Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where would you go next...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mickiemcfist

vintagevrs wrote: »
    My car has black stickers.

Bothered!?!:pac:

vicky-pollard-1-402x410.jpg

Haha sorry just personal preference! One of mine has red calipers, my mam calls it "the drug dealers car"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,134 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Would ye pick the 440i over an S5? Seems to be good value in the UK and the VRT is reasonable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Wailin

100%. Sportier and more of a drivers car. Reviews of the S5 all seem to moan how numb the steering and handling is. 440i doesn't have that at all and is class leading in that department. I do like the look of the s5 though and it's interior is well ahead of the 4, but the 440i in right spec is just class.

Edit: I think MarkN reviewed the S5 and loved it if I'm not mistaken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭SummerK

Just spotted an ad from a main dealer.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/9-speed-auto-4000-scrappage-video-tour/24451944?campaign=2

He says 'This Diesel 9 Speed Smart Plus Spec Civic Sedan was €32,500 when new ... HOWEVER... it is now being offered at €26,950 ...'

I was laughing when I read the above text and I could not understand what he is trying to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭hooch-85

Haha i know Brian, bought a car from him privately years ago, his videos are something Mike Brewer would be proud of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,841 ✭✭✭maddness

Would ye pick the 440i over an S5? Seems to be good value in the UK and the VRT is reasonable.

Fast Audi’s are mostly disappointing on anything but a straight road, fast but just not fun. I’m sure many here will disagree but I always feel people buy fast Audi’s for the looks and the image and not for the driving experience. Fast BMW’s are usually very different. They do make lovely car interiors though.

SummerK wrote: »

He says 'This Diesel 9 Speed Smart Plus Spec Civic Sedan was €32,500 when new ... HOWEVER... it is now being offered at €26,950 ...'..............

......... - This Diesel 9 Speed Smart Plus Spec Civic Sedan was €32,500 when new ... HOWEVER... it is now being offered at €26,950 ... A N D ... We can offer you €4,000 SCRAPPAGE for any old car you have.

So, €22,950 if you've any sort of yoke to trade in?
    The pre scrappage price is more then a tad high to put off most folk looking for one of them though I'd guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,832 ✭✭✭carsfan2

Wailin wrote: »
    100%. Sportier and more of a drivers car. Reviews of the S5 all seem to moan how numb the steering and handling is. 440i doesn't have that at all and is class leading in that department. I do like the look of the s5 though and it's interior is well ahead of the 4, but the 440i in right spec is just class.

Edit: I think MarkN reviewed the S5 and loved it if I'm not mistaken.

I think he had the RS5 which is next rung up.

Audi limerick have 181 S5 for sale at 60k which is a chunk of change more than 440i in Waterford.

carsfan2 wrote: »
    I think he had the RS5 which is next rung up.

Audi limerick have 181 S5 for sale at 60k which is a chunk of change more than 440i in Waterford.

Ah, different league altogether. RS5 is M4 competitor. I know which I'd rather there too!

I like the refresh on the 5 series.
    Different enough to arouse interest but no major changes to annoy existing owners.
    For those that like to play around, it is up on the U.K. configurator already.
    Some nice new colours and the m sport plus pack is a must, great new style alloys and a black grille that really finish the look.

I read the 6gt is being axed in U.K. due to lack of sales so assume it’s gone for us too.
    I hope the brits buy loads of Tax friendly 545e models and we can import them in a year or two!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,530 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Brilliant news, the 5 series once more has a V8 petrol option, even in Ireland:D:D!

Of course, they never dropped the engine in left hand drive markets, but we've been denied a V8 5 series unless you went the whole hog and got an M5 since the current generation came out.

A more realistic option for someone wanting a fast 5 series here will be the 545e, with 394 bhp but a battery that's good for nearly 60 km, pity it's xDrive only, but with 394 bhp, it probably needs it all the same. The 530d and 530e have been significantly upgraded compared to the pre-facelift; mild hybrid technology for both and a fairly sizeable power boost (plus an upgraded battery with up to 67 km range for the 530e) - 288 bhp for the 530e and 282 bhp for the 530d.

Not sure if they're bringing in the 540d, or the rear wheel drive 540i - we didn't get either pre-facelift after all.

All in all, this is quite a significant upgrade on the pre-facelifted car. The front reminds me of the 3 series, much more aggressive and actually it makes the pre-facelift look a bit dated already. When you see how they butchered the 7 series last year, this is a far more successful mid-life update.

I like the refresh on the 5 series.
    Different enough to arouse interest but no major changes to annoy existing owners.
    For those that like to play around, it is up on the U.K. configurator already.
    Some nice new colours and the m sport plus pack is a must, great new style alloys and a black grille that really finish the look.

I read the 6gt is being axed in U.K. due to lack of sales so assume it’s gone for us too.
    I hope the brits buy loads of Tax friendly 545e models and we can import them in a year or two!

You can be sure they will, between 12 and 15% company car tax for a 545e compared to at best 28% car tax on even the previous fleet favourite (and most fuel-efficient non-plug-in version of the range), the 520d. The 530e will easily be the biggest seller over there, as its company car tax rate is only 10% if you choose the rear wheel drive model, but the Brits do like their go faster versions of cars, so I'd imagine they'll buy a good few 545es, too.

The overwhelming majority of cars in this class in the UK are bought as company cars, that's why there will be so many plug-ins sold.

If BMW did an EV fridge freezer version of the 5 series, that, like all other EVs, would be eligible for no company car tax over there (in the first year of ownership).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,176 ✭✭✭Top Dog

Question is, will that still be viable after Brexit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,194 ✭✭✭digiman

Tanzanite blue, red breaks and laser lights looks pretty fecking awesome

Top Dog wrote: »
    Question is, will that still be viable after Brexit?

That seems to be the great unknown. Officially, there will have to be import duties of 10% in the event of a no-deal Brexit (and possibly VAT on top of that for good measure), because of the EU's common external tariff. It's made more complicated by the fact that the North has some sort of hybrid arrangement whereby everything gets checked at the ports so as to avoid a hard border on the island.

So that may leave open the option of sourcing cars from up there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,176 ✭✭✭Top Dog

So that may leave open the option of sourcing cars from up there?
    Live in hope, otherwise it's duties + vat + vrt + nox = :eek: + :(

..........The 530d and 530e have been significantly upgraded compared to the pre-facelift; mild hybrid technology for both and a fairly sizeable power boost (plus an upgraded battery with up to 67 km range for the 530e) - 288 bhp for the 530e ...........

They're equipping a plug in hybrid with mild hybrid technology also?
    Makes no sense surely?

Doing some back and forth with a sales rep at morrisons regarding the M3. It's 2016 but has 3 owners already. Apparently bought as a bmw demo which goes down as an owner and then one guy bought it as a weekend car to go along with his 7 series, traded it in and next owner bought it in 2018 with only 14k km. So next buyer will be 4th in 4 yrs. Does not look good when it comes to trade time what do you think lads?

I keep telling myself a car like that doesn't make much sense. High running costs and less practical/comfortable than a 5 or new 3. I could get a nicely specced 330i for about 5k more brand new. Yet, I keep coming back to it as a move to an M car that can still do as a daily. Anyone here ever run such a car as a daily and is it worth the extra outlay over my current 535d which is powerful but economical and cheap enough to run?

............ So next buyer will be 4th in 4 yrs. Does not look good when it comes to trade time what do you think lads?..........

Don't think it matters that much ........ over the next 3 years it'll be dropping €30k regardless of the number of previous owners.

Yeah for sure, but that's for all cars, 330i included so it's something we need to accept now at this stage. The days of cars holding there value are long gone. That M3 has already depreciated 50% in just 4 years.

I'm sure government clamp down on such cars will only ramp up over the next few yrs too making them even more costly to run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭GustavoFring

If I'm honest I'd be more concerned with the history, condition and what work is required in terms of servicing next. A lot of people buy one, keep for a year or two and move it on again once the itch is scratched. It's nothing too unusual with one.

I've been reading up a bit on the m3 forums and it appears to not be unusual for owners to trade them in after a year/eighteen months.
    Either they get bored and move on to the next performance car that they fancy or is in vogue, or they find that the m3 is not civilized or comfortable enough as a daily or conversely some find it is too civilized and not raw enough.
    While never cheap cheap, they are vastly more affordable in the UK or US on lease or pcp.

I wouldn't worry about that pattern of ownership on the 2016 car. I would query service history and likely further service requirements.
    While nobody can tell the future, I would also look for an indication of likely trade in value in two/three years time. They know if it will perform better or same/worse than more mainstream car.

have they given you idea of trade in on your own at this stage or what deal is available?

Our car ordered start of January finally arrived and I am picking up down there at weekend so was going to have a look at that m3 myself as a tyre kicking exercise. Apparently trade is booming since they reopened according to the fella I deal with.

It's service record is spot on. Had the all important run service at 1800 km, then 12,600 km and 18,500 km. It's due the next service which would be before sale I'm guessing.

Never discussed trade in at all, I never told him what I was trading, just the history of the car. He described it as one of the best examples of an M car available, only 32k km.

Yeah, I'd say it's the type of car that's nice to have for awhile, but it could be one you'd tire of fairly quickly once the novelty wears off. The comfort of a 5 series is always nice on long trips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,856 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

It's service record is spot on. Had the all important run service at 1800 km, then 12,600 km and 18,500 km. It's due the next service which would be before sale I'm guessing.

Never discussed trade in at all, I never told him what I was trading, just the history of the car. He described it as one of the best examples of an M car available, only 32k km.

Yeah, I'd say it's the type of car that's nice to have for awhile, but it could be one you'd tire of fairly quickly once the novelty wears off. The comfort of a 5 series is always nice on long trips.

owning an m3 is always worth while, i had two back in the e46 days, and id have another if i could.

To be honest , I would guess the 440i would deliver more comfort day to day and 90% of the thrills but less drama and expense.

Yeah it's one to take for a spin too which I may once I can.

Well wear with the new motor btw, and get back on that M3 if you get a look at it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,134 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Is it the sunroof swinging you towards that one?
    7k cheaper if you go manual, https://www.usedcarsni.com/252064185 it's even got a handbrake : )

I'd actually prefer it without sunroof and carbon roof instead. That's a gorgeous colour, but I don't think I could have it outside my front door!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,621 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

The two year BMW AUC warranty is worth it's weight in gold on a M car. They are mouth wateringly expensive to fix if they go wrong.

To be honest in the G20 I'm not sure there's any need for the full fat M model. The 340i is now up to 374 bhp and it does 0-100 in 4.4 seconds. It's more power than any M3 except for the E90 or F30 versions, and more torque than anything bar the F30, too. Not sure how much more anyone would need.

The only things the M3 will have are the manual gearbox and rear wheel drive - but whatever about rear wheel drive, I bet most of them sold here will be the automatic. And, the M340i is available with RWD in the states so they could easily do it elsewhere if they wanted to. If you really wanted the manual and RWD, it's a lot of extra money - even I couldn't justify that.

I wouldn't want to put anyone off an M3, I've driven one before and it is a completely different level, but my hunch is the latest M340i is so good there's not much need for anything more, and it will be much cheaper to run, BMW parts are not cheap at the best of times and you've the M tax on top of that if you get a proper M car.