Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

biggest regrets?

• 23-11-2015 12:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭

I was reading about the biggest death bed regrets people have and the same ones come up again and again. Most of them revolve around spending more time with family or telling someone they love them. I think I'll regret the things I didn't do more than the ones I did. What regrets do you have in life?

I suppose mine is not telling that friend I loved her. Years ago now but I sometimes think it would do me good to get it off my chest. :o

Biggest regrets and what you intend to do about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Surely if you're alive and wondering what regrets you'll have on your death bed, you could do something about it now, so you won't have those regrets?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

I've made a lot of mistakes in my life, but there is really nothing that I would change because they brought me to where I am now and they have made me the person that I am now so I don't have any regrets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Medusa22 wrote: »
    I've made a lot of mistakes in my life, but there is really nothing that I would change because they brought me to where I am now and they have made me the person that I am now so I don't have any regrets.

But if you did change you'd say the same?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

NIMAN wrote: »
    Surely if you're alive and wondering what regrets you'll have on your death bed, you could do something about it now, so you won't have those regrets?

Yea true N. OP edited with my regret :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

I was very sick for quite a while and I regretted loads of things (not being more social, slow career progession, stressing out, not having hobbies, etc.). Then I got better and am now living the life I want, filled with the things I missed out on for so long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,895 ✭✭✭matchthis

Not replying to this thread

kneemos wrote: »
    But if you did change you'd say the same?

Yes, but I wouldn't be the same person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

What you think guys. Should I tell my friend how I felt? :o. We live in different countries now and don't feel as strong but I'd like to get it off my chest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Yes, but I wouldn't be the same person.

You'd be a different person,but wouldn't know the present person.So you'd be happy with that person and wouldn't want to change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Wasting some of my better days chasing the opposite sex or in relationships,time I'll never get back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Gaygooner

Not Coming out a lot sooner

steddyeddy wrote: »
    What you think guys. Should I tell my friend how I felt? :o. We live in different countries now and don't feel as strong but I'd like to get it off my chest.

Tell her. If she's worth loving then she's worth telling, even at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Gaygooner

If you love somebody set them free, unless she's your daughter and your Austrian

Candie wrote: »
    Tell her. If she's worth loving then she's worth telling, even at this stage.

I'm with Candie on this one, but I'm probably the worst person to ask Eddy, I couldn't keep something like that to myself, I'd have to tell someone that I loved them.

Me too. I've sent a dozen I love you texts to family on the back of the sibling thread. If I think it, I say it. There's never a good reason not to tell people they're loved.

kneemos wrote: »
    You'd be a different person,but wouldn't know the present person.So you'd be happy with that person and wouldn't want to change.

You're making my brain hurt, maybe this other me wouldn't have ended up in this conversation with you, so maybe I should have regrets :pac:

Ah I understand what you're saying, yes, any other version of me would probably be unwilling to change anything either, but who knows who she could be? She could be a heroin addict for all I know, so I won't wonder about it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

Not riding my first cousins years ago at her 21st, all the norm now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

My biggest regret?
    Not being braver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭masti123

NIMAN wrote: »

Easier said then done

Smidge wrote: »
    My biggest regret?
    Not being braver.

You're plenty brave Smidge. I really mean that. Braver than I'll ever be. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

I feel like my whole life is a disaster, I cant get a good job because of crippling anxiety but even if I didn't have anxiety there is no career I want to do or feel I'm capable of doing, I feel like my whole life is on hold till I have a stable job, getting very depressed now because I'm getting older. I hate waking up in the morning. I have regrets and will have major regrets if I can't sort myself out.

You're plenty brave Smidge. I really mean that. Braver than I'll ever be. :)

Well feck...............now you have me all sappy and you know I hate lovey dovey :D:o

Ah jeez, you just can't tell anyone that they're one of those everyday heroes anymore without them getting all teary! Pull yourself together woman!

fin12 wrote: »
    I feel like my whole life is a disaster, I cant get a good job because of crippling anxiety but even if I didn't have anxiety there is no career I want to do or feel I'm capable of doing, I feel like my whole life is on hold till I have a stable job, getting very depressed now because I'm getting older. I hate waking up in the morning. I have regrets and will have major regrets if I can't sort myself out.

Medical advice is forbidden here for good reason, but I do hope you're getting help with this, you can be helped. :)

Good posts for a mod wannabe, keep it up.

Ah jeez, you just can't tell anyone that they're one of those everyday heroes anymore without them getting all teary! Pull yourself together woman!

I'm afraid the warm salty tears would melt my frosty exterior :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Wasting time on the wrong people but you don't know that till it's too late, do you?

fin12 wrote: »

Excellent advice from Candie......
    Ask for help, its out there for the taking. Anxiety is something that, until someone has lived with it it can be dismissed as "silliness" etc.
    It SO isnt but the great thing about it is it doesn't need to control you and YOUR life. YOU can control it with help.
    Don't wait......take control. You deserve more :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

I wish I had travelled more and had much more faith in my abilities.

Good posts for a mod wannabe, keep it up.

One thing I'd never do is mod this place.

I wouldn't want to have to deal with the kind of poster who thinks being snide is hilarious, apart from anything else.

Especially given the bloody glitches :pac::D
    Pm function is gone belly up

Your on a roll now, loads of thanks whoring.

Ah jaysis....have ye no home to go to? :P:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

I don't have any serious regrets so far, I hope I never do. My biggest regrets have been not trusting my instincts when it came to certain people. In one situation I definitely saw sign posts for what was coming down the track but refused to step aside and brazened things out until the bitter end ignoring that voice inside me. I wish I'd had the guts and self belief to just walk away when my gut told me I should have.
    Maybe I learned from it but it was definitely a case of learning the hard way.

Ah jaysis....have ye no home to go to? :P:D

Boards is my home

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Regrets are like complaining about the weather. You can do feck all about them but you can buy a nice winter coat in the sales.

I don't have any serious regrets so far, I hope I never do. My biggest regrets have been not trusting my instincts when it came to certain people. In one situation I definitely saw sign posts for what was coming down the track but refused to step aside and brazened things out until the bitter end ignoring that voice inside me. I wish I'd had the guts and self belief to just walk away when my gut told me I should have.
    Maybe I learned from it but it was definitely a case of learning the hard way.

Funny that...
    I think as you get older the "voice" that niggles that you ignore when you are younger, imo, definitely has a purpose.
    We all hear it, of that I have no doubt. But maybe, and this is imoe, it's easier to ignore as listening to it may very well lead to the tougher road.
    But that road is usually that right one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Jesus AH is very self reflective tonight.

I came here to escape my life and the last few threads have me indulging in deep introspection, questioning who I am and where I'm going with my life.

Let me procrastinate in peace damn you all!!

I came here to escape my life and the last few threads have me indulging in deep introspection and questioning who I am and where I'm going.

What's in your biscuit press?

What is in your fridge?

A whole cupboard devoted to biscuits?

That is decadence defined!

I came here to escape my life and the last few threads have me indulging in deep introspection, questioning who I am and where I'm going with my life.

"Soooooo Nacho, vat zeems to be ze prablems you ar delink vit?" :D

Do you not have a goodie press?????
    For shame :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

Regrets... can you do anything about it?

No- then don't worry about it!
    Yes- then don't worry about it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭PLL

I grew up in England with an abusive mom, (my dad lived in Ireland and I visited him on school holidays). Due to the abuse I was depressed and anxious and when it came to a big piece of French coursework on top of all my other exams, I decided to drop French as it wasn't worth letting my other grades suffer. I was an A student and wanted to get those grades.

I eventually moved from England and away from the abuse when I was 18, I moved in with my dad and applied to go to college here. I wanted to do arts in UCC. I had the equivalent to 480 points so sounds like not a bother to get in, but I didn't matriculate as I had no second language so they wouldn't let me in. I was still desperate to get a place, so I decided to do a PLC in Cork that gets you into arts. Moved into a house right next to the college (CSN for anyone who knows Cork) with a group of lads, and fell in love with one of their best friends. 4 months later I was pregnant, and moved to Dublin, then Kerry (where he is from) and now we're in Galway. Engaged. With an amazing 4 year old. And I'm training to be an accountant.

None of my life would be the way it is if I had done that French coursework. Isn't that fúcking incredible.
    I spent months when UCC wouldn't let me in complaining and saying I had made such a huge mistake and regretted it so much.
    Everything happens for a reason. As cheesy as that sounds.
    I wouldn't change anything. I'm a victim of abuse telling you I wouldn't change anything.
    It has made me stronger, determined and a great, attentive and loving parent.

There will always be hard times, and there will be good too. That's life.
    I trust that the things I truly want or believe in will stir something inside me and force me down that path. Everything else, well I like having no control over it, I won't regret a decision when something bad happens. Whatever choice you make, bad things will happen.

And a whole bucketload of regrets when you open it in the morning to discover the Rich Tea are all gone.

Do you not have a goodie press?????
    For shame :eek:

I've a goody drawer in the fridge (chocolate has to be chilled!) and a corner of the bread shelf might have some shortbread biccies on it. The crisps never make it to a shelf.

A whole cupboard is just greedy!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Rich Tea- the black sheep of the biscuit family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Andre 3000

I could probably write a book about all my regrets but it'd only depress me reflecting that deeply. A lot of them would boil down to wasting precious time and procrastinating over things that needed to be done and I shyed away from them and neglecting them. Slowly improving on that though.

"If you love life, don't waste time, for time is what life is made of" - Bruce Lee.

I've a goody drawer in the fridge (chocolate has to be chilled!) and a corner of the bread shelf might have some shortbread biccies on it. The crisps never make it to a shelf.

A whole cupboard is just greedy!

Actually, there's a regret right there.....not being able to eat a whole damn box of King :(