Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you prefer if a man is shaved below the belt?

• 02-10-2015 8:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭

What is best? Completely shaved, or a bit trimmed, or au naturale?

Which do you prefer? 107 votes

Shaved/waxed
    0% 1 vote
    Trimmed/groomed
    12% 13 votes
    Au naturale
    63% 68 votes
    Other
    23% 25 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,817 ✭✭✭Addle

Or maybe an eyebrow over his mickey a la tommy tiernans vivid description on the Ray Darcy show last week?!

I prefer the natural look. I think men should look like men and women should look like women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

It feels better for both, if shaved.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

Whatever he wants himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

Trimmed and tidy, yes.
    Shaved, absolutely not.

I'm going to guess that there are as many different opinions as there are women. What you might like might be horrific to someone else, and what you might like on one person you might hate on another.

Everybody is different, and even the same person is different at different times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Whatever he prefers really. It doesn't bother me or get in the way, so I leave him to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭bscm

Whatever they want is grand, as long as it's clean, but I will admit I got disappointed when I discovered one guy had shaved his happy trail along with everything else :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 NintendoGirl

Hair = good! Id probably be disappointed to uncover zero hair there too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭bscm

Hair = good! Id probably be disappointed to uncover zero hair there too!

I know I prefer to shave everything down there on my own body, but the poor happy trail isn't causing any hassle :P

It's the same with chest hair. The same lad had about ten body hairs max, and shaved them all off. I think, fair enough, down there you may want to get rid of everything or tidy it up a bit. But I wouldn't mind if they left everything else.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1 Jim Wilson

Candie wrote: »
    I'm going to guess that there are as many different opinions as there are women. What you might like might be horrific to someone else, and what you might like on one person you might hate on another.

Everybody is different, and even the same person is different at different times.

Thanks for stating the obvious, people are different you say, riveting stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭OhDearyMe

I've no preference and have never even thought about it - I don't think I've noticed whether a man has shaven or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

What is other?? Shape of a lightning bolt or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭Jen Pigs Fly

What is other?? Shape of a lightning bolt or something?

Nothing like a good pattern to spice things up, keeps it interesting.

Be worse if it was your name (or would it??)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭inocybe

I'd be horrified, I guess I'm older than most posters here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Don't care. I hate beards if it helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,739 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I prefer trimmed at the most. I don't like totally shaved

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Depends on what part you're talking about here. I don't mind there being hair where my mouth isn't going to be. But around the balls, it would obviously make a difference. My boyfriend shaves his, couldn't have them all hairy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Chemical Byrne

I'm a guy and I keep hair down there well trimmed. I might keep it to the length of a No. 1 cut or so. Fully shaved is too extreme and is also very uncomfortable and itchy.

2 reasons for it: aesthetically I think mad big bush is disgusting & messy looking, both for myself and herself. And then there's the practical considerations like sometimes you pull the hair when taking it out to go pee and it hurts.

I'd trim it back maybe once every month on average.

For the record, I don't like body hair in general. I think it looks scruffy and unkempt for the most part. I shave my chest & abdomen to keep it under control. I do leave a bit below my belly button and do it so it's progressively longer towards my erm, "gentleman's vegetables".

i also shave my underarms once a month or so. I don't let the hair there get more than, say, 5mm long. This might be unusual for a guy? Is it? What do ladies think of shaving under a guys arms?

Oh yeah, and what's this "happy trail" business? What's the deal with that?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 71 ✭✭Mr Robot

Another guy here who also takes care of the manscaping down there.

Always shave my ballsack, and would also shave the base of it completely and leave neatly trimmed hair growing about an inch from the base.

It looks much better, makes it look a lot bigger and my other half likes it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

Mr Robot wrote: »

It looks much better, makes it look a lot bigger and my other half likes it

To who?

Yourself, your partner, random blokes in the gym changing room?

To who?

Yourself, your partner, random blokes in the gym changing room?

there you go

that's a known fact

lack of hair at the base adds a good inch visually

It's all about ego :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭OhDearyMe

Fascinating reading about the body hair of men I don't know - thanks for sharing, fellers!

OhDearyMe wrote: »
    Fascinating reading about the body hair of men I don't know - thanks for sharing, fellers!

ðŸ‘

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭AppleBottle

I have no preference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea

I like it trimmed, not mad short or anything, I just can't cope with curly pubes in my mouth or all over my puss puss after the ride.

Classy.

Classy.

?
    Was I supposed to pretend I don't have sex?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I would wear any disapproval from him as badge of honour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Yeah. Long messy tangles are unhygienic and uncomfortable. But there's no need to strip off every sign that This Is An Adult Male, either. A bit of clipping for neatness is what works for me.

Where do we stand on hairy arses?

Past experiences tell me women are generally fine with them, but hairy backs are a no no

Don't expect rimming on a hairy hole is all :D

Rimming? ew.

Man, if you want to moan or insult people (your 'classy' comment) and don't like threads about sex, why are you here?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

katemarch wrote: »
    But there's no need to strip off every sign that This Is An Adult Male.

I think the adult penis might be a sign.

Man, if you want to moan or insult people (your 'classy' comment) and don't like threads about sex, why are you here?

It's not a thread about sex. It's a thread about the grooming of body hair.

I find some of the sexually based comments a bit crude, that's all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

That is NOT a hairy arse!! It's just a bit of downy fluff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

mod

Chemical Byrne if you don't like the nature of the thread, simply don't post in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

I'm just curious about the 4 people that voted other out of the 4 options and more to the point, what the hell is other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

I'm just curious about the 4 people that voted other out of the 4 options and more to the point, what the hell is other.

Maybe a male version of a vagazzle. A penazzle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭Username here

Lucyfur wrote: »
    Maybe a male version of a vagazzle. A penazzle.

That's vagenius!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,067 ✭✭✭368100

Dreadlocks

I honestly don't care, I leave it to him what he wants to do with it (as I expect the same respect in reverse!). However, sex can feel better if it's trimmed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭snor

Out of curiosity..... How do u men trim your man garden? Do u use a scissors (hope no shaky hand and could be hard to reach) of is there a special man garden trimmer tool on the market?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭Username here

snor wrote: »
    Out of curiosity..... How do u men trim your man garden? Do u use a scissors (hope no shaky hand and could be hard to reach) of is there a special man garden trimmer tool on the market?

tanaka-tht-210sb-hedge-trimmer-1340622446.jpg

^^
    LOLZ

I use a regular hair clipper. I used to use the #1 comb on it but that left it too long and was difficult to maneuver. Now I just gauge the length of the hair by eye.

You got to be oh so careful using the clipper on yer sack, i have on occasion managed to get a tiny fold of skin caught in the clipper blades. Aaagh!! I learnt fast from those incidents!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,739 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I honestly don't care, I leave it to him what he wants to do with it (as I expect the same respect in reverse!). However, sex can feel better if it's trimmed.
    Not too trimmed though. Nothing worse than stubble rash down there.
    I'm with CB on this one. People think pubes are unhygienic!?

Yeah, I think it is a disgusting practice, along with blow jobs. How can anyone who has done those things kiss their mother? Ugh. <retches>

Oral sex (I'm not including analingus in this) is a part of a normal, healthy sex life for the vast majority of people. It's not disgusting at all. If the person showers thoroughly, there shouldn't be any hygiene issue.

Most people also wash their mouth and brush their teeth regularly so kissing their mother shouldn't be an issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

MOD: ChemicalByrne don't post in this thread again.

Oral sex (I'm not including analingus in this) is a part of a normal, healthy sex life for the vast majority of people. It's not disgusting at all. If the person showers thoroughly, there shouldn't be any hygiene issue.

Most people also wash their mouth and brush their teeth regularly so kissing their mother shouldn't be an issue.

Really? I thought that act (fellatio) would be more of a thing for the more sexually adventurous, rather than a majority. I suppose that puts me in a minority.

Personally, I dislike it. I have gotten it before but hated it, very uncomfortable and I'd never expect or want my gf to do it. Of course, I can understand how a guy might like it but I can't see how it would do anything for the girl involved. As a sex act I would consider it demeaning and disrespectful to the woman.

I understand about showering, brushing teeth etc, it's not the physical hygiene that bothers me. I would just find it disturbing how someone could, in good conscience, kiss their mother or their children after having that act done to them. I mean it's bad enough with sex in itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭parttime

Are you really for real? Demeaning? No more internet porn for you, young man!