Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Ó Ríordáin’s hopes for drug decriminalisation"

• 03-11-2015 1:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,621 ✭✭✭

DRUGS MINISTER AODHÁN Ó Ríordáin has backed the decriminalisation of possession of small amounts of drugs in a major speech at the London School of Economics.
    The Labour junior minister’s comments follow his announcement back in April that he was examining the possible decriminalisation of cannabis.

In August, a ‘think tank’ meeting of front-line agencies and health service workers convened by the Dublin TD found a wide consensus that drugs should be decriminalised across the board.

“I am in favour of a decriminalisation model, but it must be one that suits the Irish context and be evidence based,” Ó Ríordáin said in his speech today.

“I believe that this kind of approach will only work if it is accompanied by timely treatment and harm reduction services, backed up by wrap-around supports which foster recovery – such as housing, health and social care.
    “Above all, the model must be person-centred and involve an integrated approach to treatment and rehabilitation based on a continuum of care with clearly defined referral pathways.”

The minister cited Portugal’s approach to drugs as a possible model for Ireland. The country decriminalised the use of all drugs for personal use in 2001 – deciding to treat possession and use of small quantities as a public health issue rather than a criminal one.

The Journal

Irish Times

This has been discussed a lot on here, but I couldn't find a recent thread on it. Aodhán Ó'Riordáin looks like he is going to decriminalise small amounts of drugs such as cannabis, cocaine and heroin, although they will still remain illegal to sell. He also wants to see the introduction of injection rooms, where heroin users can do so in a safe environment in Irelands cities. He is hoping to bring in the changes as soon as early 2016, but I've read elsewhere that it would take a few years to implement such changes.

What are peoples thoughts on this now that it seems likely to happen?

Personally I think it's about time we try and change this countries attitudes towards drugs. It will free up a lot of the gardaí resources and will cut out so much wasted time in court for people who get caught with small amounts of harmless drugs. It's a tricky one to know exactly what is the best policy towards drugs, and this might not be the best policy, but it is definitely a move in the right direction IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Election? What election?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Corvo

Injection rooms?

Ah FFS...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

It's been coming for the last ten years. After the hysteria about drugs through the 80s and 90s (which were primarily fuelled by US fears about communists and hippies in the 60s and 70s), we've realised that addiction isn't as simple as the "try it once and you're hooked" mantra that used to be spouted, that many drugs aren't the body-destroying, brain melting chemicals once thought, and that ultimately all attempts to suppress consumption by force have failed dismally at massive financial and social cost.

Cannabis will probably fall off the drug strategy map in the EU in the next 10/15 years, with police either completely ignoring it, or it being fully legalised across the union.

Decriminalisation is not the same as legalisation. It simply means that those caught in possession of small amounts may just have it confiscated and won't be subject to prosecution. To a certain extent that's already happening with softer drugs, but this would formalise the arrangement. Decriminalisation is pretty essential if you want to have injecting centres that people aren't afraid to use.

I do suspect this is Labour setting out their socialist liberal stall ahead of the next election, I can't see this bill going all the way through to law before then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Corvo wrote: »
    Injection rooms?

Ah FFS...

They will inject anyway, they are addicts. Its better that do it in a safe and private environment rather than at the back of a bus, the toilets of McDonald's or in front of tourists at the Molly Malone statue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭Alexis Sanchez

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Jesus christ, Dublin is annoying enough for sort of craic already. You just know every single one of these rooms will bel city centre centric.

I mean I support it in principle, but it sounds like it'll be poorly implemented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

They should up the price of heroin, stop people using it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

Jesus christ, Dublin is annoying enough for sort of craic already. You just know every single one of these rooms will bel city centre centric.

I mean I support it in principle, but it sounds like it'll be poorly implemented.

Those suffering from heroin addiction are already in the city centre. You do not need to travel far to spot needles/tin foil/burnt spoons etc. Getting these individuals off the street and into safe spaces where they can use clean needles is a truly a win win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Sounds like some positive moves are being made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

It's about time something is happening, It's a step in the right direction in regards to small amounts of drugs. The amount of people that smoke weed is huge I've seen it from college, work, friends ect..

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Fr_Dougal wrote: »

Too bad they don't regulate it....

All this can only be good imo.

It works for other countries so why not here

It kills them and that doesn't stop people why on earth would increasing the price have any deterrent effect?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Yeah - why aren't the government putting the tax up on heroin?

Not a mention of it in their giveaway budget! They're too busy chasing the Junkie Vote so they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Weed/hash needs to be decriminalised today. Getting caught with some smoke when your 18 shouldn't mean a lifetime criminal record hanging over you. It's beyond wrong that this is the case currently.

There's also the issue that (I think) most of the weed sold in Ireland is grown in Ireland. Having weed be illegal isn't a deterrent, nor does it control consumption, it's just an utter waste of Garda resources.

To treat all drug use as a public health matter rather than a justice matter is the more humane and correct way forward. Having the attitude 'drugs are bad/go to jail' hasn't ever worked, and will never work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭CucaFace

They should go a step further and actually start selling the drugs to people and make some money off it. People will take drugs no matter if they are legal or not, and right now only the scum bag dealers are making huge profits from this. If the Govt actually decided to sell from say certain locations these drugs im sure they could sell at far cheaper prices then the drug dealers and so in time put an end to the drug dealers. Without profit, drug dealers have no objective in dealing.

At least when people are buying from regulated 'shops' they can also be offered help which most would take at some stage.

The current 'war' on drugs is lost and until you take away the main principle of the whole problem - which is really huge profits for the dealers then this problem will always exist. Remove the profit and this will remove the dealers.

At the very least the tax intake could go towards paying for all the social and medical costs the state is currently incurring from the drugs problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,631 ✭✭✭brevity

People will completely misunderstand what's trying to be done here and it will never get implemented.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭The Pheasant2

Happy to see we're making a step in the right direction at the very least.

I reckon it'll be a long time but we really should just legalise weed.
    If you look at the success legalisation has had in the States, which would have a roughly similar culture to us I think it's a no brainier. Canada will also be fully legalising within the next year.

Colorado made more money this year through taxing weed than they made from alcohol!

At the moment weed in Ireland is a massive untapped revenue source for the government which is going directly into the hands of dealers and criminals. We have to waste valuable monies policing and jailing these guys.

Furthermore we need to look at the big picture - all the jobs that could be created on the retail and growing side; could be a huge boost to the agri sector.
    I think we're mad not to get in early and be the first in Europe to fully legalise.

Realistically it's a question of when rather than if when you look at our transatlantic cousins. But as per usual we'll wait for the other big boys to make the choice for us...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

This all seems a little too progressive.

I'm suspicious..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

I don't get it, its ok to have it but not to sell it?

Surely it been ok to have it, how else are you gonna get it, like it just creates a need for dealers still.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭Thephantomsmask

Will there be a reefer-endum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Walter Bishop

JustTheOne wrote: »

Surely it been ok to have it, how else are you gonna get it, like it just creates a need for dealers still.

It will mean that huge amounts of police resources don't have to be wasted prosecuting individuals for having small amounts of drugs for personal use.

Decriminalisation is still a very poor alternative to legalisation for all involved.

Agree entirely, but if ever something had to be done in baby steps, this is it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

People are going to get it regardless of if it's illegal or not, instead of punishing people for possession of small amounts they treat it as a mental health issue instead of a criminal one.

It was highly effective in Portugal, reducing active heroin users over 10 years and almost wiping out new cases of HIV.

It's the first step in reality. Remembering that the majority of politicians and voters are 50+ and therefore stuck in an older mindset, decriminalisation will prove that the world doesn't fall down and your children don't become junkies when you go soft on drugs.

This will open minds and pave the way for more progressive ideas, not just in relation to the control of drugs, but also the treatment of addiction.

Decriminalisation of homosexuality was a very poor alternative to same-sex marriage, but there was no way in hell the latter would going to happen in 1994.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

So thats the only advantage?

Hardly will help the actual drug problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭fizzypish

Will there be a reefer-endum?
    God dammit. I smiled at that. Why brain, why!!!!!

Actually, roundabout it can because some guy caught with a small amount at 18 doesn't end up with a criminal record for drugs offences. Criminalising people for small amounts has the tendancy to push them into a downward poverty spiral as their employability becomes massively limited.

The very thing that you're trying to "solve" by criminalising drugs (people destroying their lives), is actually made worse or even caused by the laws you enact.

It's also worth noting your glib, "that's the only advantage" remark ignores the massive cost to the Gardai in terms of time and money in dealing with minor possession issues.

Arresting and prosecuting people for small amounts of possession confers no benefit on society, but has a pretty large cost.

Therefore it makes sense to decriminalise.

seamus wrote: »
    It's the first step in reality. Remembering that the majority of politicians and voters are 50+ and therefore stuck in an older mindset, decriminalisation will prove that the world doesn't fall down and your children don't become junkies when you go soft on drugs.

This will open minds and pave the way for more progressive ideas, not just in relation to the control of drugs, but also the treatment of addiction.

Decriminalisation of homosexuality was a very poor alternative to same-sex marriage, but there was no way in hell the latter would going to happen in 1994.

I agree that it is a positive step but as you illustrate only a very small on towards the proper solution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Hopefully these shooting alleys can also become places where addicts can seek help for their terrible addiction. Remember using heroin should never become normalised or accepted in society.

Well, the police prosecuting every Tom, Dick and Harry for small amounts of weed is hardly stamping out the drug problem now, is it?

If people want to take drugs, they're going to obtain and take them, legal or no. The way to reducing drug use is to educate people about the dangers, not waste resources on prosecuting small amounts, and ultimately legalise and regulate it.

Prohibition has never worked and never will. Portugal decriminalised drugs in 2001, and opted to treat users as patients requiring treatment, rather than criminals requiring punishment. The result: drug abuse dropped by around 50%.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Some of the comments on the IT facebook posts about this are hilarious. Totally clueless people with their head in the sand and an attitude about drugs they've retained since they learned about the evils of marijuana in school in the 70's and 80's.

Jayop wrote: »
    Some of the comments on the IT facebook posts about this are hilarious. Totally clueless people with their head in the sand and an attitude about drugs they've retained since they learned about the evils of marijuana in school in the 70's and 80's.

Yeah there also needs to be a massive overhaul in drug education in schools in this country.

The current system consists of "Drugs are bad m'kay; don't do 'em."
    Which is tantamount to telling kids that abstinence is the safest form of sex ie. It's pointless and only spreads misinformation.

Yeah there also needs to be a massive overhaul in drug education in schools in this country.

The current system consists of "Drugs are bad m'kay; don't do 'em."
    Which is tantamount to telling kids that abstinence is the safest form of sex ie. It's pointless and only spreads misinformation.

Big time. Look, I did pretty much everything bar Heroin/Meth in my young days with a particular fondness for a Saturday night E. In the last 10 years i wouldn't think I've taken anything stronger than a paracetamol more than twice though and even when I was taking it was never more than recreational and didn't effect my ability to go to school or work. Never caused anyone any trouble, never got in fights, never robbed anyone and honestly I had a fecking blast. I don't mind saying that but I've sine grown up.

Now I find myself at a point in life where I have kids and the eldest is a young teen so she'll soon be getting introduced to the things that I took myself. I have a difficult choice to make, do I be a complete hypocrite and tell her drugs are all awful and she should stay well clear of them or should I be honest and explain the true issues with them in modern Ireland and try to discourage them that way?

For me the biggest reason I stopped was because I moved from the North to the South and I didn't really know anyone to get them off and my social circle changed. Then once I had kids I didn't want to have a reputation as a "druggie" in a small town when they grew up.

What are the biggest dangers of taking drugs in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Depends on the drugs but for marijuana, the biggest danger would probably be the risk of a criminal record if found in possession of any amount whatsoever.

Colorado have proved fairly conclusively the values of legalising weed imo. Those massive gains in tax revenue have come straight out of the pockets of criminal gangs. That's a definitive win-win.

Big time. Look, I did pretty much everything bar Heroin/Meth in my young days with a particular fondness for a Saturday night E. In the last 10 years i wouldn't think I've taken anything stronger than a paracetamol more than twice though and even when I was taking it was never more than recreational and didn't effect my ability to go to school or work. Never caused anyone any trouble, never got in fights, never robbed anyone and honestly I had a fecking blast. I don't mind saying that but I've sine grown up.

Now I find myself at a point in life where I have kids and the eldest is a young teen so she'll soon be getting introduced to the things that I took myself. I have a difficult choice to make, do I be a complete hypocrite and tell her drugs are all awful and she should stay well clear of them or should I be honest and explain the true issues with them in modern Ireland and try to discourage them that way?

For me the biggest reason I stopped was because I moved from the North to the South and I didn't really know anyone to get them off and my social circle changed. Then once I had kids I didn't want to have a reputation as a "druggie" in a small town when they grew up.

What are the biggest dangers of taking drugs in Ireland?

E in particular is one that needs a huge shift in the way kids are taught about it.
    I study medicinal chemistry in uni so learn exactly how it works, mechanism of action etc. and so I'd take an active interest in researching heavily any drugs that I take and how to minimise any harm.

MDMA (E, yokes etc.) is actually very safe provided it is used responsibly (at least 2 month gaps between uses, and proper supplementation to reduce any neurotoxic effects) and that it is in fact MDMA that's being used -
    EVERY SINGLE person should know that they should always test whatever they have to make absolutely certain they're taking what they think they're taking.

Tests kits can be purchased very cheaply and freely here: http://www.eztest.com
    and provide priceless peace of mind.

The sad thing is that in my experience the overwhelming majority of people know nothing about how often is safe to use or about needing to test. They've been failed by their education system and are in more danger from drugs because of the education they received.

If I were you I'd simply explain to my daughter the risks objectively and that testing everything and researching harm reduction fully is absolutely paramount.

In the case of MDMA www.rollsafe.org is a great resource for harm reduction and I'd encourage anybody considering its use to read it fully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

Well, the police prosecuting every Tom, Dick and Harry for small amounts of weed is hardly stamping out the drug problem now, is it?

If people want to take drugs, they're going to obtain and take them, legal or no. The way to reducing drug use is to educate people about the dangers, not waste resources on prosecuting small amounts, and ultimately legalise and regulate it.

Prohibition has never worked and never will. Portugal decriminalised drugs in 2001, and opted to treat users as patients requiring treatment, rather than criminals requiring punishment. The result: drug abuse dropped by around 50%.

I am a bit wary of the Portugal worship that always happens in these threads not because I am strongly ideologically opposed but because you are looking at a reduction in a country that apparently had barely any harm reduction/anti drugs programmes before this and a geographic position that was an issue.

For the middle point you make, I know from experience of my acquaintances more of them consumed "legal highs" and more regularly and in larger amounts when those were available compared to when you could only get their illegal analogues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,604 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

There is no problem with weed in this country. People lumping it in with "the drug problem" proves how uneducated they actually are on the subject.

Smoking and alcohol are a million times more of a "problem" for the health of Irish people and there isn't nearly as much stigma.

E in particular is one that needs a huge shift in the way kids are taught about it.
    I study medicinal chemistry in uni so learn exactly how it works, mechanism of action etc. and so I'd take an active interest in researching heavily any drugs that I take and how to minimise any harm.

MDMA (E, yokes etc.) is actually very safe provided it is used responsibly (at least 2 month gaps between uses, and proper supplementation to reduce any neurotoxic effects) and that it is in fact MDMA that's being used -
    EVERY SINGLE person should know that they should always test whatever they have to make absolutely certain they're taking what they think they're taking.

The sad thing is that in my experience the overwhelming majority of people know nothing about how often is safe to use or about needing to test. They've been failed by their education system and are in more danger from drugs because of the education they received.

If I were you I'd simply explain to my daughter the risks objectively and that testing everything and researching harm reduction fully is absolutely paramount.

In the case of MDMA www.rollsafe.org is a great resource for harm reduction and I'd encourage anybody considering its use to read it fully.

while true its low risk has anybody done work on the effects of MDMA on adolescents brains?
    Isn't the case with THC that its fairly low harm, if one has an adult brain? (edit) But surprisingly negative to juveniles

If I was still at them I'd 100% be using the test kits nowadays.

With your chemistry knowledge you'd know a lot more about this than me, but I've been reading that a recent spike in people dying as a result of taking E is because it's not always MDMA anymore. They're other compounds that the manufacturers are forced to make because the EU drugs admins have banned the precursor to MDMA. This attempt to make it harder to make what was a pretty safe drug have forced them to make the more dangerous varieties and as a result have let to multiple deaths.

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2015/jan/05/superman-pill-ecstasy-pma-deaths-drugs-policy

This is why I've long been of the opinion that if you want to take something like E, you should be able to go to your doctor for a check up, get a prescription and get a clean drug from your local pharmacy.

while true its low risk has anybody done work on the effects of MDMA on adolescents brains?
    Isn't the case with THC that its fairly low harm, if one has an adult brain?

Put the resources currently being wasted on the war on drugs into studies like this.

If I was still at them I'd 100% be using the test kits nowadays.

With your chemistry knowledge you'd know a lot more about this than me, but I've been reading that a recent spike in people dying as a result of taking E is because it's not always MDMA anymore. They're other compounds that the manufacturers are forced to make because the EU drugs admins have banned the precursor to MDMA. This attempt to make it harder to make what was a pretty safe drug have forced them to make the more dangerous varieties and as a result have let to multiple deaths.

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2015/jan/05/superman-pill-ecstasy-pma-deaths-drugs-policy

This is why I've long been of the opinion that if you want to take something like E, you should be able to go to your doctor for a check up, get a prescription and get a clean drug from your local pharmacy.

Yep you're dead right - anyone who's ever died of an "E overdose" weren't actually taking E (MDMA). When you hear of these deaths the culprit is most commonly PMA or PMMA which is vastly more neurotoxic than MDMA and also has a longer "come up" time so people might take one, not feel anything, take another, still not feel anything and take another before eventually succumbing to it's toxic effects.
    The exact lethal dose for MDMA in humans is actually unknown; but what is known is that it's very high ie. you'd have to take a ludicrous amount of pills (we're talking ~20+) to overdose.

Deaths that are attributable to MDMA however come from people overheating from dancing too much without a break and not rehydrating - an issue easily solved with proper education.

Any danger from PMA or PMMA laced pills is completely nullified by test kits as these compounds show up if present.
    So if everybody is testing their stuff dealers probably wouldn't even bother with the PMA as they know they'll be found out and will sell nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭captbarnacles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

A christopher hitches quote from 1996 when a poll in america suggested voters were in favour of decriminalisation;

"I'm very heartened to find that in spite of all the incessant, ridiculous, hateful, self-evidently contradictory propaganda about "the war on drugs" that when American voters are asked about it it shows this prpaganda has had no effect. It really cheers me up to think that. It restores ones faith in the thinking voter. I think decriminalization of drugs is long long overdue, it will be looked back on when it is done as: "What was all that about? How did we let Richard Nixon declare a "war on drugs" and ruin so much of our society, throw away so many of our liberties, incarcerate so many innocent people, deny ourselves - in the case of marijuana - so many potential remedies. How did we ever let this prohibition go as far as it has gone?"

A christopher hitches quote from 1996 when a poll in america suggested voters were in favour of decriminalisation;

"I'm very heartened to find that in spite of all the incessant, ridiculous, hateful, self-evidently contradictory propaganda about "the war on drugs" that when American voters are asked about it it shows this prpaganda has had no effect. It really cheers me up to think that. It restores ones faith in the thinking voter. I think decriminalization of drugs is long long overdue, it will be looked back on when it is done as: "What was all that about? How did we let Richard Nixon declare a "war on drugs" and ruin so much of our society, throw away so many of our liberties, incarcerate so many innocent people, deny ourselves - in the case of marijuana - so many potential remedies. How did we ever let this prohibition go as far as it has gone?"

It's literally nuts in America how many vested interested from big business there are to keep the phoney war on drugs in place. It's really all about money over liberty and life.

The police and ATF rely on the war for their funding.
    The private and public prisons as well as the prison guard unions.
    The arms manufacturers so they can sell their wares to countries like Cuba to fight a war caused by American policy that's ripping their continent apart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

It is beyond the competence of the state to decide what an adult puts into their body...the state cannot realistically control this and should not waste time or money trying. You are an independent sentient being, it is not for a committee of "elders" to decide such matters for you.

:confused: We live in a world where they want to put extra tax sugary drinks because people don't have the cop on to stop eating and get their asses of the couch and not drink two litres of coke a day. The prevailing attitude and not just for drugs

Illegal drugs doesn't just = Cannabis and MDMA

There is a lot of compounds where usage is dangerous and detrimental to life even if its not criminalised

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭mynameis905

Hopefully these shooting alleys can also become places where addicts can seek help for their terrible addiction. Remember using heroin should never become normalised or accepted in society.

Almost all of the negative effects of heroin addiction (overdoses, criminal/anti-social behaviour, health problems) are caused by the fact that it is criminalised.

Safe, long-term usage of opiates is entirely possible - there are millions of people across the world who take them daily for pain and the side effects are pretty benign.

Assuming you had a good supply of uncut, pure heroin you could safely take it for decades. It it was legalised and available to addicts on prescription then the deleterious effects on society would be minimal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

:confused: We live in a world where they want to put extra tax sugary drinks because people don't have the cop on to stop eating and get their asses of the couch and not drink two litres of coke a day. The prevailing attitude and not just for drugs

Illegal drugs doesn't just = Cannabis and MDMA

There is a lot of compounds where usage is dangerous and detrimental to life even if its not criminalised

You can obviously still tax drugs the same way you tax other things that lead to medical spending.

I know smoking and drinking are bad for me but it's a choice I'm happy to have to partake in them when I feel like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,041 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Labour really are trying to kill themselves...