama no raise no dummies. I dug her rap!

Jive Lady: Cut me some slack, Jack! Chump don' want no help, chump don't GET da help!

First Jive Dude: Say 'e can't hang, say seven up!

Jive Lady: Jive-ass dude don't got no brains anyhow! Shiiiiit.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Naked Gun was on the other night too God bless you Leslie Nielsen.

Favourite quote:
    "He's in hospital"
    -"what is it?"
    "It's a big building with lots of sick people in it but thats not important right now"

• Registered Users Posts: 3,409 ✭✭✭Trebor176

"Nervous?"

"Yes."

"First time?"

"No, I've been nervous lots of times."

• Registered Users Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

Do you like movies about gladiators?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,324 ✭✭✭mojesius

Ted Striker: It's Lieutenant Hurwitz. Severe shell-shock. Thinks he's Ethel Merman.
    Lieutenant Hurwitz: [singing] You'll be swell, you'll be great. Gonna have the whole world on a plate. Startin' here, startin' now. Honey, everything's comin' up roses...
    Ted Striker: War is hell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

I dont get the fuss over Ferris or Lebowski. Airplane! is genius though IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

1:40am RTE2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

1:40am RTE2.

Pity I'm at the outlaws I'd record it.
    Striker stryker!.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,179 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Well that's a bit random.
    I created this thread last year and lo and behold I watched Airplane on RTE2 tonight at 1:40am then saw that Junkyard_Tom bumped this thread.

Judging from my original post I guess it was on Christmas Night. But alright gentlemen place your bets! Place your bets here! :pac:

When will Airplane be shown on RTE2 Christmas 2017 :p

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,305 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Grew up watching it on VHS many times. It really was how the jokes were delivered, including visually, that worked so well.

https://cdn-images-1.medium.com/max/800/1*PC-YGEt1wBS-Bh7-k_96cQ.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 7,761 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

I ain't gettin' on no plane fool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Nice beaver

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 47,282 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Nice beaver

Thanks, I just had it stuffed.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,546 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

• Registered Users Posts: 9,690 ✭✭✭buried

'Murdock' is actually a Gaelic surname. And it means - 'Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue'

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Registered Users Posts: 14,367 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Ah Airplane. I remember seeing it on TV one night when I was a kid. I couldn't believe what I was watching. I'd never seen anything like that before: a movie going for broke with joke after joke after joke. So many of them still kill and some are just flat out inspired.

I've also watched Airplane 2 quite a lot too. A very underrated comedy

• Registered Users Posts: 11,179 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Update:

Seems Rte/Rte2 are breaking the tradition this year and not showing Airplane!

Booooo....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭KungPao

Update:

Seems Rte/Rte2 are breaking the tradition this year and not showing Airplane!

Booooo....
    Looks like I picked the wrong week to watch Airplane!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Jim never vomits at home