Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

World Series of Darts Finals

• 18-11-2015 3:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,066 ✭✭✭

Yes folks it's the one we've been waiting for all year, the World Series of Darts Finals is upon us and the excitement is palpable as we will finally find out who will win the biggest glorified exhibition of the year.

The big question for me however is not so much the tournament itself but whether there will even be enough interest to merit a second page to this thread and I for one can't wait to find out :pac:

It's on ITV 4 as with all the other World Series events this year, here's the draw:

Unibet World Series of Darts Finals
    Second Round Draw & Tournament Bracket
    (1) Phil Taylor v Kyle Anderson/Dave Chisnall
    (8) Stephen Bunting v Simon Whitlock/Rowby-John Rodriguez
    (5) James Wade v Benito van de Pas/Jamie Lewis
    (4) Peter Wright v Max Hopp/Dimitri Van den Bergh
    (2) Adrian Lewis v Keegan Brown/Ian White
    (7) Gary Anderson v Terry Jenkins/Chris Dobey
    (6) Raymond van Barneveld v Michael Smith/Mark Webster
    (3) Michael van Gerwen v Devon Petersen/Robert Thornton

Unibet World Series of Darts Finals

Schedule of Play
    Saturday November 21
    Afternoon Session (12.45pm)
    First Round
    Simon Whitlock v Rowby-John Rodriguez
    Benito van de Pas v Jamie Lewis
    Max Hopp v Dimitri Van den Bergh
    Michael Smith v Mark Webster
    Keegan Brown v Ian White
    Kyle Anderson v Dave Chisnall
    Devon Petersen v Robert Thornton
    Terry Jenkins v Chris Dobey
    Best of 11 legs

Evening Session (7pm)
    Second Round
    Stephen Bunting v Whitlock/Rodriguez
    James Wade v van de Pas/J Lewis
    Peter Wright v Hopp/Van den Bergh
    Raymond van Barneveld v Smith/Webster
    Adrian Lewis v Brown/White
    Phil Taylor v K Anderson/Chisnall
    Michael van Gerwen v Petersen/Thornton
    Gary Anderson v Jenkins/Dobey
    Best of 11 legs

Sunday November 22
    Quarter-Finals
    Wade/van de Pas/J Lewis v Wright/Hopp/Van den Bergh
    Taylor/K Anderson/Chisnall v Bunting/Whitlock/Rodriguez
    A Lewis/Brown/White v G Anderson/Jenkins/Dobey
    van Barneveld/Smith/Webster v van Gerwen/Petersen/Thornton
    Best of 19 legs

Evening Session (7pm)
    Semi-Finals
    Best of 21 legs

Final
    Best of 21 legs

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

I haven't watched a single one this year so far so I doubt I will watch the "final" either.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭ComfortKid

I'm about as exited as you CartoonHead.

I'll probably watch the two evening sessions anyway, keeping an eye on the form for Wolds betting.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

I'll watch a bit of this when I can. Darts is darts, lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

Might watch some of this but it'll take 2nd or 3rd priority behind other sports on this weekend :D

Guess what.....Rob Thornton's got another injury problem!!

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/other-sports/darts/scots-darts-ace-robert-thornton-6865688

During the GSOD it was his heel that was the problem yet this article says he was hospitalized BEFORE the gsod and nothing was mentioned about it during any of his games from what I remember

• Registered Users Posts: 558 ✭✭✭buster180

Devastator wrote: »
    Might watch some of this but it'll take 2nd or 3rd priority behind other sports on this weekend :D

Guess what.....Rob Thornton's got another injury problem!!

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/other-sports/darts/scots-darts-ace-robert-thornton-6865688

During the GSOD it was his heel that was the problem yet this article says he was hospitalized BEFORE the gsod and nothing was mentioned about it during any of his games from what I remember

It was mentioned. He went to see a specialist about his foot and hoped to have it sorted before the world championships starts.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Webster played well against Smith, looking good going into the world's

jamesbere wrote: »
    Webster played well against Smith, looking good going into the world's

I really can't take to Smith. He seems like an alright lad away from oche but IMO acts incredibly arrogant for someone who's won nothing of any significance

Not sure if it's arrogance, he kicks himself if he's not hitting 180s. He comes across on stage like someone whose only half interested in been there.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭sc86

anderson has slipped back to his 2013 form of somehow loosing matches his should win easy

Not sure if it's arrogance, he kicks himself if he's not hitting 180s. He comes across on stage like someone whose only half interested in been there.

Kicks himself? He rolls his eyes and sneers at the board(like it moved on him!) anytime he doesn't throw a max or big checkout. It looks like he thinks he has a divine right to winning/hitting everything, he's not that good! I call that arrogance.
    sc86 wrote: »
    anderson has slipped back to his 2013 form of somehow loosing matches his should win easy

What goes through his head when he's playing in Scotland? Its like he feels sorry for his opponent because they're getting boo'd(like he hasn't suffered the same!) and ends up throwing it away. Done the exact same thing against Lewis few years ago playing somewhere in Scotland, well ahead and got beat.

Quarter-Finals

James Wade v Peter Wright
    Phil Taylor v Stephen Bunting
    Adrian Lewis v Terry Jenkins
    Raymond van Barneveld v Michael van Gerwen
    Best of 19 legs

Evening Session (7pm)
    Semi-Finals

Taylor/Bunting v Wade/Wright
    Lewis/Jenkins v van Barneveld/van Gerwen
    Best of 21 legs

At this stage I'd say it'l be Taylor/MVG final....same as GSOD and could be same outcome

• Registered Users Posts: 6,208 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

wright played decent to beat wade 101 average,cant see bunting ousting taylor here

10-3! I had PT -2.5 legs as I thought Bunting couldn't be as bad as he has looked recently.....I was wrong. Should have went -5.5 like my 1st instinct said :D

Lewis is only 30 and looks fatter every time he's on tv. His cheeks look like they're at tipping point to turn into looking like droopy

10-3! I had PT -2.5 legs as I thought Bunting couldn't be as bad as he has looked recently.....I was wrong. Should have went -5.5 like my 1st instinct said :D

Lewis is only 30 and looks fatter every time he's on tv. His cheeks look like they're at tipping point to turn into looking like droopy

The camera adds ten pounds, HD cameras add 10 stone

• Registered Users Posts: 6,208 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

wonder are they contracted to wear the same shirts all the time,boring as fcuk

The camera adds ten pounds, HD cameras add 10 stone

Well theres multiple cameras on stage :D

No I don't think so. They probably have a shirt manufacturer that sponsor them but I think they could change designs in they wanted. Most players don't bother but theres a few that do change their shirt every few years

I doubt it, I've never seen Peter Wright wear the same thing twice.

Great match between mvg and barney, well worth staying in to watch

Big phew there from MVG, 7-3 down came back to win 10-8. A semi/finals night doesn't feel right anymore if MVG ain't roaring at it.

Quite enjoyed the games this afternoon

• Registered Users Posts: 12,667 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

As usual Wade, Barney and Bunting all collapse. Typical

Ally Dick wrote:

They were expected to lose so I wouldn't say collapsed.

Ally Dick wrote: »

:eek::confused:
    ComfortKid wrote: »
    They were expected to lose so I wouldn't say collapsed.

Exactly. Someones talkin through their dick! :D Taylor & MVG were both huge favorites to win(about 1/6). Wade was the slightest of slight favorite with the bookies (5/6,Wright evens)

Good win for Wright. I just hope it doesn't take too much out of him for the final

monkey9 wrote: »
    Good win for Wright. I just hope it doesn't take too much out of him for the final

The crowd are going to go nuts booing whoever plays him in the final...could be a decent bet no matter who he plays

If it's Van Gerwen, i'd say he could handle it well enough. For all the stick Wright gives Van Gerwen at times, whether it's all playful or not, he doesn't ever seem to back up his words when he comes up against him on the oche.

I think that mental factor of playing MVG could prove more relevant than the crowd.

But we'll see what happens in this second semi final first.

If it's Van Gerwen, i'd say he could handle it well enough. For all the stick Wright gives Van Gerwen at times, whether it's all playful or not, he doesn't ever seem to back up his words when he comes up against him on the oche.

I think that mental factor of playing MVG could prove more relevant than the crowd.

But we'll see what happens in this second semi final first.

He did say recently that the booing from the crowd effected him against Thornton in the grand prix final. Last week in a match he said he lost concentration in the game because he heard booing then was trying to work out what the crowd were singing. Even earlier against Barney he didn't look at his best and he just had the boo's from people wanting the underdog to win.

I think if the crowd get behind him, roar and shouting along with him on his big scores then it really pushes him on.

I'm just looking 7 MVG 180s in this game to finally get into profit on the weekends betting :D after that I dont care cos II'll stick the lot on Wright in the final ;)

Some darts by mvg, wonder can he keep that standard in the final

9/2 for a Wright win :D;)

Need lots(13 or more) 180s in this to have a strong finish

I cannot see anything other than an MVG win here. Wright has a mental block when it comes to Van Gerwen.

I'd really like to see Wright win though. He's come on heaps and bounds the last three or so years, it'd be nice to see him win a tv tournament.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,667 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Wright's a choker. Hasn't a prayer

I cannot see anything other than an MVG win here. Wright has a mental block when it comes to Van Gerwen.

I'd really like to see Wright win though. He's come on heaps and bounds the last three or so years, it'd be nice to see him win a tv tournament.

He silenced the crowd in he 1st 2 legs....not a good sign for Wright