Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2015/16 ( Mod Note linked in OP 29/12)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

GAB has to start on Monday

I think he might put chambers in midfield too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Gaygooner

Gab and Kos- Mert is a fcuking lazy kraut

4 Jameson's later I'm still annoyed 😤

I fcuking hate BT Sport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Spanish Johnny

have not had a chance to read back much but for all the flak Kos and Per will take....where were Flamini and Ramsey. As an attacking entity we also miss Santi controlling the agenda in the middle. it's games like this he is crucial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭Underground

Oh to be a gooner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Actually on reflection it hasn't been a bad run. Here's the points total over the last five games. We aren't doing too badly tbh!

Leicester 10 points
    Arsenal 10 points
    Man City 9 points
    Spurs - 8 points
    Crystal Palace - 11 points
    Man United - 2 points

Obviously a win would have been better today but imho opinion some team was going to become a cropper against Southampton at some stage this season. Unfortunately it turned out to be us. Most important thing now is to bounce back on Monday and remember it could be worse. We could be United Supporters :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Gaygooner wrote: »
    4 Jameson's later I'm still annoyed 😀

That's not gonna help, man!

I'm ****in furious. What the **** was that performance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

We were rubbish but the ref was dire and at least I've got beers

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    That's not gonna help, man!

I'm ****in furious. What the **** was that performance?

Fair fooks to Soton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

https://twitter.com/Marwan_KF/status/680863229128617984

From Reddit:
    For those unaware, King Fut is the premiere Egyptian football news source. If there is anything happening with an Egyptian player, they're one of the first to find out and break the news.
    If he's confirming the transfer, then it's very likely it's done and dusted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭G1032

Mr Blobby wrote: »
    Southampton has never been a easy game for us. They beat us twice last year if I recall correctly.
    We won twice no?
    Mr Blobby wrote: »
    I'm sure we lost.
    We probably hammered them 4-0 and I'm just talking out my arse.

We won at home (1-0) and lost away (2-0) :-)
    3 wins, 3 defeats and 2 draws in last 8 v Southampton.

Still think we'll win the league, mind you.

I'm extra pissed off cos I was saving the latest Tuesday Club to listen to with a couple of beers when i finally got some peace over Christmas.

Now it's all spoiled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭farna_boy

Gab and Kos- Mert is a fcuking lazy kraut

Though Kos was the worse of the two tonight

farna_boy wrote: »

He had to do all the work get involved that's why

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,778 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

farna_boy wrote: »

They were both bad but at least Kos tried and covered a lot of ground. Any coach would tell defenders to never head the ball out to the middle of the goal. Mert did this a good many times and one led to their first goal. There should have been midfielders there I know but if you head the ball out to the wings the chances of someone scoring from a shot is remote.
    Bellerin was poor enough too. Constantly turning to play the ball back to Mert while there were players in front of to the side of him. Slowing down the play. Our slow play made it easy to defend against.
    Monrael was the best of the four.
    Our midfield were poor overall. We had two chances to score before they did. Both squandered by Theo and Giroud. I don't think we had a shot of any significance.
    Generally a very bad night for Arsenal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,896 ✭✭✭emmetlego

They were both bad but at least Kos tried and covered a lot of ground. Any coach would tell defenders to never head the ball out to the middle of the goal. Mert did this a good many times and one led to their first goal. There should have been midfielders there I know but if you head the ball out to the wings the chances of someone scoring from a shot is remote.
    Bellerin was poor enough too. Constantly turning to play the ball back to Mert while there were players in front of to the side of him. Slowing down the play. Our slow play made it easy to defend against.
    Monrael was the best of the four.
    Our midfield were poor overall. We had two chances to score before they did. Both squandered by Theo and Giroud. I don't think we had a shot of any significance.
    Generally a very bad night for Arsenal.

Spot on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Watching MotD late here and just saw that Kompany injured himself after coming on as a sub. If he is out for any length of time it could cost City. That makes todays result so frustrating. This is precisely the time we should be trying to put some daylight between them and us!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭Pierce_1991

Right. **** THAT! BUNCH OF PRICKS! UGH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭Awesomeness

Very poor performance but lets hope its a blip. We are still in a great position. Lets concentrate on monday and kick on.
    Ob Southampton poor form being an excise they didnt play like a poor team. Form goes out the window once the whistle blows. We should be beating them.

Unfortunately this team does not seemed to have learned some of the lessons of playing against smaller teams like we showed in the champions league but we have learnes that they can bounce back from defeats lets hope they do it again.

Also for years we have been complaining about not beating the big teams. This year we are doing that but slipping up against mid table . I think that should be much easier to fix

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

You can only get away with a depleted team for so long.

We are bound to slip up.

Flamini and Ramsey in the middle just isn't good enough.

With coq and Santi long term injuries we have to accept results like this will happen.

Do we have enough to cope and get us through to the title?

I don't think so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,896 ✭✭✭emmetlego

Utterly dejected today! Still can't believe that game

Team for Monday

Cech

Bellerin. Mert. Kos. Monreal

Chambers. Ramsey

Ox. Ozil. Campbell

Walcott

Players are either been dropped or rested

But I think we need to freshen it up a bit

emmetlego wrote: »
    Utterly dejected today! Still can't believe that game

I'm over it

Bounce back Monday be grand

Loose that I'm going on the bottle :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,468 ✭✭✭DenMan

Nothing like a quick rebound to get things right again! Huge game tomorrow and the chance to go top. COYG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

Its not the defeat I am fcukin ragin about its the way it happened. You can justify 1-0 loss and say it wasnt our night. **** does happen.....but are the lads getting cocky now??? Turn up against poor Southampton and its a done deal!!!!

As was said this was typical gooners making it harder then it should have been. It should be at this stage a bad night for us is a score draw against the lower teams. Only plus is the foxes lost aswell but you can justify a 1-0 loss to the pool!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

Complacency last night from us and a dogged Saints. I would have taken a draw. I was listening to the match on 5 Live and one of the commentators suggested Arsenal would not fall apart after going 1 nil down, as qualifying in the CL had shown a new side with resilience. How wrong.

Mr.Micro wrote: »
    Complacency last night from us and a dogged Saints. I would have taken a draw. I was listening to the match on 5 Live and one of the commentators suggested Arsenal would not fall apart after going 1 nil down, as qualifying in the CL had shown a new side with resilience. How wrong.

100% disagree about complacency. It was a bad night at the office, but there is no way that they thought that playing away to Southampton would be a walk in the park. They are fully aware that there are no easy matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

Basil3 wrote: »
    100% disagree about complacency. It was a bad night at the office, but there is no way that they thought that playing away to Southampton would be a walk in the park. They are fully aware that there are no easy matches.

I have to disagree, as a 4-0 result is truly shocking, from the same team that beat Man City. If not complacency, then it was naive tactics?