Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where would you go next...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,834 ✭✭✭carsfan2

Wailin wrote: »
    Great write up. I'd have the 3 over the 5 myself if both cars had the same engine. The touring is the perfect car imo. Does it still use the rear airbag suspension like the previous versions?

No. Regular suspension with adaptive damper s. I think the air suspension was ever only in the five series. Certainly wasn’t in the f31 I had few years back.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,051 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

carsfan2 wrote: »
    The market in Ireland for large engine BMW models in Ireland is small and even smaller for large engine tourers. We just don’t appreciate estate cars here. We also don’t want big engines or more than just adequate power. Purchase cost and running costs being the main deterrent.

Those of us on this thread are vastly outnumbered by those that are more than happy with the basic model and see no value in going for more unfortunately.
    The latest reg. plate and the cheapest tax are the main attraction for many.
    A 340i touring or a 540i may be a unicorn to us but to the majority it’s an oddball car.

That's a depressing read. The M340i touring was on the shortlist for my next car but maybe that's too wishful thinking living over here. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

No. Regular suspension with adaptive damper s. I think the air suspension was ever only in the five series. Certainly wasn’t in the f31 I had few years back.

That's correct, the 3 series has never been fitted with air suspension. The 5 series has been fitted with self levelling at the rear for the Touring models since the E39 generation.

https://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/bmw/m3/fpa/202104191543913?journey=Search

pretty sure this was sold about a year ago in the same garage for 60k a year ago.
    It hasn't lost much value but also shows that some people move on from M cars pretty quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,841 ✭✭✭maddness

pretty sure this was sold about a year ago in the same garage for 60k a year ago.
    It hasn't lost much value but also shows that some people move on from M cars pretty quickly.

I’d absolutely love that, much prefer a M3 to a M4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,446 ✭✭✭Wailin

I enquired about that car at the time. Was during lockdown last year so couldn't get to look at it. It was actually going for 55k back then. A year older and higher price. Way too much for a 5 year old m3.

Edit: I think metzgermeister paid around 10k less for a 162 m4.

I enquired about that car at the time. Was during lockdown last year so couldn't get to look at it. It was actually going for 55k back then. A year older and higher price. Way too much for a 5 year old m3.

Yeah I couldn’t remember the correct price last year. Well overpriced. I reckless it’s the scarcity they’re banking on. Would have thought 50k asking with a 2 year warranty was more realistic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

Everything you say makes sense, but the reality is that the changes the government made at the end of the year mean these cars can no longer be imported for what they could be, and that's what drives the price. Can't really blame the dealers here, if I had one for sale I'd also put the price up and that's what everyone is doing.

https://www.usedcarsni.com/2015-BMW-M3-M3-4dr-DCT-275560724

That car is in the north but looks like a UK reg so vrt at 30 something % and vat. What would that be cleared? I have lost track of how that works?

Is it 21% of the uk price for the vat and then usual vrt after that? I'm guessing vrt is going to 20k at the new rate ....

Jesus it's depressing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,609 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

The car has to be registered in the North too or you will be stung for 10% import duty also afaik. You would want to be bonkers importing anything like that now. The market for anything half interesting here is gone mad as a result. Used prices of hot hatches and performance cars have risen because they are in demand and it's no longer viable to import them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭GustavoFring

I might be wrong but wasn’t the grey one they had last year manual?

Actually, yes, you are spot on, it was a manual. That car looks like the one Duffys were selling around the same time and it was 58k if I remember correctly.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bWL2I1xbB7I&t=149s

I think this was the Joe Duffy car which was manual. The one in Cahir was the same car as now I am sure as I enquired about it but it was just sold. I wouldn't have asked for a manual also I remember it had no carbon roof as has sunroof.

Just looking back at my emails and the one for sale now is the same one for sale in morrisons last year and it was 60k. Duffys had the manual competition and it was 60k too. The 55k figure was from the navy one up north after vrt around the same time last May.

Guessing whoever bought it got low fifties as a trade in so not too bad for a year in a car like that. I’m sure I’ve lost more in three weeks in my 330e...

I wonder what was it traded in for?

bazz26 wrote: »
    I wonder what was it traded in for?

The x3M you linked a few days ago?
    Looking at their stock list it’s interesting that the same year M2 with twice the mileage is only 8k cheaper when it would have been much bigger gap when new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,918 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Guessing whoever bought it got low fifties as a trade in so not too bad for a year in a car like that. I’m sure I’ve lost more in three weeks in my 330e...

Id imagine they got 10k at least below retail.

mickdw wrote: »
    Id imagine they got 10k at least below retail.

Maybe not if they were doing a bit of haggling.
    I got 30k for mine after a bit of work and it’s up for 35k. Mine needed new tyres and brake pads as well as alloy and paint repairs before it could be retailed as BMW approved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,918 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Maybe not if they were doing a bit of haggling.
    I got 30k for mine after a bit of work and it’s up for 35k. Mine needed new tyres and brake pads as well as alloy and paint repairs before it could be retailed as BMW approved.

Against retail price though on the new car im sure. But yes, not quite as greedy as they can be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,678 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Those digital dials are not going to age well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭digiman

Will be a pretty specific buyer for that, would be hard enough to live with I’d say. Would be a harsh ride for a daily driver, they were being given away in the UK last year I remember reading, around the same monthly as the X3 M40i.

I’d image that will go well under €100k before it will be bought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Cars like that X3M being taken into stock can unlock larger allocations of the more bread and butter models eg 320ds and 520ds from the distributor. You are only allowed a certain allocation of lower level models but by taking in more expensive and harder to move stock eg 7s, X5/6/7 you can up your allocation of the higher selling models thus increasing turnover and cashflow. I understand you are obliged to take a 7 series for every X amount of 3 series and so on.

digiman wrote: »
    Will be a pretty specific buyer for that, would be hard enough to live with I’d say. Would be a harsh ride for a daily driver, they were being given away in the UK last year I remember reading, around the same monthly as the X3 M40i.

I’d guess the boss might be rolling around in that for a few months as I agree that’s a pretty hard car to shift in Ireland.
    The ride is bad from various reviews I’ve seen. Even Joe Achilles didn’t think a lot of it.

Cars like that X3M being taken into stock can unlock larger allocations of the more bread and butter models eg 320ds and 520ds from the distributor. You are only allowed a certain allocation of lower level models but by taking in more expensive and harder to move stock eg 7s, X5/6/7 you can up your allocation of the higher selling models thus increasing turnover and cashflow. I understand you are obliged to take a 7 series for every X amount of 3 series and so on.
    Yeah I remember hearing that from the guy I deal with there.
    Of all the dealers Colm Quinn seem to get some very exotic and expensive stuff. Just lately they have some loaded x5’s all near 150k in stock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Casati

digiman wrote: »

Just checked retail on a base new model is 130k so presuming that car has a few extra's its a decent 30k drop off a new price. Surely that will help move it along?

For the craic I double checked and that one has the Ultimate Pack which is €15.5k so retail is over €150k. Its lost €40k after travelling less than 4000 km's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,529 ✭✭✭MarkN

Some people are bonkers! 120k. Holy jaysus.

Someone went truly mad on the options list there, fair play to the original owner but my money would be on it being an original BMW UK car. Fully ventilated and massaging seats are a rare option on a 5 Series, shame the interior isn't oyster to spruce it up but would get over that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭hooch-85

That X3M just popped up on my instagram feed. Richie from Pro parts has either bought it or is just test driving