If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

GK training log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Tues 16th

4.5 miles GA
    Nice run no watch well worn path around ST Anne's lovely evening, more
    people lying around enjoying evening sun than running. Really enjoyable
    concentrating an form and breathing.

Thurs 18th

4.5 miles GA
    Another run around St Anne's same route but with watch, more looking
    at watch to make sure in correct zone, not as easy to get in tune, so
    might leave watch behind for next while on these runs.

Saturday 20th

10 miles endurance taking in FD 10 miles with MrsKG on her first
    10 mile race, plan was between 9-9.15 mile and mostly kept to plan
    started with MRSMc also for company for first few miles, nice to get
    shout from Aquinn & annap fair play being out in those conditions
    Cheering all along, met RedRunner in last mile and he helped keep
    MrsKG on track for last mile as she was tired listening to me, thanks
    for company and encouragement R, got shout from FBOT in last few
    Hundred Meters and MrsKG found something and went for the line,
    I was laughing with amusement as she was about to die 3 mins back
    up the road and finish line announcer found it amusing that male
    Raheny Runner was laughing at been zoomed passed by female Raheny
    Runner, always good to have good finish as abiding memory rather than
    miles you struggled so good days work for MrsG. Defiantly different
    event when under no pressure on the system but probably little longer
    mileage wise or time on feet wise for me so back to Business and
    on plan next week considered recovery run today but did excerises
    and rest instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Great to see you back logging G best of luck with the return to fitness. Any plans ???

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Great to see you back logging G best of luck with the return to fitness. Any plans ???

10 weeks base building plan, nothing to exciting and see where it takes me
    probably flat out parkrun and pick longer term goal in few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Great to see you out and about!

Thanks B, was begining to feel like for ever, good to be back running:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Well done Team Kenny and particularly nice to see you on your feet enjoying your running G.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,860 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Good job on Sat, not an easy one to get right, can be a bit of a minefield!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Murph_D wrote: »
    Good job on Sat, not an easy one to get right, can be a bit of a minefield!

Excuse me? No idea what you mean... :rolleyes:

Looked to me like it was those Air Corps guys who were really inspiring Ms Kenny :D

PS, good to see you back running G! Don't overdo it now!

Week 3 of Base building

Tues 23rd 4.5 miles GA

Early morning local loop, nice morning no watch so ran what felt about
    right.

Thurs 25th

4.5 miles 9.10 avg. GA

Evening run around St Anne's mostly in grass, picked up pace for last half mile
    just to get little bit if speed in. Trying to make sure all these runs are driving
    from hips and getting gluts and hamstrings working.

Sat 27th

4.6 miles GA avg 8.39

Volunteering at park run this morning along with Aquinn, FBOT and Murph &
    Yaboya on pacing duties. Plenty of other boardies running annap and Laura a/c
    and Ferris and Killerz on baby sitting duty. I witnessed Murph heroically finishing
    his pacing gig looking little worse for ware after a tree jumped him out of no
    Where:D , PJD and Toulouse from last year novices also on pacing duty this
    morning.

got a mini progression run done off the cuff as was feeling good once got going.
    Ran from St Anne's to home out along coast.

8.50,8.17,8.00 c/d 9.07

Sun 28th

8.39 miles endurance

Ran couple miles w/u with MrsKG and then joined by another runner doing 12miles, ran the 6 miles up to summit and back down, pace wasn't to hectic

Probably need to get these done on my own, pace seems to be coming back
    a little now and not really working as hard as should be for this run.

Tues 30th Aug

4.68 miles 8.57 avg. 42 mins

Run with Mrs & 2 kids on bikes, was expecting this to be disaster and it didn't
    fail. Spent about Mile and half pushing Daughter who decided she had enough
    of cycling, only saving grace was getting mile and half on my own while Mrs
    was signing youngest up for swim lesson while we where out and about.

Thurs 1st Sep
    4.46 miles. 8.23 avg 37 mins

Evening run in St Anne's got call just before getting out of car to say Mrs going
    Out hurry home so felt rushed not a good run,

Sat 3rd Sep
    4.34 miles avg 8.38. 37 mins

Afternoon run with dog just after rain stopped, had snooze in afternoon so
    felt bit groggy starting, wasn't going to bother with run but felt really good
    nice relaxed run and glad got out.

Sunday 4th Sep

My daughter has been at me to run with her in park run, but with injury and
    just getting back at it, she runs little quicker than I wanted to be running, but
    agreed to run with her this morning and she was delight to finish 12th and
    get new PB and she received a bangle to mark her half marathon in KM since
    starting parkrun. Her brother also matched his PB today so two happy finishers.

8.01 miles 1.07 mins 8.27 avg
    Then after noon had 8 miles endurance, ran from mother in laws in Santry to
    Santry demence, nice afternoon for run and was feeling great up till mile 4
    When for some reason got negitive tought about running loops and seeing
    same things over again, pace dropped legs felt heavy, did systems check
    and nothing wrong, concentrated on breathing and form and after couple mins
    all felt easy again, will avoid running small loops in future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Funny, I was the opposite today and the small loops gave me comfort that I could stop if needed. Glad to see you really getting back into things G :)

Firedance wrote: »
    Funny, I was the opposite today and the small loops gave me comfort that I could stop if needed. Glad to see you really getting back into things G :)

Thanks AM, really feeling fitness coming back, and mostly enjoying running
    With no goal other than getting fit again.
    It's a funny thing I get with doing loops, has happened before, maybe like
    running on thread mill feels like I'm going no where. 2 or 3 not to bad then
    loose focus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Kennyg71 wrote: »
    Thanks AM, really feeling fitness coming back, and mostly enjoying running
    With no goal other than getting fit again.
    It's a funny thing I get with doing loops, has happened before, maybe like
    running on thread mill feels like I'm going no where. 2 or 3 not to bad then
    loose focus.

haha that's funny considering what I just wrote about laps on my log:D We're the complete opposite!
    That's the park I run in ALL the time btw! I won't ask you to join me on one of my loopy runs so!
    Delighted to see you back at it consistently now, and most of all, enjoying it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,007 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Nice to see the recovery is progressing. I find short loops difficult too ' too repitative for my liking perhaps it's a male thing .

Ososlo wrote: »
    haha that's funny considering what I just wrote about laps on my log:D We're the complete opposite!
    That's the park I run in ALL the time btw! I won't ask you to join me on one of my loopy runs so!
    Delighted to see you back at it consistently now, and most of all, enjoying it!

Don't run there much, prefer St Anne's, it's not to bad when I have Mrs running
    with me having chat distracts, have never did more than 3-4 miles there.

Fair play to you doing LR around same loop, I'd be gone potty:)

Week 5 base building

Tues 7th Sep

5.23 miles 57 mins 9.01 avg

Early morning run around local loop. Mild morning fairly calm.

Thurs 9th

5.98 miles 52.31. 8.48avg

Out after work in St Anne's plan had 6 miles with 16 mins LT tempo, hard to
    fix point at moment, but decided on 7.30 a Mile , went around park run route
    for tempo part hit hill about qtr Mile into faster bit and again about half mile
    before end, real struggle to hold pace, but I was tired and it was pissing out. Met
    FBOT on way to start tempo, but he postponed and ran mile or so back to car
    good to find bit company after crapy session.

Fri 10th

4.25 miles 38 mins avg 9 min mile

Evening run local loop, late run after 8pm was Looking blustery outside and
    nearly left till Saturday, glad to get out in end mild night, good run.

Sun 12th

10.01 miles 1hr 34 mins avg 9.20

Went out with Marathon training group, good to have bit company and slowed
    pace a little, looking back at last week and probably little on fast side, considering
    only base building plan to get some Aerobic fitness so no point in over doing,
    so paces pulled back little this week.

looking back at last week and probably little on fast side, considering only base building plan to get some Aerobic fitness so no point in over doing, so paces pulled back little this week.

very sensible :)

week 6 base Building

Tues 13th

5.64 miles avg 8.59 50.38 mins

Evening run with Dog few miles in grass to give dog bit of freedom.

Wed 14th

4.33 miles avg 8.59 38.53 mins

Morning run around local loop, nice mild morning.

Thurs 15th

5.25 miles avg 8.31 miles 44.41 mins

mile splits all over the place for this run and cant remember where
    I did it even tough, can remember two previous.

8.01, 8.31,8.50,8.48,8.07,2.21 for 0.25

Sat 17th

10.7 miles

Club had a Run from Dublin to Waterford in aid of Hospice, as one of Club Members had died of Cancer and club wanted to do
    something in his Memory and also raise some money for Hospice. Different groups all did 10 mile relay stints along the route
    passing baton from one group to next all the way, each group did leg from 6min pace to 10 min pace, fastest runners starting first
    at 3am in morning to get out of Dublin early before started to get busy. Our group led by Helen Anne did 10 miles from Paulstown
    in Kilkenny to Little Dungarvan village in Kilkenny. due to wrong meet point and previous group being short we rat first .70 miles
    with previous Group which included MrsKG. Our group was to run 85min leg but had to run little slower due to previous legs
    running little fast and us being little ahead of schedule for handover. some logistics went into this glad had to just turn up and run, also there was 5 mile
    race which will be held every year, hosted by local; GAA Club most of the 115
    club members that ran the relay, ran 5 mile race at end also, but wiser head
    prevailed for me and just watched. fantastic event really well done to all in
    the Club who where involved in organising.
    had great night in Waterford 4.30am to bed:eek: long drive home Sunday.

Heard about this on Sunday, what a lovely thing for RS to do and well done to all who took part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,387 ✭✭✭diego_b

That sounds like a really nice event, well done to your club there G.
    I used to work with a clubmate of yours a few years ago, Pat H and he always spoke highly of the setup.

Heard about this on Sunday, what a lovely thing for RS to do and well done to all who took part.
    diego_b wrote: »
    That sounds like a really nice event, well done to your club there G.
    I used to work with a clubmate of yours a few years ago, Pat H and he always spoke highly of the setup.

Yeah great event and Pat was there to start and finish event, he's some
    Man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Well done G on the relay. Your recovery is going really well.

Thurs 22nd

5.25 miles avg 8.48 mile

first run of week not feeling to motivated this week, plan was 6 miles with 18 mins Tempo LT, should be between 7.08-7.12
    got done in St Annes, little windy but not to bad, warm up first then into LT part around park run route, first mile felt easy and
    clocked in at 7.08 started at finish line area and not at dog park, second mile pace started to pick up little not intentionally then hit
    Hill and pace fell off cliff second mile beeped in at 7.24 but managed to pick back up to 7.08 avg for last 4 mins and not feeling
    as banjaxed as 2 weeks ago so a little progress.

Friday

4.25 miles ave 9.10 mins

Run around local loop with dog including about a mile in grass to let dog stretch his legs.
    legs feeling crappy.

Sunday

7 miles ave 10.10 mins

Easy run with Mrskg and couple of HM guys doing recovery along seafront, Legs still feeling crappy
    sore calf so decided to err on caution and keep easy, felt a bit better after run so may have done the trick.

4.25 miles ave 9.10 mins
    Run around local loop with dog including about a mile in grass to let dog stretch his legs.
    legs feeling crappy.

Go Alfie!!! I could never get woody to run 4 miles :D

mind.those.legs......

Go Alfie!!! I could never get woody to run 4 miles :D

mind.those.legs......

If we bring him st ST Anne's he will run 6 miles no bother, hates running
    on the lead.

Week 8 base building

Tues 27th

5 miles aprox no watch

Evening run around around st Anne's after work, well worn path so good idea
    of mileage, had gear in the car so left work but early to get run in, nice evening
    enjoyable run.

Thurs 29th

6.89 miles 8.17 avg

Out at 6am bit blustery in part for this, late night Wednesday so had to think
    twice when alarm went off, but finding it hard to fit runs in evening with
    GAA training for Kids and fighting for running time with MrsKG. Did not look
    at watch at all till end of this run, just ran by feel nice easy first mile then
    into what felt like steady pace, which turned out to be fairly even 7.56 - 8min
    miles on fairly draggy route.

Sat 1st October

5 miles

St Anne's park run third birthday so pacing 27 mins, not to sure anyone
    Really wanted 27 mins, just as well as made a bags of it, think I was on time
    till a Marshall near the end said I was to fast as 23 min pacer FBOT was just
    a minute or so ahead, so stopped to cheer a few along instead and started off
    again but auto pause had kicked in so all over the place now, as it turns out
    FBOT running 25 mins so should have been minute or so behind, lesson learnt
    trust the watch and not Marshall DOH!. Had to run straight after finish to car &
    to kids match so no cake or catch ups.

Sun 2nd Oct

Due to do 10 miles, but unexpected night out to much alcohol 3.30 home
    Worst hangover ever so no running, so not Good week for mileage, but
    nothing to be gained by running today, calf little niggly anyway think down
    to hydration being poor this week, rest and recover instead.

Party animal !!!

Week 9 base building

Thurs 6th

5 miles easy 9.10 avg

Easy few miles in evening after work around local loop, really nice
    evening enjoyable run.

Sat 8th

3.2 miles easy 9.10 avg

volunteering at park run then easy 3 miles trot around the park, MrsKG away
    for weekend so on duty with kids dropping and collecting so little time for any
    thing else.

Sunday 9th

11.25 miles

2k parkrun with youngest who asked me to run with her as she wanted to see if
    she could Beat PB, but she hooked up with a friend and yapped all the wayaround
    so looking like a pushy parent as I was encouraging her to HTFU, but all I got
    was don't worry dad we are right behind you. Hate running these.

met MRSMc for her MP 10 miles little later, she planned nice draggy route to get
    toughest run of the program done, all went well warm out this morning. I managed to shoulder barrage a sign post, getting as bad as murph, shoulder bit
    bruised and sore. But nice enjoyable run.

Bad week running milage wise, but calf has been acting up a bit so rested up a bit
    only 19 miles for the week, but picked up interesting approach to getting back
    into Tempo running on BG log which will give a go, proably jumped back in at to
    fast a pace considering layoff and obviously calf not quite ready.

Thanks again for pacing mp miles for me today G hope you're shoulder ok Mrs kennyg will think I'm beating you.

Tues 11th

5.8 miles 8.21 avg

Run home from work, long way into estate to extend slightly, hoping to
    get few of these in each week to get miles in easier, nice run warm and calm
    out.

Wed 12th

5.32 miles avg 8.53

Run into work nice not to be stuck in traffic, little cooler than yesterday but
    not to bad.

Thurs 13th

6.88 miles 8.42avg including attempt at tempo

Did this in evening in St Anne's, used parkrun route for Tempo part.
    Mile warm up at 10.15 then into tempo session, not having given this a lot of
    Tought bar hitting 2mins @ 8,7.45,9 min miles, I discovered there was no combination of pace & time on watch to keep these on track. So decided to run
    by efforts of steady comfortably hard and easy. Session ended up all over the
    Place, have to ask BG to setup watch for me :pac:

0.20 miles @ 8.12 0.24 miles @ 7.48 0.20miles@ 8.29

0.34 miles@ 7.25. 0.28mies@ 6.35. 0.20miles @8.26

0.23 miles @ 7.52. 0.18 miles @ 7.07 0.20 miles @ 8.32

0.30 miles@ 7.31 0.35 miles @ 6.25 0.24miles @ 9.02

0.25 miles @ 8.14 0.31 miles @ 6.58. 0.15 @ 10.36

Ended slow part of last set early and just continued on with end of run 2-3 miles
    back to car. Bit of a mess really, may have to stitck to intervals.

Saturday 15th

5.5 miles including park run.

Mile warm up with few dynamics thrown in for good measure. Have completely
    forgotten how hard 5k is from head point of view, last time I ran 5k as fast as
    I could was back in January, so decided to see where I was, felt sluggish at
    the start, took a good half mile to get into it, hit that dreaded hill and slowed
    down to 8.40 mile pace all the way till past first corner after start line. Managed
    to pick up again once I convinced myself I've ran faster miles closing out half
    Marathon and this is only 5k

Mile 1 6.53 mile 2 7.38 mile 3 7.14 finished 22.14

Sun 16th

9.17 miles. 8.30 avg

Mile w/u 7 miles endurance mile c/d

Ran from house to Albert College parkrun, nice morning for running. Wore long
    sleeve top thinking it was cool out, should have stuck to short sleeve. Was to be
    10 mile endurance, but haven't really being running these as endurance and
    Couple of bad weeks up till this week so left as 7 with w/u & c/d either side.

Best week for a while, legs feeling tired at end of this week, but happy
    to get some consistency.

32 miles for week