Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

...and Airplane is on RTE2.

• 26-12-2015 1:43am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,230 ✭✭✭✭

Always shown at Christmas.

What a great movie. Anyone else watching?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Toss up between it and Ferris.

Ferris won

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Its a different kind of flying altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,829 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Don't call me surely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭Trond

Watching the end of Ted and Father Todd Unctious. Join you there shortly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,813 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

"Ever seen a grown man naked?"

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

Just found it. I haven't seen it for years. This might be a long night and put a big hole in my bottle of whiskey. Yer wan is as pretty as I remember, but a far worse actress than I remember:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,230 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Interesting trivia thanks to imdb.com
    The man in the taxi who spends the entire film waiting, with the meter running, is Howard Jarvis. Jarvis led the 1978 push for Proposition 13 in California, which was a money-saving and tax-cutting initiative that led to cuts in public services in California. Jarvis saved California home owners thousands of dollars per year by cutting residential property taxes in half.

The irony is funny :)

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

What kind of plane is it?

Oh, it's a big pretty white plane with red stripes, curtains on the windows, wheels and it looks like a big Tylenol!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,437 ✭✭✭FAILSAFE 00

Always shown at Christmas.

What a great movie. Anyone else watching?

Good luck. We're all counting on you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Three class films; Airplane, Lebowski and Ferris all on in the middle of the bloody night.

Why?

When you look at some of the utter crap that they show during normal hours it makes the mind boggle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,474 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

Yep. Watchin'...... again. And watched it on some other channel very lately.

Absolutely love it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Ciderswigger

I love Airplane

"A hospital? What is it?"
    "A big building with patients but that's not important right now" :D

but... Ferris Bueller's Day Off is my favourite film so it won.

"Ferris Bueller, you're my hero"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭weadick

Red Kev wrote: »
    Three class films; Airplane, Lebowski and Ferris all on in the middle of the bloody night.

Why?

When you look at some of the utter crap that they show during normal hours it makes the mind boggle.

Was just about to post that. Even the U2 concert which was a big enough deal and heavily advertised but starting it at 11.10 made no sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,352 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Airplane demands to be watched whenever it's on

A young Jonathan Banks
    'He's all over the place! Nine hundred feet up to 1300 feet. What an asshole!'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭Bulbous Salutation

It's a very very funny movie. Great jokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

What channel is lebowski on?

The reporters -

"Alright men, let's get some pictures" - cue them stripping the walls.

Always creases me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭Alexis Sanchez

I'm watching High Palins Drifter and as soon as that's over, Taxi driver is on Film Four.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,265 ✭✭✭joeysoap

Red Kev wrote: »

Why?

This is the only time you can watch anything in peace.

Have you ever been in a Turkish prison .......

Bowlardo wrote: »
    What channel is lebowski on?
    ITV4

An hour left on the +1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭weadick

'You can't take a guess for another two hours?'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

The **** is about to hit the fan...

Striker? Striker? Striker? Woman gets punched to the ground. Fukking sidesplitting. They'd never get away with it these days.
    Is that in One or Two?

Lloyd Bridges is just magnificent.

Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit smoking/drinking/sniffing glue etc

"Joey, have you ever been to a Turkish prison"

This is brilliant.

How do you even write a script with so many jokes that hit the mark? :)

And there it is, probably the best back and forth in the history of cinema

Rex Kramer: [talking to Steve McCroskey] Our only hope is to build this man up. We gotta give him all the confidence we can.
    [to Striker]
    Rex Kramer: Striker, have you ever flown a multi-engine plane before?
    Ted Striker: No, never.
    Rex Kramer: [to McCroskey, with the microphone still on] ****! This is a God damn waste of time! There's no way he can land this plane! Route 'em into Lake Michigan and at least avoid killing innocent people!

Mrs Over in bed with the horse :D

Jaysus lads, it's a fairly decent show alright but yous are starting to lose the run of yourselves here. :)

Was it Air Israel with the tiger thingy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Vandango

Jaysus lads, it's a fairly decent show alright but yous are starting to lose the run of yourselves here. :)

Get out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

Vandango wrote: »
    Get out.

It's a classic on many levels, almost all of the jokes hit home and it was the first time many of them were performed. It was the weak imitation of other movies that kind of took from it. Leslie Nielsen is at his best in this also. The bit with the public phones at the start when the pilot was looking at porno mags always cracks me up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Vandango

Leslie Nielsen is at his best in this also.

The late Leslie Nielsen was one of my all time favourites, a comic genius.

What an opening scene. Utterly ageless

• Closed Accounts Posts: 673 ✭✭✭GekkePrutser

Roger Murdock: Flight 2-0-9'er, you are cleared for take-off.

Captain Oveur: Roger!

Roger Murdock: Huh?

Tower voice: L.A. departure frequency, 123 point 9'er.

Captain Oveur: Roger!

Victor Basta: Request vector, over.

Captain Oveur: What?

Tower voice: Flight 2-0-9'er cleared for vector 324.

Roger Murdock: We have clearance, Clarence.

Captain Oveur: Roger, Roger. What's our vector, Victor?

Tower voice: Tower's radio clearance, over!

Captain Oveur: That's Clarence Oveur. Over.

Tower voice: Over.

Captain Oveur: Roger.

Tower voice: Roger, over!

Roger Murdock: What?

Captain Oveur: Huh?

Classic :)

Though I won't watch it on RTE, I hate commercial breaks on a station I already have to pay so much for. But I have the DVD. A movie like this is worth watching in one go.

Anyone have a transcript of the jive? You'll get a thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

Looks like I picked the wrong week to give up sniffing glue...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Palbear

My favourite quote:

"Mostly, I remember the nights when we were together. I remember how you used to hold me and... how I used to sit on your face and wriggle." Julie Hagerty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,614 ✭✭✭Melodeon

Best dance sequence in a movie ever:
    "I had to ask the guy next to me to pinch me to make sure I wasn't dreaming."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,614 ✭✭✭Melodeon

Anyone have a transcript of the jive? You'll get a thanks.
    Here you go, as robbed from here:
    http://movies.stackexchange.com/questions/11208/translating-the-jive-dialogue

scene one
    First Jive Dude: Shiiiiit, maaaaan. That honky muf' be messin' mah old lady... got to be runnin' cold upside down his head, you know?

Second Jive Dude: Hey home', I can dig it. Know ain't gonna lay no mo' big rap up on you, man!

First Jive Dude: I say hey, sky... subba say I wan' see...

Second Jive Dude: Uh-huh.

First Jive Dude: ...pray to J I did the same-ol', same-ol'!

Second Jive Dude: Hey... knock a self a pro, Slick! That gray matter backlot perform us DOWN, I take TCB-in', man!

First Jive Dude: Hey, you know what they say: see a broad to get dat booty yak 'em...

First Jive Dude, Second Jive Dude: ...leg 'er down a smack 'em yak 'em!

First Jive Dude: COL' got to be! Y'know? Shiiiiit.

scene two
    Randy: Can I get you something?

Second Jive Dude: 'S'mofo butter layin' me to da' BONE! Jackin' me up... tight me!

Randy: I'm sorry, I don't understand.

First Jive Dude: Cutty say 'e can't HANG!

Jive Lady: Oh, stewardess! I speak jive.

Randy: Oh, good.

Jive Lady: He said that he's in great pain and he wants to know if you can help him.

Randy: All right. Would you tell him to just relax and I'll be back as soon as I can with some medicine?

Jive Lady: [to the Second Jive Dude] Jus' hang loose, blood. She gonna catch ya up on da rebound on da med side.

Second Jive Dude: What it is, big mama? My mama no raise no dummies. I dug her rap!

Jive Lady: Cut me some slack, Jack! Chump don' want no help, chump don't GET da help!

First Jive Dude: Say 'e can't hang, say seven up!

Jive Lady: Jive-ass dude don't got no brains anyhow! Shiiiiit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Naked Gun was on the other night too God bless you Leslie Nielsen.

Favourite quote:
    "He's in hospital"
    -"what is it?"
    "It's a big building with lots of sick people in it but thats not important right now"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,435 ✭✭✭Trebor176

"Nervous?"

"Yes."

"First time?"

"No, I've been nervous lots of times."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

Do you like movies about gladiators?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭mojesius

Ted Striker: It's Lieutenant Hurwitz. Severe shell-shock. Thinks he's Ethel Merman.
    Lieutenant Hurwitz: [singing] You'll be swell, you'll be great. Gonna have the whole world on a plate. Startin' here, startin' now. Honey, everything's comin' up roses...
    Ted Striker: War is hell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

I dont get the fuss over Ferris or Lebowski. Airplane! is genius though IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

1:40am RTE2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

1:40am RTE2.

Pity I'm at the outlaws I'd record it.
    Striker stryker!.

Well that's a bit random.
    I created this thread last year and lo and behold I watched Airplane on RTE2 tonight at 1:40am then saw that Junkyard_Tom bumped this thread.

Judging from my original post I guess it was on Christmas Night. But alright gentlemen place your bets! Place your bets here! :pac:

When will Airplane be shown on RTE2 Christmas 2017 :p