Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where would you go next...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

MM did you sell the 330d ? I noticed the ad is down. I'm was one of the people who had it in my favourites on Donedeal. :pac:

Ah so you were one of 75 :D

Yeah I had a chap call up to view it on Sunday. He came back on Monday and bought it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

JoeA3 wrote: »
    I like him and watch a lot of his stuff. But yeah, he is very heavily biased towards BMW, so you cannot expect much balance in his videos. He’s effectively the media face for his mate in that dealership, TRL deals.

I commented on one of the 7 series videos he made with TRL, he deleted it. I was pointing out the ridiculousness of what the dealer was saying "you can't look at the list price thinking "ooo, it looks very expensive", you need to look at the monthly and they become a lot more affordable".

Absolutely ludicrous statements, which he makes about 3 times in the course of 5 minutes. You'd swear he was talking to a couple of hundred thousand 18 year old lads, which in fairness he probably is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,601 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

I commented on one of the 7 series videos he made with TRL, he deleted it. I was pointing out the ridiculousness of what the dealer was saying "you can't look at the list price thinking "ooo, it looks very expensive", you need to look at the monthly and they become a lot more affordable".

Absolutely ludicrous statements, which he makes about 3 times in the course of 5 minutes. You'd swear he was talking to a couple of hundred thousand 18 year old lads, which in fairness he probably is.

You were right to point it out, that is a ridiculous statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sexual Chocolate

Ah so you were one of 75 :D

Yeah I had a chap call up to view it on Sunday. He came back on Monday and bought it.

Happy days. If I was in a financial position I'd of strongly considered it myself.

Any idea on what's next ?

Buddy Bubs wrote: »
    You were right to point it out, that is a ridiculous statement.

Not so much in the UK where PCP deals with tiny deposits are common.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

hooch-85 wrote: »
    I like Joe A. There's definitely a lot worse than him at it. Schmee drives me absolutely insane, I couldn't watch a minute of anything with him in it.
    My favourite car guy on the internet is probably Harry Metcalfe. Henry Catchpoole's Carfection channel is excellent too.

Did any of ye watch Evo Car of the Year on ITV4? The second part is on tonight, it was very good. The new M2 CS is in it as well as the Cayman GTS and Yaris GR and the usual plethora of supercars. They were testing them all over two days at Anglesea and the second part is them driving in Scotland. On at 8pm tonight

Love Harry Metcalfe, the guy is of course a legend in British Car Journalism (founder of Evo for those who don't know).

His videos are top class, his passion for cars is so clear and his knowledge second to none.

Most importantly, he's not afraid to dissect all the BS about how much EVs are supposedly better for the planet than ICE cars with proper facts and figures brilliantly.

Happy days. If I was in a financial position I'd of strongly considered it myself.

Any idea on what's next ?

I had an idea but that’s gone by the wayside. No clue now to be honest but suffice it to say I’ll be without a car for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Spotted the missing ad too MM. Whats the plan next? Petrol anyway I assume?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,834 ✭✭✭carsfan2

I would agree generally as all they talk about is the monthlies especially that TRL chap Tony Lewis that he gets cars from but for a business tool like the seven series for Joe’s chauffeur company the monthly outgoing on the car is pretty important.
    Also those seven series seem to get deals on them in the U.K. that bear little relationship to the list price. Between BMW discount, dealer contributions and low rate pcp the monthly can look very good even with minimal upfront.
    It appears the majority in the U.K. buy on pcp now.
    I’m assuming Joe’s seven is going back now his company is folding.

Spotted the missing ad too MM. Whats the plan next? Petrol anyway I assume?

There was a plan but no longer. I’m going to have to think about it for a while but you’re right, definitely petrol.

Did you follow up on the 330e Buddy Bubbs or get trade in value for your A6 against it?

carsfan2 wrote: »
    Did you follow up on the 330e Buddy Bubbs or get trade in value for your A6 against it?

No, had a busy last couple of days in work. Had to do my Christmas present shopping today too! I assume they'll be open on Monday so I will make it my business to drop in.

Edit...they might not be open actually under normal circumstances but presume I can contact them.

I’d say most garages are reopening between Christmas and new year alright unless nphet get their way.

Yeah its nphet I'm thinking of. Its the time of year they should be open alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

Small rwd fun, this thing is great craic. Son took delivery this morning. No tax or insurance, and it's a feckin ev....

IMG-20201225-102226.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

vintagevrs wrote: »
    Small rwd fun, this thing is great craic. Son took delivery this morning. No tax or insurance, and it's a feckin ev....

Little update, this thing is pretty realistic. It comes set up for off-road and we had it on tarmac mostly today, and the super soft suspension really didn't work. Its completely adjustable though with recommended set ups in the manual for different use.
    I have just adjusted the front and rear suspension height and the preload on the front springs to apparently help turn in which is hilarious.

It also has an open diff which is really apparent when using it, but ye can get an lsd for it, or lock this one up, which again is hilarious.

I'm pretty well oiled myself at this stage so not sure taking it out now is a wise idea :)

Carwow review of revised 5 series BMW with 550i.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c_3hJJECfnI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,841 ✭✭✭maddness

Carwow review of revised 5 series BMW with 550i.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c_3hJJECfnI

I’d love one, far more subtle than a M5. Debadged no one would even look at it and you’ve 500bhp plus.

maddness wrote: »
    I’d love one, far more subtle than a M5. Debadged no one would even look at it and you’ve 500bhp plus.

Just looked there, 118k here before you start adding options!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭digiman

We badly need a 555e :D:D

digiman wrote: »
    We badly need a 555e :D:D

Yeah stick a hybrid on it and it would be about €80,000!

Can’t imagine BMW Ireland have their order books full with them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,446 ✭✭✭Wailin

The 545e is almost 400 bhp, more than quick enough. Does 60 in 4.6 sec. Starts at 75k.

Law of diminishing returns sets in pretty quickly in Ireland when moving up the engine ranges. As a tool for driving I mean, obviously not for an enthusiastic as a collectors item. For me, my point of diminishing returns is about 200bhp which is in around what I have had in last 4 or 5 cars. Fast enough to merge easily on motorways at 120kph, plenty of overtaking ability when needed and never feel laboured or struggling. Might not win every traffic light grand prix if thats your thing but in everyday use, the price jumps don't justify what you can do.
    But I see the hybrids like 545e and a6 55tfsi being top of the range in Ireland within a couple of years. Things like this 550i, while a beautiful machine, won't sell.

The 545e is the model to have here, just €8,500 dearer than a 520d (after the grants have been applied) but a classic straight six petrol, 394 bhp and super cheap tax.

If we weren't so constrained by tax then yeah I totally agree the M550i has the makings of a phenomenal car and I'd rather one over an M5, I can't see how you'd ever need more than the 523 bhp it offers and it's such a big and heavy car anyway the idea of buying an M5 for the handling and steering prowess is a bit ridiculous anyway (IMO). The M550i will do 99% of what the M5 will do for far less money and be far more subtle with it (which I personally like as in the good old days, M cars were only noticeable to enthusiasts and BMW enthusiasts at that).

The 545e is the model to have here, just €8,500 dearer than a 520d (after the grants have been applied) but a classic straight six petrol, 394 bhp and super cheap tax.

If we weren't so constrained by tax then yeah I totally agree the M550i has the makings of a phenomenal car and I'd rather one over an M5, I can't see how you'd ever need more than the 523 bhp it offers and it's such a big and heavy car anyway the idea of buying an M5 for the handling and steering prowess is a bit ridiculous anyway (IMO). The M550i will do 99% of what the M5 will do for far less money and be far more subtle with it (which I personally like as in the good old days, M cars were only noticeable to enthusiasts and BMW enthusiasts at that).

We are in 100% agreement!

....... as in the good old days, M cars were only noticeable to enthusiasts and BMW enthusiasts at that).

Dunno about that TBH..... Before m sport was a thing an actual M car stood out to anyone remotely interested in cars. Plenty 3 & 5 series of old didn't even have alloy wheels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭digiman

It’s a pity you lose so much of the boot in the BMW saloon hybrids. I’ve said it before a few times but I really wish they had of done a 545e touring, would have been the perfect car as you wouldn’t notice the boot space lost anywhere near as much and get all the other benefits that have been mentioned in the last few posts.

The 745e is another car that is so much cheaper with the hybrid engine, given they are usually very high speced anyway you could have a 201 in here for about €70-75k.

digiman wrote: »
    It’s a pity you lose so much of the boot in the BMW saloon hybrids. I’ve said it before a few times but I really wish they had of done a 545e touring, would have been the perfect car as you wouldn’t notice the boot space lost anywhere near as much and get all the other benefits that have been mentioned in the last few posts.

The 745e is another car that is so much cheaper with the hybrid engine, given they are usually very high speced anyway you could have a 201 in here for about €70-75k.

I completely agree, and it's also worth noting that you're lumbered with a much smaller fuel tank (a pet hate of mine, I want at least 600-700 km between fuel stops) and then there is the 150-200 kg weight penalty - not what you want when you're buying an 'ultimate driving machine' (though the modern BMWs are numb compared to the old ones anyway - the electric steering is the problem).

It just comes back to value when buying new, and then you have to think of the running costs (use it right and the 545e could be a lot cheaper to run although I suspect that equally applies to a 520d as I doubt you'd break 35-40 mpg from a 545e on a motorway once the battery is depleted whereas a 520d should top 60 in its sleep) and resale value, I can't argue with €8.5k more for a 545e over a 520d and then there is the perceived social status of having a plug-in not to mention the cheap tax so it's going to be far more desirable as well as so much quicker.

So it's not the best 5 series, but it is the best 5 series you can buy in Ireland without a doubt.

Same goes for the 7 series, but the ability to run in electric only for 60 km is another advantage, a luxury saloon is meant to be about the isolation and refinement, and no noise from a combustion engine is a clear advantage in this segment of the market.

I'm definitely not a fan of EVs but the one place I do see a use for them is in this end of the market where refinement is so important, however a plug-in 7 has enough range for most journeys but the convenience of a petrol engine when you want to go that bit further.

I think there is a walk up of closer to 11k between the 520d m sport at 60k and 545e at 76k less 5k grant. the 530e m sport is now 58k after grants so is probably where the money will go from now.
    A buyer is at the 545e level is going to add at least 5k plus worth of extras like plus pack, tech pack etc so it is going to still be the bones of a 80k car. pretty rare.I guess there will only be a few sold here every year.
    The phev's do seem to be where the value vs. performance in the BMW range is at the moment in Ireland I agree.

Coincidentally, I was doing some long overdue cleaning out of some cupboards as you do at Christmas and found the order for my 2013 BMW 330d touring. It was a bare bones m sport with vis pack, privacy glass, "extended black panel display" and sliding armrest. I remember heated seats were like 450 euro and I was too tight to pay for them. It was almost a grand more expensive than the much more optioned 330e touring I have ordered. Normally cars have gotten a lot more expensive in the last few years but with the low vrt and grant on the phev models the opposite is the case here.