Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which of the Ten Commandments have you broken?

• 16-10-2015 7:12am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,591 ✭✭✭✭

Which of the Ten Commandments have you broken? 1131 votes

1) I am the LORD your God. You shall worship the Lord your God and Him only shall you serve.
    0%
    2) You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain.
    12%
    _Kaiser_seamusneGevCalibospaddymanValentinaGazpickarooneyweemcd[Deleted User]El Nickthe_barfly1Lia_liaConarCanis LupuseviltimebanKamikaze CasperWibbsch750536Zebra3 138 votes
    3) Remember to keep holy the Sabbath day.
    15%
    _Kaiser_seamusneGevCalibospaddymanValentinaGazpickarooneyRed AlertweemcdHal1[Deleted User]El Nickthe_barfly1Lia_liaConarSouthernBelleCanis LupuseviltimebanKamikaze Casper 172 votes
    4) Honor your father and your mother.
    15%
    _Kaiser_seamusneGevCalibospaddymanValentinaGazpickarooneyweemcdHal1[Deleted User]El Nickthe_barfly1Lia_liaConarSouthernBelleCanis LupuseviltimebanKamikaze CasperWibbs 172 votes
    5) You shall not kill.
    9%
    _Kaiser_seamusValentinaGazpickarooneyRed Alert[Deleted User]El NickConarCanis Lupusch750536Zebra3cantdecideMonkeyTennisTiggerShenshenKerranJastcolm_mcmAnonoBoyP_1 104 votes
    6) You shall not commit adultery.
    1%
    seamuspaddymanRed AlertCanis LupusbikorecyclebinSunnyislandinc21Lenin Skynardknucklehead6thelad95petrolcanSatrialeTimberrrrrrrrwhatismyname 15 votes
    7) You shall not steal.
    5%
    seamusGazweemcd[Deleted User]the_barfly1Canis LupusWibbsZebra3MonkeyTennisTiggerShenshenDuffhowamidifferentP_1tampopopq0n1ct4ve8zf5Lollipops23HalloweenJackCruelCointeaholic 58 votes
    8) You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor.
    12%
    seamuspaddymanValentinaGazpickarooney[Deleted User]El Nickthe_barfly1Lia_liaConarCanis LupuseviltimebanKamikaze CasperWibbsch750536bikoZebra3cantdecideMonkeyTennisrecyclebin 138 votes
    9) You shall not covet your neighbor's wife.
    6%
    seamusneGevpaddymanGazEl Nickthe_barfly1ConarCanis LupusInnervisionZebra3recyclebinTiggerShenshencolm_mcmAnonoBoyP_1M5NoxintampopoDay Lewin 77 votes
    10) You shall not covet your neighbor's goods.
    10%
    _Kaiser_seamusneGevCalibospaddymanGazpickarooneyRed Alertweemcd[Deleted User]El Nickthe_barfly1ConarSouthernBelleCanis LupuseviltimebanWibbsInnervisionch750536biko 119 votes
    None of the above.
    12%
    _Kaiser_seamusneGevCalibospaddymanGazpickarooneyRed Alertweemcd[Deleted User]El Nickthe_barfly1ConarSouthernBelleCanis LupuseviltimebanKamikaze CasperWibbsInnervisionch750536 138 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

All 12 of them ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

You first, holy joe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Pink Fairy

9...stupid threads will get me the full 10 though.... Thou shalt not kill, we'll just see about that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

It's kinda like Pokémon, gotta break them all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

None of the above.
    All of them :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

None of the above.
    Damn, nearly had the full set there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I've kept them all.

But excuse me for a mo, I have to go and beat my slaves...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭JustShon

None of the above.
    This could be interesting. I don't really care who keeps to / doesn't keep to the ten commandments but it'd be interesting to see which ones are the most commonly broken.

Ticked everything bar adultery and murder m'self.

None of the above.
    JustShon wrote: »
    This could be interesting. I don't really care who keeps to / doesn't keep to the ten commandments but it'd be interesting to see which ones are the most commonly broken.

Ticked everything bar adultery and murder m'self.

I would have expected more people owning up to being liars, to be honest ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Number nine is the hardest .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,591 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

8) You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor.
    Hi Neighbour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,415 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Nice try, Satan. Do your own Judgement Day admin, ya lazy ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

You get a smack in the head with a steel chair for every commandment broken. That's the punishment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

All of them.

And that's just since I got up this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,083 ✭✭✭furiousox

I have coveted my neighbour's ox.

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,638 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

None of the above.
    Is the "don't kill" one still limited to just people? I scored 8 if so. Can't remember ever bearing false witness.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Commandments, you mean challenges

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

None of the above.
    8 or 9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I'm a good boy but the GF broke the most forgotten and important one yesterday:
    Thou shalt not eat thy partner's last Easi-Single slice

She's been thoroughly punished and must repay me by the way of a donkey and 2 red cabbages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Thou shalt not trespass, queue skippers!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

The 10 Commandments of the Christian bible are a condensed version of the 42 Commandments of Ancient Egypt.

THE 42 COMMANDMENTS OF ANCIENT EGYPT

I.
    Thou shalt not kill, nor bid anyone kill.

II.
    Thou shalt not commit adultery or rape.

III.
    Thou shalt not avenge thyself nor burn with rage.

IV.
    Thou shalt not cause terror.

V.
    Thou shalt not assault anyone nor cause anyone pain.

VI.
    Thou shalt not cause misery.

VII.
    Thou shalt not do any harm to man or to animals.

VIII.
    Thou shalt not cause the shedding of tears.

IX.
    Thou shalt not wrong the people nor bear them any evil intent.

X.
    Thou shalt not steal nor take that which does not belong to you.

XI.
    Thou shalt not take more than thy fair share of food.

XII.
    Thou shalt not damage the crops, the fields, or the trees.

XIII.
    Thou shalt not deprive anyone of what is rightfully theirs.

XIV.
    Thou shalt not bear false witness, nor support false allegations.

XV.
    Thou shalt not lie, nor speak falsely to the hurt of another.

XVI.
    Thou shalt not use fiery words nor stir up any strife.

XVII.
    Thou shalt not speak or act deceitfully to the hurt of another.

XVIII.
    Thou shalt not speak scornfully against others.

XIX.
    Thou shalt not eavesdrop.

XX.
    Thou shalt not ignore the truth or words of righteousness.

XXI.
    Thou shalt not judge anyone hastily or harshly.

XXII.
    Thou shalt not disrespect sacred places.

XXIII.
    Thou shalt cause no wrong to be done to any workers or prisoners.

XXIV.
    Thou shalt not be angry without good reason.

XXV.
    Thou shalt not hinder the flow of running water.

XXVI.
    Thou shalt not waste the running water.

XXVII.
    Thou shalt not pollute the water or the land.

XXVIII.
    Thou shalt not take God's name in vain.

XXIX.
    Thou shalt not despise nor anger God.

XXX.
    Thou shalt not steal from God.

XXXI.
    Thou shalt not give excessive offerings nor less than what is due.

XXXII.
    Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor's goods.

XXXIII.
    Thou shalt not steal from nor disrespect the dead.

XXXIV.
    Thou shalt remember and observe the appointed holy days.

XXXV.
    Thou shalt not hold back the offerings due God.

XXXVI.
    Thou shalt not interfere with sacred rites.

XXXVII.
    Thou shalt not slaughter with evil intent any sacred animals.

XXXVIII.
    Thou shalt not act with guile or insolence.

XXXIX.
    Thou shalt not be unduly proud nor act with arrogance.

XL.
    Thou shalt not magnify your condition beyond what is appropriate.

XLI.
    Thou shalt do no less than your daily obligations require.

XLII.
    Thou shalt obey the law and commit no treason.

The 42 Principles of Ma'at, the Goddess who personified the ideals of Truth and Righteousness, were known to all the ancient Egyptians. They have been rephrased here in Biblical Commandment form to make them more intelligible and familiar to moderns. In the original form they were preceded with "I have not" as in "I have not stolen." The Egyptians believed that when they died, their souls would be judged by these principles. Moses and the Israelites, who were originally Egyptians, would have been familiar with these principles, but after wandering for forty years they seem to have only remembered 8 of them (those highlighted in orange). Moses added three new non-secular commandments; the one about not honoring the other gods, the honoring of their parents, and the one that included their neighbor's wives and slaves as coveted chattel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

9) You shall not covet your neighbor's wife.
    It should be noted 'your neighbour' is anyone you know or meet.

I think a lot are breaking the 8th commandment when they did this poll, you never tell lies? Not even a white lie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭JustShon

None of the above.
    RobertKK wrote: »

I think a lot are breaking the 8th commandment when they did this poll, you never tell lies? Not even a white lie?

I think it's down to not understanding the commandment really. I'd imagine some people don't realise that it's a really convoluted way of saying "Don't lie."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

4) Honor your father and your mother.

Do white lies count? I don't think I ever lie, but I might be conning myself there. Actually, does lying to yourself count? Because if it does, well slap my thigh and call me Pinocchio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,637 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

what about the much more important 11th commandment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 King of the Hotcups

Most of them!

some very confused people on here. Somehow they have managed to break "none of the above" and other commandments at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,407 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Jim Jefferies commandment is the only one anybody should need.

"Don't be a cnut"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,638 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

None of the above.

I took 'baring false witness' to be lying about someone rather than just telling lies in general. I must have been asleep during that catechism lesson. I'll have to add that to my score so. Brings me up to 9.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

None of the above.
    Most of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

None of the above.
    Adultury eh? Does it still count if she was engaged but you didn't find out till after?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

The commandments are just guidelines, they're not set in stone.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,380 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Pff, ten commandments

If you want to really fuсk up spectacularly you should to try and break as many of these as possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭iceman777

The commandments you listed are incorrect: http://disinfo.com/2010/02/the-ten-commandments-we-always-see-arent-the-ten-commandments/

These are the real ones:

I. Thou shalt worship no other god.

II. Thou shalt make thee no molten gods.

III. The feast of unleavened bread thou shalt keep.

IV. Six days thou shalt work, but on the seventh day thou shalt rest.

V. Thou shalt observe the feast of weeks, of the firstfruits of wheat harvest,
    and the feast of ingathering at the year’s end.

VI. Thrice in the year shall all your men children appear before the Lord God.

VII. Thou shalt not offer the blood of my sacrifice with leaven.

VIII. Neither shall the sacrifice of the feast of the passover be left unto the morning.

IX. The first of the firstfruits of thy land thou shalt bring unto the house of the LORD thy God.

X. Thou shalt not seethe a kid [ie, a young goat] in his mother’s milk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

None of the above.
    I've broken five

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

None of the above.
    Good to see blasphemy taking the lead for jaysus sake.

There's only one vote between stealing and coveting thy neighbour's goods which means only one person coveted and didn't have the gumption to follow through.

8 murderers on here is the most worrying thing. Lads I will remind ye it's not a secret ballot and I hereby request all of ye to spill the beans about who ye killed and why.

None of the above.
    AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Good to see blasphemy taking the lead for jaysus sake.

There's only one vote between stealing and coveting thy neighbour's goods which means only one person coveted and didn't have the gumption to follow through.

8 murderers on here is the most worrying thing. Lads I will remind ye it's not a secret ballot and I hereby request all of ye to spill the beans about who ye killed and why.

The way I read that, one person didn't covet anything but stole it anyway. Makes you wonder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,867 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

None of the above.
    I've killed countless insects etc and one or two birds along with finishing off a number of rodents after my cat brought me gifts. So that's killing taken care of. The only one I haven't broken is committing adultery. Cos I'm not married and none of my partners were either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭Diamond Doll

None of the above.
    Covet is such a nice word. I must use it more often.

And yes, I have coveted both my neighbour's wife and his goods. And I'm not even sorry! (His wife is a hot Italian with massive boobs, she confided in me that they're fake but I don't care, they're impressive anyways!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

You left out graven images. The last 2 commandments are one in scripture, the RCC splits it in 2 so they can leave out the commandment telling us not to bow down and worship statues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

Women are lucky, they can covet their neighbours husbands if they want

I've killed countless insects etc and one or two birds along with finishing off a number of rodents after my cat brought me gifts. So that's killing taken care of. The only one I haven't broken is committing adultery. Cos I'm not married and none of my partners were either.

the "thou shalt not kill" refers to murder not killing in general. If you kill somebody in self defence you have not broken that commandment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

Public poll? Not on your nelly.

i dont think the gardai are keeping an eye on the poll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Matt_Trakker

None of the above.
    I have questions and comments....
    iceman777 wrote: »
    The commandments you listed are incorrect: http://disinfo.com/2010/02/the-ten-commandments-we-always-see-arent-the-ten-commandments/

These are the real ones:

I. Thou shalt worship no other god.
    OK, that's simple to follow

II. Thou shalt make thee no molten gods.
    If I could make a molten god, I probably wood. Since he's make of molten metal would that mean he'd kickass and I could use him to beat up douchebags around me?

III. The feast of unleavened bread thou shalt keep.
    Wahoo! Feast of uneven bread! Hmmmm, bread

IV. Six days thou shalt work, but on the seventh day thou shalt rest.
    Any chance of a bit of leeway? Sweden's gone with a 4 day week and I like the look of that.

V. Thou shalt observe the feast of weeks, of the firstfruits of wheat harvest,
    and the feast of ingathering at the year’s end.
    More parties! F!ck yea. You're a pretty cool god, God.

VI. Thrice in the year shall all your men children appear before the Lord God.
    If that a good idea? Male kids and religion don't have a good history

VII. Thou shalt not offer the blood of my sacrifice with leaven.
    Errr....you might need to rephrase that so people understand ya. I think leaven has something to do with grain....so am I not to mix grain and blood? I'm not down with that, I mean have you ever had Conakilty black pudding? Amazeballs baby!

VIII. Neither shall the sacrifice of the feast of the passover be left unto the morning.
    No drinking until noon. Check!

IX. The first of the firstfruits of thy land thou shalt bring unto the house of the LORD thy God.
    So you want some of my harvest? And you've done nothing to earn it? No way Jose.

X. Thou shalt not seethe a kid [ie, a young goat] in his mother’s milk.
    I might seethe, I might not. If I do seethe what should I doath?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭Kev W

None of the above.
    py2006 wrote: »
    Women are lucky, they can covet their neighbours husbands if they want

You obviously haven't seen my neighbour's husband.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

silly poll... no atari

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

Well, some people consider taking the birth control pill as murder, so therefore....all of them? Do I win a prize? Level up maybe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 NintendoGirl

8...might just go up to 9 today and break the "thou shall not kill" one. . .*angry face*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭davmol

Never killed anyone and haven't banged my neighbours wife cos shes a pig.