Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where would you go next...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,251 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

I agree the model 3 could look better, but it doesnt look bad persay. As for the steering wheel falling off, thats a bad problem, but with a million cars out there there is bound to be some issues. I wonder if you google that same issue on other brands what you will get. Every fault that any tesla gets is tweeted or posted, thats just tesla owners are techsavy and prone to airing their dirty laundy in public . I remember the new plaid model S was on the Ring testing and one of the test cars failed and was trailer off...it was all over the web. The same week a Porsche GT2 RS was taken of too...on fire and not a word about it.

Mark you can have my model 3 for a review any time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,136 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Steering wheel is one thing, the wompy wheels top it off though. https://www.flickr.com/photos/136377865@N05/sets/72157658490111523/
    It looks good from the outside, nice place to sit as well, I need some time alone with a beer and the doorhandles, we can't seem to bond.

My opinion is we will be stuck on electric cars with no other option (bar classics) at some point in the future so while we have the option I’d have little or no interest in getting one.

The lack of engine noise is also a large percentage of the experience of driving a fast car taken away imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,402 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

It's a funny one, as I totally agree that engine noise is really important. I'm considering changing my current car to a petrol solely for this reason. However, part of me knows that we have just been brought up and conditioned to like engine noise and associate loud vroom vroom noises with fast cars.

I wonder when we moved from horses to cars did people complain about the lack of smell of horse ****, and it's just not the same? Progress is hard to argue with. Something being cheaper to run, less moving parts, quieter, faster, better tech etc is quantifiable better in almost ever way.

I'd still prefer something with an exhaust for a while yet though. If I was fortunate enough to be able to buy a new 3 performance, id maybe change my mind though and fair play to those buying them before the rest of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,832 ✭✭✭carsfan2

The only fully electric car I’ve driven is a Hyundai kona a friend had on loan. As a car it was an awful plasticky cheap feeling yoke but the electric drive was a revelation. Smooth and swift. I can only imagine the Tesla is better again.
    I guess you soon forget about engine noise etc.
    I wonder how many people that Change to electric cars, change back to ice for a daily driver? Not many I’m guessing.

vintagevrs wrote: »
    It's a funny one, as I totally agree that engine noise is really important. I'm considering changing my current car to a petrol solely for this reason. However, part of me knows that we have just been brought up and conditioned to like engine noise and associate loud vroom vroom noises with fast cars.

Ahh we like bang bang, pop pop, woosh, rat-a-tat-tat, boom, all the manly words, don't think it's social conditioning. My 205 GTI used to shoot flames out the back thought it was the coolest thing ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭hooch-85

Ahh we like bang bang, pop pop, woosh, rat-a-tat-tat, boom, all the manly words, don't think it's social conditioning. My 205 GTI used to shoot flames out the back thought it was the coolest thing ever.

Are you still looking at 997's? Nice looking example here, bit on the expensive side though

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/porsche-911-carrera-997/24774434

hooch-85 wrote: »
    Are you still looking at 997's? Nice looking example here, bit on the expensive side though

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/porsche-911-carrera-997/24774434

Yea seen that one looks a nice clean example, expensive though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,312 ✭✭✭User1998

I bought a Golf GTE thinking I’d be rallying it using all of its 205 bhp but I ended up just charging it every day and only driving electric because I liked it so much. I used to hate when the engine would kick in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,483 ✭✭✭MarkN

Mark you can have my model 3 for a review any time.

Thanks for that, very kind. We'll see how the next few months work out!

I just watched your BMW one series review Mark. Another great job, you're doing a great job. reviews keep getting slicker.
    one thing I would love to see would be you giving the list price of the car and what options the version you are testing has. Would be great to put the car in context.
    Keep up the good work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,621 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

MarkN's 1 Series review for those interested:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,841 ✭✭✭maddness

bazz26 wrote: »
    MarkN's 1 Series review for those interested:

Yeah great review Mark, keep up,the good work. That’s a incredibly ugly car though, particularly in that nasty grey.

I used hate that grey but now think it looks good especially on the one series and I think Ford have it on the focus st.
    The new 2 series gran coupe Makes the 1 series look good. Except for the grille it’s not bad and is better in the metal. The 2 series is beyond redemption.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

What do you all make of the new S-class? Controversial interior to say the least...

https://www.rushlane.com/2021-mercedes-benz-s-class-w223-leaked-12360904.html

2020-mercedes-s-class-exteriors-interiors-leak-3.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Wailin

carsfan2 wrote: »
    I used hate that grey but now think it looks good especially on the one series and I think Ford have it on the focus st.
    The new 2 series gran coupe Makes the 1 series look good. Except for the grille it’s not bad and is better in the metal. The 2 series is beyond redemption.

Yeah I agree, I think that grey is the pick of the limited colours on offer for me. The blue doesn't do it at all for some reason.

What do you all make of the new S-class? Controversial interior to say the least...

https://www.rushlane.com/2021-mercedes-benz-s-class-w223-leaked-12360904.html

2020-mercedes-s-class-exteriors-interiors-leak-3.jpg

The interior almost looks like the interior a Korean car company puts into their flagship model a year after Mercedes introduces a new S class.
    Certainly it’s controversial and I wouldn’t want to be the fifth owner ten years down the line if anything goes wrong.

I think the era of the super saloon flagship must be up though with the rise of the luxury suv surely?

Cheers lads, I've one more car left on the hard drive and then I'm done. Missed out on some great cars over the last few months that were booked in but hopefully by June maybe there'll be a bit of movement. Dealerships that are opening next week are for servicing only so it's still not really going to help the motor industry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,857 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

MarkN wrote: »
    Cheers lads, I've one more car left on the hard drive and then I'm done. Missed out on some great cars over the last few months that were booked in but hopefully by June maybe there'll be a bit of movement. Dealerships that are opening next week are for servicing only so it's still not really going to help the motor industry.

indo are reporting sales from monday aswell now apparently!

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/car-dealerships-who-meet-covid-19-guidelines-expected-to-reopen-for-sales-on-monday-39200568.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,793 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

The interior almost looks like the interior a Korean car company puts into their flagship model a year after Mercedes introduces a new S class.
    Certainly it’s controversial and I wouldn’t want to be the fifth owner ten years down the line if anything goes wrong.

I think the era of the super saloon flagship must be up though with the rise of the luxury suv surely?

I love that. Suddenly makes the Audi A8 interior oldhat.
    Love the outside too. Very much in line with Cls and all latest mercedes.

Im not a fan of the suv in general. Long may the S Class be the flagship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,530 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

That interior is worse than anything Tesla could ever have imagined, and that's saying something!

I hate touch screens, and just look at that steering wheel, even Tesla saw fit to give the driver a proper size and shape steering wheel.

The best car in the world - not any more if that's what the final interior is going to look like.

Tynan Motors Kia are opening for sales on Monday. Just an example.

It seems to have changed quickly, I spoke to a dealer manager on Friday last and it was service only for next week at that point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,212 ✭✭✭shanec1928

The guards have a few focus’s in that colour.

It seems to have changed quickly, I spoke to a dealer manager on Friday last and it was service only for next week at that point.

Some sales have been working away Under the radar remotely I believe.
    A friend whose neighbour sells cars in main dealer in limerick said they have been doing deals On line subject to final inspection post lockdown.
    I got a cold call on Monday from sales in Colm Quinn BMW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 874 ✭✭✭bf

Two neighbours have picked up brand new cars in the last 48 hours, so some dealers definitely operating in sales

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,530 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Sales are allowed to re-commence from Monday so long as social distancing is maintained.

Having said all that, at this stage, if I was waiting for a new car, I'd hold out until July to get the 202 reg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,857 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

Sales are allowed to re-commence from Monday so long as social distancing is maintained.

Having said all that, at this stage, if I was waiting for a new car, I'd hold out until July to get the 202 reg.

202 reg is meaningless though anyone valuing a car in my experience gives no extra for a 2 v 1 in the same year.

Cyrus wrote: »
    202 reg is meaningless though anyone valuing a car in my experience gives no extra for a 2 v 1 in the same year.

Agreed. Salesmen have told me that they value both the same come trade in time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,793 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Ya you wont get more for a 202. A pre reg 201 could be a good bet in these times.